Upper Murray 2015

Hearing massive wraps about the Bridgeman brothers at bullioh. There is one in each grade at the moment, Jake has had a couple of weeks in the ressies but after jagging a couple of snags on the weekend he is apparently in the mix for the seniors.

Tips for this week
Feds by 55pts
Corryong by 34pts
Bullioh tumba game could go either way going to tip bullioh in a close one because of playing at home bullioh by 8pts
Well done to evan playing his 200th game last week

G'day. Been following the Upper Murray threads for years, thought it's about time I joined in the fun.

Great to see a bit of banter between foes and friends alike. Good on you all for keeping it relatively clean and not personal, better than some of the acts on the field up here in the Snowy mountains that's for sure.

Anyones flag this year I reckon, probably apart from Walwa.

Feds look like the ones to probably beat, the derby next week looks like making that a bit clearer.

Bullioh seem to have picked up a few, but will still struggle I reckon, P.Dean is probably passed it from what I've heard (and seen).

Tumba struggle away from home. Will need a home final to get anywhere. Their uncontested game style won't hold up under the pressures of finals footy in the Upper Murray.

Corryong have shown glimpses. Could be anything. Heard the Cudgie goal umpire didn't help the cause on the weekend... and Ev's spray after the game was something to behold.

Cudgie have had to play kids, Crowther doing a pretty good job with the cattle he's got. Having blokes like Hewatt running around in the 2's won't help things either. Alex Starr looks set to play a few games, not sure about the other Cleven brother. Very unfortunate for the older Vinge brother breaking his leg. Lets hope he recovers well and gets back next year, had been playing good footy all year.

Anyway, would be good to see a few more posting more regularly.
Especially those that read and don't post (I'm guilty as well!)

Has anyone started a 2016 thread yet? Might be a start.

Cheers & beers.

G'day. Been following the Upper Murray threads for years, thought it's about time I joined in the fun.

Great to see a bit of banter between foes and friends alike. Good on you all for keeping it relatively clean and not personal, better than some of the acts on the field up here in the Snowy mountains that's for sure.

Feds look like the ones to probably beat, the derby next week looks like making that a bit clearer.

Bullioh seem to have picked up a few, but will still struggle I reckon, P.Dean is probably passed it from what I've heard (and seen).

Tumba struggle away from home. Will need a home final to get anywhere. Their uncontested game style won't hold up under the pressures of finals footy in the Upper Murray.

Corryong have shown glimpses. Could be anything. Heard the Cudgie goal umpire didn't help the cause on the weekend... and Ev's spray after the game was something to behold.

Cudgie have had to play kids, Crowther doing a pretty good job with the cattle he's got. Having blokes like Hewatt running around in the 2's won't help things either. Alex Starr looks set to play a few games, not sure about the other Cleven brother. Very unfortunate for the older Vinge brother breaking his leg. Lets hope he recovers well and gets back next year, had been playing good footy all year.

Cheers & beers.

Great post Footy Bloke,

Welcome to the forum, well what's left of it. I am not sure what has happened? Does everyone thing Feds are going to win and there is no point posting? I even miss Chopper's weekly insights into the round that was and will be!! So this is a big call out to Flying Dutchman, Gameday, Blankspace, The Toecutter, Fruit, Little Joe, Goodbitaredgum, Beer Pig and my old sparring partner Blues2012. Come on gents don't let the forum die. Your not playing for the Cooma Cats are you mate?

I'll post the first question is Feds beatable and how?

Cheers & beers.
Welcome aboard mate. Look forward to having another perspective on here.

Tips for round 7:

Tumba by 2 goals against Feds - nice and cold this weekend with a bit of rain - great Tumba weather!!
Bullioh to upset Corryong by 4 goals
Cudgewa to beat Walwa by 100+ - looking at the Walwa clearances, some of the players must be sick of getting flogged and are moving on. - Well done to the guys who are staying on, not only to make up team numbers but keep the club going.

Rumour of the week: Blue Boy to announce that he is marrying his favourite dairy cow Hilda. They might shit on you mate, but they wont tell on you!! lol

Tips for this week
Feds by 23pts
Corryong by 16pts
Cudgie by 10gls
Demonroo just haven't had time to do any write up but will try this week if i go to footy.
Will put my team of the first 5 game next week.

Tips for round 7:

Tumba by 2 goals against Feds - nice and cold this weekend with a bit of rain - great Tumba weather!!
Bullioh to upset Corryong by 4 goals
Cudgewa to beat Walwa by 100+ - looking at the Walwa clearances, some of the players must be sick of getting flogged and are moving on. - Well done to the guys who are staying on, not only to make up team numbers but keep the club going.

Rumour of the week: Blue Boy to announce that he is marrying his favourite dairy cow Hilda. They might shit on you mate, but they wont tell on you!! lol

I think you'll find those clearances are for blokes that came to help out for that week and have been cleared back to their respective clubs. Fortunately the club are retaining their players, unfortunately most of them are injured.

have wheels falling off at Tumba & Bullioh?
Unsure about Bullioh but I expected a fair bit more from Tumba on the weekend. They said they had 10 senior players out which would make a lot of difference. Their coach spent a lot of time on the bench but didn't look to be injured when he was on. Also was told there were a bit of disagreement at the Thursday night training.

Yeah not sure mate, but something's happening? I thought they'd put up a better fight at home too, they did have a lot out, but no excuse.

I'm thinking an all Corryong Grand Final at this stage!

My weekend wrap up:

Tumba vs Feds
Sounds like the wheels have fallen off up there in NSW. Feds are clearly the best team in the comp at this stage of the year... so the result was to be expected.. but by that margin? I don't think anyone could have predicted that.
In saying that, Feds had 14 Senior players show up, including J.Jarvis who drove all the way from Batemans Bay. So a couple of blokes played 2's and 1's and they had Reserves top up the side (including S.Paton I hear, great effort to get out there in the 1's!).

My question is: If they only had 14 show up to play, do they have the commitment from the whole playing list to strive for the ultimate success?

Cudgie vs Walwa
Walwa just can't get a break. Injuries have hurt them, but it's great to see them still fielding a side, if Corryong had of signed all the McCarthy brothers, they would be in some serious trouble.
Heard that Cudgie had 2 leave in an ambulance throughout the afternoon... anyone know who and why?

Corryong vs Bullioh
Even though Cudgie have beaten Corryong twice, I still think the Demons are the other top side along with Federals.
Beat them across every line on the weekend.
D.McIness slotted 6.0... had P.Dean for most of the afternoon, until he put himself forward to not look as bad.
Dean, as the Bullioh coach, did not shake hands with the majority, if not all, of the Demons team. An extremely poor example of leadership.
Apparently gave them a big rev after the game as well. Definitely problems down at Bullioh.

Corryong looked good. Tough and hard at the ball. Seems like T.Nicholas has stopped hitting blokes and is reaping the benefits, definitely had the better of the big Bullioh ruckman throughout the day.
Winners all over the park for Corryong, particularly B.Low coming back after a couple of weeks out. Had Hall all day, only kicked a few easy ones when the game was pretty much over.

Looking Ahead
Season defining clash this weekend for both Federals and Corryong.
With both teams up and about, would hope to see a big turnout.
Corryong had half a side the first time they played, fought back late to only go down by 11 points.
Both teams should have stronger sides in, even though the Feds cheque book is probably the bigger of the two.

Corryong by 3 points
Cudgewa by 45 points
Tumbarumba by 78 points

Great post Footy Bloke,

Welcome to the forum, well what's left of it. I am not sure what has happened? Does everyone thing Feds are going to win and there is no point posting? I even miss Chopper's weekly insights into the round that was and will be!! So this is a big call out to Flying Dutchman, Gameday, Blankspace, The Toecutter, Fruit, Little Joe, Goodbitaredgum, Beer Pig and my old sparring partner Blues2012. Come on gents don't let the forum die. Your not playing for the Cooma Cats are you mate?

I'll post the first question is Feds beatable and how?

How do you beat them?
I think Corryong probably have the best backline in the comp. They've rarely conceded over 60 points. They have a great mix of big and small defenders. Ohlin is almost unstoppable, but if anyone can give him a run, big J.Barlee will surely have a crack.

But in reality, you have to shutdown their midfield supply.
A.Tyrell vs T.Nicholas is always an intriguing battle, but Nicholas has more presence and needs to use that to his advantage.

N.Bond has been phenomenal for Federals this year, both as a lockdown defender and a run-off type.
Who ever gets him in the Demons forward line must be accountable and run with him.

C.Tyrell down at full back is definitely a link you can exploit in the Federals line up. His size means a one-on-one is hard to win, but off the mark, his lack of pace is noticeable.

In the end, I think Federals have the skill and execution down, but is that because of their attack on the footy? Or just the quality of outside ball winners they have?

They have a couple of stars in Ohlin & Bradshaw up forward, but the overall midfield grunt of Corryong might be able to combat Federals love of the outside ball.

It's always a fascinating contest, and it's great to see both sides up the ladder at the same time. I think neither side really knows what's going to happen... so whatever the result, everybody's going to learn a lot.

good write up footy bloke, was at the Corryong/bullioh game I think the only difference between the two sides was Corryong were prepared to work a lot harder for each other and always pushing the ball forward.Bullioh loosing C.Reid before half time really hurt them and what was said in Thursdays paper came back an bit them on the arse.To say some of their players are over rated, well I think the score board say you underestimated them.
At this moment i'm still sticking with Feds/Tumba G.F. with Corryong been the dark horse .Injuries to players from tumba, cudgie an bullioh in this middle part of the season could open the door for Corryong to get second spot.Anyway my tips for this week
Tumba to bounce back with a win against Walwa 58pts
Feds to beat Corryong by 37pts
Bullioh to sneak home against Cudgie 16pts
MY TEAM FOR THE FIRST 7GAMES
B.Paton[corry] J.Barlee[corry] Crompton[t]
H.B. Jones[t] J.Cleven[cud] A.Hill [f] capt
C. Greiner[bull] Aalbers[cud] Turner[t]
H.F. D.McCarthy[w] Ohlin[f] Collins[f]
F. B.Hall[bull] B.Carey[t] M.Bradshaw[f]
FOLL-Tait[t] E.Nicholas[corry] Roberts[bull]
INTER-M.Hill[f] Dekoeger[corry] Wizza[t] H.Tyrell[f] Bennetts[t] D,Aurthers[cud]
Coach- E.Nicholas

Hi All,

Suprised there hasn't been some more conversation after the weekends results. Both Bullioh and Corryong having goods wins.

Anyone watch either of the games?

Looks like it could be anyone's this year on their day. It's tight for the top 4 looks like sides will need to on their game if they want a spot. I still think Tumba with their best side on the park will be dangerous. Corryong seem to be playing good consistent football. Feds first loss for the year will be a reality check. Bullioh showing they can be dangerous.

Anyone got any late recruits coming?

My ladder prediction is-

Feds
Corryong
Tumba
Cudgie
Bullioh

How do you beat them?
I think Corryong probably have the best backline in the comp. They've rarely conceded over 60 points. They have a great mix of big and small defenders. Ohlin is almost unstoppable, but if anyone can give him a run, big J.Barlee will surely have a crack.
I think if Barlee challenges Ohlin's courage he will go to water. That would be where Corryong could get a big advantage over Feds.

Geez mate I was going to let this one slide but what a load of crap that post is. To question someone's courage is pretty poor form. Ohlin is a ball player. I hope he tears Corryong a new one next time we play them just for you.

Upper Murray 2015