VAFA General Discussion 2022-2023-2024

Hi all.

Aucklander and I have had a couple of runs through recent posts in this thread and removed a few unsavoury comments.

The usual griping and gossip is par for the course, but some posts go overboard.

Site rules are here:

People who do not abide by them will have accounts blocked from threads, boards, or banned entirely.

If you see such posts, please report them so they can be attended to. We don't and can't read every post, and mods may be absent for periods around this time of year when people are busy or on holiday.

You can always contact admin here if anything is urgent:

They came out in the media with a bullshit story about them selves , said they were fed up with their other tenants and had approached 6 other clubs for a merger with PH the fav. They are an ordinary lot.
Just saw a articles in the herald sun 2 days ago about Albert park itself

They are talking absolute crap about a co tenant , but thats their way.
Are they the mob that were originally State Bank? Must be bloody tough for them. Ground impacted more than any by the GP and several other clubs within a few 100 metres in every direction. No juniors, U19s or real identify. To make matters worse the grubs from Parks Vic make players and supporters pay for the privilege of parking to play or watch a game. Reckon a merger is a good strategic move. The ground where PH play better located with better facilitates. SMD might also be an option.

SMD never. They were ANZ Bank and so good people then . Parks Vic are worse than any council

They came out in the media with a bullshit story about them selves , said they were fed up with their other tenants and had approached 6 other clubs for a merger with PH the fav. They are an ordinary lot.

Based on what information is this statement made?

Experience , what else do you want ? 07

One would imagine that your club hasn't had direct contact for decades therefore recent volunteers running the show maybe just doing their best. Ten years ago your club averaged 2 melees+ a year. Wonder what that says 06?

What the F are you talking about ? what club ? you are right off track here.

Ormond 2009 Was playing in the Major one where you boofheads started it again. Laughing stock that year 4 melees in 8 weeks. The point you raised was experience - cuts many ways. Reckon if a club is investigating it's future cheap pots are not helpful especially when no direct recent experience [presume you weren't at the Albert Park Committee Meeting].

Listen boofhead you never read what i put . ITS ABOUT CO TENANTS NOT F ING ORMOND !

10 years ago.....95% of each VAFA current playing list wasn’t playing for that club. :rolleyes:

Correct so I'm looking for the Big Bedhead's explanation of whether his "experience" is based on the past or present or simply 3rd hand from the co tenant club/s ... like talking to a titanium wall!

It's unfortunate from a historical point of view when clubs need to merge. No doubt. But, these are challenging times on many fronts and local football clubs, especially lower VAFA division clubs with limited junior connection or/and no school connection, will find themselves looking at these 'options' more in the coming years.

The significant increase in 'more teams' for the clubs, primarily in higher VAFA divisions, continues to impact lower ranked clubs more than ever as the 'trickle down effect' is not happening as much as before. I use our club for an example - Ivanhoe AFC.
1/ No school connection per the Old boy clubs as we are a stand alone District club (Historically).
2/ Limited Junior club connection (and improving) but many of the local kids go to the local private schools ( Old Ivanhoe, Carey, Trinity, Marcellin and to a slightly lesser extent St Kevins, Xavier and Scotch). So these kids are encouraged - via the school - to play there.
3/ Located in the middle of a cashed-up competition (NFNL) that attracts many more players away from a club like ours.

So with the above in mind, what would happen when I was playing is that many of the kids that were not in the top bracket at these clubs A and B grade clubs would be looking for somewhere to get a game. As such a club in the lower grades was a place they could play firsts or get a run. This no longer happens as we have so many other 'grades' that big clubs can filed teams in and retain their players.

I TOTALLY understand and congratulate those clubs for doing so, this is not a moan about that at all. Just highlighting that the trickle down effect does not happen like it did in the past and if you then combine the above three elements, you can see why some District clubs in particular can struggle for numbers and as such look to mergers or shifting competitions (so they can pay also) to survive.

Cheers, Chump.

Hopefully with less money in the cap for paid up leagues might help clubs like yours. Always a pleasure to go to Ivanhoe , great facilities . Not like old mate Max Leaders mob

They will just pay under the table my friend or find other ways around the salary cap. It's been happening for years and will continue for some clubs. The points situation was a step forward to controlling that a little more, but now all the clubs in our area (from the NFNL) are signing MOU's with the junior club (they can sign 10 club) so that any juniors from that club will only be 1 point if they play for them. So the advantage of having the junior affiliation, to counter the cash incentives, is some what reduced.

That said, we don't want young men and women to not play the game at the club they want to because of points issues. So really it comes down to creating an environment that attracts players to your own club with what you have ie: controlling what we can control.

Here's hoping you can come and enjoy those facilities again - in higher grades - at some stage. If not I can send you the link to the NFNL :) #joking #takingthepi55

Cheers Chump

The problem for the old boys clubs which don’t play Saturday school footy is their students prefer to stick with their junior club into 19s and seniors, get a bit of money rather than pay to play.

We used to have a junior only club nearby which meant you could get some players who didn’t have a connection to a senior club. But about 10 years back they suddenly started up a senior club and been buying premierships ever since.

But I think they’ve now hit their ceiling, probably won’t go any higher as they can’t compete in the premier division so we’re having more success luring players back to play for premierships.

But as long as our longest and biggest competition remains in their leagues premier division and has plenty of cash to burn, we’ll never see the success of the rich old boys clubs.

It’s an interesting thought though, do you try to build a club to get to Premier or realise you can never compete with the money and connections and strive to be as successful as you can around B-D1?

The problem for the old boys clubs which don’t play Saturday school footy is their students prefer to stick with their junior club into 19s and seniors, get a bit of money rather than pay to play.

We used to have a junior only club nearby which meant you could get some players who didn’t have a connection to a senior club. But about 10 years back they suddenly started up a senior club and been buying premierships ever since.

But I think they’ve now hit their ceiling, probably won’t go any higher as they can’t compete in the premier division so we’re having more success luring players back to play for premierships.

But as long as our longest and biggest competition remains in their leagues premier division and has plenty of cash to burn, we’ll never see the success of the rich old boys clubs.

It’s an interesting thought though, do you try to build a club to get to Premier or realise you can never compete with the money and connections and strive to be as successful as you can around B-D1?
You last bit is it . It's too hard to compete with the likes of SKOBAFL and the like.