Umpiring v St Kilda

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

I thought the umpiring was very ordinary today (not necessarily unfair) What happenned to the games where you barely noticed there was an umpire out there?

A number of ****y frees for too high or in the back were paid when they were really of no consequence.

50 metre penalties left right and centre (Grrrrr) and I doubt if any of them would have been paid at any other match I've watched this year.

I noticed a few of your guys (Kane McGoodwin and Stiffy) had similar views while I was perusing the player votes thread

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Dead set shocking display, particularly by no.18 (Rowstan ?). I figured he didn't want to bounce the ball, because he over-umpired & paid a free kick in most contests. I can't recall seeing so many 50m penalties, yet none were really warranted. The fact that the usual sportmanlike Harvey got done for swearing says something about how bad the umpiring standards were. Making Burton re-kick the ball twice in the backlines for going over the mark by 5cm was laughable. Have they heard of common sense umpiring? At one stage in the game, I had no idea what was going on with the decisions. Meanwhile, Geisham sticks his head in the sand & claims the umpires are doing a wonderful job.

originally posted by Stiffy_18
I am sick and tired of **** poor umpiring week in week out. This is getting beyond a joke. Is it really that bloody hard to umpire?????? Fair Dinkum, today was one of the most over umpired game I have ever seen. You just had to as so much as look at a player and you were pinged for a 50m penalty. There were 5 very soft 50 m penalties today that resulted in goals. Granted the decisions went both ways but fair dinkum this is really starting to get on my nerves. Its absolute bull****

What are your views?

Absolutely dreadful. From a biased perspective (and just off the top of my head)...

* St Kilda's first goal, Smart against Wulf? Dead set shocker, Smart barely touched him!

* St Kilda's second goal, what was the first free kick against Biglands for? And that 50m penalty... c'mon Stenglein had to throw it over a couple of players to deliver it, so what if it didn't delivered with centimetre accuracy to his hands?

* That Ladhams goal called touched... you have to be kidding, the Saints defender's body was over the line and his arms were past his body!

* That 50m penalty to Maguire against Bickley. Bickley just stood his ground and Maguire fell over!

And I'm sure there were other ones just as bad, but thankfully I've put them out of my memory.

Absolutely infuriating umpiring spectacle, especially in the first
half when the game was still close-ish.

I'll concede we also got some soft ones, but they didn't tend to infuriate me as much for some reason. ;)

That game was really confusing/annoying with a soft free being picked out every 2 seconds!

I've never seen so many 50's given away before for not really doing anything wrong in the first place.

How many times did Burton take his kick, wasn't it like 4 times? that was too stupid. it was kicked, marked.. end of story! someone needs to teach them how to umpire properly, it really can't be as hard as they're making it out to be!

Originally posted by DaveW
* That Ladhams goal called touched... you have to be kidding, the Saints defender's body was over the line and his arms were past his body!

Same clown that robbed Welshy two weeks ago. He still gets a game. There's the problem. Get it wrong, get a game. Should be the ump's new recruitment slogan.

Field umpires we unfortunately have to put up with, but surely with today's technology the clowns in white coats with flags should be a thing of the past! I don't give a rats if overseas people love the quirky bastards!!

Worst decision of the day was to Burton when he flew for a mark mised it completely and somehow got a free kick.

All the 50 metre penalties were stupid except Roo's because the Saint Kilda guy threw it to bickley when he knew it was Roo's kick.

Umpires gave the Saints the ride in the first and then we got it in the last three quarters.

Common sense has gone out of the window.

Even the goal umpire's cant get it right,there was a goal given to St Kilda in the 2nd quarter and it curled half a metre on the OUTSIDE of the goal post it was even close:mad: :mad:

That goal umpire had the **** bagged out of him for the rest of the quarter:D :D

Should have put him on the score board and let everyone boooooooooooooooooooooo at him:D :D

Umpiring was ordinary had two of the white maggots across the aisle from me on the flight back,felt like giving them a peice of my mind:mad:

Stop ruining the game you white ******s:mad:

Originally posted by Jars458
Worst decision of the day was to Burton when he flew for a mark mised it completely and somehow got a free kick.
Certainly was up there - but there were many shockers to choose from! Watched this one on the replay on the big screen & could not work out for the life of me why Burton got a free. Did the umpire just figure Burton is such a good mark & assumed wrongly that the Saint's player impeded him. The umpires need to go back to u/10 games.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Even the goal umpire's cant get it right,there was a goal given to St Kilda in the 2nd quarter and it curled half a metre on the OUTSIDE of the goal post it was even close:mad: :mad:

That goal umpire had the **** bagged out of him for the rest of the quarter:D :D

Should have put him on the score board and let everyone boooooooooooooooooooooo at him:D :D

Umpiring was ordinary had two of the white maggots across the aisle from me on the flight back,felt like giving them a peice of my mind:mad:

Stop ruining the game you white ******s:mad:
Yeah, I was behind the goals on that one. Riewoldt new it had missed & conned the umpire by clapping his team mate as if it were a goal. The goal umpire is paid to make a judgement based on watching the ball not the players reaction. We gave him $h!t not only for that quarter, but the rest of the game! The comment about the Ray Charles & Steven Wonder of goal umpiring & forgetting his guide dog came from my mate.

Originally posted by maccas_no1

Disagree

I was right behind that one

A certain goal.

It seems we're always stitched up by the umpires, but hey, I suppose everyone thinks they are.

Purely and simply, St Kilda wouldn't have got within 6 goals if the free kick count was 20-0 in our favour.

I always think the best umpiring is that the umpires are not noticed. The flow of the game yesterday was totally impeded by the umpires. I don't think the umpiring was one sided, mistakes were made for both sides. For me the umpires spoilt what could have been a very fast, flowing game, instead of holding it up so much.

Careful...

You'll have Suzi (goaldrush) in here calling you all trolls and making excuses for the sh1tpot standard of umpiring we've all been subjected to this season.

Jars458 are you a goal umpire:confused:

Sorry but that was not even remotely close to being a goal:rolleyes:

The ball has to go through the two BIG white posts to be a GOAL;) Not on the OUTSIDE of the BIG white posts:mad:

Were you drunk by any chance Jars458:rolleyes: