U19 Under 19's

that is a reasonable prediction moose1.

although id probably lean more towards OT and OI.

i dont think bulleen are much to talk about. first round. i hears OEG played on a pretty average ground.

i think by round 5 like you said. banyule will most likely be 5 and zip. and i think round 5 is the time to start judging more.

some grounds are s**t at this stage. and teams have playing coming and leaving.

OEG and OT will be a big match at a good ground. surely OT are favourites.

thats a cop out lamb chop! should be able to win anywhere on any surface if you're good enough.
if your blaming the condition of a ground for a loss, then your looking for excuses.

I was cycling down the main yarra trail on saturday afternoon past the A.J burket oval whe i saw the game Banyule vs O.C.i saw a youn gentleman for Banyule no.1, 1 out in the squre, his ability to read the play and get his mits on the pil was phenomenal, the only dissapointment toward this young man was his inabiltiy to convert opportunities. Down the other end of the ground a young well built/fit man they called cheezy, showed plenty of dash off halfback, was quite impressive.

chook3 21/4

you saw all this as you cycled past? stop pumping up the tyres of your mates

first of all i am sick of hearing that camberwell had players out yes that is true mayb but like what was said before it isnt going to matter if these players come in and out because there 2nd rate players arnt up to it. Again we think we have a massive challenge this w/e against a rival of ours who seem to be better than what people think it will also be interesting to see how camberwell go as people still rate them as a side for finals.
Also mixedfish it doesnt matter what grade the seniors are in because really the under 19s are fueled from the junior club and at banyule that would mean division 1 yarra team

Yule, you are missing the point. The top teams in A & B grade are semi pro in the way they operate. For a start ,most of them are not relying on junior clubs to fuel their U/19 team but on their school leavers, who have had specialist coaches throughout their school career, for eg Ken Fraser at Essendon Grammar. They then recruit from the local leagues any players they need to fill gaps. They do this to give themselves depth in all their teams. It just makes it harder for a community based team like Banyule to compete

Banyule will have no problems finishing above Old Essendon on the ladder. They're a quality side coming from a quality junior program. I think your opinion of your Old Essendon side is little over the top - they are only minnows in this competition.

ken fletcher maybe??

i think its far too early to be getting into arguments about whos better then who, they should dominate, they will be s**t. we have played 2 rounds of football lol. hopefully by round 6-7 we will see things starting to shape up as to who are the good teams and who are the bad teams. i have been watching manningham and ill put them as a dark horse, alot of talent and are better then last years 19's

Woolley, you can generally expect the teams that are well positioned in A and B grade to have pretty good under 19 teams because they have depth, so the obvious choices at this stage are are Trinity,Ivanhoe,Essendon

this argument makes little to no sense. just because the seniors are good how does this translate to under 19's? if the seniors are top of A grade and have 100 players it means jack s**t unless those players are eligable to play under 19 football. YULA19 is bang on the money when he says it is about the ability of the junior club and the 19's to keep links, or the school and the 19's to keep links

Well said mixfish.
OT and OI are surely the powerhouses.

Banyule may be an outsider. but as for keeping a consistent under 19s team. that might be a worry. they might lose players to senoirs.

anyone with a voice on the match up for this rounds?

any new players in the under 19s vafa to watch out for?

This round will reveal alot in my mind. We will get a true sense of what banyule are like when they take on bulleen.
Lamb you seem to be a massive fan of trinity, I will jump on board aswell if they beat essendon away this weekend.

no no no mixfish i am not missing the point i think u are because how doesit work that senior players make the under 19s a good side this is how i see it. Essendon should have a very good 19s because there school team is good but would loose most of there players to higher grade footy. Old Ivanhoe have the worst school team in the AGS i play for Marcellin and we beat them by ova 100 points every year so how does it work that they are good. Banyule recieve all there players from the junior club which is one of the strongest in the YJFL. It has nothing to do with the senior club and everything to do with the junior club or school team.

I am not sure which side of this argument to support. I definetly think that local clubs have much more character and camaraderie than school clubs which i have noticed seem to lack that club spirit and passion. Independant clubs tend to have more club pride and people are more likley to stick around after training rather than hopping straight in your car and going home.

On the other hand, school teams always seem to find it easier to attract the numbers and keep a constant stream of players, especially at U19 level when numbers can fluctuate so much from year to year.

There are definatly upsides to both but you cant categorically say that U19's sides with strong seniors are going to be better than clubs with a weaker senior side. I say this as U19 sides are independant from the seniors unless players from the seniors are eligable to play U19's.

I am not sure which side of this argument to support. I definetly think that local clubs have much more character and camaraderie than school clubs which i have noticed seem to lack that club spirit and passion. Independant clubs tend to have more club pride and people are more likley to stick around after training rather than hopping straight in your car and going home.

On the other hand, school teams always seem to find it easier to attract the numbers and keep a constant stream of players, especially at U19 level when numbers can fluctuate so much from year to year.

There are definatly upsides to both but you cant categorically say that U19's sides with strong seniors are going to be better than clubs with a weaker senior side. I say this as U19 sides are independant from the seniors unless players from the seniors are eligable to play U19's.

Completley disagree with your take on club teams as more 'passionate' than school teams. School boys always have a good atmosphere because seniors and 19's always have friendships as the majority of them went to school together and there are plenty of brothers and family ties from the school etc. Local clubs love to think that they are tougher and have more spirit/passion than the private school boys, its just not the case.
What evidence do you have to suggest old boys don't stay around after training and get in there car and go straight home? That is the biggest generalisation.
Think you will find the majority of clubs in A section and B section and 19 premier are old boys clubs mate, pritty good effort if they all lack passion

Nah mate you misunderstood what i was attempting to say. I was talking about passion for the club, not passion for the game. The evidence is clear, school teams do dominate the top grades and you made a valid point.

As for evidence about guys leaving straight away I was talking from past experience at Marcellin. They played a great brand of footy and were always ultra competetive but as soon as teams were read out after training everyone was straight in their cars. Everyone knew eachother but the footy club was not a meeting place like it is at independant clubs. Maybe it is a generalisation but I am only talking from experience.

yep fair enough don't mind you saying that about a particular club especially if you played there then you have a right to say it. But wouldnt generalize to all old boys clubs

I completely agree with Yulas regarding seniors having nothing to do with under 19's! however the club I play is an old boys club and after training we dont just go home. On a thursday especially, most, if not all the players stick around untill well after training.
In regards to Ivanhoe having such a strong 19's side. I think its due to their year 12 leavers wanting to play 19's footy for old ivanhoe, and not venturing to the vfl or higher. A team like old essendon for example, would not have as many players from their year 12 firsts team as they would think they have a chance at playing a much higher standard of football. This is due to the majority of the PEGS 1st team being on scholarships.

So i guess what i am trying to say is that Old boys sides do have a lot of spirit and passion for the club (with the exception of a few) as their school leavers do associate themselves with old boys footy

yeah i can understand why essendon wouldnt have strong players but ivanhoe dont even have any strong players i mean they have the worst school football team in the AGS so mayb many players from the area and local junior football team have played for them because if were going on the talent of Ivanhoe school team then they should be in a lower division

yulas you have no idea what you are taking about. football at ivanhoe is not the best sport, but it doesnt mean they donthave the players, a lot of good players try other sports at school like rugby and soccer, but when they finis school they come back to football and play for old ivanhoe. i can tell you they most of the players are from ivanhoe and there is a few from ivanhoe junior footy club because we all used to play there together colts team 05 06. the yulas were nowhere to be seen in the junior comp then.

white is sick and tired about reading all this crap about who should be good and who shouldn't be, and why teams that should be strong are perhaps not.

Let's just wait a few weeks and see who the teams to beat are, and lets not worry about why they are good, just accept the fact that they are...
If the posters on this thread actually talked about relevant topics, it would be a half decent thread!

O1T vs OE this weekend will now be played at the superb Marles Playing Fields.

This will be a cracking game! My bet is Trinity to win. Much polished unit from last year with 2nd year players such as Hummann, Lane and Robertson all stepping up and dominating. A privilege for both teams to play on probably the greatest playing surface in the amateurs. Massive inclusion for the T's with Coulsen-Hoffacker, gun under 19 player having a run in the unders. Good skills and ultra quick onballer will cause havoc along with the man mountain in Hummann, tthe tough Guerra, classy Lane and reliable Robertson.

About 16 i think they ended up with.
Probem they face now is most of their better plyers now have school football committments. Mentone Grammar had a praccy match that morning so half the team either didnt play or battled through it.

Hard to stop the rot when you go in undermanned. It's a shame when some kids are missing out on a game because of too many numbers 1 minute up the road.

Have many of their better players been running around in their senior team?

Hard to stop the rot when you go in undermanned. It's a shame when some kids are missing out on a game because of too many numbers 1 minute up the road.

Have many of their better players been running around in their senior team?
Problem starts back at school level Harper. Mentone finished behind Cam grammar 2006 and only marginally in front of them last year. Anyone who knows agsv will tell you thats not a good rap. And from memory could only produce one player good enough to play in the Aps Vs agsv game. Whether its the influence of the big scholarship school across Springy Rd ,I dont know