VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

JC - i actually don't mind your chances mate, and with a bit of luck your lads could well be in C grade next year. Are you able to give us outsiders a view on Speeky Magee? Might be tough for you to do?
cheers Ugly

Well uglydermie as many have speculated about Speeky Magee being 'gaawn' , they couldnt be further from the truth. Going from 7 wins to 13(pending this weeks result) this year, not to mention the september action in which we will feature, i think the majority of the club (board included) are very happy with his performance on and off the field. With crucial players being out over the last few weeks, they will be welcomed back with a win over the next two weeks.
GO PANTHER!

Well uglydermie as many have speculated about Speeky Magee being 'gaawn' , they couldnt be further from the truth. Going from 7 wins to 13(pending this weeks result) this year, not to mention the september action in which we will feature, i think the majority of the club (board included) are very happy with his performance on and off the field. With crucial players being out over the last few weeks, they will be welcomed back with a win over the next two weeks.
GO PANTHER!

interesting. glad you are happy with him mate. Best of luck over the nest few weeks.

What I meant by those things (gameplans, playing styles etc) is that both teams are pretty similar-ie gameplan-kick the ball into your forward 45, don't crowd the forward line, flood the back half (if necessary), kick long & direct etc.

That style of play is a bit passe. You'll find it's all the rage now to crowd your forward line and kick short and indirect nowadays...how can you expect to win by trying to kick into your forward 45 all the time? Madness!

GO PANTHER!

There's a big whisper that if your boys don't get past week 1 of the finals, as good a job as that cretin of a coach has done blooding kids and getting you past the 6th/8th/6th hiccups, he's as good as gaaawwwnnnn.

and if you guys dont, does that mean gary sheldons as good as gaawwwnnnn???

It's ridiculous to compare the 2 coaches Ash. One is a good coach and a good bloke off the field....the other is an idiot!!

Agreed.

Just passing on what's being said around the traps there Titeleash. Have a Ex Mentone Grammar source that is a distant follower of the Panthers and that's the mail he's been given. Not my words champ. Just relaying them.

The Quite Mans tips

Hampton 35 Points
Geelong 30 Points
Bulleen 55 Points
Peninsula 12 Points
Prahran 40 Points

TQM

Agreed.

Just passing on what's being said around the traps there Titeleash. Have a Ex Mentone Grammar source that is a distant follower of the Panthers and that's the mail he's been given. Not my words champ. Just relaying them.

well i think its a very distant, ill-informed, ignorant source.
i know someone, who knows someone, who spoke to someone who says that Gary better hope you get past the first week. otherwise he's gaaaawwwwnnnnn!
realise how stupid what your saying is yet?

I have not been keeping up to date with posts on here, and dont fancy going back through 20 + pages of threads. If i have seen correctly, OP's are doing the double drop. That correct? Unless they score 100 points, and yarra valley get beat by 300. Geez, that fightback club 5 yr plan may have to be extended to a 7 yr at least. I don't think OP's will recover from this. All their promising players will join the local NFL. Parents are not as snobby as they once used to be round Bundoora area. This generation demographic of parents are blue-coller workers, that grew up in the old DVFL(NFL). So a prestigious league is low on the list of priorities for their sons. Maybe OPs could recruit the daughters. Some may say they already have been...

Yes, A very sad situation for the club.the previous coaching staff had worked so hard and it was only 2005 when the club was playing in a C grade Preliminary final.
Can you believe that? 2008, E grade!

Who would possibly want to take them on now?

Agreed.

Mick you and Jase should stop pouring petrol on them,they are one win from C grade and we are two with no chances unlike them,McGee has a two year deal according to sources from OHFC who were after his services for next year due to being relegated to B grade.

We need to worry about our patch and Jase no more info on this thread.

As Michael Moss use to say hamburgers are hamburgers and pies taste bloody good......

They have depth through kids,used 50 odd players in the seniors,lets worry about Prahran before we are bigger muppets than Ferrari Formal Hire.........hey Jase,just let it go for the sake of all at David St.......

By the way, I was nearly close with my prediction, wasn't I, of a draw between the Rovers & Oakleigh? I thought Oakleigh showed championship qualities to get themselves out of a difficult situation, to win a classic game of D1 footy just when the Rovers thought they had it won with just seconds to spare. The only gripe I have now is that whoever wins out of the Rovers & Prahran in next Sunday's first semi final at Sandringham will get only a 6 day break especially considering the 'elimination' type process of the first semi final, if the game is a hard, tough contest with fine, possibly warm weather like this aftenoon.

By the way, was it strange to have no racing at all today? At least the footy was on!

By the way, I was nearly close with my prediction, wasn't I, of a draw between the Rovers & Oakleigh? I thought Oakleigh showed championship qualities to get themselves out of a difficult situation, to win a classic game of D1 footy just when the Rovers thought they had it won with just seconds to spare. The only gripe I have now is that whoever wins out of the Rovers & Prahran in next Sunday's first semi final at Sandringham will get only a 6 day break especially considering the 'elimination' type process of the first semi final, if the game is a hard, tough contest with fine, possibly warm weather like this aftenoon.

By the way, was it strange to have no racing at all today? At least the footy was on!

Son,I said no more ammunition,now we are already sooking and whinging about the draw of the finals,it is making us looking pathetic, looks focus on positives and beating Prahran even if they pay six blokes......

both teams are playing on sunday and will have a 6 day break....seems fair to me

I think Tom Brain will be very busy on Sunday and probabaly very tired by the end of the day having to alternate betweeen Cheltenham and Sandringham, seeing he's the VAFA duty officer for the D1 finals! I'm totally surprised at the VAFA's decison to play BOTH semi-finals on the same day, and at different venues as well (second semi, Sandringham, first semi, Cheltenham). After all, the Sunday Age said that all the VFL finals would probably be at Port Melbourne's TEAC Oval (instead of calling it TEAC Oval, I'd call the venue Borough Oval).

Don't take yourself too serioursly MILK. We are just stirring the pot. McGee gives a lot and as such he would expect a lot back.
I heard you lot got beaten by 103 points in the unders? no wonder you're shitty!

Good call on Yarra over BT, Mick. The played a top brand of football (it helps when your FF is in the zone!) that belies their position on the ladder.

Jase, please tell me u were at the G last night and rubbed it in to a few Bombers supporters?

No, I wasn't at the MCG, stayed home to watch it on FOX Sports. I did text messaged my cousins straight after the final siren, who are devoted Essendon supporters, telling them "We tigers stuffed up your finals chances!" I can tell you, Richmond has got a good future ahead of them. To beat Essendon, in front of a crowd of 85,000 will do the young Tiger players who had never played in front of a crowd of that size before, a huge boost in confidence, and it might set the Tigers up for a much improved year next year.