VAFA forum

The Wizard said:
Your research might need to take in this variable. Out of all the private schools, the drop out rate of Old Xavs in first year University is the highest... Fact.

I don't consider a university education as necessarily an indication of success, as I would consider that I have been successful in business and I left school at 15.

My research is purely based on my own experiences and is neither right nor wrong. I have only judged on my exposure to the product of the 2 schools, it is all I have to measure by.

Heard a rumour Geoff O'Connor is going back to Therry. Would be the best player in the Amos by a country mile.........

The Slitherin' Snake said:
Who is Geoff O'Connor?

Apparently the best Ammos player in the country by a mile! :p

This despite us never having seen him in a Rep squad, let alone a Repside, and him apparently returning to Therry to play with that massive collection of guns running around under everyone's guard in D1 Grade.

Something to look forward to......

However, if he's the same O'Connor who used to wear #17 for them say 8-odd years ago and played a bit on the wing before whacking on the kgs and getting tubby, yeah he was pretty talented, but I doubt he'd get a look in with the top 200 VAFA players.

Jock555, that wouldn't be a really clever variation on the initial J. and the surname O'Connor would it?

Does anyone really care about the whole PEGs/SKOB thing apart from the loonies from the respective clubs?

Keilor Hill is a factory that produces the biggest t*ssers going round (and tough too, kicking someone whilst on the deck....) , and SKOB are pretenders who will forever be dusting off the chip on the shoulder.

Enough of the bloody private school argy bargy. Sure use the stereotypes, but don't over do it, please. These are football clubs, not schools.

Can't you talk about things which are more interesting to read;

i.e

- How is the Foo's pre-season going at the Badlands?
- Is "Crazy Eyes" from Mazenod really a good bloke as claimed?
- Why is Buckets from Whitefriars retiring?
- When will Tom Brain-the worst columnist ever-get the sack?
- Has Scribe2 made it on the new ABC Sports Quiz show?
- What happened to Nuffy O'Dwyer?

Menages said:
As a parent of a prospective student at either of Xavier or St Kevins, who has done a fair bit of unbiased research, this is somewhat incorrect.

From my research, I don't think the facilities are better at St Kevins. The new building will be very good, but to be honest the whole place seems to be shoe horned into a wedge of reclaimed swamp land along Gardiner Creek in the shadows of a freeway. I kept looking for the power lines!

The land may be worth more per sq metre at St Kevins compared with Xavier but really there's not much of it. Xavier has large sprawling ovals and the feeling is of a successful, beautifully maintained school with a strong sporting heritage and strong links to law and medecine, all brought together under Jesuit ideals.

At St Kevins you have to drive under a railway bridge to get inside - not a great entrance at all. It seems to be a school that is wondering what it's heritage is and when they will find it. Sport is somewhat important but not a lot of places to play anything. Academically, it has had mixed results from year to year. Brothers are just men who couldn't take the next step to being a priest. You get the same feelings about the school - good but not quite enough dedication to take the next step to excellence.

Whatever you think of them as blokes, I regularly meet successful men who were educated at Xavier, rarely at St Kevins. To some extent, this could just be a function of the size of the relative schools but not entirely.

Old St Kevins boys are always trying to convince you that their school is better than Xavier, but they are just like a used car salesman who tells you the trusty old Volvo wagon he is trying to sell you will go just as fast as the Porsche convertible you really want to buy.

They should not try and compete with a clearly superior school and just be comfortable in creating their own niche for those who want or need something less challenging or success orientated for their sons. No shame in that, just a different direction. Whatever it is, they should pick their own goals and compare themselves to those goals only and not try to beat a school they will never be able to.

At the end of the day, I want my sons to grow up to be like the Old Xavs I know or have met and not the Old St Kevins boys I know or have met. I want a culture of success and confidence (perhaps arrogance to some) because I can assure you these are qualities that will get you somewhere in life and business.

And no matter what various posters here may think about old Xavier boys (obviously there are exceptions), they are invariably successful and have lots of friends and contacts. I'll be going with the strength.

I get the impression of a small school, which can have some benefits, for less mature children who need to coaxed and molly coddled through their teenage years

Menages, you are full of ********. I have a lot of mates from Xavier, and also I know a lot of ********ers. The facts are that we are healthy rivals and nothing more...except for the fact that you are obviously an Old Boy from Xavs who suffered Mick Bloods brown suits for one too many seasons.
If Xavier is that good and SKOB are ********ers, why have you had two SKOBBERS as Captain of your club in the last 15 years. And if you are truly a member of the VAFA community, you will know who the other one is.
By the way, check the official academic records with the Dept of Education and you will see the Xavier is floundering academically wise in Victoria, not only just the APS.

Cameo King said:
Does anyone really care about the whole PEGs/SKOB thing apart from the loonies from the respective clubs?

Keilor Hill is a factory that produces the biggest t*ssers going round (and tough too, kicking someone whilst on the deck....) , and SKOB are pretenders who will forever be dusting off the chip on the shoulder.

Enough of the bloody private school argy bargy. Sure use the stereotypes, but don't over do it, please. These are football clubs, not schools.

i.e

Cameo, please don't mention PEGS and private school in the same sentence..just kidding, the fact is we are taking the ******** out of each other, you can either laugh, or like that tosser Menages, actually think that we are serious. I could not give a flying ******** about what people think of St Kevins College. I'm proud I went there and thats all that matters. I would also hope that the PEGS boys are proud of their old school. I do however, take objection to anyone from Old Xavs posting onb this site as everyone in the VAFA hates them!
As far as foo goes, I must relate a funny story from a SKOB vs Old Hailebury ressies clash this year at Righetti.
The Bloods had just had a couple of quick goals kicked against them and the big food didn't like the fact his opponent at Full- Back, SOC junior ( an Essendon boy I believe) had kicked them. The big man was obviously on the wrong end of some sizeable taunts, so Foo started swinging wildly at SOC. Obviously foo fights in the super heavyweight division(with King Kong Bundy) and young Soc the Middleweights. Any way, Foo winds up and launches a ferocious round arm and misses, with his momentum carrying him around and to the ground. Of course this is one of the funniest sights ever seen at the Swamp, with even his team mates laughing. He then gets up and starts threatening his OWN teammates coz they were laughing at him. Any way, after being sent off for attempted striking of his OWN team mate, the big number 10 from the Badlands heads straight over to his mother, gets a ciggy, $5 and heads straight to the canteen and buys two hot dogs and a soft drink. All of this with his boots still on, the game still going etc. He then goes over to the Bloods bench and devours his hotdogs, drink and cigarette. After 15 mins, he is back on trying to win the game for his team...what a LEGEND!!!

Cameo King

Agree that recent argument on this board is farcical at best.

Now to your questions.

I have progrssed to the "next stage" on the Quiz. However my specialist subjects (4 of which are racehorses, the other two relate to Spurs) are a bit narrow for them methinks.

As for The Foo. I love anything relating to the Foo. If he played seniors these days, chances are he would constitute about 90% of the column. He almost killed me twice, once on the footy field one Friday arvo and later at the State aths carnival, when he almost decapitated me with a discus. It missed me by centimetres and would have been the end of me. He used to put those shot puts and discusses into orbit The Foo.

Saw him out once, at the now defunct Warehouse (only went there once), arguably the most terrible establishment operating in Melbourne since Bojangles. Big Foo was on the DanceFloor, all thirty stone of him, cutting a menacing figure. In retropect, picking him out was quite an affort given the clientele that night.

Nuffy O'Dwer? A broken man I believe. Gave it away after missing out on a grand final goal umpiring berth or something. Rumours abound that he is in fact "Brian Speaking" a crude attempt to get back at the Director of Umpiring who supposedly dudded him.

Cameo King said:

i.e

Welcome back Cameo! Glad to know you are still alive. I was starting to worry as no one has heard from you since the slitherin snake kicked the match winner on you in the curtain raiser to the Fletcher Gerkin Cup at a soaking wet Gillon earlier this year. :D

Cameo King said:

Yeah enough school v school talk. I went to Stawell High ... and my car's the one with the flag on the bonnet ... so go figure!

Cameo King said:
QUOTE]
At one stage Tom Brain went 2 1/2 years without tipping NOBS. My favourite Tom Brain story centred around an appearance on North West FM with other VAFA luminaries, Pearly O'Connor, Glen "Scatters" Scarborough and Neil Loughlin.

Tommy was going through his weekend wrap explaining how he managed to see 12 games of VAFA football and eat a sausage roll at every venue when he got to the OEG V NOBS game (our last win incidentally in round 5). And he just teed off "Well the drunken hooligans at nobs obviously enjoyed their win, I got a phone call at 1am last night, Pam answered and she said 'Tommy wake up, there is someone on the phone who thinks you are a d*ckhead". I still don't know who was responsible for those calls but I suspect it was the Meat Tray and perhaps Maxie still aggrieved about being left out his team of the year in 2004, despite being the best wingman in B Section by some margin.

The Big Pineapple said:
Welcome back Cameo! Glad to know you are still alive. I was starting to worry as no one has heard from you since the slitherin snake kicked the match winner on you in the curtain raiser to the Fletcher Gerkin Cup at a soaking wet Gillon earlier this year. :D

I believe it was an errant pass from Alphonse that led to that goal. The Slithering Snake, as is his custom, slithered slyly across the turf to intercept my chip pass to Cameo King. That aside i recall being pretty dominant that day, disposing of my rival captain by 1/4 time.

The Slithering Snake also took one of the biggest hangers of all time on me once. What an enigma.

Alphonse said:
I believe it was an errant pass from Alphonse that led to that goal. The Slithering Snake, as is his custom, slithered slyly across the turf to intercept my chip pass to Cameo King. That aside i recall being pretty dominant that day, disposing of my rival captain by 1/4 time.

The Slithering Snake also took one of the biggest hangers of all time on me once. What an enigma.

If I recall corretly Alphonse, that match up can only be compared to the Carey/Jackovich battles of the 90's. I'm pretty sure it went 12 rounds and even the judges couldn't split them. If anything though OEG's skipper got the points in a gutsy and courageous final quarter as he led his troops to victory.

Cameo King said:
What happened to Nuffy O'Dwyer?

I've been traing with the Ovens & Murray umpires association. Things are going really well but I finish my sports administration tafe course in a couple of weeks and have a job lined up at the Melbourne Sports & Aquatic Centre so that might mean I have to eat humble pie and go back to the VAFAUA as travelling with the new job will be difficult.

Scribe said:
Apparently the best Ammos player in the country by a mile! :p

This despite us never having seen him in a Rep squad, let alone a Repside, and him apparently returning to Therry to play with that massive collection of guns running around under everyone's guard in D1 Grade.

Something to look forward to......

However, if he's the same O'Connor who used to wear #17 for them say 8-odd years ago and played a bit on the wing before whacking on the kgs and getting tubby, yeah he was pretty talented, but I doubt he'd get a look in with the top 200 VAFA players.

Jock555, that wouldn't be a really clever variation on the initial J. and the surname O'Connor would it?

Yeah that's him mate. he's looking a million dollars from what I've seen. Running 6k's in 20 mins. Look out anyone who gets in his way this year. Kicks the ball with both feet an absolute mile and has the best skills that I've ever seen on a player not playing in the AFL. Would get a game in any A Grade side without any worries at all.

Re: Tommy Brain

I heard an incredible rumour from a former Prahran AFC player where Tommy Brain used to be the team manager.

Apparently on the end of season footy trip, poor Tommy picked up a young "lass" and retired with her to his hotel room. Upon removing this lady's underwear, Tommy was shocked to find that she was in fact a HE!!

After composing himself, Tommy decided that he was unlikely to get one for the rest of the trip and decided to shag the "thing" anyway.

I'm unsure as to the truth of this story but I'm still rolling around on the ground in tears, it bloody hilarious.

Scribe2 said:
Who's your source Benny: The girl(or bloke) in question? Spare me, count me out.

A former Prahran player with links to a club located on Down Surf Coast way. His nickname is related to being powerful. I will leave it at that.

Where are you today Brian Speaking?

Benny MOF said:
A former Prahran player with links to a club located on Down Surf Coast way. His nickname is related to being powerful. I will leave it at that.

Where are you today Brian Speaking?

True or not perhaps a little over the top Benny MOF. I am no Tom Brain fan but it does sound a little far fetched.