Underbelly.

• Thread starter Thread starter Bee

Why would I want to pay $20 for it when I can download it for free?

so you can put it in the dvd player and watch it as well as having it straight from channel nine instead of having it gone through hundred people making it crap but please yourself.

Have just finished watching the first episode, and while it's good (the book is obviously better as Sylvester goes into detail), there are certain things portrayed in the movie that are just laughable:

*Carl Williams being "The Driver" - absolute tripe, his father George was a drug dealer, and as such Carl followed in his footsteps.

*Carl Williams asking Mokbel to help him make drugs - WRONG - the Williams family have been known to make drugs out of Broadmeadows/Gladstone Park for a long time. They were rivals with the Morans in the drug market and occaisionally they worked together.

*Jason Moran being this musculer tank - WRONG - he was overweight, short (around 5"6) and stocky.

*Gangitano being this "supreme fighter" when he wasn't he relied on the help of his cronies.
That raised my eyebrow as well, but this is interesting.

http://www.melbournecrime.bizhosting.com/alphonse.gangitano.htm
Gangitano owned successful harness racing horses and had a love of boxing.

He became closely linked to champion boxer Lester Ellis.

In 1987 another boxer, Barry Michael, was bashed and bitten at Lazar's nightclub in King Street by Gangitano and his men.

Michael told Herald Sun reporter Mark Buttler that the ruthless beating, during which Michael's nose was badly broken, ruined his boxing career.

Despite being reset it was smashed during the first round of his next fight.

"There was a time when I considered Gangitano a friend, but what happened at Lazar's that night cost me a (second) world title," Michael said.
That looked more like Fitzroy when AG walks down the street like a King before collecting standover money.

It's a top show even though take there is alot of dramatic licence to make it entertaining. I doubt he was trying to change his life and become a Saint like he was portrayed in the first episode.

I love how they used the song Breath Me by Sia for AG's funeral.

Breathe me gained fame after it was used in the final episode of a series set in a funeral home. ;) :cool:

I don't know why the Carlton angle would worry Bee because it's factual.
They also managed to not include Perth's own bad boy John Kizon who was front row carrying the coffin.
Nine could have had Michael Gardiner or Cousins sub for Kizon in the funeral.

Gatto and Condello don't look Italian.

I don't know why the Carlton angle would worry Bee because it's factual.

It doesn't worry me that they were big Carlton supporters, that's a well known fact. It was just the way the show's producers made a big deal of it so early in the show. Call me paranoid, but it looked to me as if they were emphasing the point that these criminals were involved with the Carlton Football Club. It was like they were rubbing it in. Like I said, call me paranoid.
Anyway I am waiting to see if they show the Carlton flag drapped over Mark Moran's coffin when that episode airs.:cool:

It doesn't worry me that they were big Carlton supporters, that's a well known fact. It was just the way the show's producers made a big deal of it so early in the show. Call me paranoid, but it looked to me as if they were emphasing the point that these criminals were involved with the Carlton Football Club. It was like they were rubbing it in. Like I said, call me paranoid.
Anyway I am waiting to see if they show the Carlton flag drapped over Mark Moran's coffin when that episode airs.:cool:
It might be that the producers are muppets who couldn't come up with a better way to make the point they're the Carlton crew. Showing the Carlton Crew at PP twice in the first episode was overkill when one scene would have done the job.

Maybe the producers were playing to the stereotype Carlton's supporters as wogs. ;)

I'm surprised Eddie didn't call in a favour to change it to the Collingwood Crew so they could plug their sponsors.

They've made up enough already.

I watched Episodes 4-7 last night. Mind blowing stuff! It concentrated on the Sunshine Crew - Veniamin, Dibra, Kallipolitis. And Carl is certainly evolving - no longer a complete dope.

Lol Dino was portrayed as a complete dumbass. Was hilarious i reckon. Especially when he tried to ransom off that guy (forget his name)
That was hillarious - in 1999 they abducted a man in broad daylight, and held his family to ransom for 20k, bt when they realised they weren't going to get it, they settled for 5k LOL

Loved it last night. That scene cracked me up so bad. Even funnier if it is true. Next week promises a lot. Certianly sick of the Blue Healers chick's voice over.

I'd be keen to see how they portray Paul Kallipolitis and Dino Dibra.

Also, if Rocco Arico gets a mention !

kallipolitis would have to be one the heaviest figures in the series.. seen up to episode 5.. so i hope they do the bloke some justice..

was meant to be a good bloke.. even tho he was feared by many due to his rep..

kallipolitis would have to be one the heaviest figures in the series.. seen up to episode 5.. so i hope they do the bloke some justice..

No! None of them were "good blokes". I am glad they are no longer here!

Was a regular at Sunshine Heights soccer club when I was in the under 14's/15's.

Was a feared kick boxer also, wanted to know everything that happened in Sunshine and make sure he got a cut out of it - because it was on "his turf"

Went to Melbourne on a weekend footy trip back in '99 with a couple of mates. One of them kept on pestering to go Bar 20. We ended up going there on the Saturday night and I know these sort of places are seedy, but until I watched Underbelly, I didn't know it was frequented by all these underworld people. This would of been the time they were right in the thick of it too. :eek: In hindsight, it may have also been the reason why none of the cab drivers would take us there. The 3 or 4 that we hailed down would say, nah it's just up the road. I think we walked 40mins to get to it.:p There's a scene in episode 5 in the main bar and it looks exactly how I remember it.

Had a mate with a classy VB Commodore,
went for a shop at KMart Burwood Highway in '93,

Came outside, there was a gash on the door,
and a note on the window,
note said "Saw the incident, here is the numberplate"

He gave the boys a call,
couple of days later a phone boy rang and said
"Yeah, we traced the rego, owned by a K** P*********,
would you like to proceed with charges?"

"No thanks", he replied.

Haha. That is a great story. If it happened to me, and if I even knew the blokes name form somewhere like that...I wouldn't press charges either :o

No! None of them were "good blokes". I am glad they are no longer here!

Bee they may be not but some one always takes their place. Maybe the most feared mob the Map of Tassie boys has done the big swim and filled the void. Tassie, no meaner lot than those surrounded by water!

[/b]
Bee they may be not but some one always takes their place. Maybe the most feared mob the Map of Tassie boys has done the big swim and filled the void. Tassie, no meaner lot than those surrounded by water!

Well they are a pretty scary lot down at Primrose Sands, that's for sure!:eek: