VAFA General Discussion

bit dramatic. Every other state in Australia are playing footy this year. If it wasn t for poor diligence at Isolation hotels then we would be as well
The league has been shut down without a positive test in our ranks. Imagine if we get one rnd 1 if there is one. I hope I'm 100% wrong but we've missed an opportunity I reckon.

What do you class as ‘in our ranks’? It’s not just a problem if a player or coach gets it. You are looking at players, coaches, family, partners, supporters and whoever else. If one of those people come down with it it’s game over.
They now have 9 months to get it right. Just about every other state is playing local sport with crowds and it only took them 2-3 months to get it under control.

What do you class as ‘in our ranks’? It’s not just a problem if a player or coach gets it. You are looking at players, coaches, family, partners, supporters and whoever else. If one of those people come down with it it’s game over.
They now have 9 months to get it right. Just about every other state is playing local sport with crowds and it only took them 2-3 months to get it under control.
Blame bloody China , no one else

I suppose this was going to happen with the VAFA It’s to bad your friends from the sh:t football league are going to pull the pin would have been nice to see you at their games😋
I had intended to be at St Kilda City v Port Colts on a Friday night. That would have been it.

Well I've stewed on it overnight and while last night was shattering, albeit inevitable, it's done now and we should look at the positives.

- Clubs now have a significant amount of time to plan their roads back to 2021, and any financial stresses that may have arisen from putting teams out on the park in a compromised season are eased. Plenty of time to get financials and recruiting sorted for next year
- We don't have to worry about any furor over an influx of import permit players for 9 games
- Players with long term injuries can heal up and get ready for next season without missing any games (we had a young bloke do his ACL during pre-season)

The toughest thing now is keeping the connection to the playing group before pre-season for 2021 starts. In reality, a lot of clubs' seasons would have been over in about 4-5 weeks, anyway. Fingers crossed no one sees a drop-off in players because of this.

With the prospect of less VFL opportunities and smaller salary caps in the paid leagues, we could see an influx of quality players to the VAFA next season

Well I've stewed on it overnight and while last night was shattering, albeit inevitable, it's done now and we should look at the positives.

- Clubs now have a significant amount of time to plan their roads back to 2021, and any financial stresses that may have arisen from putting teams out on the park in a compromised season are eased. Plenty of time to get financials and recruiting sorted for next year
- We don't have to worry about any furor over an influx of import permit players for 9 games
- Players with long term injuries can heal up and get ready for next season without missing any games (we had a young bloke do his ACL during pre-season)

The toughest thing now is keeping the connection to the playing group before pre-season for 2021 starts. In reality, a lot of clubs' seasons would have been over in about 4-5 weeks, anyway. Fingers crossed no one sees a drop-off in players because of this.

With the prospect of less VFL opportunities and smaller salary caps in the paid leagues, we could see an influx of quality players to the VAFA next season
A significant shift in how local football is operated is no doubt starting. With very low caps for the suburban leagues, it’s highly unlikely quality players will get heaps more to play local than VFL. Likewise average senior players probably won’t get paid at all. Hence a VAFA boom is a genuine possibility.

yes it is for under the table payments 🙂
As the old saying is we don’t pay players to play Football in the VAFA.
But we will pay you $$$ if you can drink 2 cans of beer and hop skip and jump over the rubbish bin in the club house after the game🙂

yes it is for under the table payments 🙂
As the old saying is we don’t pay players to play Football in the VAFA.
But we will pay you $$$ if you can drink 2 cans of beer and hop skip and jump over the rubbish bin in the club house after the game🙂

FWIW genuine question. Why are you and others so concerned about players being paid in the VAFA or not if you are not involved?

Probably just a bored person who likes to spread negativity for no reason - best to ignore.

I'd say 99% of us are passionate about local footy and of course, the VAFA.

2020 cancellation was sadly inevitable given the recent spike. It's tough to sink in given how close we were. As much as it's easy for us as individuals (and communities) to blame others ie the Chinese, big family groups, labour government, poor hotel security etc etc the fact is that some people will not adhere to the rules no matter what bracket they fit in. Think of the class clowns in school, or the big personalities that are challenging authority for no other reason than to make themselves feel like a bigger person.
It's frustrating, it hurts, and we all feel the consequences.

I saw a bloke on television publicly stating he refused to believe "the hype" around Covid and thought it was a waste of time. He vowed to continue living his life like nothing has happened (hugging kissing shaking hands etc). He referred to is as another flu and said if he gets it, he gets it. When prompted what if he accidentally gave it to his grandmother, he said "well it is what it is, sometimes people get the flu as they die from it." It's this kind of selfish attitude that has ruined so much of our livelihood in 2020. Think of the still affected businesses across the state that are still feeling the pain of an extended lock down.
Regardless of whether you buy into the Covid conspiracies etc or if you genuinely feel the threat of a virus for your health and your loved ones health, the fact is, people like old mate on tv are the sole reason we as a community are now suffering.

I'm devastated with the cancellation of the season but at the same time, I recognise why it has to happen, I accept it and I move on with the hope that 2021 can be a great year not only for footy clubs, but for the entirety of Victoria, and Australia.

There is a bit of shit attitude especially from the younger generation, most amazing comment I saw from the brain dead younger generation was a BLM protestor saying that one criminals life in Minnesota was worth more than the 500,000 who have died from Coronavirus

There is a bit of sh*t attitude especially from the younger generation, most amazing comment I saw from the brain dead younger generation was a BLM protestor saying that one criminals life in Minnesota was worth more than the 500,000 who have died from Coronavirus
Amazing how you take one thing you heard and spray it all over the 'younger generation'. I feel sad for you. The younger generations understand that the rights of all people matter, not just the privileged few. And it ain't just the young, brother.

Instead of taking potshots, why don't you actually do some research and listen to some kids speak about these issues. You'll probably learn something and maybe... just maybe! They won't be calling you a gronk behind your back.

Amazing how you take one thing you heard and spray it all over the 'younger generation'. I feel sad for you. The younger generations understand that the rights of all people matter, not just the privileged few. And it ain't just the young, brother.

Instead of taking potshots, why don't you actually do some research and listen to some kids speak about these issues. You'll probably learn something and maybe... just maybe! They won't be calling you a gronk behind your back.

The privileged few, you mean those kids whose rich parents put them through the most expensive private schools just so they could go to Uni, study an arts degree and spend their life protesting about whatever the latest crusade of the loony left is?

Anyway latest figures from their hero says it’s the younger generation that is spreading the disease like wildfire. Why? Because they don’t give a shit and think it’s not going to kill me. They don’t care they may spread it to the older generation and kill them off because they’ve been taught to hate boomers!

VAFA General Discussion