Roast Umpires

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

I cried myself to sleep last night because you banned me. I managed to fill up these 3 cups and when they were full I did not fret as I knew there will soon be a 4th to fill

View attachment 73139

Wow, remind me again why you couldn't win a premiership for those 40 odd years and how many teams were playing in that little comp at that time hmmm champ.

Your quite brilliant Shane.

I re-watched the game. We had the footy gods against us.

I think that is the overwhelming emotional string was being pulled all game.

No 50/50 decision went our way that caused a goal. And most decisions 50/50, or blatantly wrong paid to them caused a goal directly or later in the play.

It wasn't as bad as I thought on the night. We were jipped but the thought it was orchestrated has left my system at least.

I re-watched the game. We had the footy gods against us.

I think that is the overwhelming emotional string was being pulled all game.

No 50/50 decision went our way that caused a goal. And most decisions 50/50, or blatantly wrong paid to them caused a goal directly or later in the play.

It wasn't as bad as I thought on the night. We were jipped but the thought it was orchestrated has left my system at least.
Yeah, I watched it again and also came to the conclusion that the umpiring was not quite as bad as it seemed at the time. Most of the decisions were
technically there, even though often very soft or drawn by ducking into tackles.

Given the distinct change in the umpiring in the second half as opposed to the first, this to me is an acknowledgement they realised they were not getting it right. But we can't expect decent umpiring when we get to the finals - after all, we are Fremantle.

Great to see we are looking at our tackling.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/24705960/free-kick-calls-dont-always-add-up-for-lyon/

“We have to take some responsibility. We are having a good look at it - our high tackles, we are tackling a bit high, maybe a little bit reckless.

“But it’s hard to get a handle on it while it is swinging wild fluctuations within games.”

Lyon said the most frustrating decisions were those in which the umpire guessed, citing incidents involving Geelong star Steve Johnson.

“Steve has the propensity to grab his opponent, take him to the ground, and hopefully the instigator doesn’t get caught and we get pinged, and that happened with Cam Sutcliffe on the weekend, which really cost us a goal,” Lyon said.

“Cam was running, he checked Steve.

“Steve pulled him around the neck, pulled him to the ground and then the umpire guesses and they’re the things we get frustrated with.

“But in saying that, that’s not the reason we lost, or would have won the game.

Here's a fun fact for you

Fremantle has the worst free kick differential in the AFL of - 52

Over the past 2 weeks we have had a free kick differential of - 26

Carlton 22 - 13 Freo
Geelong 31 - 14 Freo

I almost feel like that I might need to take a sign up to Brisbane along the lines of

Umpires - Remember to adjudicate NEUTRALLY!

One banner won't do diddly squat - there's a far better way to do it.

What you need is at least 20 to 30 very large identical banners - all of them painted the same lime green as the umpire's shirts. (Lime green is a naturally complimentary colour to Freo's purple - they will stand out against the crowd like dog's balls.

The next thing you need to do is position them at various places around the ground, with at least a couple behind each goal. That way Channel 7 and Foxtel cameras are gong to find it harder to omit showing the signs in game day footage.

Make the font on the banner bloody large (at least two feet high) as it needs to be read read easily from over 100 meters away.

Make make the message very short - less than 6 words, less than 30 characters in total.

Use a sans-serif font like Helvettica (old-style serifs will be too hard to read at a distance).

Have as many supporters as possible stand up and face away from the game with every really dodgy umpiring decision.

If you really want to scare the AFL - don't boo or scream - make your protest totally silent.

Make it bloody clear to the AFL that dodgy umpiring takes away from the spectacle of the game and that (Freo supporters at least) won't stand for it.

Do we have enough BF regulars to make this happen, or are just playing with ourselves here?

One banner won't do diddly squat - there's a far better way to do it.

What you need is at least 20 to 30 very large identical banners - all of them painted the same lime green as the umpire's shirts. (Lime green is a naturally complimentary colour to Freo's purple - they will stand out against the crowd like dog's balls.

The next thing you need to do is position them at various places around the ground, with at least a couple behind each goal. That way Channel 7 and Foxtel cameras are gong to find it harder to omit showing the signs in game day footage.

Make the font on the banner bloody large (at least two feet high) as it needs to be read read easily from over 100 meters away.

Make make the message very short - less than 6 words, less than 30 characters in total.

Use a sans-serif font like Helvettica (old-style serifs will be too hard to read at a distance).

Have as many supporters as possible stand up and face away from the game with every really dodgy umpiring decision.

If you really want to scare the AFL - don't boo or scream - make your protest totally silent.

Make it bloody clear to the AFL that dodgy umpiring takes away from the spectacle of the game and that (Freo supporters at least) won't stand for it.

Do we have enough BF regulars to make this happen, or are just playing with ourselves here?

like the idea but i think you answered your own question :confused:

I'm about to join twitter to slay this misdirected flog @SYmorawetz who has just posted an online article ( came up on my footy live app ) titled 'imbalance' about the geelong v Freo umpiring. His conclusion was Freo were simply the dirtier and more undisciplined team who deserved every kick against ( hey, posssibly a large percentage ) but made NO mention of the fact our gripe is with the inconsistency that abounded and the number of frees missed that simply were not paid which contributed to the differential ....uneducated FLOG

AAARRRGGGGHHH - I'm about to break out Hulk style. When I get home, figure out this twotter thingo, drink 3 rums and start my barrage I hope you'll all join in the fun

May work both ways. I remember after RTB made the rolling maul comment, the next match we had (against north?) the umpire started pinging us for HTB and incorrect disposals, while the opposition seem to get away with the usual.

I'm about to join twitter to slay this misdirected flog @SYmorawetz who has just posted an online article ( came up on my footy live app ) titled 'imbalance' about the geelong v Freo umpiring. His conclusion was Freo were simply the dirtier and more undisciplined team who deserved every kick against ( hey, posssibly a large percentage ) but made NO mention of the fact our gripe is with the inconsistency that abounded and the number of frees missed that simply were not paid which contributed to the differential ....uneducated FLOG

AAARRRGGGGHHH - I'm about to break out Hulk style. When I get home, figure out this twotter thingo, drink 3 rums and start my barrage I hope you'll all join in the fun

social media ... making sports experts since early 2000s

https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sport/afl/a/24705960/free-kick-calls-dont-always-add-up-for-lyon/

“We have to take some responsibility. We are having a good look at it - our high tackles, we are tackling a bit high, maybe a little bit reckless.

“But it’s hard to get a handle on it while it is swinging wild fluctuations within games.”

Lyon said the most frustrating decisions were those in which the umpire guessed, citing incidents involving Geelong star Steve Johnson.

“Steve has the propensity to grab his opponent, take him to the ground, and hopefully the instigator doesn’t get caught and we get pinged, and that happened with Cam Sutcliffe on the weekend, which really cost us a goal,” Lyon said.

“Steve pulled him around the neck, pulled him to the ground and then the umpire guesses and they’re the things we get frustrated with.

This is as direct as I've every heard Ross go at the umps, and probably about as far as you can push it without getting a fine or "please explain" (he might get the latter anyway).

I think it's a fair statement. It's not just about the umpiring, the fact is that even if the opposition are diving, ducking etc., you've got to go in and tackle low and hard. But, equally, there is also a responsibility on the umpires to call the close ones only as they absolutely see them, not to anticipate conditions or plays or techniques that may or may not be there. Clearly they didn't do that in the 1st half of the Geelong game, and the treatment of Crowley was an even worse example of that approach a couple of weeks back.

I'm glad RTB has been quoted as such, just hope the umpiring fraternity don't get their knickers in a knot over it.

Will be interesting to see the effect of this comment on the weekend. Could go either way really depending on the size of egos in the umpiring department.
You think it could go either way. I feel you are being optimistic. There is only one way it will go.

9 - 28 this week.

The last two lines though:

“But they are frustrations.

“So, they’re the things that can sort of frustrate you, but I am certainly not an umpire basher. Hopefully the rub of the green will turn at some point for us.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-from-umps-20140813-103nxi.html#ixzz3AGDyyUSl

well, just joined twooter and sent an old mate a message....no reply as yet - will keep you posted.
It's really hard getting a point accross in so few characters :mad::mad:

social media ... making sports experts since early 2000s

The last game Fremantle played was the least enjoyable sporting match I've seen in the last 10 years, and it had nothing to do with Freo losing.

The AFL by its actions clearly does not care about fairness and consistency in its officiating as much as it does revenue raising and covering up scandals.

Look at the standard of umpring.
Look at the inconsistency of the MRP.
Look at the ticketing pricing saga at the grounds and falling attendance numbers.
Look at the sudden changes in scheduling.
Look at the kerfuffle over Ethiad's roof.
Look at all the goal review nonsense.
Look at its handing of the Essendon saga.

Football does not belong to the AFL - they just administer this cultural asset on behalf of all of us.

The AFL has taken its eyes off the ball, and we are the ones it cannoned into unfairly.

The question is two-fold:

....Does a line exist?
...And has the AFL crossed it?

To my mind, the answer to both - is yes.

What really annoyed me today was Walters not receiving his share for the high tackles.

Ok I know we bang on about it and sometimes we do need to go lower, BUT today Walters was our small player who can try to go lower and 'win' free kicks. There were some clear high hits and the commentators truly pissed me off when they called him out.

Whats a free one week has to be a free the next and that really got to me, because it wasn't as if he was charging with his head, more that he dropped lower and the umpires just gave the opposition a free hit.

Pathetic consistency.