Education & Reference Uni Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter aaronm46

That sounds beyond intense, surely one of the hardest degrees?

Anyone know a rough ranking of degrees in difficulty.

It is quite difficult and there's a lot of work to do. For every lab we do we have to write up a lab report for it. At the moment its pretty intense but at the same time we're learning about cancer at its molecular level and particular drugs which can be developed to help prevent/stop tumour growth etc. It really opens your eyes to see just how hard medical researchers work to try and find a cure for cancer.

I'll make more money than any of you in this thread. Chemical Engineer bitches.

How much are you expecting to earn?

I'm currently doing undergrad psychology. There's a lot of shit to sift through (I have very little time for personality and social psychology), but cognitive and developmental psychology, and the neurobiology behind them, is really cool. I'm very interested in developmental neuroscience and how this contributes to learning disorders and others in kids.

For postgrad, I'm tossing up between a clinical doctorate of psychology or psychiatry. Clinical psychology will take a little bit longer before I'm working, but I'd go straight into about $80,000 a year after postgrad working in a major city. From there I'd be aiming for $150-$200,000 a year once I establish myself, maybe more if I'm really successful. It would also be easier.

Psychiatry would get me working in a hospital for a while, earning next to nothing for a few years, but after I specialised I'd start raking it in. Shitloads of work for very little immediate reward for a long period of time though. Not sure I could handle it tbh.

Either way, I reckon I'd want to write a book at some stage which would hopefully add to the coffers! :p

Pretty sure if someone codes we still have to save them...nurses do more then what people give them credit for.

Couldn't give a crap what you little boys think of nursing...at least I'm doing something I love and not wasting my life in a shit hole job I'm only doing for the money :)

I remember someone telling me they had a 300k job lined up as a mechanical engineer, when they were in year 10.

:confused: and there would be people to live in the stone age without nurses? What a dumb comment.

you didn't actually say this did you?

brb human race can't survive without nurses.

Lol. Oh dear...

I'm going to stop this right here. How about you both address each others points, and argue the topic, rather than simply trying to convey how humorously stupid you find the other posters view to be.

Great idea Centrelink. And just for your information, I no longer work for Maccas c00lcat. Got sick of the crap.

Next time you get sick, I would like you to get yourself admitted to hospital...oh wait, you wouldn't be able to, there would be no nurse to do it! The only thing we don't do is diagnose and prescribe medication.

EDIT: Even if I did still work at Maccas, it wouldn't matter. Because I wouldn't be doing it for life! It was just a stepping stone.

Kinda back on topic; first year uni student here. How many lectures does everyone attend in person these days? I'm finding myself very tempted by the thought of sleep ins and just listening to them online. At the moment I attend about 80% of my lectures, is that the norm?

I attend most, but I leave the long ones early, and I don't go to my wednesday lecture.

Yep. It depends on the lecture though...some lecturers put EVERYTHING into their online notes, while some put very little. I had one lecturer who used to leave out words so people had to attend lol.

I think out of the 3 units I'm doing I've attend all of the lectures for two of my units, and only one of the other. Must admit though going into uni for 2 hours on a Tuesday morning doesn't sound very thrilling.

Hahahaha.. 80%....

I attend 1 or 2 a week, that's it.