Autopsy V Freo

Lids is a match winner, when the game was on the line we needed him to step up.

crowley has made a habit of toweling up mids all year. they tried to play him alot at hf but delivery was shite. you need your teammates to help or step up. he smashed thomson last week. i just didnt think he was 'shithouse'.

Thanks for the lift back into town mate. Much apreciated.
Was good meeting you guys, pity about the loss really.

2nd one the whole crowd pissed themselves laughing, including Richmond supporters.

Agree. Turned to KiwiTiger when O'Hanlon was lining up on the siren and said if he kicks this, it will be the most "flatteringest" 22-point loss in history. We never looked like winning.

How is KiwiT? Haven't seen much of him around lately.

Can't really think of any ten minute period where we were in control and made it count on the scoreboard. So many of our possessions were sideways and we'd find ourselves hard up against the boundary line. Too many stationary objects when we needed movement. Too crowded in the forward line, too open in the backline. Clanger kings under pressure.

Comprehensively outplayed all day. They just ground us down.

this is lyon's gameplan to a t. i reckon you thro gameplan out the door and play 1 on 1. unfortunately we are immature in bodysize so we still would have lost.

Was good meeting you guys, pity about the loss really.

2nd one the whole crowd pissed themselves laughing, including Richmond supporters.

Seriously, i went up in the living room, only to look at my oldest and have him try to explain it to me.

How is KiwiT? Haven't seen much of him around lately.
The Great Man is fine. He is a deep thinker of the game. He never bags the players, ever, which I love, but even he laughed when McGuane ****ed that 2nd goal up.

I hope you "hydrated" then:p. What was the reaction to McGuanes 2nd miss? I am still trying to work out how he did that.
Everyone ws laughing. even the Freo knobs who were baiting all day jut shut up, because there was nothing left to say. It was a "shake of the head" moment.

The Great Man is fine. He is a deep thinker of the game. He never bags the players, ever, which I love, but even he laughed when McGuane ****** that 2nd goal up.

Good to hear. Let him know we need more of him around on the board. Unless he's busy working on his "deepthroat007" files for summer!!!

Fremantle looked really big and much better physically than the Tigers today. Richmond need to hit the gym hard over summer and with a lot of younger guys they should be able to put on some muscle.
People saying Hardwick was outcoached - Maybe true but I don't know what he could have done. Fremantle were too big, too strong, too mature for Richmond and the Tigers had too many players who made basic skill errors.
Is Batchelor injured? Would like to see him play next week.

Tried hard but just not good enough. Too many passengers and players not up to it.

Won't improve to the standard we want until players like McGuane, Jackson (has another year, only at Richmond) and the likes are gone and replaced by competent footballers.

What was worrying even moreso though today besides what I already knew was that the coaches struggled to adapt to Freo's gameplan once again. Had no answer for their stranglehold and press. Was almost a carbon copy to our game against them earlier in the year so seems they learnt little. I'd be looking to add an experienced head up there in the offseason to help out on game day.

i agree but the fact of the matter is if you can win the footy,any gameplan will fail. even if we played 1 on 1 we still gots to win the ball. got smashed in the middle and we need mids desperately.

crowley has made a habit of toweling up mids all year. they tried to play him alot at hf but delivery was shite. you need your teammates to help or step up. he smashed thomson last week. i just didnt think he was 'shithouse'.
shithouse was probably an over reaction I'll admit. But when we needed someone to stand up it was diss appointing not to see him get in there

I think that our style plays right into them, we love to play high possession and they play high pressure until we get cooler heads under fire we wont be able to blow them away. Thats why its always so ugly when we play them, they can't afford to play open with us or we will rip them so they have to niggle and bore us to death. Props to them it works, they fixed us up twice this year.

And to those pointing fingers at individuals like lids being a match winner etc, the scoreline was flattering, we didn't need a match winner we needed a team to win the match, we were outclassed just about everywhere on the ground.

Agree. Turned to KiwiTiger when O'Hanlon was lining up on the siren and said if he kicks this, it will be the most "flatteringest" 22-point loss in history. We never looked like winning.
Lucky mcguane ballsed those two point blankers then....what would have you though of a 2 g loss :confused:

While i'm not happy with a loss, i also don't understand the negativity. These are the games historically where we have gone over and been smashed. Make no mistake, i made the call, i thought we had an 80 point belting coming our way.
Did 22 points flatter us? I'll say no. We actually we able to persist and scrap our way through the game. Our skill level was diabolical at times, BUT, It's bad footy to not make us pay. At Subi, Freo are a 5 goal better team.
Dimma being out coached by Lyon is no disgrace at this stage of his career, and what about the times we have beaten them under Dimma's tenure? Can't have it both ways. The Freo game plan absolutely chokes free running teams ie: us.
So you know what, yep, we lost, but who was really expecting us to win? Was 22 points a good effort, yep it was. So all the doomsayers, and negative nelly's out there who only show up after a loss, go smoke a pole.
Well played Tiggy's, let smack the Veruca's next week then Port. Any issues with my posting, pussies feel free to PM me, and i'll explain exactly what type of supporter you are.
Peace out
CB17

Dimma has lost every game he has coached against Lyon, and if I am right we beat Freo every time under Dimma before Lyon was coach, and beat Saints as soon as Ross leaves.

Lucky mcguane ballsed those two point blankers then....what would have you though of a 2 g loss :confused:
It's worse, if he got a goal instead of a point it probably wouldn't have ended up at the other end for a goal to Freo

Went to watch the replay, turned it off after 5 seconds, yeh that can wait for another time I think

The Great Man is fine. He is a deep thinker of the game. He never bags the players, ever, which I love, but even he laughed when McGuane ****** that 2nd goal up.
When you are as close to the playing group as he is you would not bag the players I mean let's face it the club does read these forums.

Dimma has lost every game he has coached against Lyon, and if I am right we beat Freo every time under Dimma before Lyon was coach, and beat Saints as soon as Ross leaves.

Well shit, we should sack him now then. He's no good. I mean Lyon has coached all those flag winning teams.

Let's not kid ourselves this loss was more about us being hopeless than it was about Freo being too good. Players under no pressure hand balling at the feet or over the head, shocking decision making for delivery inside 50, ignoring simple handballs and running straight into opposition players, dropping simple marks, constant fumbling and horrible kicking. Players and coaches should be absolutely filthy with that performance, our worst overall game of the year in my book. Completely bottled it IMO, worst coaching performance of the year to go with it.

Positives
Losing to Freo make's it harder for Essendon and Carlton to make the 8.
McGuane's comedy goal kicking....we'll it made me laugh at least.
Cotchin

Negatives
Losing to Freo ending the smallest glimmer of hope that anyone had of us making Finals
Griffiths injury

We need one or two more outside link up players similar to grigg and lids.
We need vickery back and another big bodied forward to go with him and help jack.
A silky HBF player to replace newman or relieve pressure.
A big hulk like full back. Dance is more of a chb.

We've still got a few things to do but certainly on the right path it seems.
Always a hard game up there.

Well done boys!

shithouse was probably an over reaction I'll admit. But when we needed someone to stand up it was diss appointing not to see him get in there

yeah mate no probs. when just about the premier tagger in the comp(which also fits into the lyon gamestyle),you try to change things up remove him from the stoppages and hurt him the other way. lids did kick a cupla goals but it also upto the other mids to help him out with blocks, and also step up with disposals. in the end the stats flatter crowley bc it really suits the game style of freo ie rellay clogged middle of the ground.