Vacancy - FF

with Richo playing his "slide rule" role up and down the wings it leaves a gaping hole at the pointy end of our front end..Lets look at the candidates

Polak...dissapoints me, if played like the opposition were Freo ea game he'd be a champ, he doesnt and is bordering on being dropped.

Jack R..is looking more like a support act than a FF..will continue to improve but will be better as a foil than the focal point

Sarge...prefer his work as a CHB where he seems to reinvented himself had added bulk to a lightweight back half and now puts body online..is ok at a pinch but back is his go

Hughes...Would like to see him given more chances, reports are that his workrate is impressive at Burgs and has kicked a few bags..lets persevere with him

Putt...This si the kid that I reckon will surpise, with his frame and speed if he can apply himself , just might be the enswer we're looking for in 12 mths time

Gourdis..strangely they are developing him as a backman..wont see him this year in any case...12 months we will see what he has to offer

with Richo playing his "slide rule" role up and down the wings it leaves a gaping hole at the pointy end of our front end..Lets look at the candidates

Polak...dissapoints me, if played like the opposition were Freo ea game he'd be a champ, he doesnt and is bordering on being dropped.

Jack R..is looking more like a support act than a FF..will continue to improve but will be better as a foil than the focal point

Sarge...prefer his work as a CHB where he seems to reinvented himself had added bulk to a lightweight back half and now puts body online..is ok at a pinch but back is his go

Hughes...Would like to see him given more chances, reports are that his workrate is impressive at Burgs and has kicked a few bags..lets persevere with him

Putt...This si the kid that I reckon will surpise, with his frame and speed if he can apply himself , just might be the enswer we're looking for in 12 mths time

Gourdis..strangely they are developing him as a backman..wont see him this year in any case...12 months we will see what he has to offer

Spot on...Now you know why Cogga was sccreamng for Fev BJ. Where to now dude???

I would go as far as to say we would win these games with a FF. We got it to the last kick but we didnt have "that" target dude. ;)

Spot on...Now you know why Cogga was sccreamng for Fev BJ. Where to now dude??? ;)

So you knew Richo would be played on a wing? Fev is not what we need :thumbsd:

Give Hughes a shot but I think we'll stick with Polak.

aghh %^$# Fev cogg...too old, dont forget we had 24 less Inside 50s than the Hawks, always going to be hard to win games with that lack of midfield penetration

yeah but with a FF then we might have more inside 50s because we would get it to the wing and "THE FF", not "a ff" would make that lead that couldnt be ignored.

Get with the program dude. Its a simple formula. You have ball sport played by a team and the winner wins because it "scores" more goals. i.e is more accurate with its chances, the highest paid player is the player that can convert and create chances to convert, 8 times out of 10.

We ____ed it up with the other extrovert, Plugger but we never learn from our mistakes do we????

I am not going to harp on it, whats done is done. But if he wants to leave the blues for a 3 year contract then get him!!!!!!! He is contesting the coleman in a shit side FFS, right now we aint shit, we are ok and we need a FF!!!! ;)

Agree with Polak. Just can't seem to find him a position in this side. When he is our FF he can't seem to get the ball, and when he isn't out focal point up forward he goes missing like today. Having said that, I would rather him up forward than in defense.

Riewoldt is too young and raw to take on such a role.

I would love for Schulz to play up forward but I think that he has found his niche in the backline. Possibility to pinchhit once Rance cements himself down back.

My vote would be for Hughes, has shown some signs that he could play that position, and is starting to hit that age where he needs to stand up and say 'this is my position'.

Putt I know little about. Have heard he isn't a bad athlete for his height. I would've thought he'd suit as a ruckman who rests forward though. A way off.

Same with Gourdis, don't know much about him but it seems that people rate him quite highly. If our defense really molds and cements itself in the next twelve months then we will have no choice but to try him as a forward, which is his natural game I think?

yeah but with a FF then we might have more inside 50s because we would get it to the wing and "THE FF", not "a ff" would make that lead that couldnt be ignored.

Get with the program dude. Its a simple formula. You have ball sport played by a team and the winner wins because it "scores" more goals. i.e is more accurate with its chances, the highest paid player is the player that can convert and create chances to convert, 8 times out of 10.

We ____ed it up with the other extrovert, Plugger but we never learn from our mistakes do we???? ;)

Isn't that the reason we are playing Richo up the ground? Because he "couldn't be ignored" and the players kicked it to him too much.

Im starting to lean to Bowden. Great mark, great footy smarts/skills built up over the years, plays tall, beautifull kick.
With the reversal of positions and playing style in the last 3 weeks, i wouldnt be surprised at all. We have tried the others with no success. And he has been playing up foward for the Burgers a fair bit.

Im starting to lean to Bowden. Great mark, great footy smarts/skills built up over the years, plays tall, beautifull kick.
With the reversal of positions and playing style in the last 3 weeks, i wouldnt be surprised at all. We have tried the others with no success. And he has been playing up foward for the Burgers a fair bit.

JB also has a few more strinbgs to his bow than simply mark and kick with both MM and JR playing that role we are seriously lacking in a little creativity up forward which is exposed big time when playing a good side...Both Pettifer and Bowden should be in the side

Let's not go down the Schulz at FF path again. tried that one and it didn't work. Seems to be holding his own at CHB. It's not broken, so no need to fix that one.
I'd like to see Polak given a proper chance at FF. Put him there and leave him there instead of playing him in a million positions. Has the marking tools.
Don't mind the idea of JB playing there either.
Let Jack learn his craft where he's at for the time being.
Cleve? Maybe. Running out of time for this kid. Needs to dominate a few games in the VFL before being considered.

I'm for JB at FF. Let Patto, Simmo and Polak share ruck duties with one on duty, one resting in the FP and one on the bench. The rest of the Forward line can consist of : Jack, Browny, Morton and Deledio. Cleve Hughes has to start consistently kicking bags in the seconds if he is to be promoted. Putt will be a prospect in the near future. Oh, and please keep Shulzy down back where he is needed.

Hmm - tough one. I don't think we want a dominant FF - we want a range of options (we've had only one target for the last 15 years. and you can't really say it worked). When our midfield is making a forward 50 entry, they need long, short, medium, left and right targets.

I always wanted to see Bowden down forward, but it may be too late for that now - we have Riewoldt, Brown, Morton - not much room for another of those type. He is a good spoiler - not so much a good mark.

We do need a big target as the last resort -it will probably be Polak, but I could throw out a Wild-card here - Patto? He's still a bit small for a ruck, but he is a good size, takes a fair grab, Ok kick, and has that indefinable quality of 'good things happen when he goes near the ball'. Good defensive pressure.

Maybe not quick enough as a key forward, but as I said, we are looking for a 3rd-or-4th choice target here. He and Simmons changing in the Goalsquare?

I'm just thinking out loud.........

get with the program dudes. We will be at the point where we can afford to get a ready to roll answer to our problems. He is out of contract, he wants more than the pissy one that the tankers are offering, we need a spearhead for at least the next 3 years he is 24? 25? and he is the answer. do not let this opprotunity pass us by again tigers. We need a top line FF who can kick them from anywhere and Fev is that. I am back on the Fev bandwagon....LMAO;)

Im not, Id rather keep R1 & 2 draft picks:thumbsd:

Patto and Putt were both recruited as key forwards. TW seems to like the idea of building our own Gorilla.

Gourdis is being pushed back because he's *very* quick, but probably not big enough...Not sure I agree with the thinking. Could be they're just trying him there so he doesn't get in the way of Putt/Hughes for Coburg, and/or they're trying to teach him a few things ( he is a 'project' player after all ).

Bowden...Could probably do it, but not exactly a long term option.

I think Polak needs to be dropped to Coburg put in front of the goals and left there until he just dominates and intimidates the opposition and keeps getting the ball when double or triple teamed. He's big, reasonably mobile and takes a good grab, but can't seem to get his head around being 'The Man' rather than 2nd or 3rd guy up.

As for Fevola...What would we have to pay to get him? We're not going to come last this year, so wont get him easily through the PSD, and I doubt we'd be willing to pay the price Carlton would ask.

no probs, i would rather keep round 2 pick for the next draft. And build on what we have with R1 and R2 the year after. If we find a FF with them then we have "options". Now we only can only hope we find "an" option with draft picks. KPPs that win Colemans and are in the mix for Colemans year in year out, dont grow on trees. Go and ask the cats why they took a "risk" and went for a Cam Mooney, back before they made their big push. Or why the dogs opted for Aker. We didnt purely because our window was a long way away. Things have changed and our window is closer than what we thought it was. You said it yourself by starting this thread. Vacancy for a FF. Get him on a 3 year deal, put the right clauses in place to keep him on the straight and narrow and he can joind his best man in Newman and win a flag together. ;)

I to would love a sober Fev, but, and its a big but, we carnt waste early draft picks this year with the Gold Coast and soon to be West Sydney getting a big slice of that pie in the following seasons. So im with you, must keep 1 and 2 at all cost.

If we dont use our early draft picks what could we offer that might get a bite from the blues?

Pettifer and ?

Its to early to be doing the trade speculation so going on our list right now I would like to see Polak play second ruck with Hughes/Patto playing forward. Add to that Bowden on the bench as a fall back option.

Bowden has to be in the side. He is a great utility player coming off the pine. Can play a role in the midfield rotations and then go forward if Hughes or Patto didnt fire. Same with the backline.

I to would love a sober Fev, but, and its a big but, we carnt waste early draft picks this year with the Gold Coast and soon to be West Sydney getting a big slice of that pie in the following seasons. So im with you, must keep 1 and 2 at all cost.

I take it your referring to the provisional announcement made last week about the new teams and the draft? Mate...trust me won't happen...unless the AFL really want a SuperLeague style war with the established clubs....probably led by Fast Eddie himself in an unholy alliance with Tricky Dicky Pratt, the Swanettes and Far North Fitzroy....:eek:

We ____ed it up with the other extrovert, Plugger but we never learn from our mistakes do we????

I am not going to harp on it, whats done is done. But if he wants to leave the blues for a 3 year contract then get him!!!!!!! He is contesting the coleman in a shit side FFS, right now we aint shit, we are ok and we need a FF!!!! ;)

This is nto quite true... IM not sure if you watched the game, But we scored more goals than Hawthorn but still lost.....??????