168.8 KB · Views: 172
  • 0F19892F-7230-462D-AFF4-616315996910.jpeg
    0F19892F-7230-462D-AFF4-616315996910.jpeg
    201.2 KB · Views: 177
  • 2EF174CA-F7A2-4AD7-878A-9391C5931E57.jpeg
    2EF174CA-F7A2-4AD7-878A-9391C5931E57.jpeg
    162.9 KB · Views: 175
I think the vafa will go ahead. If it does go ahead will all divisions play
The vast majority will but inevitable that some clubs will not. And it won’t necessarily be battling lower district clubs either. I stress this not validated but a club official who I know well from an established old boys club that plays and trains entirely within a school has been told they cannot use the facilities in 2020. Finding an alternative venue in nearby council zones already awash with football clubs has been impossible and they had all but given up on 2020, even if the season went ahead.

Recent demise of the NFL & EFL (which may give a hint as to the location of the club in question) has possibly thrown them a life-line but venue negotiations continue to be problematic.

I am sure other clubs have already made a decision due to financial reasons or either a lack of or impact on volunteers. Would be fairly confident that 90% of VAFA clubs would be in if a season gets underway.

Loved this article I found on FB around the importance of local footy

You should post that on the Eastern forum and see their reaction given they were all so happy to not be playing this year. Then again I never heard talk of the EFL clubs agreeing to no player payments so that probably held them back.

Anyway the NSW rules are great news if Victoria follows suit, they are even allowing up to 50 people inside for food and beverage which would remove the biggest hurdle to the VAFA going ahead if Victoria did the same.

I wouldnt take much notice of country leagues throwing in the towel. Their drive in players arent going to head up for the love of the game.

I think VAFA and AFL outer east will get going.

Social Rooms wont matter if a crowd can buy beers and food.Restrictions seem to be easing quickly. AFL outer east said their season could start in august.

Assuming we get a season going in late July - will promotion & relegation be scrapped? What are people’s thoughts on this?
I’d love it to stay. Even if it’s a 1 up 1 down situation.. I think it’s an integral part of the VAFA setup and will provide an incentive for players/clubs to fully commit to a shortened season

Assuming we get a season going in late July - will promotion & relegation be scrapped? What are people’s thoughts on this?
I’d love it to stay. Even if it’s a 1 up 1 down situation.. I think it’s an integral part of the VAFA setup and will provide an incentive for players/clubs to fully commit to a shortened season
If it happens it can only be 1 up 1 down.

As l understand it Promotion/relegation has been scrapped for 2020.
It is very possible should there be a start that some Clubs are unable to field their quota of teams and that for example, a D team comes up to C to fill the gap because a C club doesn't have the numbers or feels that the quality of available players only warrants fielding a Reserves team.
This will definately not be a cut and dry start to the season where the draw falls. Some Clubs will simply not have the numbers to field their allocated teams.
Promotion and Relegation is not a priority for the VAFA at all from where we sit currently.
My money is still on a cancelled season on June 22. There are simply too many hurdles and each Club has different hurdles to jump over. The pressure on Club volunteers to meet everything that is required will be too great.

The vast majority will but inevitable that some clubs will not. And it won’t necessarily be battling lower district clubs either. I stress this not validated but a club official who I know well from an established old boys club that plays and trains entirely within a school has been told they cannot use the facilities in 2020. Finding an alternative venue in nearby council zones already awash with football clubs has been impossible and they had all but given up on 2020, even if the season went ahead.

Recent demise of the NFL & EFL (which may give a hint as to the location of the club in question) has possibly thrown them a life-line but venue negotiations continue to be problematic.

I am sure other clubs have already made a decision due to financial reasons or either a lack of or impact on volunteers. Would be fairly confident that 90% of VAFA clubs would be in if a season gets underway.

Guessing that is Marcellin. Possibly Carey or trinity however the eagles play within the school itself as opposed to just sports fields.

On another note JJ, reckon the Dino’s will play this year? (asking as a now-displaced EFL vets player)

Guessing that is Marcellin. Possibly Carey or trinity however the eagles play within the school itself as opposed to just sports fields.

On another note JJ, reckon the Dino’s will play this year? (asking as a now-displaced EFL vets player)

Marcellin's 3's used to play across the street.

It is very possible should there be a start that some Clubs are unable to field their quota of teams and that for example, a D team comes up to C to fill the gap because a C club doesn't have the numbers or feels that the quality of available players only warrants fielding a Reserves team.
This will definately not be a cut and dry start to the season where the draw falls. Some Clubs will simply not have the numbers to field their allocated teams.
Promotion and Relegation is not a priority for the VAFA at all from where we sit currently.
My money is still on a cancelled season on June 22. There are simply too many hurdles and each Club has different hurdles to jump over. The pressure on Club volunteers to meet everything that is required will be too great.
It has not been decided yet , a survey went to all clubs a couple of weeks ago. I say 1 up 1 down.

Not Trinity or Carey

Money will be lost. I keep looking for these obstacles that are too great to scale but can't seem to find them. The pressure on club volunteers is no more or less than any normal season, just different. Given i am a volunteer and the declared Covid officer for my club i can't say i have been overwhelmed by the likely task or responsibility. It appears really easy to say there are massive problems but much harder to articulate what they actually are. Let's just focus on getting the kids on the park and being forgiving for things that don't (won't) run as smoothly as they once did.

jdpie

I'm also a Covid officer. Seriously the hardest job is taking names, cleaning footballs and making sure the drink bottles are 1.5 metres apart.

Lets get it on. Hardest jobs have is keeping motivation. We had 18 girls tonight, in pretty cold conditions, with a fog the stopping you seeing across the oval.

Players want to play, lets make it happen.

Max "22nd June" Leader

jdpie

I'm also a Covid officer. Seriously the hardest job is taking names, cleaning footballs and making sure the drink bottles are 1.5 metres apart.

Lets get it on. Hardest jobs have is keeping motivation. We had 18 girls tonight, in pretty cold conditions, with a fog the stopping you seeing across the oval.

Players want to play, lets make it happen.

Max "22nd June" Leader
Thank god the players and the covid officer don’t get the final say!! There would be clubs folding left right and centre if they did!

Apparently someone from the protest Saturday has already been tested positive for covid19. This could derail any comp going ahead if more cases come to light!!
You could go to 10 Bunnings stores on a Saturday across Melbourne and find positive cases too. They could have been asymptomatic. They could have got it from one of those Bunnings stores. People are going to get it.

Mitch Langerak (Socceroos keeper) tested positive in Japan this week, yet he was displaying no symptoms. I'm not trying to downgrade the seriousness of it, or have a crack at you, but if we cancel the season just because of this, then we may as well shut the doors to everything and live indoors.

You could go to 10 Bunnings stores on a Saturday across Melbourne and find positive cases too. They could have been asymptomatic. They could have got it from one of those Bunnings stores. People are going to get it.

Mitch Langerak (Socceroos keeper) tested positive in Japan this week, yet he was displaying no symptoms. I'm not trying to downgrade the seriousness of it, or have a crack at you, but if we cancel the season just because of this, then we may as well shut the doors to everything and live indoors.
Yeh I understand that, but the states that have lifted most restrictions have had days and weeks of zero positive tests. I can’t see Victoria being the exception. Furthermore Dan Andrews said this morning that the protest has likely pushed back easing of restrictions a little while.

There is time for a season pushing back to August 1 .

Yep, season is done, thanks a lot you selfish campaigners!

D-Day was 22nd of this month, that won’t be happening now as that’s just as we’ll start to see the impacts of the protests. Oh and the second wave of protests planned this weekend.

It’s not just footy, we’ll be back in lockdown next month thanks to those morons.

Yep, season is done, thanks a lot you selfish campaigners!

D-Day was 22nd of this month, that won’t be happening now as that’s just as we’ll start to see the impacts of the protests. Oh and the second wave of protests planned this weekend.

It’s not just footy, we’ll be back in lockdown next month thanks to those morons.
So after a demo nearly a week ago involving thousands there is so far one positive Covid case and that means that's it for the footy this year. Really!!!!!

VAFA General Discussion