Umpiring last night...

The Starchild

PATHETIC!!!

Went to the game courtesy of free tickets and saw some of the most bewildering umpiring decisions of my life.

I believe Essendon got 5 goals as a result of dodgy free kicks, direct or indirect, and Collingwood 2.

The free paid to Bolton in the forward pocket for Essendon, when he bumped Freeborn from Collingwood over the line, goes down in my mind as maybe the worst decision I've ever seen in my life.

What is wrong with these guys?

Originally posted by The Starchild
Am i in any danger of reading a reasoned post?

You are new, so I will explain. The person who goes under the name Colliwobbles, has been banned in the past. He used to be named FitzroyJamesDio. He posted nothing but crap, and was banned as a result. He has had all sorts of names since then including Scooter, Footy Warrior, and so on. He will eventually get banned, and come back as some other name. He has had about 10 different names. So, you should not expect any reasonable posts from him.

------------------------------
Play on says the umpire
------------------------------

As an independent observer watching on T.V. the umpiring was shocking.

The first quarter was especially shocking, and I think it was a credit to the Pies that they only went in tothe huddle a goal down, due to the poor umpiring against them in that quarter.

The trend continued for the rest off the game, and affected both sides, but Collingwood were very hard done by. How many times Nick Davis got his head ripped off and didn't get a free I don't know, but I'm surprised he has something onhis shoulders...

The Hitman

Nick the Pieman, I refuse to accept your point (in a nice way of course). We should not have to put up with umpires who are determined to have an impact on the game, stamp their authority so to speak. They should not even be noticed, we pay our bugs bunny to go see footy being played by the athletes, not the umpires making terrible decisions and stuffing up the natural flow of the game.

I think umpires are the only people in the world who should be lobotomised. That is, the frontal lobe only of course, the part responsible for personality. I'd appreciate umpires being robots and programmed to pay only the free's that are there, no dodgy's whatsoever.

I still fume over the way Goldspink used to treat Diesel, personality clash those two, jeez! I still remember once in 1995 against Essendon Doolan nearly ripped Williams' head off and got pinged for holding the ball, gets up and says how bad the decision was and gets reported!!! Rubbed out for a week due to bad record and misses a finals appearance.

Pathetic, even in retrospect.

Originally posted by Colliwobbles
sigh..why is it that Collingwood supporters always blame the umpires when they lose instead of looking at themselves?

this is why they will never improve

Well here is my reasoning:

1. Nick Davis kicks a goal at the Ponsford Stand end in the second quarter and the goal umpire signals a point. It cant be too hard to see if a ball goes between the goals.

2. Mark Johnson the so called "tough guy" gets two goals from soft free kicks

3. A bull**** decision against Freeborn results in another Essendon goal.

4. Jimmy Hird receives a free kick for throwing that happens quite a bit yet doesnt get paid often.

Did you go to the game last night Colliwobbles or are you just talking **** off the top of your head ??

APA

Listen Colliwobbles (a term you like to spruik but which MY club bloody well invented), who I barrack for means sweet f.a. in this discussion. Read the post back to yourself, or at least the parts I've contributed, and you'll see it is not particularly a whinge either.

For the record I am a Carlton Social Club member and I hate both Collingwood and Essendon football clubs. I got free tickets to attend last night and went for the beers with friends more than anything.

My unbiased opinion last night was that the umpires were shocking and Essendon got the better run on the night, especially in front of goals. I've a feeling you might not be too intelligent, can you please prove me wrong?...

Originally posted by JLC

Well here is my reasoning:

1. Nick Davis kicks a goal at the Ponsford Stand end in the second quarter and the goal umpire signals a point. It cant be too hard to see if a ball goes between the goals.

2. Mark Johnson the so called "tough guy" gets two goals from soft free kicks

3. A bull**** decision against Freeborn results in another Essendon goal.

4. Jimmy Hird receives a free kick for throwing that happens quite a bit yet doesnt get paid often.

Did you go to the game last night Colliwobbles or are you just talking **** off the top of your head ??

APA

Yeah there were a few dodgy ones last night, but it is easy to look both ways - Apeman Rocca, Buckley, and Tarrant all did VERY well from the umps too.

As for Mark Johnson, he is a helluva lot tougher than SOME! The free to him in the goalsquare was for OBree almost ripping his jumper off - have a good look at the replay.

It was funny to see the blonde wobble feral chick screaming her head off about this one... read a rule book...

Oh by the way is RYAN LONIE the SOFTEST player ever to run onto the MCG? (Closely followed by Davis who almost sh1t himself when Hardwick came to say hello).

hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Originally posted by The Starchild
PATHETIC!!!

The free paid to Bolton in the forward pocket for Essendon, when he bumped Freeborn from Collingwood over the line, goes down in my mind as maybe the worst decision I've ever seen in my life.

Freeborn had plenty of time to do something with the ball but he
chose to double back and run into Bolton who tackled him and
was paid holding the ball...it was the correct decision.

Yeah Tarrant got looked after late in the last quarter when the game was over. When the game was in the balance or slightly in Collingwoodsa favour in the thirs quarter it went all Essendons way.

You didnt make comment of Nick Davis goal that was given a point ?? Surely you saw that on reply ??

Yeah Mark Johnson what a tough guy he is. Gets touched by Scotty Burns and falls to the ground........lol lol The only tough player is Jason Johnson.

Yeah Hardwick what a loser he is. Pointing at the scoreboard after Nick Davis kicks a goal. I guess he is just a springvale junky.

APA

Yes, the standard of umpiring was shocking. Yes, we got the 'better' end of the stick. And as usual, the Slagpies supporters show no class in defeat. I'M LOVIN' IT!!

GOLD BOMBERS, PURE THUCKEN GOLD!!!

where's wally?

Re: Re: Umpiring last night...

Originally posted by Shads

You wanna leave your bong at home

All umpiring is shocking these days. They may as well get an additional two umpires watching the tele live to report to the ground umpires free kicks they miss. It would be scrappy I know, but its the only solution I can think of.

Vis

Re: Re: Umpiring last night...

Originally posted by Shads

Why does it not surprise me that you are an Essendon supporter and you say this? Biased, blinkered, one-eyed, can't think of anything else but mate, this is you all over.

As an impartial observer I'm telling you it was the worst decision I've seen in my life and I tell you what, were you trolling then(?) because I was standing amongst 50-60 supporters from both clubs and everyone laughed when it was paid and agreed that it was a pathetic decision. That includes the 30 odd Essendon supporters mate.

You're wrong, plain & simple.

from an unbiased point of view the decision on the freeborn incident was a correct one he has plenty of prior oppotunity to get rid of the ball and was tackled INSIDE the boundry line and ended up out of bounds the fact that he was tackled inside and with ample time to get rid of the ball was significant enuff to warrant a free kick against him.
cheers!

tiger, you're surely saying this in jest. Freeborn was out of bounds exactly 2milliseconds and 2millimeters after being tackled, so why was he judged as if he was still in play?

You epitomise why I'm becoming more and more disallusioned with football. That decision, along with many others, was a complete load of bull-fukin-s hit.