VAFA forum

North Old Boys Saint Patrick's Old Collegians Amateur Football Club (Longest named club in history) are the team to beat in C Grade in 2006. With Alphonse in an influential boardroom position, there is no stopping them.

Benny MOF said:
North Old Boys Saint Patrick's Old Collegians Amateur Football Club (Longest named club in history) are the team to beat in C Grade in 2006. With Alphonse in an influential boardroom position, there is no stopping them.

I believe Alphonse may soon be a non-executive director of the Club given he is expected to take up a lucrative business position in the UK next year.

It will be interesting to see how he handles the dual roles, I hope they give him a private jet for use!

Knight Rider said:
I believe Alphonse may soon be a non-executive director of the Club given he is expected to take up a lucrative business position in the UK next year.

It will be interesting to see how he handles the dual roles, I hope they give him a private jet for use!

Perhaps given the positive vibes coming from NOBSPOCAFC (and that's just the acronym!!) Alphonse will be their UK recruiting manager, trying to slide a few trips to Ireland in whilst in the Old Dart searching for talent to unearth.

I have little doubt NOBSPOCAFC should be able to field 6 or 7 sides in the VAFA next year. Ones, twos, threes, SPOC Club XVIII, NOB Club XVIII, SPOC U19 and NOB U19.

Question is - with that many blokes on the track, how will they get any full ground drills in and, who volunteer to fill up the 472 water bottles at training between drills??

Benny MOF said:

Thanks mate!

Where do you predict Fitzroy Reds will finish?

caveman said:
Thanks mate!

Where do you predict Fitzroy Reds will finish?

I think Reds will finish mid-range, maybe just miss the finals. The step from D1 to C is not that great, if they can get 1 or 2 guns they might just shake it.

Interesting discussion as always. Wonderful to see C Grade getting some coverage on this board.

I think NOBSPC will be in the four. Joined by

St Bedes Mentone: They were ten goals better than NOBS but will they be better than NOBSPC. Probably the favourites at this very early stage.

Parade: Always thereabouts in this company.

Fitzroy Reds: Big wraps, D to C, not as big as C to B or B to A. Will be in the four. Could win it if they are as half as good as they say they are.

I am sure there are other clubs with claims, I look forward to hearing them

Alphonse said:
Fitzroy Reds: Big wraps, D to C, not as big as C to B or B to A. Will be in the four. Could win it if they are as half as good as they say they are.

I am sure there are other clubs with claims, I look forward to hearing them

Fitzroy Reds have performed fantastically to reach C grade. They will definitely be competitive in C grade and push for finals. Why the smart remark about them thinking they are good?

They have come from D3. Doesnt their record speak for themselves?

Benny MOF said:
Will Old Essendon be on the phone to Drew Fletcher?
Will not help if they do. He has retired. Suffered a very serious liver injury in the 2003 EDFL GF. Could have been fatal! Has not played since, and no intention of any comeback! :(

Where has scribe 2 gone? He seems to love putting down SKOB and Steve McKee, could it be that his beloved Caulfield Grammarians need to look at their own backyard? As far as McKee goes, a fairly handy season considering he played only 7 games. Thirty- six goals including a couple of bags of 7 in a side that struggled would do most people. Pull your head in H, otherwise you may need a new housemate, as well as a new part-time job.

In regards to Hollywood Harvey signing at Strathmore, I believe he was dealt a 4 gorilla sign-on fee, as well as a gorilla per game. Not bad for a struggling VFL bench warmer, albeit one with the best mullet in Keilor. From Collo's love child to the Prince of payment, well done Harv's, a sure fire knock out punch to the Bernies A Section Flag aspirations. :thumbsdown:

brian speaking said:
Where has scribe 2 gone? He seems to love putting down SKOB and Steve McKee, could it be that his beloved Caulfield Grammarians need to look at their own backyard? As far as McKee goes, a fairly handy season considering he played only 7 games. Thirty- six goals including a couple of bags of 7 in a side that struggled would do most people. Pull your head in H, otherwise you may need a new housemate, as well as a new part-time job.

I heard from one of my sources tonight that Scribe2 is spending his time gearing up for a possible spot on ABCTV on their new sports quiz show

Now Brian

Steve Mckee? Nope, can't have him. True, he kicked a few bags, but having watched most of his games, these figures were very misleading. I think he broke the world record for little dabble goals from 5 metres out. And in a few games where SKOB really needed him to stand up in order to avoid the drop (Trinity for one) big Steve was conspicuous in his insipidness. So you can raffle your Mckees. Xavs were chasing him last pre-season I believe, but I seriously reckon he wouldn't have got a game in their ones.

I'm not one to bag SKOB. Only know one bloke down there but thought I gave 'em a reasonably good run this year. Just missing a bit of grunt in the 21-26 age bracket. They will demolish B Grade sides (with Mark Graham and Damien Ryan fully fit and some v good players returning from overseas).

"My beloved Caulfield Grammarians" ? - spare me

Can anyone explain why Hollywood Harvey is thusly named? Alphonse, is this your doing with your infamous "insider's email" of two years ago? And when is the cameo?

Ahh scribe 2, you are indeed alive.
I suggest SKOB will be terrific with 5 of their backs 6 from the Premiership returning from their overseas sojurns. Rombo will be the only one missing.
As you well know, they played over 60 players in the seniors this year, and truth be known, for most of the year they were filling holes with 9 or so Reserves flag winners, not the ideal way to win a game of footy in any division, let alone the highest.
I see a bright future for the SKOB, on the back of the Ammos new Chubba, Ben Dowd, and that work horse Tom Simpson. Don't forget that M Lucas is still a babe at 23, and Ryan Chard is probably recognised as the VAFA's best CHF. So they appear to have the blocks in place to rebuild. As you have also noted, throw in M Graham, The Rock, Garlick, McKee, Ukovic(he's back), Grahams mate(will you reveal him to the world?) and new recruit Luke Williams and you have a potentially potent outfit.
Lets hope that the Christian Brothers don't get ahead of themselves in December, as they have many a hard road to run before they rebuild their battered reputation.
Watch out for the Rock...

Scribe2 said:
Now Brian

Can anyone explain why Hollywood Harvey is thusly named?

I'm pretty sure he made the name up. Others news on Harvey, I believe that Geelong VFL have a keen eye on him and i wouldn't be at all surprised to see him pull on the blue and white hoops next year.

brian speaking said:
Ahh scribe 2, you are indeed alive.
I suggest SKOB will be terrific with 5 of their backs 6 from the Premiership returning from their overseas sojurns. Rombo will be the only one missing.
As you well know, they played over 60 players in the seniors this year, and truth be known, for most of the year they were filling holes with 9 or so Reserves flag winners, not the ideal way to win a game of footy in any division, let alone the highest.
I see a bright future for the SKOB, on the back of the Ammos new Chubba, Ben Dowd, and that work horse Tom Simpson. Don't forget that M Lucas is still a babe at 23, and Ryan Chard is probably recognised as the VAFA's best CHF. So they appear to have the blocks in place to rebuild. As you have also noted, throw in M Graham, The Rock, Garlick, McKee, Ukovic(he's back), Grahams mate(will you reveal him to the world?) and new recruit Luke Williams and you have a potentially potent outfit.
Lets hope that the Christian Brothers don't get ahead of themselves in December, as they have many a hard road to run before they rebuild their battered reputation.
Watch out for the Rock...

What does it say about a club which can dominate in B Grade but, when the opportunity beckons to step up into A Section, players decide to travel overseas for a year or two. Mere coincidence? Or something else?

Frankly SKOB will need more than just names to consolidate and push up for good. Having been in the same yo-yo situation with my club during the 90s, the club needs to attract players with the right attitude to stick around even if the going may not be so flash, eke out the 6 ior 7 wins necessary to stay up, and then push on from there.

Hoers and De La should also take note......

As for the SKOB "names" - I'll take a Simpson, Dowd, Chard and Travaglia any day over some of those listed above. At least these guys are fair dinkum week in/out. Apologies to The Rock as he was clearly hobbled all year and made himself available to play when (but for the dire circumstances) he really shouldn't. Also Matty Lucas, who is classy and will return to his best if he sheds the extra kgs which have accumulated following his tragic family loss.

Once these part-time name footballers follow the example of their full-time no-name team mates, SKOB will be back for good.

PS - someone tell Anthony Lynch's dad to stick around all year to look after his son and make sure he doesn't get belted by those big bad opposition ruckmen. :D

Knight Rider said:

Hmmm interesting news. It would seem Alphonse has been keeping strum about this. Not sure the decision will go down well with members of NOBSPCFC and especially "The Commissioner".

In his role as man most knowledgeable on all things football, cricket, basketball, racing and drinking, I don't think "The Commissioner" will appreciate been kept in the dark about the decision of Alphonse to fly the coop. Shame Alphonse, shame!

Brian

Can confirm that The Rock is fit and firing. Very good all round athlete is he, having won the APS 400 metre title as a year 11 student, having the best bench press at St Kilda and being the best over the tan as well (ahead of harvey, thompson and co). But the great man can't swim and his GF has him on some morbid Pier To Pub training plan that would have Grant Hackett heading for the kiddies' pool. He comes home from each sesssion a totally broken man.

Now please tell, who is Mark Graham's mate who is playing? Not Adrian Cox?!? That would be a real winner

Alphonse

In your (we all know you penned it) insider's email, you mentioned two things which I would like to verify.
1. Did Peter Nicholson really coin the phrase "I don't have freinds, I have premierships"?
2.Did he really make his side train in their premiership medals, meaning Danny Byrne was running around with two medals?

Answers Alphonse

Brian Speaking,

Ryan Chard recognised as the best CHF in the VAFA? You have got to be joking! The rest of your comments may be well grounded, but this I just can not stomach.

I hope that SKOB do waltz through 'B' Grade so that they can provide 4 points and % for teams that are battling for the other relegation spot by the end of season 2007 in 'A' Grade. I saw a fair bit of 'A' Grade footy last season, and they were pathetic.

Chard is a bully of crap sides with no defence. He is a solid player but not the best CHF in the VAFA. Having said that, there are not many gun CHF's going around.

I think SKOB have a problem with over rating their own players as guns.

I remember going to uni with a few SKOB blokes who would reel off the names of their players who were supposed guns, only to play against them to find they were soft as butter. Has anybody else found this?

Bendigo, Scribe and Benny,

you seem to want to pass judgement on SKOB being crap very quickly. I think you are either former disgruntled palyers who could not get a game during the SKOB halcyon days of 1996 to 2003 or are a former U19 coach who the whole Ammo community knows has serious issues with anything remarkedly close to SKOB, except trying to entice their players.
If you take a look at their season, you will find that they in fact showed alot of ticker, and were in situations to winat least 9 games. If not for some St Bernards flooky goals in 2 minutes of madness early in the season, and State CHB Garvey breaking his foot two minutes after former U19 state rep Duggan suffered a season ending injury against the Lions the follwing week, then then season may have painted a prettier picture.
If you saw as many SKOB games as you say you did, you must have been impressed with a narrow loss to Uni Blues round one, a barnstorming 3rd quarter to put OM's away, some Lucas magic against the OT's, 99% of the aforementioned game at the Pit, as well as the heartbreaking losses to OX and OH late in the season.
I am sure you also choose to ignore the thumping of Marcellin in round 18.
If you are going to contribute you two people, at least try and make sense!
As far as Chard goes, I honestly think that he has no peer in the comp. Ask any oppostion coach and they would probably agree, as do several 'bigwigs' here at Ammo headquarters.
Now H, I mean Scribe2, as far as the Rock goes, watch out. He will destroy sides, as he did in A Section before he has that damn injury. He should realise though that Rocks sink to the bottom of the pool, so maybe another form of activity would be better. As far as Grahams' mate goes, watch this space, or come down to training and see for yourself.
Alas, I must answer the phones here at HQ as Brett's departure has left us short staffed...Amateur Football, good afternoon, BRIAN SPEAKING!!!

Chard is the best mark i have ever seen in the VAFA (just ahead of Dan Richardson) wonderful set of hands. Took 15 in the wet at Righetti one day against us. He would be in the top 3 CHF in my opinion.

Not sure about the "Markoligist" nickname, he gets about under, that could do with some work.

Lots of heart down at SKOB.

Blame the whole season on injuries to Garvey, a man (I use the term loosly) who is 6'5" and plays on the wing, a real hard man! and Duggan, is he the bean pole?

I think their squad was found wanting, no depth or heart, and their front running midfield were punished by the superior A section outfits.

I think you'll find most people that watched A section thought SKOBs were insipid in all bar a few games. Beating a side in a round 18 dead rubber is not gutsy, Marcellin had 9 of their player back in the U/19's. The pressure was off and the SKOB front runners got going.

Oh Brian, Now you are a good man but where do I start!!??!!

"Ben Dowd the new chubba of the ammos" - throw me a bone here and while you're there remind me who Ben Dowd is. That reminds me the bloke who rocked up to De La training and was dubbed the "new Mike Blood" simply because he had a big boof head and was called Mike. The fact that he was 5 ft 8 was apparently insignificant: "Mike" was last seen working at the peeps on Russell St.

"SKOB showed a lot of ticker": A Big call. Games against Trinity and Bernards (at E Park) would suggest otherwise my good man. Yeah they beat Marcellin, who at that stage, were virtually on their end of the year trip and played a bunch of pups.

"Chard has no peer in the comp" - Oh my God. Jumpin' Jeheovah, I couldn't think of a worse player to coach that Chard. Bucketloads of talent but fair to say Ryan is a bit of a space cadet. When he is good, he is star, when he is bad he is worth the price of admission just to see bad he can be. Went missing at every key moment.

They'll murder teams in B Section but have a lot to prove when the going gets tough. Most A Section games are won in a 15-20 period and St Kevins are peerless when is comes to going missing i when the blowtorch is applied.

Scribe2 said:
Alphonse

In your (we all know you penned it) insider's email, you mentioned two things which I would like to verify.
1. Did Peter Nicholson really coin the phrase "I don't have freinds, I have premierships"?
2.Did he really make his side train in their premiership medals, meaning Danny Byrne was running around with two medals?

Answers Alphonse

I promise a A and perhaps B grade summary in Feb/March to launch the Season. It will appear first on the nobs website but I will be sure to post it here for you good folk as well. As I have been out of A Grade for many years, I may call on the VAFA's most respected source Benny MOF for assistance.

1: Was a true story, it centred around his opening night speech at the snakepit. It was a very funny story, involving how all his old mates go water skiing every weekend and all he thinks and talks about is footy so they don't invite him anymore. That was when the quote came in.

2: Was an exaggeration there was some incident on the first night back from training but I don't think it involved actually wearing medals. I cant remember it now.

Hollywood Harvey: I have always known him as that (i think it started when i played cricket at the Snakepit and the Sunshine YCW boys didnt take to the styled blond mullet and christened him that), he did enjoy the nickname, he enjoyed Altona a lot less.