News Vale John McCarthy

• Thread starter Thread starter Malibu#27

Loved him as a player at the Magpies, was so glad he was forging a career worthy of his talents. Was my first DT pick this year.

Seemed like a champion bloke - genuine, witty and full of positive energy.

A real tragedy, may he rest in peace.

So much respect from the footy community.

It's great that we can all come together in these terrible times.

Im just shocked. Port cant get a break this year but I rekon theyll have a cracker season in 2013 now that they have J Mc watching over them. I do hope he gets some votes at the Brownlow!

Such sad news.
Best wishes to the McCarthy family and the Port Adelaide Football Club and community.

Im just shocked. Port cant get a break this year but I rekon theyll have a cracker season in 2013 now that they have J Mc watching over them. I do hope he gets some votes at the Brownlow!

I actually reckon hearing his name called out at the Brownlow would be far more than most people could take. Tragic.

May you rest in peace jmac...feel so sick in the guts from hearing this. thoughts are with his family, girlfriend, friends and teammates....i could not begin to imagine whatvthey are going through right now.... :( :(

Horrible news. Thoughts must be with his friends and family, RIP John McCarthy.

Really feeling for the PAFC. Its been a tough year already and it just keeps getting worse.

Terribly sad news when I heard late this arvo, tragic for his family and friends, his Clubs and supporters and the wider footy community. Doubly so because it happened so far from home, it's a heart wrenching feeling of helplessness for loved ones when this happens.

Féadfaidh na gaoithe i gcónaí a bheith ag do ais

7 hours to come around to being able to post a comment.

And I'm not even family, partner or friend

Just sad. Its the only word. Just. Sad

No parent should ever attend their child's funeral

Perhaps the memory of who/ what he was (in that he wasn't the worlds best footballer, but it was that his honest effort and commitment which could never be questioned), will provide the resolve for this club to rise again? Perhaps it will forge a determination amongst the players, his friends? Perhaps he will always be recognized for a legacy beyond his friendship?

Like Anthony Williams many years ago, there is no doubt he will never be forgotten.

I am sure he will always be at Alberton, even though it was only a short part of his football odyssey

His family will always wear the scars of his passing, but something about their son made him stand out, special, that for some intangible reason touched so many, even though most didn't really know him.

We may here have a thread with 1000 posts inside 24 hours! Astounding!

Perhaps pages like these are a testament to the family and a living reminder that their son had a great impact beyond the leather ball.

Sincerest condolences to family and friends

I think its time for me to go lay down in bed and watch a few movies and try and take my mind off of this for a while.

Will deffinately drop of some flowers if there is a memorial or something similar at Alberton, but right now its just a bit too much for me.

It really shows how much of a family the football community is, when someone passes that you have never met, and it leaves a sick feeling in your stomach for a long time.

Once again

R.I.P John McCarthy

Just remember to call your loved ones and tell them you love them, give your siblings a big hug and let them know how much they mean to you before you go to sleep tonight, because you dont know when something as tragic as this could happen again.

Absolutely shocking and terrible news to find out we've lost someone from the football and Port Adelaide Football Club community. RIP John McCarthy. Condolences to your family and those who knew you well.

Since I read about 22 pages straight of the main board thread three hours ago and so many younger posters have commented about being John's age or a year or two either side of him and the shock of that fact, I've had Youth Group's cover version of Forever Young stuck in my head.

Shocking news and a absolute tragedy

Thoughts & Prayers go out to John's family, friends, team mates and everyone associated with the PAFC

RIP John