VAFA forum

Umpires in any league at any age group do not care if a player gets suspended.

They are a witness to an incident and report their version of events.

eddiesmith, at the bottom of your postings, the last line reads, "the ashes are coming home." I presume you mean back to England? In fact, the home of the ashes is not England, but Sunbury, or Rupertswood Mansion in Sunbury to be precise. Any self-respecting true cricket fan would know this information. Perhaps when you jumped on the bandwagon, you didn't think to ask anyone what the ashes actually were, or where they originated from?

Yes, excuse me for interupting the "VAFA cricket forum" with some footy news but....

Well done to the Fitzroy Reds for their promotion to C grade. That's only half the job done now, with the GF in 2 weeks.

Thank you must go to MHSOB for thier massive choke on the weekend which now means that the boys from Keilor Hill will taste some September action. With Haks, Marty Monster and Brian Peppers up forward they may be too strong for Old Brighton this week!

A devastating day for the tigers, thanks must go to Sam Hecker and Haysie for defecting to the Parkdale Vultures over the pre-season and us getting relegated.

A most insipid last 1/4

Shame you blokes went down Benny. Hopefully the stay in C will be shortlived.

That said, the matches against Hampton Rovers at least..and maybe Beaumaris (will they beat Parade on Saturday?) or Ormond (need to beat Prahran on Saturday) will mean some classic old local derbies with huge crowds! Not to mention Parkdale!

The High going down to Mazenod was a shock. Talking to Peter Hanley from Mazenod Saturday evening, you couldn't wipe the grin off his face!

With the season finishing up for me on saturday, it's now time to get to the real stuff.............Binge drinking, girls, horses and footy trips!

Here's how I see my life panning out for a few weeks:
Tuesday - Cheers
Wednesday - Glenferrie Hotel
Thursdays - Room
Friday - Concrete Lounge
Saturday - Races, Hawthorn Hotel and Prince
Sunday - Star Bar

Footy Trip - Tassie

Knight Rider said:
With the season finishing up for me on saturday, it's now time to get to the real stuff.............Binge drinking, girls, horses and footy trips!

Here's how I see my life panning out for a few weeks:
Tuesday - Cheers
Wednesday - Glenferrie Hotel
Thursdays - Room
Friday - Concrete Lounge
Saturday - Races, Hawthorn Hotel and Prince
Sunday - Star Bar

Footy Trip - Tassie

Knight Rider, let the games begin......

Tuesday: Nepean Hotel
Wednesday: Chelsea Heights
Thursday: Edgy
Friday: Frankytown
Saturday: 21st Century
Sunday: Mink Bar (Need to get there early as the bouncers don't like my type)

Benny MOF said:
Knight Rider, let the games begin......

Tuesday: Nepean Hotel
Wednesday: Chelsea Heights
Thursday: Edgy
Friday: Frankytown
Saturday: 21st Century
Sunday: Mink Bar (Need to get there early as the bouncers don't like my type)

Bring on the Dapto dogs!

Monday: Anglers TAB
Tuesday: Laurel TAB
Wednesday: Waterloo TAB
Thursday: Royal TAB
Friday: The Linc TAB
Saturday: Nova Bar & Fredericks
Sunday:Union Hotel TAB

pazza said:
The High going down to Mazenod was a shock. Talking to Peter Hanley from Mazenod Saturday evening, you couldn't wipe the grin off his face!

we're you down at the club rooms for that poor after match function they had going? i was there, quite pitiful :p

Mappa said:
Yes, excuse me for interupting the "VAFA cricket forum" with some footy news but....

Well done to the Fitzroy Reds for their promotion to C grade. That's only half the job done now, with the GF in 2 weeks.

Agreed - they've copped a fair bit of stick this year, but they're certainly proved what Mobbs et al were spruiking all season, they're the best unit going around in D Grade in 2005. Wouldn't be surprised if they follow Uni Blacks' trail, but it all remains to be seen.

On a personal note, many thanks to Old Haileybury on the weekend. We weren't quite able to reel in St Bernards', falling short by 3 points (dubious non-goal called in the final term but it mattered nought).

The 3 or 4 minutes of sheer terror - knowing Collegians were 19 points ahead at 3/4 time, then hearing Haileybury had kicked 6 unanswered goals in the last quarter to catch and pass Collegians, but not knowing if they held them off - will hopefully not be repeated in the future. Beers tasted great when we had confirmation of Bloods' victory.

Commiserations to Collegians who exceeded everyone's expectations (including their own I suspect) and, with the quality youth they have in the current line-up, and with the U19s belting it in section 1, they'll be back in A Grade in 2007 for sure.

Scribe, just curious mate what your thoughts were about the Ormond -Mazenod game in 19blue on saturday morning (if you had made it down there).

Deegle said:
Scribe, just curious mate what your thoughts were about the Ormond -Mazenod game in 19blue on saturday morning (if you had made it down there).

Deegle,

I'm still an active player with Old Trinity, so I was no chance of watching other games until my own season finished (which it did on Saturday afternoon).

From the report I received from Mazenod's coach, after they held the Monders out for the first 20 minutes, the brown 'n blues did it 'on the bit' from then on. Just too many class players around the ground.

Reckon they'll win the GF by at least 10 goals.

As an aside, I was contacted by the guys at North-West FM on Sunday night to do a brief 5 minute slot reviewing the junior finals' results (because there aren't many sides from their region which made it past regular season).

Had comfortably consumed 40 beers in the previous 24 hours, but had retired hurt and gone home when the call came through. Think I managed to make sense, then promptly fell asleep in front of the cricket.

I'm still waiting for the follow-up invite...... :p

Ah, Two Blues is back, and is in fine form. I thought it might be a bit too much to expect a bit of congratulations on reaching C-Grade. I also thought you might have lost internet access after there was no report from you about that GLEN EIRA game !!!!

I look forward to more Reds bashing now that you are back. Plenty of "well, you have only beaten teams in D Grade", "you will be going straight back to D grade at the end of 2006" etc etc

Why aren't they in the same ballpark as Uni Blacks, Two Blues ? What is it about the Reds that you have seen this year that says they can't be competitive, or better in C grade in 2006 ?

Mappa said:
Ah, Two Blues is back, and is in fine form. I thought it might be a bit too much to expect a bit of congratulations on reaching C-Grade. I also thought you might have lost internet access after there was no report from you about that GLEN EIRA game !!!!

I look forward to more Reds bashing now that you are back. Plenty of "well, you have only beaten teams in D Grade", "you will be going straight back to D grade at the end of 2006" etc etc

Why aren't they in the same ballpark as Uni Blacks, Two Blues ? What is it about the Reds that you have seen this year that says they can't be competitive, or better in C grade in 2006 ?

Technically Two Blues is correct - Reds just earned promotion to C Grade, but Blacks also got the nod for B Grade. So essentially, they won't be in the same ball park next year.

Don't be surprised if Parko gets the Blacks into the finals next year. I reckon a few more players will be jumping on board - purely an opinion, not based on any rumour or fact.

Scribe said:
As an aside, I was contacted by the guys at North-West FM on Sunday night to do a brief 5 minute slot reviewing the junior finals' results (because there aren't many sides from their region which made it past regular season).

Had comfortably consumed 40 beers in the previous 24 hours, but had retired hurt and gone home when the call came through. Think I managed to make sense, then promptly fell asleep in front of the cricket.

I'm still waiting for the follow-up invite...... :p

You made sense when you were on. Scara and Co at North West FM would be spewing that St Bernards did not make the finals. :D

Fitzroy Reds are clearly the best side in D grade this season. Ormond should defeat the boys from Prahran this week due to the fact that Ormond has a few better players across the board. However it is wet day on Saturday the result could be a lot closer than the 'monds would like. Prahran's McCudden has been a revelation since coming back into the senior side in the later stages of the season. If the Monds underestimate the two blues this weekend they could find themselves in D grade for another season.

A & B section finals this week, and many sides have been quite unpredictable in the lead up:

A Section
2nd Semi : Haileybury v Uni Blues

Injuries abound to key players for the bloods with Boffa and Corrigan hampered by dodgy knees. Both are in the top 10 players in the comp and hard to replace. However, they have been the most consistent side all year and their talls may prove too much to handle for the Blues. Watch for spirited efforts from Wilcox for the Blues.

1st Semi: Scotch v Xavs

Both enigmatic sides and hard to predict recently. Having cost my boys relegation, I'm filthy on Xav's, but I fear that their experience in finals may come in to play. They are, however, often stretched by a tall forward line and if Gertsman and Crow can get their hands on it there may be an upset.
Xavs just.

B Section
2nd Semi: Old Ivanhoe v De La Salle
Old Ivanhoe are far and away the best side all year, still, the jury is out on their ability in finals matches after choking last year. De La are proven finals winners in B section (every 2nd year at least), however I feel that OI will book their place in A Section for 2007 and party all night long at the Motel.

1st Semi: Old Brighton v Old Essendon

Both have been thereabouts in B Section for many years now, but the jury is still out as to whether they have what it takes to step up to A Grade. Both sides have quality players but drop off quickly.

OB's would be smarting from their drubbing at Ivanhoe's hands last week and Old Essendon chuffed from their Dave Forrest inspired win last week (if only he could produce such heroics of a night time).

I can't split them, so I'm tipping a draw with Old Essendon to win in extra time. Their injuries concern me though.

This Monday the 5th is ammo's award night is it not. Anyone got a tip for the Woodrow? A Mr. J Horn has been running a relentless campaign for the 'Chunky One' to get up but I am not so sure, Joel Rice may take too many votes off him early in the season. Just on that, the Eagles seem to everyone's 2nd favourite club, why is that the boys from Bulleen get such a charmed from the Ammo's experts, even the sheik had Rice as #1 in his mid-season Top 30?
Anyway back to my main question, other contenders would have to be Corrigan, while Gertsman either kicks a bag or none so should poll some BOG's, as for Uni, well Lowcock and Paterson have had great years, while Chatfield and Beetham should get the lion's share of Xav's votes, not sure if the other sides won enough games to have a contender, though I'm sure Rambo will get his fair share.........
Thoughts?????

As for finals matches, with Boff and Corrigan out my tip is for a Uni v Scotch GF with Gerta to go nuts