Underbelly.

• Thread starter Thread starter Bee

OMG best show!! I seriously loved it. To be honest, I think in general, Aussie shows are terrible, but i thought this was awesome. Colossimo was heaps good, and as others have previously stated, it'll be good seeing the development of Carl Williams.

And to those who said they were "harmless to the general public", I don't know how accurate the show was, but it certainly didn't seem that way to me - ie Moran and Gangitano going into a nightclub and bashing innocent members of the public, including WOMEN. Pretty low if you ask me

Seeing as i was too young at the time to follow the gangland wars, can anyone explain to me the links to Carlton the Morans had? I tried looking it up, but didn't find much. Just that the had connections with a prominent Carlton bloke (named Leo or something??). Was it as simple as they just had meetings at our ground whilst the boys were training, or was it more than that? ie links with the players and the business/club etc

Not sure that they actually had links to the CFC. They were big supporters of the club though and at the funeral or Mark Moran his family asked the club for a premiership flag to drape over his coffin the club obliged, but didn't get the flag back for years later.

Watch the show and then you may change your mind about how they only targetted their own ...they were loose cannons and a danger to society ...thank god so may are no longer upright .

Totally agree. I am glad they have gone. They didn't really care who got in their way when they where out for revenge or profit.

Seeing as i was too young at the time to follow the gangland wars, can anyone explain to me the links to Carlton the Morans had? I tried looking it up, but didn't find much. Just that the had connections with a prominent Carlton bloke (named Leo or something??).

Leo Brooks was a life member of your club. He was Judy Moran's father -- Mark and Jason's grandfather.

What made me feel sick was when they were all sitting in the stands at PP watching a Carlton training session and Jason Moran said, "Come on Craig, no glory without the hardwork". It must have been intended for Craig Bradley!:eek:

If you looked in the background as he yelled it, you saw that it was obviously an actor kicking the ball.
If you thought Curly Austin was akward, take a look at this kick.

I don't know how other Melbournians feel about this but I never actually felt unsafe of the 'underbelly' group because they seem to only be concerned with their own and not just random members of the general public (despite some 'accidents').

I take it you weren't in the Sportsbar on that particular night.
Will B Worth that incident certainly happened, & the show was pretty accurate with it.

That said I tend to agree with your sentiment, most incidents didn't affect the general public.

..and your point is?.........

Er, my point is exactly what i said.

Someone asked what the connection was. Leo Brooks was their grandfather. He was a doorman and life member of your club. Through him they met players. That was the connection.

I understand the reference was supposed to symbolize Princess Park and those conversations would have actually happened back in 1995 but was the scene actually shot at Optus Oval?

It looked more like Junction Oval with the old wooden benches.

As my brother (RIP) was a mad Carlton support we used to made point of coming over to one game per year and most time it was to Optus over. During the millions and millions of advert breaks it got us talking about weather we accidentally bumped into one of the Moran’s at a game. Yeah that would have been a very quick sorry.:eek:

Certainly was mate. It was shot in the sweet old lady of Princes Park - the Gardiner Stand. It's on the northern side of the ground so, unless you attended games there, you'd never know it was there as all the tv telecasts used south facing cameras. ;)

To the series itself, downloaded and watched the first 2 hrs last week and don't think i've seen better Aussie tv - riveting stuff. :thumbsu:

Have watched the first 15 mins up until Jason Moran asks his son if he's going to play for Carlton :). ....not a huge fan of Australian TV but this is quality :thumbsu:

Er, my point is exactly what i said.

Someone asked what the connection was. Leo Brooks was their grandfather. He was a doorman and life member of your club. Through him they met players. That was the connection.
"The Dominator" Wayne Johnson - actually boarded with Leo Brooks and the Morans when he was first recruited by Carlton.

He was very close to both Mark and Jason.

Watched it last night on replay. Reckon I might start a thread on Bay 13 warning all those tools that Carlton is still full of people like that so they better think twice about giving us any more crap. Gotta love street justice! Of course it is not and I would never condone the use of violence as a means to an end.....not including a behind the play shirt front of Dale Thomas. Anyone caught doing such a heinous act should get 8 weeks plus $1000 bucks and a carton of Stella from me!

I have watched the show and found it to be a fairly accurate potrayal of what I have read and what I know. As far as I know, it was Mark and Jason Moran's grandfather who was a boot studder at Princes Park around the 70's and 80's that was the connection to the club. As a result of his close relationship to the club and with club members (on a purely proffesional level) the Moran boys when young spent a lot of time around the club. What you see is what actually happened as the characters in the movie often met at Princes Park (I will not speculate for what reason). I also believe Mark was the one that had the original Premiership flag drapped over his coffin at his funeral and it was some time before it was returned.
Additionally, a former player already mentioned in this thread was litteraly best mates with the Moran boys....enough from me.

Decent show.....absolutely ****ing pathetic, nee, shameful attempt at simulating Carlton training in the background of the PP scenes....looked like me, HBF, The General, TGR and three other random extras running around like dills :mad: