Upskilling during lockdown

Remove this Banner Ad

meesy

Cancelled
Apr 14, 2012
AFL Club
Fremantle
I live in Victoria at the moment & currently unemployed. I'm currently studying (never intended to this year but corona hit) but I still have a good chunk of time left to train other stuff. Essentially I want to exit lockdown with a set of skills that are what employers are looking for. So far I've been reading a lot and binging on educational videos on youtube but I don't think this is enough to impress recruiters. Dabbled a bit in learning coding but finding that a bit dull haha. Got the adobe suite and have been learning how to use some design software. Anyone have some good sites or programs to recommend? Or has anyone used this lockdown to really get better at something? I have an interest in information technology and perhaps design.

As an aside I had to really think about what the word skill actually means. Personally I believe you can read all you want, gain a lot of information for example, but a skill involves repetitive and consistent practice of something that improves your ability to do it. I think skilled ability is essentially your knowledge base in execution and as the world gets more automated and information easier to access I think having a job will necessitate being extremely proficient in at least one skill.

I would think cyber security would be a great field to get into, it's growing and ScoMo has pledged millions over the next 10 years into ensuring government systems are protected.

The way i see it you should find someone who has the job you want and chat to them about what they did to get there, including formal training. Also research the industry as a whole, find out about the competitive landscape, major issues etc. Even if you're going for a tech role it would look good that you understand the business, they may earmark you as a future leader.