VAFA General Discussion

Not to 10 clubs who would be in D3 it doesn’t.
Could also have Westbourne and Eley Park go back to Thirds too which could end up making it an 8 and 6 which is crap for both divisions.
That would create a 4 team D4, which is infinitely worse.

Imagine if a bloke did that. I don’t think she even got sent off? Umpires were struggling by the looks
The EYE has cast his discerning eye over the incident on VAFA TV.

1. Lucky to get 3 as there are multiple strikes including the initial forearm/elbow
2. Victim was in a defenseless position
3. Mystery as to how the umpires missed this?

THE EYE
o_O

Yeah would have to be 8 and 6 if we did lose those two clubs. I doubt they’d go to a 14 team Division 3 and drop Div 4 all together but I think that’s probably only a few years away with some clubs really struggling.
6 team division is bad any which way you look at it. 8 and 8, assuming nobody drops out, has to be the way to go

Some brainstorming has provided me with a bit of a list of the worst places to play footy in the VAFA as an away team. In no particular order I have come up with
Whitefriars
Richmond centrals
Therry penola
Aquinas
Williamstown cyms
fawkner
Yarra valley
st mary’s salesian
st. john’s

Am I far off the mark here?

Don’t know what your criteria is, but I’d go with:

PEGS
Peninsula
Ormond
St Bernards
Old Brighton
Parkdale
Therry Penola
Williamstown CYMS

PEGS
Peninsula
Ormond
St Bernards
Old Brighton
Parkdale
Therry Penola
Williamstown CYMS
Ormond , where's the issue , plenty of parking and rooms aren't small . Parkdale brand new rooms with space and plenty of parking .

6 team division is bad any which way you look at it. 8 and 8, assuming nobody drops out, has to be the way to go
Has there ever been thought put into getting teams 3rds / 4ths into the Div 4 comp? Pretty new to the VAFA, would an Old Xavs 3rds be too strong for Div 4..

On SM-G998B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Speaking from my experience:

Therry, Old Geelong, Peninsula (mostly because of the distance from everywhere, ground is decent) and Kew

Whitefriars are pretty good and I'm an SMS lad so I rather enjoy our ground.
I have included SMS due to ground size. There are bigger primary school grounds in the surrounding area. Not a bad place to visit if you don’t have much of a tank

Has there ever been thought put into getting teams 3rds / 4ths into the Div 4 comp? Pretty new to the VAFA, would an Old Xavs 3rds be too strong for Div 4..

On SM-G998B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I reckon just let the 1st XVIII's play each other.
They tried that in WA Ammos and having a number of 3rds sides playing finals (and 4ths in the reserves comp) was a bad look.

I'd assume it's the following:

Prem A: 2 down
Prem B: 2 up, 1 down (Carey)
Prem C-D2: 2 up, 2 down
D3: 2 up, 3 down
D4: 2 up

So Prem A to D2 have 10 each and D3/D4 have 8 each

Is there any chance we can get the following breakdown to the VAFA so they can actually see for themselves what makes sense?

PEGS
Peninsula
Ormond
St Bernards
Old Brighton
Parkdale
Therry Penola
Williamstown CYMS
Parkdale? Good deck and great facilities.

For mine based on recent experiences
Worst
St Bernards (nothing more needs to be said)
Willy (especially when the wind is blowing)
Melb Uni (great away rooms but parking is a nightmare)
Old Brighton (horrible ground, horrible rooms, horrible location)
Any club at Albert Park (Average decks and you get to pay for the privilege of parking 2 miles from the ground)
St Bedes (postage stamp, hostile crowd)

Best
Scotch (A bit on the small side but always in great nick and the best place to watch football in the VAFA)
Carey (except when overlap with school sport)
Trinity (ditto Carey. Rooms small but fantastic playing surface and plenty of parking)
Parkdale (ticks every box)
Marcellin (ditto Carey and Trinity. Been a while but remember it as being a good all round venue)

Parkdale? Good deck and great facilities.

For mine based on recent experiences
Worst
St Bernards (nothing more needs to be said)
Willy (especially when the wind is blowing)
Melb Uni (great away rooms but parking is a nightmare)
Old Brighton (horrible ground, horrible rooms, horrible location)
Any club at Albert Park (Average decks and you get to pay for the privilege of parking 2 miles from the ground)
St Bedes (postage stamp, hostile crowd)

Best
Scotch (A bit on the small side but always in great nick and the best place to watch football in the VAFA)
Carey (except when overlap with school sport)
Trinity (ditto Carey. Rooms small but fantastic playing surface and plenty of parking)
Parkdale (ticks every box)
Marcellin (ditto Carey and Trinity. Been a while but remember it as being a good all round venue)
Marcellin if school sport is on is a nightmare, great ground though

Ormond , where's the issue , plenty of parking and rooms aren't small . Parkdale brand new rooms with space and plenty of parking .

Shit place to visit as an away team and crap to get to!

Ditto for Parkdale and there weren’t new rooms last time I visited. Plus just a shit club overall.

Whitefriars by far
Aquinas
Peninsula
St. Johns
Therry
Williamstowm
Yarra Valley

Whitefriars is easily the best ground in the comp!

Criteria is away rooms, ground, parking and general dread at visiting the place

So other than dread what’s the issue with Friar Park? Magnificent ground, great size and heaps of parking.

s**t place to visit as an away team and crap to get to!

Ditto for Parkdale and there weren’t new rooms last time I visited. Plus just a s**t club overall.

So other than dread what’s the issue with Friar Park? Magnificent ground, great size and heaps of parking.
Friars included due to the ground. Parking is OKAY and rooms decent.

Therry included due to away rooms. Those that have visited will attest.
Friars ground is on a slope and not a great surface to play football on

s**t place to visit as an away team and crap to get to!

Ditto for Parkdale and there weren’t new rooms last time I visited. Plus just a s**t club overall.

What club are you from sir ?

VAFA General Discussion