Unfair draw set to get more unfair

Mudholian

Jan 15, 2001
The Monkey House Port Adelaide
Well it's pretty clear that no-one is going to invest $500 million dollars and not want to havea major say in how the game is organised. Already a few kites are up. THe Friday night games were one. Now there is a proposal to keep the 22 round season but only program matches a month ahead. Maybe this is just an extension of what exists currently re games being switched, but this idea severely disadvanatages the clubs that have to travel interstate every second week. Travel, training, marketing are all affected. While thre may be some disadvanatages for other clubs, once again, the proposal would advanatage exiting strong Melbourne based clubs.
MH

I agree with you on that one - the thought of them only scheduling matches 4 weeks ahead is inviting total chaos I reckon!

Take this season for example - there is going to be (well possibly will be) 3 different codes played at the Gabba in one weekend....Friday night is the Lions, Saturday night is an international Rugby Union match, and on Sunday possibly a Rugby League game....

A fixture like that couldn't be planned with only 4 weeks notice - I mean this time round it was planned 6 - 8 MONTHS in advance!

Mud id like to argue with your thinking but i cant. Your right of course the Murdoch/Packer alliance is going to want more control over fixturing, and regardless of all the promises coming out of AFL house, i can slowly see the erosion of the draw to suit TV/PAYTV. Perth clubs are the hardest hit and i read one of the reasons Mitchell White left the Eagles was to travel less and hence prolong his career. I think youll find local derby matches being played on the Friday night. Anyway we have some interesting times ahead

Just think, If an ashes test match is rained off for a day they can quickly schedule a footy match
wink.gif

------------------
Do not follow where the path may lead.
Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

im with u all on this one just imagine the chaos it will cause not only for the clubs but what about supporters for example interstate footy packages etc andu look at the draw and u think ripper i can listen to the high quality ch9 experts and end up listening to tim webster..ekkkkkkkkkkkk.
cheers!

Unfair draw set to get more unfair