****** Umpires!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As soon as the match finished, i knew this was coming. "Umpires cost us".

I get sick & tired of bitching about umpires in Pies losses, esp in close games.
If we were good enough, this wouldn't have come into it. Who's to say if Pendles goal was allowed, the ball goes back to the middle & the cats go bang with two goals in 2 minutes?

Our game is one of the hardest to umpire because of the "grey areas", so we will see bad or controversial decisions all the time. It's the nature of the beast.

It's also one reason why we get heavily invested in our game coz there is always something to talk about.

Geelong played the better for the majority of the game & kicked badly for goal.

Geelong deserved the win. Well played Cats, we will see you in the finals.

Don't put us all in that basket BBM. Selwood is a star and deserves every free he gets. Exploiting the rule or not, he puts himself in the position to receive a free by putting his head over the ball in a non-blatant fashion. Its a misconception that he plays for frees, just like the misconception that Dale Thomas is a soft outsider.

Spot on mate, I don't lump you all in the same basket. As I've said earlier, there have been quite a few rational, smart Magpie supporters on here, and I respect you for that. I have a number of Collingwood mates who are also pretty level-headed, but it's the minority who really are way over the top, and are tarnishing the reputation of you all.

In the end, I've got nothing but respect for your Football club, and genuinely expect you to go back-to-back.

As soon as the match finished, i knew this was coming. "Umpires cost us".

I get sick & tired of bitching about umpires in Pies losses, esp in close games.
If we were good enough, this wouldn't have come into it. Who's to say if Pendles goal was allowed, the ball goes back to the middle & the cats go bang with two goals in 2 minutes?

Our game is one of the hardest to umpire because of the "grey areas", so we will see bad or controversial decisions all the time. It's the nature of the beast.

It's also one reason why we get heavily invested in our game coz there is always something to talk about.

Geelong played the better for the majority of the game & kicked badly for goal.

Geelong deserved the win. Well played Cats, we will see you in the finals.

Yeah thats it, I get sick and tired of any club claiming that any loss is because of umpiring.

I thought the umpiring on the match was pretty fair, there were bloody ridiculous decisions that went both ways, not just Geelongs way - and anyone would have to be extremely one eyed to not see that.

You can go on about drawing references between the Pendles free and the mooney/gwilt free from the QF, but at the end of the day they were two very very different circumstances - the QF was very very even last year and you can say that decision definately did cost the cats the game, however I dont think it would have changed the premiership result.

But to say that the one free kick cost the pies the game is just bloody ridiculous. Collingwood were outplayed and it was their first 3 quarters that cost them, not that one decision.

I think its a great result, not just because I am a cats supporter either.
But honestly as a Collingwood supporter, would you rather win a flag from a hard fought contest or just romp it in and win over lackluster opposition?
I rekon its fantastic that there is a genuine Challenger to the Pies and the thought of it just makes the finals series in a few months that much more tantilising!!

It's always disappointing when one decision decides the outcome of a game.

What's more disappointing though is that we were smashed everywhere except the scoreboard. We didn't deserve to get out of jail as Geelong were the better team on the night.

Yeah thats it, I get sick and tired of any club claiming that any loss is because of umpiring.

I thought the umpiring on the match was pretty fair, there were bloody ridiculous decisions that went both ways, not just Geelongs way - and anyone would have to be extremely one eyed to not see that.

You can go on about drawing references between the Pendles free and the mooney/gwilt free from the QF, but at the end of the day they were two very very different circumstances - the QF was very very even last year and you can say that decision definately did cost the cats the game, however I dont think it would have changed the premiership result.

But to say that the one free kick cost the pies the game is just bloody ridiculous. Collingwood were outplayed and it was their first 3 quarters that cost them, not that one decision.

I think its a great result, not just because I am a cats supporter either.
But honestly as a Collingwood supporter, would you rather win a flag from a hard fought contest or just romp it in and win over lackluster opposition?
I rekon its fantastic that there is a genuine Challenger to the Pies and the thought of it just makes the finals series in a few months that much more tantilising!!
On balance Geelong deserved the win last night but as a Cats supporter you must be worried about your goalkicking. Toovey's injury shattered our defensive structures late in the game and cost us run out of the backline.

We are definitely underperfoming and without a number of stars including Jolly and the Maxwell. I'm glad in a way that the Cats made the grade as a wake up call to our guys and hope they improve during the year because when we get a full list and start playing anywhere near our form of last year the Cats had better be MUCH better than they were this time.

On balance Geelong deserved the win last night but as a Cats supporter you must be worried about your goalkicking. Toovey's injury shattered our defensive structures late in the game and cost us run out of the backline.

We are definitely underperfoming and without a number of stars including Jolly and the Maxwell. I'm glad in a way that the Cats made the grade as a wake up call to our guys and hope they improve during the year because when we get a full list and start playing anywhere near our form of last year the Cats had better be MUCH better than they were this time.

They deserved the win friday night even more:D
Nah, the goal kicking definately is a worry, but then i guess hopefully it doesnt get any worse, you can only improve on 17 behinds!!

I think the Cats can get much much better, I honestly werent expecting them to win given that they are playing a much dfferent style of footy that won them 2 flags, so its reassuring that they are ahead of where majority of cats fans thought they were.

I had a similar discussion with another pies supporter on our board about the pies lack of putting together 4 quarter footy so far this year and the pitfalls of being complacent given their dominance - I beleve the cats fell into a similar trap last year - especially the head coach.

Not saying that they wont put it all together, but I think thats what cost them the game friday night.

I wouldnt like to be a Crows supporter next week, I am fully expecting the pies to bounce back with a massive vengance!!

They deserved the win friday night even more:D
Nah, the goal kicking definately is a worry, but then i guess hopefully it doesnt get any worse, you can only improve on 17 behinds!!

I think the Cats can get much much better, I honestly werent expecting them to win given that they are playing a much dfferent style of footy that won them 2 flags, so its reassuring that they are ahead of where majority of cats fans thought they were.

I had a similar discussion with another pies supporter on our board about the pies lack of putting together 4 quarter footy so far this year and the pitfalls of being complacent given their dominance - I beleve the cats fell into a similar trap last year - especially the head coach.

Not saying that they wont put it all together, but I think thats what cost them the game friday night.

I wouldnt like to be a Crows supporter next week, I am fully expecting the pies to bounce back with a massive vengance!!
We've definitely been below par so far this year, partly due to a much later start I believe than most of the comp.

Didak's form is the big worry for me he just hasn't been the same player since returning from that displaced pec injury. I know it takes time to recover physically but his head doesn't seem to be in the right place.

Also we have had massive dislocations in the backline losing Nathan and having the injury to Reid plus Maxxies injury has certainly set him back and unsettled the backline as a unit and now Tooves out for who knows how long.

You certainly shouldn't be expecting an armchair ride in the middle again if Jolly is in the side next time either Wood is most certainly 2nd string.

You guys have certainly done well to cover for the loss of Gaz and certainly look to have improvement left but we are a shadow of the team that won the granny so far. With inclusions and a return to anything like the form we showed late last year I firmly believe the pies have a huge improvement possible.

I've been thinking and I dont believe anybody on here has characterized the match accurately.

All i read is that Geelong played way better than us. Is that really true?

The Cats outplayed us in F50 entry, clearance etc etc. Yet they F'd up the scoreboard. Just because 1 part is good and the other is not does not a positive outcome make. They played badly.

We also played badly but not from a scoreboard/accuracy perspective yet none the less we played badly.

Two teams played poorly for different reasons and the outcome of the game was flat out decided by an umpiring decision that was wrong. Thats the simple truth.

I can see the comeback of oh but if Geelong kicked straight they would have blown us of the park etc. Well they didnt. The fact is they played poor, so did we. Umpire decided the outcome.

So if the umpire had of called advantage and you still lost what would be the reason then?

You do remember you had the bye last week to get everything perfect for this game, right..?

So if the umpire had of called advantage and you still lost what would be the reason then?

You do remember you had the bye last week to get everything perfect for this game, right..?
Geelong were the better team on the night without doubt chef the maggot made the wrong call which could have gifted us the game had he got it right but it wouldn't have been a fair result. Your boys won on the night but in the end were very lucky to get away with some bloody ordinary kicking for goal.

If we still lost it would be because we were outplayed. As such, the way it turned out.

If we had won it would have been an injustice, but we would take the points.

The thing is we played woefully, and if it takes your mob playing almost as woefully to beat us I'm convinced nobody will get close to either of us.

2) ..but they *should* have been applying pressure just in case, that happens very often that oppo stops after a whistle but the play-on is still allowed.
However, the umpire had blown his whistle about 5 times before pendlebury kicked the goal, making the Geelong players look at the umpire rather than the play. If he had called play on straight away, they would have applied atleast some pressure, making a Collingwood goal less likely.

It's all ifs and buts anyway magic, the white maggot got it wrong but the game result reflected the true state of affairs - I know your lot kicked poorly for goal but that's a basic skill that you certainly need to address as we have done since last year.

In my mind it's the inconsistencies that are most frustrating. Two of my favourite players in the league to watch are Selwood and Ball because of the way they attack the footy.

But two players who play the exact same style were umpired in two completely different fashions on Friday night, Selwood put his head over the ball and won himself 6 free kicks and wasn't penalised once. Whereas Luke Ball who also put his head over the ball and was battered from pillar to post received 0 free kicks and was penalised 4 times.

Can the umpires please start to look after Luke Ball in the same fashion that they look after Selwood?

Congratulations to the cats you deserved the win I would never blame umpires because even if the Pendles goal were allowed the odds were that you would kick another from the next centre clearance! But with Jolly back in any return counter feeding Luke Ball in a similar fashion to the way Ottens fed Selwood the clearance result may just be a little less lopsided Geelong's way. The lack of influence of our chief in and under player in Ball was telling and it won't happen in future.

It basically took everything Geelong had plus umpire influence against us on our poorest level to beat us by 3 points.
Cats aren't going to be anywhere near us at end of season.

Geelong were the better team on the night without doubt chef the maggot made the wrong call which could have gifted us the game had he got it right but it wouldn't have been a fair result. Your boys won on the night but in the end were very lucky to get away with some bloody ordinary kicking for goal.
A lot of fair comments in the thread and some whiners.
I think the Pies were ready for plucking: coming off the bye, an opponent primed for revenge, a few injuries, maybe some smugness plus the mystical perversities of the footy gods. We had to cop all that in the GF of 2008! It stung but some of us whinged sickeningly.
The Cats were probably better on Friday night, true - The ump was wrong with Pendles, but that was just one of a few other errors either way. The frees count was pretty even, numerically speaking, and I thought we copped a few roughies ourselves.
Still, the Pies are where we were in '08 and the game proved that we are worthy to be in your company - nothing more.
The Pies will come out of this with tables turned. You are now primed for revenge and we are now the hunted. Pressure off you guys.
Great side boys, and best of luck for the rest of the season.
Hope we meet in the big one, and if so, please regard the penultimate comment as disingenuous!!:D:D

Probably quite correct seeing as the decision against Mooney on Gwilt in last years qualifying final wasn't for points.

Have to disagree with you on that one and say the decision on Mooney was soft but there. Fair enough they often dont pay them but you cant compare it with the Pendlebury decision.

It's always disappointing when one decision decides the outcome of a game.

What's more disappointing though is that we were smashed everywhere except the scoreboard. We didn't deserve to get out of jail as Geelong were the better team on the night.

This sums up the overall Collingwood sentement. We wern't good enough to beat Geelong Friday night. The Collingwood players need to go take a hard look at themselves and work out what made them the side that was so hard to beat last year. Some tough decisions need to be made on players like Didak and Dick and some oppotunities have to be given to players like McCarthy. Having said that it is only May Collingwood would be a lot more upset if that happened in round 24.

It basically took everything Geelong had plus umpire influence against us on our poorest level to beat us by 3 points.
Cats aren't going to be anywhere near us at end of season.
What's to say Collingwood will improve but Geelong won't? Do you think we will be as inaccurite next time?

Also, alot of people forget that Geelong had a set shot for goal after the siren which was taken without really trying.

What's to say Collingwood will improve but Geelong won't? Do you think we will be as inaccurite next time?

Also, alot of people forget that Geelong had a set shot for goal after the siren which was taken without really trying.
Easy magic ;) I'm certain Geelong will be more accurate next time as I'm sure it would have given the coaching staff and playing group a fright at how close they came to losing the game off their own boot and they will take immediate steps to rectify it.

Perhaps as a non Collingwood supporter you haven't looked at our games that closely but it's not just against you that we have been sub par, on average this year I would guess that we are about 50%-60% on late last year. We KNOW for certain their is a MASSIVE upside to the team. :D

Hope we can meet again later in the year with full lists of in form players on a mild near windless night and then let chips fall where they may.

Just a gut feel but I think he was referring to personnel more than anything else. With all of Jolly, Maxwell, Beams and Johnson missing on the weekend from last years premiership team. Plus Didak (who some view our 3rd best player) almost completely ineffectual I think in terms of foot soldiers Collingwood have a larger scope for improvement. I do realise that Milburn, Mooney and Byrnes missed but Mooney is in big trouble and Byrnes has been replaced by Menzel.

Also I'd argue Collingwood's ability to hit a target on Friday by foot was as poor as Geelong's kicking for goal considering 5 of the 17 behinds were rushed. Collingwood skill by foot was possibly the worst it's been in 3 years, a perfect example was the goal Swan gifted Bartel, 9 times out of 10 he makes that kick, but to the winner the spoils :thumbsu:

After reading some of the shit we copped for being upset Friday was pretty appalling, we were outplayed in every sense, but just remember our last call was the play on call, that was fresh baked into our minds as we lost. After 24 hours you can calmy say we were bested everywhere by a hungry Geelong. I reckon Mick is going to blast the players, but he will take a monumental amount from that game, he's not one to play his hand entirely early on, generally bet low early on then try to push forward with a solid hand. we'll see how the season pans out, however.