Underrated yet again!

• Thread starter Thread starter catman 71

You can put this angle on it, but that is disrespectful to Fremantle who played with an intensity that our team just wasn't able to match on the night. They took our structure apart and left us with no run off half-back, and no accurate delivery into the attacking 50. I think Geelong will be better this year, however last year was a genuine transition from Thompson-era to Scott-era and added to that, injuries and suspensions really caught up with us.
Personally I think it was a combination of both. A case could be made for us limping into the finals after a slog just to get there, though in saying that, I didn't see, read or hear anything to suggest that fitness/well being by that stage of the season was an issue. I agree with your comment about Fremantle - they played with a focus rarely seen by that club and managed this at the MCG, traditionally not a happy hunting ground for them. Credit must go to Fremantle, as they had Adelaide in big strife the following week again interstate but understandably ran out of petrol by 3/4 after consecutive intense matches interstate.

If I could add to this, I think we need to remember that we were without Steve Johnson, who was an important part of our midfield in 2012 and also carried a few players that hadn't played finals footy before or simply weren't up to it on the night. We were jumped early and lacked the tools on the night to mitigate (or possibly avoid) the damage early and reel them in. It was very indicative of our year. At our best, we were excellent but for a variety of reasons pondered extensively on this board we weren't able to produce that consistently enough. Do we have the tools this year to address last years short comings? Perhaps, but we are placing a fair amount of expectation on the likes of Stringer, Caddy, Horlin Smith, Duncan and Christensen to suddenly arrest the contested ball and clearance issues of last year. I think we'll be infinitely better served with the run of Varcoe and perhaps an elevated output from Duncan and T Hunt now that they are approaching or have cracked the 50 game mark. Our forward line looks good provided Chapman has another solid year and we get more out of Motlop, Smedts and perhaps Walker or Vardy. Clearly, our defence is our biggest strength which is comforting but the rucks are still somewhat of a health issue which looms large.

Basically, there are a lot of unknowns at this stage and any conservative punter or tipster would be apprehensive about backing Geelong to even make top 4, which is completely understandable. It's up to us to hope as much falls into place as possible and watch with great interest and emotion! I think we should forget the favouritism and the pressure associated with it and just enjoy the next chapter of the GFC story!

Understood.

But we did have a tough run home from the Collingwood game on when every game was a must win. Our fowards (Hawk etc) looked flattened by the final. We pummeled Collingwood in 2011. In 2012 we fought tooth and nail with Sydney who really wanted that game. We spent too much coming into the finals because we lost too many early ones, and you can't deny that.

That's with hindsight though. At the time most fans on here were perfectly content with our preparation - remember we were "peaking for September". Any kind of caution about our chances in the finals last year was an extremely minority view. The gerbil-faced optimists were rampant.

I was a pessimist for most of last year. However toward the end I didn’t think there was a standout team and the silverware was up for grabs. As I’ve said previously I can’t recall seeing our coach more disappointed after a single game than he was after our effort in the elimination final. I suspect he felt that a win there would have placed us in the softer side of the draw and given us a reasonable chance to make it to the big dance where anything can happen. Does that make him a "....gerbil-faced optimist..."? ;)

Personally I think it was a combination of both. A case could be made for us limping into the finals after a slog just to get there, though in saying that, I didn't see, read or hear anything to suggest that fitness/well being by that stage of the season was an issue. I agree with your comment about Fremantle - they played with a focus rarely seen by that club and managed this at the MCG, traditionally not a happy hunting ground for them. Credit must go to Fremantle, as they had Adelaide in big strife the following week again interstate but understandably ran out of petrol by 3/4 after consecutive intense matches interstate.

If I could add to this, I think we need to remember that we were without Steve Johnson, who was an important part of our midfield in 2012 and also carried a few players that hadn't played finals footy before or simply weren't up to it on the night. We were jumped early and lacked the tools on the night to mitigate (or possibly avoid) the damage early and reel them in. It was very indicative of our year. At our best, we were excellent but for a variety of reasons pondered extensively on this board we weren't able to produce that consistently enough. Do we have the tools this year to address last years short comings? Perhaps, but we are placing a fair amount of expectation on the likes of Stringer, Caddy, Horlin Smith, Duncan and Christensen to suddenly arrest the contested ball and clearance issues of last year. I think we'll be infinitely better served with the run of Varcoe and perhaps an elevated output from Duncan and T Hunt now that they are approaching or have cracked the 50 game mark. Our forward line looks good provided Chapman has another solid year and we get more out of Motlop, Smedts and perhaps Walker or Vardy. Clearly, our defence is our biggest strength which is comforting but the rucks are still somewhat of a health issue which looms large.

Basically, there are a lot of unknowns at this stage and any conservative punter or tipster would be apprehensive about backing Geelong to even make top 4, which is completely understandable. It's up to us to hope as much falls into place as possible and watch with great interest and emotion! I think we should forget the favouritism and the pressure associated with it and just enjoy the next chapter of the GFC story!

Agree with most of that, sensibly put.

The only thing I would add or perhaps change is that for all our ups and downs, coming off 5 years of winning at 85% and winning 3 flags, there was bound to be some drop off at some stage. I don't welcome the drop off and of course at any professional football club you can't internally accept it but Carter more or less said we probably needed an early finish to get some guys over some injuries and just have a proper long pre-season for a change to freshen up the list. So in saying all that we missed the top 4 by 1 game last year. Any natural improvement even given Scarlo's retirement after only a fair 2012 by his standards should see us very close to top 4. I wouldn't say we are a lock for top 4 in 2013, but I am quietly confident so far.

John Ralph I think it was last week on SEN/KB had us as 6th, but said we could easily win the flag if things go right for us. I thought that was pretty fair. There are a number of variables that should realistically downgrade our expectations - age, fitness, injury, rucks, and the young'uns. However I reckon, like most of us, if these things do go right for us we are right up there.

Dos it matter what a biased flog like Dermie thinks? No not a bit, however I think we would all like a bit of respect.

Jon Ralph must've changed his tune then, because in the Herald-Sun's season preview, he didn't even think we'd make the 8.

I was a pessimist for most of last year. However toward the end I didn’t think there was a standout team and the silverware was up for grabs. As I’ve said previously I can’t recall seeing our coach more disappointed after a single game than he was after our effort in the elimination final. I suspect he felt that a win there would have placed us in the softer side of the draw and given us a reasonable chance to make it to the big dance where anything can happen. Does that make him a "....gerbil-faced optimist..."? ;)
Your question is not even pertinent to your point AM, being hugely disappointed after a loss has nothing to do with optimism or pessimism. More relevant is that Fremantle was where Scott cut his coaching teeth and would have loved to beat based on any number of factors related to that, or even that it was -a final- and coaches always want to win finals. Being contrary for the sake of it doesn't make you a more astute observer of the game, just FYI.

And you're still not contributing anything to your argument.

Anyway maybe we can move on from AM's embarrassing little Ignoratio elenchi, and discuss something football related now.
That's what I've been attempting to convey. However your obsessiveness kept getting in the way. So pleased you've moved on albeit via your sniping edit. ;)

A better way for you to execute that manoeuvre would be to stop replying to me in an incendiary provocative fashion? It doesn't really inspire confidence in your ability to graciously concede a point if you keep retorting with your own little off-topic snipes. You're not the omniscient poster you think you are so maybe stop attempting to post above your station.

Once again you've hit the nail on the head. I shall go to the naughty corner and seek the forgiveness of the omnipotent one. I hope you will forgive me.

Jon Ralph must've changed his tune then, because in the Herald-Sun's season preview, he didn't even think we'd make the 8.
To get back on track.

There are a few of the commentariat who have changed their view regarding our prospects in recent weeks. Lloyd and Healy are two who come to mind.

I almost fell off my chair when I watched "On the Couch" and Healy had us finishing 2nd :eek:

Both Sheahan and Roos had us 6th or 7th but Roos said he felt we were better than that but couldn't place us higher than the 5 or 6 teams he had above us.

It looks open again with 13 or 14 sides possibly laying claim to a top 8 position and 6 or 7 that, if things go right, could contest the top 4.

Be great to get away to a flyer considering the home games we have in the back end of the season.

I'm not saying I'm better than you, I'm saying you're no better than me. The glare that obscures and all...
To be serious LS-V. I'm opinionated. I'm direct. That's not to everyone's liking. However, I don't regard myself as any different from the many here who have a good grip of the game. If you'd read some of my posts today in other threads you would have noticed me deferring to others here.

Now let's move on.

I almost fell off my chair when I watched "On the Couch" and Healy had us finishing 2nd :eek:

Both Sheahan and Roos had us 6th or 7th but Roos said he felt we were better than that but couldn't place us higher than the 5 or 6 teams he had above us.

It looks open again with 13 or 14 sides possibly laying claim to a top 8 position and 6 or 7 that, if things go right, could contest the top 4.

Be great to get away to a flyer considering the home games we have in the back end of the season.
Yep! Big turn around by Healy. He's quite upfront about it to his credit. Lloyd has done the same thing.

Very even at the top. Anyone of half a dozen could be in the hunt for the silverware. As Malthouse often says it's not until everyone has played one another that you can get a realistic fix on where all the teams are.

To be serious LS-V. I'm opinionated. I'm direct. That's not to everyone's liking. However, I don't regard myself as any different from the many here who have a good grip of the game. If you'd read some of my posts today in other threads you would have noticed me deferring to others here.

Now let's move on.
I will move on once you give the board an assurance that you will stop your indirect (see your last few posts in this thread) toxic behaviour when someone buries your opinion. You have become quite pernicious over the last few months towards many posters and I am being direct when I ask you to cease and desist the insidious condescension. If you can do that without broadcasting yourself like a prat, then we can all have peace.

Your behaviour today has been so unbalanced I frankly don't care what you think. Rather than bore us all with your obsessive personal rants just skip my posts. As I will yours in future.

Your behaviour today has been so unbalancedI I frankly don't care what you think. Rather than bore us all with your obsessive persoanl rants just skip my posts. As I will yours in future.

To be serious AM. I'm opinionated. I'm direct. That's not to everyone's liking. However, I don't regard myself as any different from the many here who have a good grip of the game. But I will not let your misbehaviour continue unchecked. I will not ignore your posts.

Just put each other on ignore and move on. It's getting boring now.