VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

Krusher - Sounds promising mate, i do believe a lot of sides will be introducing their youngsters earlier now as the game is moving towards a faster paced running game, even in D1.

Orange_Whip - Nah the old man has not pulled on a pair of boots probably since under 15's, has only just started to get involved with the senior club as i have just recently stepped up, were involved with the juniors for a while though.

Unfortuantely i can't make any solid predictions for the upcoming season as i have not seen many teams play, im not sure about therry but i do know that thier unders weren't the best last year and from memory did not spot too many who could make the step up to senior footy, other than that im relying on other people's comments to gauge who may finish were and who will be the teams to beat

westdog,
please refrain from sending a theesis when justifying our clubs existance. we got the point your passionate.

I have been following the development of this argument over the last couple of days and i would just like to put my two-bob in at this particular moment.

Why? leg-a-lamb to you quote "our clubs existance" when you are debating with Westy? What do you mean by our club? In earlier posts you have quoted that you are not personally involved with the club..

And i totally agree and backup the points that Westy's Warriors has thrown out on the issue

But leg-a-lamb, please explain your words!

Ina - everyone thinks your a good bloke, so we'll see how long that lasts on this forum, there a few people who change their opinions quiker than youcan say "iva davies" (word of warning)

Why does everyone think that i am a good bloke? What have i said to get this into the minds of people, i dont want to be good on this forum... i wanna stir the pot ;) hahahaha...

Anyways, seems like we have added another poster to this discussion of ours! Koutasmonkey which tree did you fall from? And also it seems like you are a bullant player/supporter aswell, backing up everything that Westy has said..

But i like you! you have brought up an interesting question in your first post of this discussion that i would like to see answered by leg-a-lamb, so i say.. let the waiting game begin!

Why does everyone think that i am a good bloke? What have i said to get this into the minds of people, i dont want to be good on this forum... i wanna stir the pot ;) hahahaha...

Maybe because 95% of the people on this forum are from Bulleen Templestowe? Are there any other teams in this comp besides the Bullants and Old Paradians?

Speaking of Paradians my Bundoora sources tell me that Porteous is confirmed to play 100 percent. Huge coup for the purple and green boys. His experience skill and brilliance will be unstoppable in D grade, He was hard enough to stop in B Grade. I have actually played against him. He is a freak.

I've have just got up to grab a drink of water (just 1 glass, stage 3 water restrictions) and thought i would just come and check bigfooty and see if leg-a-lamb had replied to koutasmonkey's post..

But i come on to read that we have yet another new member to the conversation and that he has no clue about what he has just rambled on about. How do you know that 95% of posters on this topic are from Bulleen Temp? You surely can't be in that 5% that are not..

And yes! i do know that there are other clubs in the league not just Old Paradians and Bulleen Temp, in fact i think that everyone that follows so what of the VAFA would know that there are about another 70 clubs or so... and please enlighten the readers here and share with us where abouts you are from, then just maybe! we can talk about your side..

But i dont want this post to draw the attention away from leg-a-lamb answering koutasmonkey's question..

geez hope you not thinking of selling your comprehension skills on ebay kouta ! dont think you'd get much.

I dont like repeating myself however this ones for big ina...

As i said in the past i am not involved at the club however spectate due to my mates involvement.

To paint the picture you may understand a little better.... its like when your mate from full forward is in the mardi gras and you go up every year, you may not like what he's doing however you go up to support your mate.

howd i go ina ?

any big footy news to talk of anyone ??

But i come on to read that we have yet another new member to the conversation and that he has no clue about what he has just rambled on about. How do you know that 95% of posters on this topic are from Bulleen Temp? You surely can't be in that 5% that are not..

And yes! i do know that there are other clubs in the league not just Old Paradians and Bulleen Temp, in fact i think that everyone that follows so what of the VAFA would know that there are about another 70 clubs or so... and please enlighten the readers here and share with us where abouts you are from, then just maybe! we can talk about your side..

Keep punching Ina Borson...

New member? Been around a bit longer than you, sunshine. It was in fact the Dollop who came up with the equation that needed to be achieved for Bulleen-Temp to be knocked out of the four last year. It was just good of Rupertswood to come to the party.

If you can't figure out who I am then don't worry, I'm just someone who likes stirring up those mighty Bullants, although it really is getting to be too easy. I have no interest in anyone talking about my side, from the evidence I've seen none of us know anything about anyone else's side...why would I care?

Everyone thinks their own side is going to be holding up the cup in September, everyone else's side is a pack of no-hopers. That's what January is for. It's just that most clubs have the good sense not to write about it ad nauseum until things get a bit serious. Sorry not to respond to the rest of your post, but if you could translate the rest of your dialect into something that resembles English, I might have a more thorough reply.

Keep punching Ina Borson...

New member? Been around a bit longer than you, sunshine. It was in fact the Dollop who came up with the equation that needed to be achieved for Bulleen-Temp to be knocked out of the four last year. It was just good of Rupertswood to come to the party.

If you can't figure out who I am then don't worry, I'm just someone who likes stirring up those mighty Bullants, although it really is getting to be too easy. I have no interest in anyone talking about my side, from the evidence I've seen none of us know anything about anyone else's side...why would I care?

Everyone thinks their own side is going to be holding up the cup in September, everyone else's side is a pack of no-hopers. That's what January is for. It's just that most clubs have the good sense not to write about it ad nauseum until things get a bit serious. Sorry not to respond to the rest of your post, but if you could translate the rest of your dialect into something that resembles English, I might have a more thorough reply.

If you had taken any notice in the first bit of my post, i clearly said that we had a new member added to this conversation.. not a new member to bigfooty! But yeh, how nice was it for Rupertswood to come along to the party, but im guessing that the Bullants will have a return invite for them in the '09' season.

Hmmmm... you love stirring up the Bullants, where could you be from? I know that Old Carey and the Bullants have a bit of a rivalry going, so you might be one of those boys.. but then again, you could be from one of the other 71 teams in the comp.

I love how your having a stab and everyone elses sides, but you wont reveal your club.. do i sense that you are too embarrassed to state the club that you play/support?

Come on Dollop... let everyone know where your from, and maybe i just might "Keep on Punching"

You call people joining in a discussion "members"? Ok...I don't have any ID though, might have to jump out of this members only discussion...

I'm having a stab at everyone's sides? Well, that is if everyone on the forum is from Bulleen-Templestowe, a throwaway line, one which was the reason for your nose getting right out of joint in the first place.

I love how your having a stab and everyone elses sides, but you wont reveal your club.. do i sense that you are too embarrassed to state the club that you play/support?
Not sure I'm the person to ask, shagger, I'm not psychic. Do you sense that?

For those of you who are not just looking for a reason to start sooking, Bulleen-Temp have some top players and if they have anything like the list they had last year, they will be a threat. They are a very proud club which translates into a lot of passionate and proud supporters, which makes it much sweeter for sides to knock them off.

dolly/ina,
you should be walking around with a purse if your bickering about weather you call yourselves members or not.

topic of discussion :(this is for you dolly)

what do you all hate about your club ?

MC Extra Dollop said:
They are a very proud club which translates into a lot of passionate and proud supporters, which makes it much sweeter for sides to knock them off.

Well said MC, and being a district side we need to have passionate players and supporters from the area, that is why i find it difficult hearing people involved in the club badmouth it. From the time i've been there the group has been very close knit, where all players older or younger get on with eachother, and all socialise together around the club, Chivers is a big part of the reason the group is close, his leadership skills go beyond the footy field. (not always ideal leadership off it but his actions are always genuine).

Straight from extended friday drinks in the CBD. A Massive, Massive signing for Old Paradians and a big coup for Hampton Rovers. More to come when these 2 are confirmed but my CBD drinking buddy is convinced of two huge signings for these 2 clubs.

Further Info, if these 2 signings are correct and I have strong reason to believe they are then Paradians and Hampton will almost certainly play off for the flag. The names are that big.

Well said MC, and being a district side we need to have passionate players and supporters from the area, that is why i find it difficult hearing people involved in the club badmouth it. From the time i've been there the group has been very close knit, where all players older or younger get on with eachother, and all socialise together around the club, Chivers is a big part of the reason the group is close, his leadership skills go beyond the footy field. (not always ideal leadership off it but his actions are always genuine).

Good point made Westy, we need to have passionate players and supporters at the club because that's the only way the club/s are going to survive now days in the VAFA, can i ask how long you have been involved at B.T.A.F.C for Westy?

Also a good point you have made about Greg Chivers aswell, his on-field brilliance is much needed and does make the younger kids strive to get to his level on day.. great leader of the club!

Further Info, if these 2 signings are correct and I have strong reason to believe they are then Paradians and Hampton will almost certainly play off for the flag. The names are that big.

How reliable are your sources? How much of an impact can a player make to each side for you to say that they will most certain be playing for the flag in September?

Ina - I've only been at the senior club for a couple years, but played all my junior footy at the Bullants.

As for these signings, how big can they really be? or are you just trying to stir up some conversation.

Also BT are hoping to have one of thier own big signings on a more permanent basis this year, which i can tell you is not far off. Young gun who had a short stint with the bombers, that i personally know very well and has been to all 3 pre-season runs. Exciting prospects ahead with the inclusions of some other young players whom all played together throughout thier junior careers, a couple of them know eachothers game so well it's scary.

Ina - I've only been at the senior club for a couple years, but played all my junior footy at the Bullants.

As for these signings, how big can they really be? or are you just trying to stir up some conversation.

Also BT are hoping to have one of thier own big signings on a more permanent basis this year, which i can tell you is not far off. Young gun who had a short stint with the bombers, that i personally know very well and has been to all 3 pre-season runs. Exciting prospects ahead with the inclusions of some other young players whom all played together throughout thier junior careers, a couple of them know eachothers game so well it's scary.

Good... thats good to hear that you have stuck with the Bullants once you reached the seniors.

This so called "young gun" how far off with him coming to the Bullants is he? And how about these other young players? Are you close with these people at all? Will yourself and these young players you speak off gel together really quick? Could you elaborate on this? Give the people that are on here (95% which are Bulleen Templestowe) a good read..

Thanks Westy!

You need more than one big signing to make a flag, just look at Old Camberwell. There have been plenty of 'big signings' over the years and how many have ended with a premiership? I am sure most clubs have experienced this. What a team requires is good top end and middle depth ( or an injury free year), a unified direction, and most of all , they need to be a good TEAM, with an emphasis on team.

Your definetly on the money oc37, there is no way one player will make such a difference, however in D1 section a really good player can give confidence to other players around them and bring players into the game, that makes the difference not their individual brilliance.

Ina - He played a few games last year but was nowhere near the condition he needed to be in after a lenghty lay off from sport, was handy but not a matchwinner, with a pre-season this year im expecting him to shine, the only factor being work commitments on saturday's.
The players i speak of including the ex bomber all played together up untill colts, there is probably about 3-4 of us at the moment and hopefully a couple more step up. Will have no problem gelling together as have all played together for years and won premierships together. All of us have been around the club for a couple of years now and are ready to take the next step.

Will either be very exciting for the club with young enthusiastic players, or could all struggle against the bigger bodies and may take time to develop thier games at senior level, a few have already played seniors i might add, but only time will tell. The most important thing though is all these guys are sticking with Bullants and not going to clubs like marcellin (most are ex-marellin students) and that is the pleasing thing that the player network is starting to grow, and we are holding onto our better players from the juniors

You need more than one big signing to make a flag, just look at Old Camberwell. There have been plenty of 'big signings' over the years and how many have ended with a premiership? I am sure most clubs have experienced this. What a team requires is good top end and middle depth ( or an injury free year), a unified direction, and most of all , need they to be a good TEAM, with an emphasis on team.

Very good points but lets not forget that Parade and Hampton were both pretty close to staying in C Grade. There teams were both ravaged by injury. One big signing could make the difference. Both also have some exceptional youngsters and some former stars returning. These will be the two teams to watch.

Ina - He played a few games last year but was nowhere near the condition he needed to be in after a lenghty lay off from sport, was handy but not a matchwinner, with a pre-season this year im expecting him to shine, the only factor being work commitments on saturday's.

Ah yes.. young Ryan Bain i do remember that name, where has he been lately? So are you saying Westy that he will participate in the pre-season this year with the Bullants? Will he be able to get Saturday's off work?

And on another hand, is there any new information amerged about who these massive signings are for Hampton and Paradians?

got it one boys, very good footballer who took it a little easy at the bombers and paid the price. Like i said has been to all training's so far and will continue to do pre-season training with the bullants, will play if work permits.

Those of u that may of seen him play last year, don't forget in those games he was a shadow of the footballer he really is. This year will see him play freely without the burden of expectation from anyone, he will play for fun along with the rest of us and i think that is where he will really shine.

This year will see him play freely without the burden of expectation from anyone, he will play for fun along with the rest of us and i think that is where he will really shine.

Well, it sounds like you're expecting a bit from him, Westy. And if he could just do his water into wine trick for the after matches at Ted Ajani, that would be terrific as well.