Valiant Essendon

Jul 22, 2000
Port Adelaide
A Valiant Essendon today showed us all a true exhibition of Powerhouse AFL football.
Former SANFL club Port Adelaide had to push themselves to the limit to stave off Current Premiers of Australias National Football league, Essendon in an enthralling clash of powerhouse football at Football Park...

The game had it all, Spped, skill, biffo and idiotic umpiring decisions given to Essendon...despite all this Former SANFL club Port Adelaide ensured another finals berth, by throwing a monkey off their back in Essendon...

Football was the winner today as Essendon nearly stole the show against powerful SA club Port Adelaide..

Those that travelled from Melbourne need not be dissatisfied with Essendons efforts today as I believe they have much they can take from this game and really give other teams a shake in their finals campaign..Essendon showed true promise against Port today...and rest assured despite this loss against Port will be a strong finals contender

PA1870

Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870

The game had it all, Spped, skill, biffo and idiotic umpiring decisions given to Essendon...
PA1870

As mentioned on another thread - well done to Port, bad luck Dons.

Just out of curiousity, 'cos I the net radio feed wasn't happening today, I still don't know what happened in the game (other than the scoring stats etc).

Was it a good game to watch?

How/who was in the the biffo????
(Gotta love the biffo!:D )

Cheers

Yeah. Let's hope this soul shattering loss will not impact badly on all those pre-nubile fans.

Just think how many potential football fans will be lost to the game forever now that the glamour side has bitten the dust ...

Nah, I can't go on with this.

PA1870 ... you're a cheeky mug !

Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870

The game had it all, Spped, skill, biffo and idiotic umpiring decisions given to Essendon...despite all this Former SANFL club Port Adelaide ensured another finals berth, by throwing a monkey off their back in Essendon...

PA1870

Not to mention some very dubious free kicks given to port as well
which gave them a number of goals.

I wish they would throw the ball up in the centre or use a umpire
that gets it right as one bounce gave port an advantage and they goaled from it.

I thought the bombers played their hearts out and I was proud of them in the way they fought the game out.

Port...just a note, as good as you are at Football Park, the GF is
always played at the G.

By the way I'm sure the loss of Fletcher before the game didn't help the Bombers and then they lost M J in the first quarter.

The lost will do Bombers a lot of good, Port needed the win more than Essendon did.

yep, well done to Port today - they played very well and that cornes was unbelievable - he was on fire!

I thought we were pretty flat - but Port hit us pretty hard and full credit to them.

we had our chance to win it - I mean the game was level with 2 mins to go, but Port came back strong again and it was obvious this was a huge match for them today.

PA1870,

God I fukin hate you.

Anyway, re: the match. It was a very good contest that could have gone either way. Port were narrowly better than Essendon, and deservadly won. Not much in it though. Look out if we meet you in the finals, because we won't lose to you again - not a snowflakes chance in hell. I hope we play in you in the 1v4 match in week one of the finals, so the might of Essendon can extract some revenge and pummel you into the turf.

Re: Re: Valiant Essendon

Originally posted by SydneyBomber

As mentioned on another thread - well done to Port, bad luck Dons.

Just out of curiousity, 'cos I the net radio feed wasn't happening today, I still don't know what happened in the game (other than the scoring stats etc).

Was it a good game to watch?

How/who was in the the biffo????
(Gotta love the biffo!:D )

Cheers

SydneyBomber - it was the best game of the year - by a mile. fantastic skill level...fantastic hard tough uncomprimising footy by two top sides.
if you can get your hands on a copy of it - watch it..but dont decide not to watch it because you lost...it was a fantastic game of football.

the biffo - plenty of it.
The johnsons did a few dirty things. Primus cleaned up hird in the last quarter which started a brawl. Barnes started a brawl. Josh carr was in a few brawls (as per usual)

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Yeah, a pretty good b'day pressie for yer, FTMCH!

"I baked a cake..." :D

awww shucks BG & Ripper :eek:

actually a bit older than 18 but if that is the message then I won't complain.

time to hit the turps.

ptw

Originally posted by Dan25

Ptw,

I should apologise, but any comments I write are directly related to my feelingd for PA1870, and not at the overall Port supoorter base.

no worries mate !!!!

Port v Essendon since 1999

Port 2....Essendon 3

is that the best record against the bombers in that time ?

bring on the finals Danny Boy !!!!

.....now where did I hide that immature and not very intellectual post I created on the bombers ??????

:)

ptw

Re: Re: Valiant Essendon

Originally posted by Shads

Not to mention some very dubious free kicks given to port as well
which gave them a number of goals.

I wish they would throw the ball up in the centre or use a umpire
that gets it right as one bounce gave port an advantage and they goaled from it.

I thought the bombers played their hearts out and I was proud of them in the way they fought the game out.

Port...just a note, as good as you are at Football Park, the GF is
always played at the G.

By the way I'm sure the loss of Fletcher before the game didn't help the Bombers and then they lost M J in the first quarter.

The lost will do Bombers a lot of good, Port needed the win more than Essendon did.

excuses excuses.
First of all - Port didnt get one goal from a free kick. Essendon got about 4 - including the two softest 50m penalties ive ever seen..and the game tier from Lucas which i dont know why essendon got that free kick.

You can be very proud of the Bombers - they played as good as they possibly could. In fact both teams played to their full potential.

As good as we are at football park we have won 5 away games this year. Someone on this board said early on "you have to win games at MCG to be a threat"...and we won our 1 game at the G this season.

By the way im sure the loss of Wakelin and Cockatoo Collins before the game didnt help Port much either.

You can come up with all the excuses you want but none of them are valid.

You were beaten by a better side...full stop. No "we lost fletcher"...No "Port got gifted goals by the ump"... (*by the way the free kick count was 19 essendon - 16 port*)..you were just beaten by a better side - and it hurts some of you to admit that

Macca - u thought the skills were that good? I thought, ours anyway, were pretty ordinary - there seemed too many turnovers, but then again there was a fair bit of pressure.

If you think Essendon played as well as they could your dreamin - it was probably our worst showing for the year - Ive never seen us miss so many targets, turn the ball over so much and get physically outworked around the packs like we did today.

Against Bris we had one of those games which nothin went right for us - the bounce, the umps, etc. however today we just couldnt respond to you guys - you played a bit bitter than us for most of the game and deserved the 4 points.

However if you think that was us at our best Ive got news for you, and it aint good!

We actually havnt been in good form for a while - Geel took it up to us, we seemed a bit off that day - North destroyed us out of the blocks and we had to work real hard from then on - and today, we were flat, but outplayed.

We have to improve a helluva lot next week - Carlton are gonna come out strong because their season will ride on next week in a way - a loss will set them back a long way, and with their list, a non top 4 finish will be a failure this season.

Im not taking anything away from Port - as I said previously we had our chance but you guys wanted it more today, but dont go around thinking you beat the best Essendon can produce.

Re: Re: Re: Valiant Essendon

Originally posted by Macca19

SydneyBomber - it was the best game of the year - by a mile. fantastic skill level...fantastic hard tough uncomprimising footy by two top sides.
if you can get your hands on a copy of it - watch it..but dont decide not to watch it because you lost...it was a fantastic game of football.

the biffo - plenty of it.
The johnsons did a few dirty things. Primus cleaned up hird in the last quarter which started a brawl. Barnes started a brawl. Josh carr was in a few brawls (as per usual)

Macca,
Just got back from watching the replay on Optus - it was a great game, mind you, I'd still rather watch last weeks replay for "the best game of the year";)

As for the biffo - nothing too exciting unfortunately, just a little push & shove!
"The johnsons did a few dirty things" - Never!:p
"Barnes started a brawl" - Never:p
Primus & Carr are a pair of bloody thugs though!;) :D
hehe....

See you in the Finals Port!

Valiant Essendon