U19 Under 19 Premier Division

I too was a nuteral observer for Saturdays Prelim, and agree that De La are a very good skillful running side. They do play very predictable football though, long kicking from the back line to where a line of mids move the ball through the middle and hit passes to a very capable forward line. A better coach than I however would be able to (with some tallented footballers) stop their run. Uni Blues seemed to do this well for 2 qtrs (1st and 3rd) but in the end the skill of the De La outside players (especially no14 (i think) on a wing) shone through.

If you make them kick short from defence, play accountable one-on-one footy through the middle and put your head over the ball when needed then they are a beatable team, as shown last week by Xav's.

Agree game on, Kneebone (#14) and Pollard (#12) amongst others wreaked havoc with their run. If you play loose on these blokes then you won't win. De La have the bench depth to keep their runners fresh as seen last week with 30+ bench rotations to around 10 for the first half.

Big open spaces at Central suit De La's game style perfectly and they should win.

Agree game on, Kneebone (#14) and Pollard (#12) amongst others wreaked havoc with their run. If you play loose on these blokes then you won't win. De La have the bench depth to keep their runners fresh as seen last week with 30+ bench rotations to around 10 for the first half.

Big open spaces at Central suit De La's game style perfectly and they should win.

Boo Brickster, stop making me yawn... your pointless threats over a forum a just ridiculous.

Agree, open spaces help De La and their "game style". Problem is that they don't have a plan B and thye only know how to go one way... I think Terry Wallace said it best earlier last week "Downhill skiers maybe????

Gonna be a good game nonetheless...

tell me bricky, did you feel like harry in divination class when you gazed into that crystal ball?did you see the big fella kicking another 10 on the weekend... your a joke bricky stay off the forum.

after satty word is the lads all in fine form, no serious niggles so all is going well over at dairybell. still sticking with de la to roll the outsized, outskilled and the winging mob that is the red and black...

carl to get best on and enforce his presence once again, send him onto that little "critter" dshlapp aswell, we know your running around for the xavs

lots of love the boo

no I did nt feel like harry I felt like a brick.

The big fella has been kicking bags all year but where was he last week when he needed to step up a kick a bag. Enough said

Carn De La

Hey tough guy, what number are you this weekend? Or should we just look for the bloke running out the water?

Will be watching....

Charles. Don’t take the bait. Hatitorlovett is not a DLS player and has nothing to do with the team or club. Is just cruising the forums looking for a bite.

Bla Bla Bla... All this talk but no action. You can use this forum for motivation or maybe you could use your seniors peformance on the weekend.

go easy leave the xavier boys alone, we dont want dshlapp cleaning their blood off the oval come carl time!!!

Odds
De La 1.35
Xavier 3.30

Taking Bets for this shoe in... at 1.35 youd be crazy not to!!!

pipe down brickster

go easy leave the xavier boys alone, we dont want dshlapp cleaning their blood off the oval come carl time!!!

Odds
De La 1.35
Xavier 3.30

Taking Bets for this shoe in... at 1.35 youd be crazy not to!!!

pipe down brickster

Gimp brick ill take those odds of 1.35 de la way over the money there.
Also im honored that you have decided to name your bigfooty account in reference to me. Obviously my insight has had a lasting effect on you, which is fantastic to see. Love your other brick.

You been doing a bit of overtime collecting trollys around the coles car park lovett. Flashing around the big bucks.
I sincerely hope your money goes by the wayside.

Well I will be a little more gracious.

Well done to Xav’s. The only team that was able to trouble an awesome
De La side all season. Any other year and Xav’s might have been premiers but this really was a super strong De La Salle team. If DLS played anywhere near there best they were likely to win and that’s exactly what happened. Fantastic effort by the DLS unders. 4 Premier Division flags in 6 years but perhaps a bit early (vafafan) to be claiming favouritism for next year just yet.

Well done to Ash Lim from Scotch who won the medal for the Best and Fairest in Premier Section.

Also congratulations to Muller from DLS who took out the goal kicking.

any word about the team of the year??????

as it appeared in last weeks record...

2009 Team Of The Year

This ridiculously hard task was made even harder by the quality of this year’s Premier group and purveyors of VAFA footy can look forward to seeing this talent develop even further in their clubs senior squads. My initial list of 60 players was culled late on Monday night and I couldn’t believe some of the talent I have left out of the side. Robbed is Ben McClure (UBLU), Ed Clinch (DLS) – Robbed, Ned Hunt (OT), call the cops mate, you have been robbed, Jacques Augustine (MARC), I have gone completely mad, Fraser McFarlane (OS), I’m madder than Ken Bruce. Grech, De Fontenay, McKenzie, robbed, robbed, robbed. You get the point, the team below is the best I could muster and I’d tip them to win a game of footy against any side you care to name. The missing part of the puzzle is the coach. This is a tough call between our top four coaches and each carries decent claims for coach of the year. Jon Edgar has managed to keep his side at the top of the tree, a huge effort for mine, just ask Owen Lalor. Paul Dodd (OS) has also managed to keep the Cardinals at the pointy end of the season while Dino (OX) and our youngest coach Matt Embling (UBLU) have raised the standard of their sides remarkably. I’d be happy to have my son coached by any of them but to round out the TOTY I’ll go with Dino Dipierdomenico. I look forward to hearing the debate rage on these selections…enjoy!
From the backline….

B: Todd Bastion (SBMT) Thomas Maddocks (UBLU) Julian Moyan (OX)

HB: Llewyn Butler (UBLU) Adam Jones (SBMT) Hamish Buckley (OX)

C: Stuart Kemp (MARC) Ash Lim (OS) Aaron Kneebone (DLS)

HF: Jack Hunt (OT) Jack Townley (UBLU) Lachlan O’Connell (DLS)

F: Nick Dickinson (BEAU) Stephen Muller (DLS) Cam Mason (OS)

R: Thomas Clune (OS) Shaun Cross (OX) Jordan Pollard (DLS)

I: James Woods (OX) Shane McNamara (UBLA) Ben Gay (RUPO) Jared Evans (BEAU)

as it appeared in last weeks record...

2009 Team Of The Year

This ridiculously hard task was made even harder by the quality of this year’s Premier group and purveyors of VAFA footy can look forward to seeing this talent develop even further in their clubs senior squads. My initial list of 60 players was culled late on Monday night and I couldn’t believe some of the talent I have left out of the side. Robbed is Ben McClure (UBLU), Ed Clinch (DLS) – Robbed, Ned Hunt (OT), call the cops mate, you have been robbed, Jacques Augustine (MARC), I have gone completely mad, Fraser McFarlane (OS), I’m madder than Ken Bruce. Grech, De Fontenay, McKenzie, robbed, robbed, robbed. You get the point, the team below is the best I could muster and I’d tip them to win a game of footy against any side you care to name. The missing part of the puzzle is the coach. This is a tough call between our top four coaches and each carries decent claims for coach of the year. Jon Edgar has managed to keep his side at the top of the tree, a huge effort for mine, just ask Owen Lalor. Paul Dodd (OS) has also managed to keep the Cardinals at the pointy end of the season while Dino (OX) and our youngest coach Matt Embling (UBLU) have raised the standard of their sides remarkably. I’d be happy to have my son coached by any of them but to round out the TOTY I’ll go with Dino Dipierdomenico. I look forward to hearing the debate rage on these selections…enjoy!
From the backline….

B: Todd Bastion (SBMT) Thomas Maddocks (UBLU) Julian Moyan (OX)

HB: Llewyn Butler (UBLU) Adam Jones (SBMT) Hamish Buckley (OX)

C: Stuart Kemp (MARC) Ash Lim (OS) Aaron Kneebone (DLS)

HF: Jack Hunt (OT) Jack Townley (UBLU) Lachlan O’Connell (DLS)

F: Nick Dickinson (BEAU) Stephen Muller (DLS) Cam Mason (OS)

R: Thomas Clune (OS) Shaun Cross (OX) Jordan Pollard (DLS)

I: James Woods (OX) Shane McNamara (UBLA) Ben Gay (RUPO) Jared Evans (BEAU)

Average team to be honest.....the team of the year should really be the actuall team of the year not a team with a few players from each team to please all partys.
How is it possible to not include a player from the dls backline into the team when they had the least kicked against them for the year. They showed why they were the best team restricting an awsome xav forward line to under10 goals in a grandfinal--- no room for Clinch, Close or Humphries? No Noonan? Cam Mason is average at best in an ordinary team. Loc O'Connell is extremely lucky. Ben Gay - spare me. Does Kemp even play on the wing? And Bastion's year was last year. he to was nothing short of sh*t against the top teams as a backman and plays in a team that had alot kicked against them.
Other then that...............he tried

You have raised some good points P&S :thumbsu:.

I do agree that Clinch is a very good player and so is Humphrey.

Saying this Vickers-Willis and McClure from Uni Blues were also stiff to miss.

Max Davis from Scotch is a good player when afforded space.

Woods from Xavs can count himself very unlucky that he was named on the bench.

Gay and Morrice were solid for Rupo but I think Rush could have made a claim if he played less Senior Footy.

Jacques Augustine from Marcellin was their best this year and Spass from Trinity was a capable player with Oldfield who never stopped trying in what was a long year for the Bulleen Road Boys.

Richter and De Fontenay from Beauy gave them some good run and carry from Half back.

Just a few names thrown up for discussion :cool:

Saying all of this I think you should maybe have a crack at naming your team of the year. :)

Maybe it might create some more chat between the punters.

I look forward to reading it when its done.

Slothout :)

Excellent comments above from both P & S and RFS.

Vickers -Willis is UBlues best player and perhaps as good as anyone in the comp. Wonder how 3 UBlues players can be picked ahead of him? How can Noonan not be in this side? With Muller he is the most damaging forward going around. Humphrey is clearly the best CHB but reckon Jones from SBMT still deserves his place in the team. Perhaps Full back or HBF. Clinch is maybe the most in important player in what has been proved to be the comps best side. Should have been picked as simple as that.

Unfair to single out those who should not be in but maybe the attempts to keep all teams well represented has led to some glaring omissions.

A tough job and obviously the selector(s) could not have seen each and every game.

Noonan doesn’t deserve to be in there at all... yeah he is a good player but he only played 6 home and away matches for only 19 goals. You can’t pick a player on his reputation. Apart from that first game he didn’t really do much... Vikkers-willis should be in the team... and fairbane who came second in the league b&f didn’t even get a gig!!
Well done to de la best side i thought by a mile.... however xavs didn’t pretty bloody well beating them twice during the year...obviously had something over them...I’m not going to generalise because most of them were fine… but some of the de la boys really don’t know how to win graciously especially number 15 (Dickinson) probably got carried away with actually playing one decent game over his past two years... its embarrassing to your club and mostly to yourselves... look forward to playing some senior footy with everyone next year!

Some interesting observations from the U19 Premier fixture released yesterday.

I notice that Marcellin stay up but Rupo is relegated. Thought that Rupo finished above Marcellin last season. Is this by choice or will it come as a surprise to the Sunbury boys?

With C Section starting on the 17th both Beauy and Old Camberwell would be expected to field strong line-ups in round 1 with some young guns who may otherwise have played seniors being available.

What is Albert Park no. 1 like? Size, changerooms etc.

I think you will find that the Number one oval has no rooms. It is the old South Melbourne Cricket Club Thirds and Fourths ground from memory. Any key changes in regards players coming in ? In the coaching space I know the Scotch coach is now coaching Marcellin ones.

Some interesting observations from the U19 Premier fixture released yesterday.

I notice that Marcellin stay up but Rupo is relegated. Thought that Rupo finished above Marcellin last season. Is this by choice or will it come as a surprise to the Sunbury boys?

With C Section starting on the 17th both Beauy and Old Camberwell would be expected to field strong line-ups in round 1 with some young guns who may otherwise have played seniors being available.

What is Albert Park no. 1 like? Size, changerooms etc.

This might explain the absence of Rupertswood.

http://www.rupertswoodfc.org.au/