News Vale John McCarthy

This pretty much sums up the way I've been feeling over the past 24 hours. I'm very concerned about the impact it will have on those ten players. Firstly, I hope that in no way are they held accountable for being separated from John. It would be very natural for them to feel responsible for letting a mate down - just so crucial that they stay tight now and that the rest of the players and the club and broader footy community support them. The guys in the travelling party have always come across to me as a pretty sensible, conservative group as far as young footballers go. It goes without saying that they include a handful of our most important players and future leaders. How they come out of this will be critical to us moving forward on and off-field.

Well said PJ and Premiers04. Basically I have had similar thoughts.

After the Brisbane game I had a chat to KT at Alberton. Knowing that I wouldn't run into him for a couple of months and having talked about someone making tough decisions at corporate board level and asking people to go after a takeover, I said to him - you have a lot of tough decisions to make soon and you are going to have to say thanks but we don't want to employ you any more to some good playing and non playing employees. I said I didn't envy his position and he had a bit of a heavy look on his face.

Jesus this just makes things even tougher. We are going to bring everyone together, everyone lean on each other and then in a few weeks time, have to say thanks for your efforts, but we have to say farewell. It's going to be gut wrenching.

I guess they will be trying to avoid the media at the moment, but does anyone know whether the players are back in Adelaide yet or are they still in transit?

The Channel 7 news had pictures of the players at LA airport and it was daylight so I suspect they are halfway to Oz by now.

I guess they will be trying to avoid the media at the moment, but does anyone know whether the players are back in Adelaide yet or are they still in transit?

Pretty sure they would still be in transit. I'd expect they will arrive some time tomorrow breakfast time.

The Channel 7 news had pictures of the players at LA airport and it was daylight so I suspect they are halfway to Oz by now.
Russell Ebert confirmed to my wife before 9:00 this morning, that they were on the plane.

I think they will arrive in Syd tonight, and stay there overnight.

Pretty sure they would still be in transit. I'd expect they will arrive some time tomorrow breakfast time.
I hope for their sake they're not welcomed by a media scrum. Even if the media decide to rock up they should be made the keep their distance. In fact if I was the club I'd be asking the airport to refuse the cameras entry and try and whisk the boys away as quick as possible.

Russell Ebert confirmed to my wife before 9:00 this morning, that they were on the plane.

I think they will arrive in Syd tonight, and stay there overnight.

That means if they came direct they would have landed late this arvo. If via Honolulu or Auckland anytime between about 7 and 10-30 tonight.

I believe this is the tribute that they showed on 360 to anyone who missed it.
Felt like it was finally starting to sink in after I visited the set up at Alberton today, but after watching this the sick feeling came rushing back.

Miss ya JMac :(

I believe this is the tribute that they showed on 360 to anyone who missed it.

Yep that's from AFL 360 and they played it at the AFLPA's MVP award tonight.

Got around to making this today.

nbpswk.jpg

To your club and supporters I am extremely sorry for the loss. It's a loss felt throughout the footy community.

I was classmates with fellow Port player David Rodan all throughout high school so when I heard the news yesterday that a Port player had died and confirmation of the player wasn't made public until much later on I don't know how I could even stand up. It came as a relief that it wasn't David, but to lose such a young man like John is tragic.

To your club and supporters I am extremely sorry for the loss. It's a loss felt throughout the footy community.

I was classmates with fellow Port player David Rodan all throughout high school so when I heard the news yesterday that a Port player had died and confirmation of the player wasn't made public until much later on I don't know how I could even stand up. It came as a relief that it wasn't David, but to lose such a young man like John is tragic.

Thanks for your thoughts. You must have had a few tough hours yesterday.

I flicked over to the news channels and saw on the US cable news stations that they are reading the names of the September 11th victims at the old World Trade Centre site which is now a huge memorial. 11 years on its still raw. I guess for John's family and loved ones they will face the same feelings every September 9th.

Still coming to terms with this. Just devastated. RIP buddy.

Thought I'd record and post this further collection of tributes shown on 360 laSt night...

News Vale John McCarthy