AFL Autopsy v GWS Giants (39 point win)

Fair point lamaros..

I don't think anyone was suggesting Heppell is as good as Pendles.. more that the signs are encouraging.

I think Heppell can get 'lazy' in his kicking too often and do those 'dinky' high floaters.. would like to see him eliminate them and I'm sure he will.. still plenty of time!! ;)

I also think Heppell is nowhere near as good in traffic with his handpass.. but all good.. it is only Dyson's first season in the middle proper and I think he has been progressing well.

I thought it was great to see him working through a 'hard' tag.. even if it was just GWS.. just great to see him have that experience and hopefully be better for it.

Can anyone fill me in on why Daniher didn't play? And why we haven't seen him for weeks? Was it just form/others coming back or what?

Heppell doesn't use the footy anywhere near as well as Pendles. His foot skills just aren't as good.

I think the difference is pretty negligible to be honest, Pendles has a right side, which helps enormously.
As far as general field kicking goes I don't think Pendlebury is streets ahead.
Heppell has a good long leg like Pendles, and has some pretty special tricks at his disposal in terms of bananas to advantage and using the outside of the foot with the drop punt to create angles for forwards.

What separates Pendlebury from about everyone else is his phenomenal spatial awareness in the contest, it's absolutely unreal. I'm sure if you could get that kind of stat (thanks AFL!) you'd see that Pendles has a really high DE for his contested possessions, phenomenal in tight.

Games where Heppell has been really good as an inside midfielder, he'll get stacks of inside ball, but i'm guessing his DE would be well down on a typical Pendlebury game.

He's well and truly on the way, but its pretty premature to be putting him in with the likes of Beams, Boak, Mundy and Fyfe. K Jack is well and truly elite.

I think the difference is pretty negligible to be honest, Pendles has a right side, which helps enormously.
As far as general field kicking goes I don't think Pendlebury is streets ahead.
Heppell has a good long leg like Pendles, and has some pretty special tricks at his disposal in terms of bananas to advantage and using the outside of the foot with the drop punt to create angles for forwards.

What separates Pendlebury from about everyone else is his phenomenal spatial awareness in the contest, it's absolutely unreal. I'm sure if you could get that kind of stat (thanks AFL!) you'd see that Pendles has a really high DE for his contested possessions, phenomenal in tight.

Games where Heppell has been really good as an inside midfielder, he'll get stacks of inside ball, but i'm guessing his DE would be well down on a typical Pendlebury game.

He's well and truly on the way, but its pretty premature to be putting him in with the likes of Beams, Boak, Mundy and Fyfe. K Jack is well and truly elite.
Yup Pendles is full Neo. Dyson is just Agent Smith at the moment.

I disagree that it is premature, Heppell is currently in the top 3 performers across the season in a team that sits 2nd on the ladder.. that is a fair effort under any measure in my book. Name the last game that Heppell didn't find a way to have an impact?

I will concede that I haven't seen enough of K Jack live to say whether he has made the leap to elite yet.

Heppell has outperformed both Beams (injury of course) and Boak this year statistically and is keeping par with Fyfe. Very hard to compare players in different teams but I don't think Heppell is out of his league in that kind of company.. also to consider it is only his 3rd season and 1st full time in the midfield.. just scary potential.

My god the last 7 qtrs have been hard to cop. Our disposal is horrible and will be picked apart and punished by Haw if we don't iron that shite out.

Our stoppage work was clustered and disorganised. Granted our best cattle in this area weren't there but you've got blokes shooting bullet handballs to a mate standing flat footed & on other occasions releasing handballs to blokes not on for it.

Finally and unsurprisingly our fwd 50 entries are still diabolical. I cannot remember the last time a fwd was hit on the lead with half a mtr on an opponent. Guys like Hurley, Crameri simply don't know how or where to lead and consequently confuse blokes bringing the ball into them upfield (excluding Jetta who kicks it 20m over their heads).

I cant see us beating Hawthorn fri night tbh. Sure we've won 6 in a row, but its been against mediocre opposition for the majority of them. Big test for us, but I reckon we just aren't playing well enough.

Jack will run second in the brownlow this year IMO

you reckon?

JPK's dropped off but had a huge first 8 or so rounds, as did Hannebery.

can see those 3 polling pretty well, but not podium well.

I reckon the race for 2nd comes down to Pendles, Griffen and possibly Danger (shoulder pending)

you reckon?

I reckon the race for 2nd comes down to Pendles, Griffen and possibly Danger (shoulder pending)

The thing is Griff and Danger would be polling less due to playing in losing sides, and Pies fans are saying Pendles hasn't been as good this season for whatever reason

Heppell's kicking is above average, but lacks penetration, both in distance and in quickness of travel. Pendlebury is a similar kick but has less hang time on his kicks and is better at hitting up targets +35 metres. Kicking +35 metres has been the biggest improvement in Pendle's game in the last three years.

I suspect that Heppell can get close to Pendle's level. I also suspect that Heppell will currently be in the top 2 in the B and F.

Will be interesting to see Eth-Dog where K Jack ends up.. I'd be surprised if he was that high but as I said.. I haven't watched enough..

you reckon?

Griffin won't get anywhere near it. He has no 'Ablett clause' in his contract that enables him to poll while being belted.

I'd have Fyfe and Barlow up there as they are both proven vote-getters (Barlow 12 votes in 13 games in debut season; Fyfe 14 votes from 11 games last season).

Pendlebury should be right up there, regardless of what Collingwood supporters say.

Jobe will finish top 3. He'd be sitting easily second now. And if he gets back in the next 3 weeks he'll get more votes..