Underrated yet again!

• Thread starter Thread starter catman 71

Besides the fact that we shouldn't care how they rate us, we were absolutely favourites throughout 08 and a lot of people in the media were tipping us for the flag in 09 and 10. It wasn't until Ablett left that a lot of people jumped off the bandwagon then back on at the start of 2012.

Ammo has learnt a new word.
Slow hand clap please

n2fep.gif

A) don't care what a mercenary flog like Roos thinks. Lets not forget he abandoned Fitzroy when they were on their knees. He was MR FITZROY at that point. Him leaving ripped what heart that club had left out of the joint. And I can tell you that for fact as I was let's just say "involved" with the lions at the time. He has no thought for anyone but himself. That he has Sydney in there says it all. They were seriously lucky last year and their best two
Mids - Bolton and mcveigh - are a year older, as is goodes. And Tippett will
Never be the saviour they make him out to be.

Back to us though - feeling have improved their list dramatically this year.

Rivers is a better player than the shadow of himself that Scarlett was fr
Most Of last year.

Macintosh will be a jets and I love that they're taking their time, reay getting him right. It's gold.

Caddy improves our midfield by 20%. Him plus a year older and another preseason into bundy and Duncan= a midfield that won't e beaten very often.

Throw Varcoe in and you're top 4.

So I say. Paul Roos and David king and mickey malt house and every other silly who doesn't rate the Cats. Go and eat a dick!!!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also, Roos was a selfish prick, because, not only did he leave Fitzroy, he announced it on the final day of trading.

Roos named Adelaide as his preferred club, but Fitzroy only had three hours to broker a deal with the Crows to move him, which they didn't. So, he ended up in Sydney via the draft.

So not only did he leave Fitzroy, he left without Fitzroy being able to do an adequate trade, in which they could have got players or picks which could have helped them, instead of ending up with nothing.

I'm not saying that "you're only as good as your last game" is necessarily valid, I'm saying that it is how people perceive a team based on their showing in a final. You can disagree with that based on your own criteria all you like but the fact remains that Geelong looked terribly out of their depth against Freo. Factor injuries, inexperience, change of game plan and all variables as a supporter of the club - but don't expect outsiders or mainstream media writing for outsiders to be as discerning as yourself. You're only as good as your last game.

But in 2007,2009 and 2011, our last games were winning Grand Finals, yet we were not premiership favourites the year after.

There goes that theory out the window!

But in 2007,2009 and 2011, our last games were winning Grand Finals, yet we were not premiership favourites the year after.

Pretty sure your point has already been addressed by others in this thread and has no bearing on what I'm saying, in that it relates directly to 2013 post-2012.

To be honest I don't even understand why AM is arguing about it, it's pretty clear that the media is under no obligation to fellate us.

At no point have I suggested the media have any obligation to do our club any favours. Not once. Silly comment.

Interesting that you would come up with Tom Waterhouse that well known AFL luminary and a blogger as two of your linked pieces in support of the line you are running about the significance of the memories of last years elimination final loss to the mainstream sporting medias assessment of our 2013 prospects.

I enjoyed reading the content in the mainstream link which has little more than a cursory mention of the loss and only as a lead-in to the substantive part of the story. And in the context of the substantive content of that story those cursory lead-in remarks were of little import. However, I accept your hobby horse has received a passing mention in one mainstream report and by Tom Waterhouse and a blogger. Something I hadn’t picked-up before so I thank you for that.

I was going to draw attention to the plentiful mainstream media and specialist sporting pieces where not even a cursory introductory mention is made of last years elimination loss in the analysis of our 2013 prospects. Like the HS, Addy, The Roar, Football Nation. However out I deference to The Slim Dog I’ll resist.

Have a nice day.

Not that I overly care, but are we that underrated? Most media that I have seen have us anywhere between 6th and 10th, which is where I would put us if it weren't for the whole fan bias thing :p If we make the finals this year I will be very happy. We have problem areas that are quite exploitable now, and to make a big impact this year we will need a few of the kids to step up.

So yeah, not sure if we should be rated that highly at all.

And you couldnt blame the media for 2011. Maybe I am just pessimistic, but I didnt think we would win the flag that year either after losing Ablett and Rooke, as well as Bomber stepping out. What would happen to any other team if they lost their best layer and coach? Most would struggle to adapt to anything. Can you imagine if Hawks lost Franklin and Clarkson?

At no point have I suggested the media have any obligation to do our club any favours. Not once. Silly comment.

Interesting that you would come up with Tom Waterhouse that well known AFL luminary and a blogger as two of your linked pieces in support of the line you are running about the significance of the memories of last years elimination final loss to the mainstream sporting medias assessment of our 2013 prospects.

I enjoyed reading the content in the mainstream link which has little more than a cursory mention of the loss and only as a lead-in to the substantive part of the story. And in the context of the substantive content of that story those cursory lead-in remarks were of little import. However, I accept your hobby horse has received a passing mention in one mainstream report and by Tom Waterhouse and a blogger. Something I hadn’t picked-up before so I thank you for that.

I was going to draw attention to the plentiful mainstream media and specialist sporting pieces where not even a cursory introductory mention is made of last years elimination loss in the analysis of our 2013 prospects. Like the HS, Addy, The Roar, Football Nation. However out I deference to The Slim Dog I’ll resist.

Have a nice day.
Media is media is media, and you're pushing a broken barrow here by minimising the impact that using something as that FIRST point of reference for a critique, passing or not, has on the mind of that reviewer and by extension the intended audience. If you really want to retreat with your tail between your legs in deference to The Sim Dog (if we're genuinely paying attention to our reading material here) then have the decency to admit that you have been done on a technicality, the same level of umbrage you took with my initial post.

Did I miss something, weren't we clear premiership favourites in 08?
Thanks for the reminder.:rolleyes: That's one day I'd prefer to forget but one a mate constantly reminds me of each time I mention our more recent ascendency. We were raging favourites that day.

We were favorites every single year after those years in the Preseason see my earlier post.

Do you always do no research/lie and try and pass your word off as gospel to prove your hissy fits?

Not sure what your aim in this thread is besides Geelong deserving to be undisputed favourites every single year?

John Ralph I think it was last week on SEN/KB had us as 6th, but said we could easily win the flag if things go right for us. I thought that was pretty fair. There are a number of variables that should realistically downgrade our expectations - age, fitness, injury, rucks, and the young'uns. However I reckon, like most of us, if these things do go right for us we are right up there.

Dos it matter what a biased flog like Dermie thinks? No not a bit, however I think we would all like a bit of respect.

People are within their rights not to rate us based on a meek showing in an elimination final last year. If Geelong are good enough to win the flag in 2013, then expect to be rated again in 2014 but otherwise - you're only as good as your last game.
They are also within their rights to forget that we played Sydney and beat them, then Hawthorn, and beat them. Both of them heavy duty games. The two grand finalists. Then we limped into the elimination final the next week, flattened out. A horse racing equivalent would be if the trainer had thrashed the horse the day before the big race. Except in footy, this is sometimes unavoidable. We had no luck coming into the finals. One tough match would have been ok. Not two in a row.

Yes that's true but it's pretty universally acknowledged that finals footy is a step up from H&A. Geelong dropped late round games in 07 and 11, so grand finalists getting done by a cavalier team at the tail end is hardly a precedent set last year. Hawks and Swans fans would shout "cue in the rack" or "list management" if you put this to them.

We could have too if we stopped giving sides massive leads early in games/finished off close games.
Unfortunately we didnt and as they say, you reap what you sow.

It has been pretty conclusively proven that no-one was considered to be in the same postcode as us in the 2008 pre-season betting market, so not sure why it's worth persisting with. Hawthorn would have firmed as the clear second favourite after their good start that season, but still wouldn't have come close to us in the betting, until three quarter time of the grand final. 2010/2012...what were we...second by a bee's dick in the 2010 preseason and third in 2012? Both times, we were apparently overrated, because we didn't finish the season that high.

I think some people need to get over their persecution complex and realise that the media has been completely reasonable with us since 2007. As for the betting agencies...well if you think they're being way too generous on their Geelong odds in 2013, there's an easy way to get that to work in your favour.

As we did in 2007 (lost in Round 21), 2009 (lost in Rounds 19 and 21), and 2011 (for variation, lost in Round 23). More than a few fans on here said exactly those words.

They are also within their rights to forget that we played Sydney and beat them, then Hawthorn, and beat them. Both of them heavy duty games. The two grand finalists. Then we limped into the elimination final the next week, flattened out. A horse racing equivalent would be if the trainer had thrashed the horse the day before the big race. Except in footy, this is sometimes unavoidable. We had no luck coming into the finals. One tough match would have been ok. Not two in a row.

Didn't have two tough matches coming into the finals though. We played the Dogs the week before Sydney (and won easily), and St.Kilda the week before that (another easy win). It doesn't explain how they were able to pummel Collingwood by 96 points in the final round in 2011, then prove far too strong for Hawthorn the week after.

You're either good enough or you're not. Last year, we were not. Hopefully better this year.

Didn't have two tough matches coming into the finals though. We played the Dogs the week before Sydney (and won easily), and St.Kilda the week before that (another easy win). It doesn't explain how they were able to pummel Collingwood by 96 points in the final round in 2011, then prove far too strong for Hawthorn the week after.

You're either good enough or you're not. Last year, we were not. Hopefully better this year.
Understood.

But we did have a tough run home from the Collingwood game on when every game was a must win. Our fowards (Hawk etc) looked flattened by the final. We pummeled Collingwood in 2011. In 2012 we fought tooth and nail with Sydney who really wanted that game. We spent too much coming into the finals because we lost too many early ones, and you can't deny that.

Understood.

But we did have a tough run home from the Collingwood game on when every game was a must win. Our fowards (Hawk etc) looked flattened by the final. We pummeled Collingwood in 2011. In 2012 we fought tooth and nail with Sydney who really wanted that game. We spent too much coming into the finals because we lost too many early ones, and you can't deny that.
You can put this angle on it, but that is disrespectful to Fremantle who played with an intensity that our team just wasn't able to match on the night. They took our structure apart and left us with no run off half-back, and no accurate delivery into the attacking 50. I think Geelong will be better this year, however last year was a genuine transition from Thompson-era to Scott-era and added to that, injuries and suspensions really caught up with us.