• Thread starter Thread starter eays

Are they?

• Yes

Votes: 54 49.5%
  • No

Votes: 17 15.6%
  • They will until this group has officially been broken, Hardwick aint Coach and Gale isn't CEO

Votes: 38 34.9%

we have had some bad umpiring this season for sure & tonight was definitely another shocking night for the umpires. Fortunately for us, we got the better rub of it tonight - Port had some incredibly tough calls on them The Gibcus holding free kick was terrible. The Pepper Powell holding the ball was a total joke. The 50's against both teams seemed needless also. there were a number of others that were terrible & once again it made the game a less enjoyable spectacle - but at least we got the better rub of it for once. Don't feel great winning a game on the back on shit umpiring tho

One of the weirdest calls ive seen in a long time was the Baker goal, reviewed to be a point. The umpire blew the whistle as the ball went through. Then they reviewed the goal, which appeared to hit the post at first view, but on a 2nd and a 3rd i questioned if it was an optical illusion due to the actual post moving, not the ball - making it appear as if the ball deviated in movement. Instead of checking the goal via a different view, they chose to make a hasty call for a behind. How the f did they only check 1 angle on that goal & why the F did the umpire blow his whistle? It looked to be a free to us, but then they only allowed the point.... made no sense

we have had some bad umpiring this season for sure & tonight was definitely another shocking night for the umpires. Fortunately for us, we got the better rub of it tonight - Port had some incredibly tough calls on them The Gibcus holding free kick was terrible. The Pepper Powell holding the ball was a total joke. The 50's against both teams seemed needless also. there were a number of others that were terrible & once again it made the game a less enjoyable spectacle - but at least we got the better rub of it for once. Don't feel great winning a game on the back on shit umpiring tho

One of the weirdest calls ive seen in a long time was the Baker goal, reviewed to be a point. The umpire blew the whistle as the ball went through. Then they reviewed the goal, which appeared to hit the post at first view, but on a 2nd and a 3rd i questioned if it was an optical illusion due to the actual post moving, not the ball - making it appear as if the ball deviated in movement. Instead of checking the goal via a different view, they chose to make a hasty call for a behind. How the f did they only check 1 angle on that goal & why the F did the umpire blow his whistle? It looked to be a free to us, but then they only allowed the point.... made no sense

Was an absolute spectacle and credit for the win but regardless the umps are killing the game we grew up watching... what would the calls be if it was the early 90s or 80s...

Yep, can't recall another sport in the world that has butt rooted their product as badly as the AFL has atm. Used to be such a visually pleasing game to watch, its just awful now. Its became a sport you can watch & scroll facebook on at the same time

Yep and once again there were at least 5-6 holding the balls , incorrect disposals that we didn’t get , happens every week without fail

So I've scoured the interwebz to try and find 50m penalties per match. Only thing I can find is the total given away per team and per player in 2022, but not per match. For example, I think we gave away about 8 against Carlton, but I can't verify this. Anyone have a website or app that shows 50m penalties for a given team per game?

Agreed, you know it’s bad when you find yourself arguing calls that your team got, afl has twisted and bent the rules so much I find myself watching the game with little emotion anymore, can’t see myself wasting money on attending games and ditched my membership also

I'm used to shot calls now but that goal they took off Baker almost had me breaking the TV screen. Umpire calls it a goal and the review is just embarrassing

So proud tonight. Keep it up lads.

#boycottAFL

Was there in 2010. Now that game was cold. The hail hitting nason in the face while kicking for goal. Paddy Clangerfield setting the tone for his career with about 1.5

I've been thinking about this for a while now, after getting really frustrated at the lack of free kicks coming our way in comparison to those conceded to our opposition, week after week. I reckon we're being a bit poorly coached in one respect now - I think Dimma and the other coaches are missing a trick here.

Perhaps we need to respond to being tackled differently? For so long we've tried to stand up in tackles and free arms, or just win the little battle of strength in a contest. But maybe we need to start falling forward when tackled, like so many oppo's do, and win easy "in the back" free kicks.

After all, a cheap free is as good as the best speccy or greatest run-down tackle anyone can do. I don't mean going full Weightman or Ginnivan or any of those pissweak campaigners. Definitely no flopping or outright diving, but just milking a few soft ones along the way to even the ledger a bit. Otherwise we're missing the boat.

For years we didn't need to do it - our strength and pressure in contests more than compensated for opposition soft frees, but now we're not afforded that luxury. We could really use another string to our bow to get some soft shots at goals, or even some cheap centre clearances.

I guess teh counter argument is that some teams don't mind holding it in cause they feel like they can equal or top their opposition at the ball up.

One of our biggest issues have been clearances, and I think last night, once again, we lost clearances. Watching the game, Port were clearly getting the better of us at clearances.

Wonder the reason we don't hold it in for a ball up is because we're worried about our lack of ability or confidence to win the resulting clearance?

It's funny how we've now been conditioned to think that we've got the rub of the green when we break about even on good and poor decisions - says a lot, because I felt the same.

That said, the dodgy 50 against Houston/Burton? early was compensated of course by the Ralphsmith one later on - neither player in any way hampered the bloke with the footy. Then they missed an absolute shocker later in the 3rd Q when Butters clearly ran right through the mark - that was 50 when Jim Stynes did it 35 years ago!!

The Gibcus free compensated the soft Marshall one in the first Q, and their were several "dropping the ball" non-decisions against both teams. The SPP one was just a poor one, but we get them in multiple doses weekly - welcome to our world for a moment Port. It was enough to get Kane Cornes suddenly and finally having conniptions over the state of umpiring this morning - we knew we'd eventually get you on board Karen.

I'm just going to say what others always say to us - "undisciplined Port" and "wouldn't have made any difference if we'd just kicked straight" :D

It's funny how we've now been conditioned to think that we've got the rub of the green when we break about even on good and poor decisions - says a lot, because I felt the same.

That said, the dodgy 50 against Houston/Burton? early was compensated of course by the Ralphsmith one later on - neither player in any way hampered the bloke with the footy. Then they missed an absolute shocker later in the 3rd Q when Butters clearly ran right through the mark - that was 50 when Jim Stynes did it 35 years ago!!

The Gibcus free compensated the soft Marshall one in the first Q, and their were several "dropping the ball" non-decisions against both teams. The SPP one was just a poor one, but we get them in multiple doses weekly - welcome to our world for a moment Port. It was enough to get Kane Cornes suddenly and finally having conniptions over the state of umpiring this morning - we knew we'd eventually get you on board Karen.

I'm just going to say what others always say to us - "undisciplined Port" and "wouldn't have made any difference if we'd just kicked straight" :D

First 50 was penalised against Farrell, and then Farrell was the recipient of the Ralphsmith one.

Felt like holding the man wasn't paid as much I thought. Other than the 2 that were paid, felt like there were numerous cases where Soldo or Vlaustin were held down in marking contests, and same with Dixon and Marshall for Port.

Yeah we are on the same page. To be honest i think the umpiring is a top 3 deciding factor of nearly every game this year - its not just us pulling our hair out over it. I think its important though to acknowledge when we see the opponent get a bad run, especially at important times. For me its more about us making sure that its an important topic to the game, despite it not hurting us for a change. It needs to be discussed and become a bigger topic - and that is CLEARLY happening as we are starting to see the commentators break character at awful calls. The Gibcus free kick was really really soft for example & at such an important time. Last night though i thought the umpiring was just "poor" overall & not questionable in intent, like so many other games we have seen this year.

There have been games this year where i seriously question the unmpires intent on the bad calls, especially due to the timing the "bad runs" occur. I've said it before and been a labelled a tin foil hattter, but i think the game has been borderlined rigged to let the AFL play out narratives they believe makes the game more interesting. In games where we play opponents that are basically going nowhere and have no "strong narrative", we appear to get a decent run - Port, GWS, Eagles, Pies. Then, there are games where the narrative of their internal interest come into play & we see the umpiring shit the bed. Carlton, St Kilda - 2 teams Gil would love to see win a flag as i think he is pushing the narrative that under his reign, the long standing teams of heartache found success (Dogs, Richmond, Dee's), Bombers (the narrative on that one was they wanted to avoid a blowout) etc. I think the negative run we saw came from 2 things - Too Successful for too long + the club and especially Dimma getting "too big for their boots" especially over the COVID season where we caused a lot of risk and drama - I always said there will be payback later & we saw it in 2021 when the umpiring went to utter shit against us

I watch a lot of sports around the world, especially the NBA & international soccer. Its pretty open knowledge in those circles that the games can be somewhat rigged, especially in the NBA where finals are played over 7 games. If a finals is looking likely to be only 4 or 5 games, the NBA instill umpires the fans label "The Extenders", as they are known for making calls to extend the series to a game 6 or 7. Obviously the more games played, the more profits etc. Its very very openly known & it is obvious to watch. Often the strategy is that the star or important defensive stopper for the team looking to close out gets called for 2 very soft fouls early in the quarter, hence having them in foul trouble early & having to sit on the pine to ensure available later in the game ( 6 fouls & u r out in NBA). There are lots of examples of "The Extender" in NBA history, its almost a comical sidenote to the game, openly discussed and groaned over. Eventually, the team that deserves to win, wins - but not before "The Extender" kicks in to ensure the $$$.

In the AFL we do not have this "extender" issue, as our finals are "one & done" - our corruption is done midseason to ensure the season has strong narratives, its why we have seen the remarkable stat of us having the worst umpiring For & Against in the regular season ( around 3-1), yet in the finals we are sitting at around 50/50, or in most cases, actually a positive Frees For/Against. It makes no sense. How can we play 22 games and always be in a negative, yet the finals come & we breakeven or better? The reason is pretty obvious, the AFL may be corrupt, but they have their limits.

It will be interesting to see how the remainder of this season plays out as the discussion around rule changes & poor crowds gets louder. I expect us to start getting a far better run - the AFL needs a resurgent Richmond to talk about as this year the level of competition is pretty f-ing shit & the top 8 is a boring lot of teams. This could be the dullest season of AFL in history

Bill Burr actually spoke about the NBA corruption recently on a late night show, even broke down the timing to perfection. I think us Tiger fans will relate to the timing he explains as we have seen this ourselves. The bad umpiring almost ALWAYS runs in 10-15 minute spurts.

Was ready to turn the box off at 1/4 such was the umpiring, on both sides. Awful first Q, but got better as the game went and by the end was the best for a good while. Those 50m penalties for encroachment are about the stupidest rule introduced because 90% have absolutely no bearing on the play at all. The one where Farrell (I think) went left because he's a lefty and RSmith (I think) jogged past was idiotic. Umps have no feel for the game these days.

Hope everyone enjoyed the positive count of plus 3 last night. With all the carry on going on social media today from oppo flogs and the media, normal programming will resume from next week.

Also everyone crying about the soft Gibcus free but no one crying about the fact the umpire who called it was a good 30 meters away on the boundary line.
We have 3 umpires out there and they still cant get in the right positions.

It's being reported that the AFL is surveying people to try and find out why crowd numbers are down, talking to most people it's because of the new rules and umpiring fiasco. I'm betting they will never admit it.
I just think it's no longer a great game to watch, I used to watch nearly every game, I struggle to watch more than 3 now.
The whole thing stinks, 6-6-6 is shit, makes no difference to scoring except it means your team has to be good at clearances, The kick out from a behind is a joke players are basically running 30 metres on kick outs now. The stand rule is a farce, the incorrect disposal rule is no longer called unless it's a blatant throw, umpires told to call play on as the ball fell out in a perfectly good tackle.
The AFL manipulates the game depending on teams who haven't been successful. If St Kilda, Carlton or Freo win the flag in the next year or 2 then you can't deny it. Bulldogs, Tigers & Dees all breaking droughts.
The game is so hard to watch.

It's being reported that the AFL is surveying people to try and find out why crowd numbers are down, talking to most people it's because of the new rules and umpiring fiasco. I'm betting they will never admit it.
Not sure where the survey is, they'll probably manipulate it to say what they want

Umpiring decisions are having more of an impact on games because of the stand rule. Prior to the stand rule there was a less of an advantage in getting a free kick because the defending player on the mark was the most effective defender being able to prevent a number of attacking options. Now we have a statue that cant do anything. It translates into a territory advantage as the attacking player effectively gets a free pass to waltz past the player on the mark. Some interesting stats would be score involvements from free kicks, and metres gained after a free kick. Compared to the pre-stand era both would be up. I think it's why it is so frustrating when they get it wrong. Because when they get it wrong it has a bigger impact on the game. Doesn't help us knowing who brought the rule in and why.

Yep and once again there were at least 5-6 holding the balls , incorrect disposals that we didn’t get , happens every week without fail
Port also throw the ball, like a lot. Almost every clearance is just a quick flick. Bullflogs-esque.

I just think it's no longer s great game to watch, I used to watch nearly every game, I struggle to watch more than 3 now.
The whole thing stinks, 6-6-6 is shit, makes no difference to scoring except it means your team has to be good at clearances, The kick out from a behind is a joke players are basically running 30 metres on kick outs now. The stand rule is a farce, the incorrect disposal rule is no longer called unless it's a throw, umpires told to call play on as the ball fell out in a perfectly good tackle.
The AFL manipulates the game depending on teams who haven't been successful. If St Kilda, Carlton or Freo win the flag in the next year or 2 then you can't deny it. Bulldogs, Tigers & Dees all breaking droughts.
The game is so hard to
New trending GIF tagged up jessica point jess… | Trending Gifs
watch.

Port also throw the ball, like a lot. Almost every clearance is just a quick flick. Bullflogs-esque.

one of the centre clearances the bloke fell backwards and just chucked it straight up in the air lmao play on of course

Umpiring decisions are having more of an impact on games because of the stand rule. Prior to the stand rule there was a less of an advantage in getting a free kick because the defending player on the mark was the most effective defender being able to prevent a number of attacking options. Now we have a statue that cant do anything. It translates into a territory advantage as the attacking player effectively gets a free pass to waltz past the player on the mark. Some interesting stats would be score involvements from free kicks, and metres gained after a free kick. Compared to the pre-stand era both would be up. I think it's why it is so frustrating when they get it wrong. Because when they get it wrong it has a bigger impact on the game. Doesn't help us knowing who brought the rule in and why.
The stand rule has effectively marked the point where this is now an entirely different sport. It's like what union is to league but no one asked for it or wants to watch it.