Utterly Forgotten Eagles

Paul Johnston who was a reasonably early draft pick

Remmember his debut where he looked promising but the club identified his limited talent at AFL level and wisely shipped of to Melbourne.

Not sure but i think we aquired Rosa from that deal
Didn't he not get a stat on debut?

And we did get Rosa for him

I used to really like Brayden Lyle.

Heath Younie a former WCE rookie who ended up playing country football in the Ovens and Murray before heading back over to the SANFL.

Ashley Blurton

1995 Draft was full of forgotten Eagles.

Brendan Fewster
Luke Trew
Craig Smoker
Jonson Clifton
Paul Whitelaw
Neil Marshall

Andrew Donnelly in the PS Draft

But there is always a silver lining, Comp pick was Wirra and got Ben Cousins with a F/S Pick. Thank Christ!

it's amazing how much hope a lot of supporters put in david haynes... he really wasn't an AFL level footballer.

Kane Munro. legend ;)

another one - Laurie Bellotti. I actually thought he played pretty well in the game he played....

I think remember Bellotti towelling up Chris Grant in his 4th or 5th game?

Anyone else remember this?

Murray Wrensted
Dean Turner
Mark Zanotti
Robert Wiley :)
Ian Dargie
Dean Warwick
Shane Sikora
Jason Spinks
Andrew McNish
Brendan Krummel
Alex Ischenko
Peter Davidson
John Annear

**** I'm old ....

Murray Wrensted
Dean Turner
Mark Zanotti
Ian Dargie
Dean Warwick
Shane Sikora
Jason Spinks
Andrew McNish
Brendan Krummel
Alex Ischenko
Peter Davidson
John Annear

**** I'm old ....

I remember meeting Spinks in peaceful bay when I was a kid.

Geez we traded a few forwards to Geelong where they then proceeded to do sfa. Spinks, White, Haynes...

Murray Wrensted
Dean Turner
Mark Zanotti
Ian Dargie
Dean Warwick
Shane Sikora
Jason Spinks
Andrew McNish
Brendan Krummel
Alex Ischenko
Peter Davidson
John Annear

**** I'm old ....

Always wondered how much better we would have been in 1988 with Wiley still playing. God that guy was a gun. One of the best goal-scoring rovers in WA history.

I used to really like Brayden Lyle.

Heath Younie a former WCE rookie who ended up playing country football in the Ovens and Murray before heading back over to the SANFL.

Ashley Blurton

1995 Draft was full of forgotten Eagles.

Brendan Fewster
Luke Trew
Craig Smoker
Jonson Clifton
Paul Whitelaw
Neil Marshall

Andrew Donnelly in the PS Draft

But there is always a silver lining, Comp pick was Wirra and got Ben Cousins with a F/S Pick. Thank Christ!

hahaha Heath Younie thats a ripper. Played for the falcons and had a ripping year. Some other great west perth boys in there too. Buzz Fewster and Smokes those were the days

Andy Lovell
Phil Read
Kasey Green
David Sierakowski
Greg Harding
Jaymie Graham - I really rated this guy, had to retire to look after his younger siblings as his parents went off the rails. Pity to see that horrible knee injury he had in the WAFL

These players would probably make the Docker's all time greats list.

Murray Wrensted
Dean Turner
Mark Zanotti
Ian Dargie
Dean Warwick
Shane Sikora
Jason Spinks
Andrew McNish
Brendan Krummel
Alex Ischenko
Peter Davidson
John Annear

**** I'm old ....

I remember snots in a game between Subi and Hawthorn (i think)

Must have had about a half dozen runs from the fullback line to the wing.

Liked a bounce of the footy - that's for sure

Oh and another favourite - Johnny Gastev!!!!!!!!!

Tony Evans (everyone just seems to have forgotten how good he was)
Michael O'Connell (HBF & brother to David)
David O'Connell (number one ruckman for short while)
Peter Higgins (carried our ruck for a short while when everyone else was out)
Peter Melesso (CHB for a short while)
Matt Clape (went to Carlton to get more game time)
Dean Laidley (went to North Melbourne for more game time)
Jason Spinks (went Geelong to get more game time)
Richard Tayor (Ken Judge recruit who had a dust up with Phillip Matera at training)
Robbie West (went to Bulldogs in an attempt to get more game time)

I think you mean Brett Spinks. I remember him being our answer to Billy Brownless, in that he could also kick a footy over a wheat silo.

Jason was on our list but didn't play a game, think he spent time on Sydney's list as well.

Peter Melesso I will always remember for getting suspended for stepping on Earl Spalding's face.

Matt Connell was another who went elsewhere (Adelaide) for more game time and ended up with a flag. Won a B&F too from memory.

Surprised there aren't a few more "WACA specialists".

Mark Hepburn

What ever happened to him?

He was getting regular games at North, then bailed back west just as our golden period was approaching.

More importantly, he was a good sort of a bloke and liked a drink.

Murray Wrensted
Dean Turner
Mark Zanotti
Ian Dargie
Dean Warwick
Shane Sikora
Jason Spinks
Andrew McNish
Brendan Krummel
Alex Ischenko
Peter Davidson
John Annear

**** I'm old ....

I remember these guys, and I reckon I'm half as old as you are.

Andrew McNish took mark of the year did he not? And has a photo of it in the rooms at the west perth ortho clinic, does he not?

I bet you guys love Murray Wrensted. Freo's best ever player.

What ever happened to him?

He was getting regular games at North, then bailed back west just as our golden period was approaching.

More importantly, he was a good sort of a bloke and liked a drink.

There were some serious health problems with his brother if I remember correctly. Was a decent player.

And riddle me this. My favourite player as a kid wore #27 for the Eagles before Jakovich. Who am I?

There were some serious health problems with his brother if I remember correctly. Was a decent player.

And riddle me this. My favourite player as a kid wore #27 for the Eagles before Jakovich. Who am I?

Murray Wrensted
Dean Turner
Mark Zanotti
Ian Dargie
Dean Warwick
Shane Sikora
Jason Spinks
Andrew McNish
Brendan Krummel
Alex Ischenko
Peter Davidson
John Annear

**** I'm old ....

Snotts!!

BTW I don't know if that was his nickname - just what I called him

Still remember that, was an awesome game.

Yep - great result as well!!!

After seeing Mifka whack Heatley in the goal square - Karl Langdon turned around and decked Todd Curley at CHF.

Fewster seeing all this from the other end came running at a million miles an hour swinging his arm like Popeye!

Ahhhh - loved a good punch-on!!

Murray Wrensted
Dean Turner
Mark Zanotti
Ian Dargie
Dean Warwick
Shane Sikora
Jason Spinks
Andrew McNish
Brendan Krummel
Alex Ischenko
Peter Davidson
John Annear

**** I'm old ....

Wasn't it Brett Spinks?
Thought there were 2 Spinks' and we had the younger Brett?

Edit - Five Strings pointed it out earlier