Travel USA travel tips and tricks

May 22, 2016
Perf
WV Mountaineers Texas Rangers
We recently spent 10 weeks in Canada/USA - Carted the Family around (wife, 3 kids 8,5,2).
Flew Cathay Perth-HKG-Vancouver
Vancouver was great, went to a wedding near a place called Harrison Hot springs which was beautiful. Smoked weed. Petrol around $3 CAD from memory
Car was a Taurus, pretty roomy, but needed more space.

Amtrak'd from Vancouver to Seattle, which was a great option also.
We did all the touristy things in Seattle (Space needle, museum of pop, pike place etc) was pretty good, stayed in the uni district, public transport was pretty good there also. Smoked weed - like maybe $2.50 USD for huge blunts.
Bought an esky - handy to have when roadtripping.
One thing about Washington State is that they really don't use the chip readers for credit cards, and paypass is basically non existent, so make sure your magnetic stripes are in good nick.

Hired a car (Jeep Compass? i think) and drove to Portland via Aberdeen (Kurt Cobain birthplace) - went to the bridge in that song "something in the way".
Drove then on to Portland, which is fantastic, drank a heap of good beer - hair of the dog was the best brewery imo. Smoked a heap of weed. Went to a bunch of Waterfalls. Portland is a cool city.

Drove then to Mt.Hood, visited the Timberline lodge (where the shining was filmed) we weren't expecting to see snow there but there was a shitload, all 5 of us Aussie dickheads in shorts and thongs in the snow. Drove on to Bend, OR - Crazy to watch the mountains and snow give way to desert and farmland. Bend was cool. Beer. On to Crater Lake NP (mountains again) which was a trip, looks fake - is beautiful, underrated imo. Heaps of snow again. Us 5 dickheads loving snowfights and s**t.

Drove to a place called Shady Cove, OR for a night. Cool little town on the rogue river.

Drove to Santa Rosa Norcal to go to Russian River and drink Pliny the elder - was ok. Santa Rosa was shite.

Drove to San Fran which was sweet, Bridge is cool, foggy AF in mornings tho. Fisherman's wharf and chowder and s**t. Smoked weed. - Gas like $4/gal
Drove from San fran on HWY 1, cool drive, but traffic can be slow - big sur was awesome. Santa Cruz pretty cool. Got as far as a place called San Simeon.
On to Anaheim along hwy 1, via Malibu and Santa Monica Pier (shithole). Disneyland for 4 days, was fairly warm - get the maxpass and app. Food is crazy $$$. LA traffic is shite, Bottle Logic Brewing is not.

Drove from anaheim to Vegas via Barstow (don't bother) - when we got to Vegas I went into that Bass Pro shop, holy s**t. Most 'murica store. Ammo by the lb, stuffed animals, aquariums where you can catch fish with reels you are trying out, just crazy stuff. Stayed in Circus Circus which was terrible, especially the Circus Circus "Manor" - got moved to the casino wing which was a bit better, trying to find a park while you check in is chaos. It's ok for kids, have a decent little water park, and small theme park. Frkn hot. used the monorail and saw all the things. Smoked weed.

Drove to South Rim of GCNP via R66 and peach springs, pretty cool. Grand Canyon was cool. 2 year old - was hard work carrying the little s**t on my shoulders, we laughed. From there we drove to Phoenix - landscape changes were cool. Loony Toons cacti appearing. Arizona is hot. Gas around $2.80/gal.
We only drove to PHX so we could fly from there to Austin. Gave some young guys staying at the hotel the rest of my blunts (like about 7) and my esky thing - and they were over the moon. Samaritan.

Flew to Austin via SLC. Delta were good. Used Private shuttle from Austin airport to hotel downtown $50usd. Austin is the best place on Earth. Warm (around 37C), spring fed water everywhere, beautiful city. 1st night had a look down Rayney st, next day we got a tesla and explored. Went to awesome places in Dripping Springs and this place called Wimberley Blue holes, went to Salt Lick BBQ and Jester King Brewery which was glorious. Went to a Honky Tonk, ate heaps, saw the bats, went to Zilker park and swam in the spring fed pool (barton springs).Went to Franklin's, terry black's, la bbq, Kids loved it. Beer is fantastic. Went to get milk at a little store around corner from hotel - wtf 12 taps of beer at corner store. Peak humanity. Gas around 2.40/gal

Flew to New Orleans, private shuttle to hotel around $50 - just ask the people at the shuttle booths if they know any private drivers who do cashies. New Orleans is cool, did the beignets, went to garden district, katrina tour, gators, voodoo, drank those stupid frozen drinks. Humid AF, don't bring a hire car in, parking is ridiculous, you can park at Harrah's casino for 24 hours tho if you play for a bit. Food was fantastic, fried oyster po' boys, gumbo et al.

Got a better car this time, a silverado. Drove from NOLA and did some plantation tours, Houmas plantation was the best. Took natchez trace Parkway, was nice. Got pulled over in Mississippi doing 80mi in 65 zone, he let me off, poured the australian on thick.

Went to Tupelo, Mi where Elvis was born, nice. Went to Memphis, fairly boring tbh, Nashville was better - Johnny cash museum, honky tonks, Grand Ole Opry, Ryman auditorium.

Drove through rural tennessee which was awesome, just beautiful country. One cool place was called Greenville, Tn. Went to the town fair there, just like the movies.

Drove on thru appalachia, went through blue ridge parkway, just amazing, then parked up at Washington D.C - traffic horrible. Saw Donalds house, and all the rest, Hot. D.C pretty cool though, smoked weed. gave a heap of stuff away to homeless folk before getting on the train. Southseas is man of the people.

Amtrak from D.C to NYC. Not as good as the Cascades train from VAN to SEA but still good, and only 200 for the 5 of us. Left my wallet in the seat (faaaaaaarrrrg) got to NYC but no wallet, went to accom on 37th st, just down from Madison SG. Called Credit Card mobs, put temp hold on. Amtrak called and said someone handed it in, picked up at penn stn (MSG) $400USD still in it, wowee. Ate hotdogs, went up the big'uns in Top of the Roc and ESB. 9/11 memorial was great, heaps of stuff for the kids to do and they seemed to take in part of the enormity. Saw the lady, went to the bronx zoo (free on wednesdays), in the Bronx saw a lady get hit by a car, helped her - she hugged me and kissed me on the lips, was weird. used Subway heaps, its easy. Brooklyn was cool, walked back along the bridge. Other Half brewing sensational.

Jun 6, 2011
Goonellebah
GWS
Islanders
We recently spent 10 weeks in Canada/USA - Carted the Family around (wife, 3 kids 8,5,2).
Vancouver was great, went to a wedding near a place called Harrison Hot springs which was beautiful. Smoked weed. Petrol around $3 CAD from memory

We did all the touristy things in Seattle (Space needle, museum of pop, pike place etc) was pretty good, stayed in the uni district, public transport was pretty good there also. Smoked weed - like maybe $2.50 USD for huge blunts.
One thing about Washington State is that they really don't use the chip readers for credit cards, and paypass is basically non existent, so make sure your magnetic stripes are in good nick.

Hired a car (Jeep Compass? i think) and drove to Portland via Aberdeen (Kurt Cobain birthplace) - went to the bridge in that song "something in the way".
Drove then on to Portland, which is fantastic, drank a heap of good beer - hair of the dog was the best brewery imo. Smoked a heap of weed. Went to a bunch of Waterfalls. Portland is a cool city.

Drove then to Mt.Hood, visited the Timberline lodge (where the shining was filmed) we weren't expecting to see snow there but there was a shitload, all 5 of us Aussie dickheads in shorts and thongs in the snow. Drove on to Bend, OR - Crazy to watch the mountains and snow give way to desert and farmland. Bend was cool. Beer. On to Crater Lake NP (mountains again) which was a trip, looks fake - is beautiful, underrated imo. Heaps of snow again. Us 5 dickheads loving snowfights and s**t.

Drove to a place called Shady Cove, OR for a night. Cool little town on the rogue river.

Drove to Santa Rosa Norcal to go to Russian River and drink Pliny the elder - was ok. Santa Rosa was shite.

Drove to San Fran which was sweet, Bridge is cool, foggy AF in mornings tho. Fisherman's wharf and chowder and s**t. Smoked weed. - Gas like $4/gal
Drove from San fran on HWY 1, cool drive, but traffic can be slow - big sur was awesome. Santa Cruz pretty cool. Got as far as a place called San Simeon.
On to Anaheim along hwy 1, via Malibu and Santa Monica Pier (shithole). Disneyland for 4 days, was fairly warm - get the maxpass and app. Food is crazy $$$. LA traffic is shite, Bottle Logic Brewing is not.

Drove from anaheim to Vegas via Barstow (don't bother) - when we got to Vegas I went into that Bass Pro shop, holy s**t. Most 'murica store. Ammo by the lb, stuffed animals, aquariums where you can catch fish with reels you are trying out, just crazy stuff. Stayed in Circus Circus which was terrible, especially the Circus Circus "Manor" - got moved to the casino wing which was a bit better, trying to find a park while you check in is chaos. It's ok for kids, have a decent little water park, and small theme park. Frkn hot. used the monorail and saw all the things. Smoked weed.

Drove to South Rim of GCNP via R66 and peach springs, pretty cool. Grand Canyon was cool. 2 year old - was hard work carrying the little s**t on my shoulders, we laughed. From there we drove to Phoenix - landscape changes were cool. Loony Toons cacti appearing. Arizona is hot. Gas around $2.80/gal.
We only drove to PHX so we could fly from there to Austin. Gave some young guys staying at the hotel the rest of my blunts (like about 7) and my esky thing - and they were over the moon. Samaritan.

Flew to Austin via SLC. Delta were good. Used Private shuttle from Austin airport to hotel downtown $50usd. Austin is the best place on Earth. Warm (around 37C), spring fed water everywhere, beautiful city. 1st night had a look down Rayney st, next day we got a tesla and explored. Went to awesome places in Dripping Springs and this place called Wimberley Blue holes, went to Salt Lick BBQ and Jester King Brewery which was glorious. Went to a Honky Tonk, ate heaps, saw the bats, went to Zilker park and swam in the spring fed pool (barton springs).Went to Franklin's, terry black's, la bbq, Kids loved it. Beer is fantastic. Went to get milk at a little store around corner from hotel - wtf 12 taps of beer at corner store. Peak humanity. Gas around 2.40/gal

Flew to New Orleans, private shuttle to hotel around $50 - just ask the people at the shuttle booths if they know any private drivers who do cashies. New Orleans is cool, did the beignets, went to garden district, katrina tour, gators, voodoo, drank those stupid frozen drinks. Humid AF, don't bring a hire car in, parking is ridiculous, you can park at Harrah's casino for 24 hours tho if you play for a bit. Food was fantastic, fried oyster po' boys, gumbo et al.

Got a better car this time, a silverado. Drove from NOLA and did some plantation tours, Houmas plantation was the best. Took natchez trace Parkway, was nice. Got pulled over in Mississippi doing 80mi in 65 zone, he let me off, poured the australian on thick.

Went to Tupelo, Mi where Elvis was born, nice. Went to Memphis, fairly boring tbh, Nashville was better - Johnny cash museum, honky tonks, Grand Ole Opry, Ryman auditorium.

Drove through rural tennessee which was awesome, just beautiful country. One cool place was called Greenville, Tn. Went to the town fair there, just like the movies.

Drove on thru appalachia, went through blue ridge parkway, just amazing, then parked up at Washington D.C - traffic horrible. Saw Donalds house, and all the rest, Hot. D.C pretty cool though, smoked weed. gave a heap of stuff away to homeless folk before getting on the train. Southseas is man of the people.

Amtrak from D.C to NYC. Not as good as the Cascades train from VAN to SEA but still good, and only 200 for the 5 of us. Left my wallet in the seat (faaaaaaarrrrg) got to NYC but no wallet, went to accom on 37th st, just down from Madison SG. Called Credit Card mobs, put temp hold on. Amtrak called and said someone handed it in, picked up at penn stn (MSG) $400USD still in it, wowee. Ate hotdogs, went up the big'uns in Top of the Roc and ESB. 9/11 memorial was great, heaps of stuff for the kids to do and they seemed to take in part of the enormity. Saw the lady, went to the bronx zoo (free on wednesdays), in the Bronx saw a lady get hit by a car, helped her - she hugged me and kissed me on the lips, was weird. used Subway heaps, its easy. Brooklyn was cool, walked back along the bridge. Other Half brewing sensational.
You should write a book about it.

I was in Austin in October last year. First day was 35-36 and then they got hit with some of theirbiggest storms in 25 years. Barton hot springs got contaminated from the floods and was closed and Wimberley was flooded anunaccessable.

shattered

Sent from my SM-A505YN using Tapatalk

offtherails9

May 30, 2012
-
Trying to get back next year.

Thinking
LA, Austin, maybe Houston or Dallas FW, Nashville, NOLA, NY, maybe Green Bay and somewhere close to NY like Philly or Boston.

Jun 6, 2011
Goonellebah
GWS
Islanders
Trying to get back next year.

Thinking
LA, Austin, maybe Houston or Dallas FW, Nashville, NOLA, NY, maybe Green Bay and somewhere close to NY like Philly or Boston.
What's the appeal of Green Bay?

I used to live in Northern Green Bay and think it's a wonderful area, but a little unusual in terms of a tourist destination.

offtherails9

May 30, 2012
-
What's the appeal of Green Bay?

I used to live in Northern Green Bay and think it's a wonderful area, but a little unusual in terms of a tourist destination.

Haha I'm a Packers fan..

Also Vegas should be in that list lol. Had 2 nights/pretty much 1 day there last time, def need more. Didn't get back to the room til 6am so by the time I was up to do anything the next day it was almost time to head out again.

Mar 26, 2012
Block 123
Dallas Cowboys, FC St. Pauli
Haha I'm a Packers fan..

Also Vegas should be in that list lol. Had 2 nights/pretty much 1 day there last time, def need more. Didn't get back to the room til 6am so by the time I was up to do anything the next day it was almost time to head out again.
Might be heading there in January if the Boys get sent there in the divisional round :cool:

Jun 6, 2011
Goonellebah
GWS
Islanders
Haha I'm a Packers fan..

Interesting. Good luck getting a ticket to Lambeau, as they're not easy to come by. But the fanzone that's been completed around the stadium is truly incredible and worth seeing on its own. If you're looking for more things to do around Green Bay if you're there for more than a day, feel free to tag me and I'm happy to help.

offtherails9

May 30, 2012
-
Interesting. Good luck getting a ticket to Lambeau, as they're not easy to come by. But the fanzone that's been completed around the stadium is truly incredible and worth seeing on its own. If you're looking for more things to do around Green Bay if you're there for more than a day, feel free to tag me and I'm happy to help.

Thanks man, seems like it would be a fun enough place to stay for a couple days just sitting at bars and sussing around the stadium. I don't think tickets will be too hard with apps like StubHub and stuff these days.

Jun 6, 2011
Goonellebah
GWS
Islanders
Thanks man, seems like it would be a fun enough place to stay for a couple days just sitting at bars and sussing around the stadium. I don't think tickets will be too hard with apps like StubHub and stuff these days.
You'll be looking at a minimum of $300aud for the worst seat in the stadium, but depending on your goals, it could be money well spent. :thumbsu:

revo333

Jan 7, 2018
I'd pay $300 and I'm not a packers fan, I would love to visit the stadium one day, tried to get there the last 2 times I went to America but it's always been a bit out of the way.

Stadium tours for the week when it's a home game always sell out in advance.

Dec 21, 2012
Chelsea, Redbacks, Adelaide United
That always amazes me about US sports. How the fu** do the locals afford to go and see the games? I spent nearly a grand on Celtics tickets for a family of four. If AFL cost that much, no one would go.

Yeah I was thinking about this too. Dodgers tickets were like $100 each and you’d see families rock up in the 3rd innings and leave by the 7th. Then there were A’s tickets that were fairly affordable and no one would turn up at all.

Mar 5, 2005
Between the Big Sticks
That always amazes me about US sports. How the fu** do the locals afford to go and see the games? I spent nearly a grand on Celtics tickets for a family of four. If AFL cost that much, no one would go.

A far bigger population, so more folks with higher rates of disposable income. Those big multi-million dollar contracts need to be satisfied some how.

Even for some of the biggest sports fans in the US, going to a game to see their side play live is a rare luxury if they don't have season tickets to begin with.
It's something to do maybe once a season to treat themselves... pay something like $75-$150 USD per ticket for just a regular season game.

Following the game on TV either at home or amongst fans at a bar is just a much cheaper and not to mention easier option given the lack of good public transportation at many sports venues in the U.S. Remember Waverley after a game? … many venues in the U.S. are just like that after a game... taking an hour to get the car out of the bloody car park!

In Melbourne at least... following the AFL means either going to MCG/Marvel or staying at home to watch on TV... outside of finals, going to a pub during the day to catch a game is not as popular as you might think... I can think of many times stepping to a pub in Melbourne for a Saturday/Sunday arvo and seeing just two men and a dog at a bar catching whatever game was on... compared to stepping inside a sports bar in the U.S. on a Sunday during the NFL season where the place is fairly packed.

EFL Boy

Spec Moderator
May 17, 2008
Minneapolis
Panthers, NYR, Bulls, Badgers

I was at Lambeau last weekend for the Panthers game. Most incredible football experience I've had. The whole stadium is surreal & the outside public tailgating area is insane. Fans treated me like one of their own & whilst freezing my ass off (was 4 layers of clothing deep too), seeing a game where it's snowing was pretty awesome.

revo333

Jan 7, 2018

The Celtics will always be in high demand, unless they turn into the Knicks where at the moment prices to watch a game at MSG are not so bad!

IF AFL stadiums only had 20 thousand seats the prices would rise twice or three times more.

A far bigger population, so more folks with higher rates of disposable income. Those big multi-million dollar contracts need to be satisfied some how.

Even for some of the biggest sports fans in the US, going to a game to see their side play live is a rare luxury if they don't have season tickets to begin with.
It's something to do maybe once a season to treat themselves... pay something like $75-$150 USD per ticket for just a regular season game.

Following the game on TV either at home or amongst fans at a bar is just a much cheaper and not to mention easier option given the lack of good public transportation at many sports venues in the U.S. Remember Waverley after a game? … many venues in the U.S. are just like that after a game... taking an hour to get the car out of the bloody car park!

In Melbourne at least... following the AFL means either going to MCG/Marvel or staying at home to watch on TV... outside of finals, going to a pub during the day to catch a game is not as popular as you might think... I can think of many times stepping to a pub in Melbourne for a Saturday/Sunday arvo and seeing just two men and a dog at a bar catching whatever game was on... compared to stepping inside a sports bar in the U.S. on a Sunday during the NFL season where the place is fairly packed.

Season passes can be sold to a third party is the key

You buy a season pass to your NFL team and sell off half of the games on stub hub to pay for the price of your season pass and then go to the other games basically free of charge

This is what a couple of people I meet in San Francisco did for 49ers games

Goodo73

Premium Platinum
Apr 13, 2009
LA Lakers
Season passes can be sold to a third party is the key

You buy a season pass to your NFL team and sell off half of the games on stub hub to pay for the price of your season pass and then go to the other games basically free of charge

This is what a couple of people I meet in San Francisco did for 49ers games
My understanding is they can be sold at above face value too. That was certainly the case in '09 when I bought tix to a Magic-Cavs game.

yeah the tix i bought were well above face value.

I think they had s face value of about $60USD and i paid about $150USD

Sent from my SM-A505YN using Tapatalk

Macpotata

Mar 22, 2017
Going to the Superbowl in Feb, being played in Miami. Will be checking out quite a few cities as well like Boston, NY, Vegas, L.A, ******* epic!