Van Berlo

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Crow!

Mr Crow!

Adelaide Crows
We always seem to have a lot of talk about Bryce Gibbs (even though he is not yet a Crow), Chris Knights, Ivan Maric, etc.

However, we have a great youngster from a draft before Knights (or was he the same year?)... "The Count", Van Berlo!

How do you think that his early blooming career is progressing so far? It seems now that he has solidified his place in the team.

Van Berlo just won us that game with his courage and willingness to put the body on the line. In those last 5 minutes, I have seen him take a mark with the flight of the ball, throw himself into the contest without any fear on 4 occasions. In last 5 minutes he put his body on the line 5 times and was prepared to get cleaned up.

If you go in hard like that you will get the free kick as he proved right there at the end.

He gets my Best Team Man votes today. Terriffic game thats probably not reflected by his stats.

Yeah, gutsy effort by VB with that mark & putting his head over the ball late in the game. Reckon he was determined to make up for when Brown fended him off to kick his 2nd. This kid is quality.

I have to back up the others here. Gutsy effort from the boy!!

VB is coming on very nicely indeed thankyou. :)

He'll be the next Mark Bickley of the AFC IMO. :thumbsu:

Kane McGoodwin said:
Reckon he was determined to make up for when Brown fended him off to kick his 2nd. This kid is quality.
Wouldn't of happened if the new 'touch after mark equals 50m' rule wasn't in place. He couldn't hold him up, and therefore Brown ran straigh off him. Stupid rule. :thumbsd:

Drummond said:
Wouldn't of happened if the new 'touch after mark equals 50m' rule wasn't in place. He couldn't hold him up, and therefore Brown ran straigh off him. Stupid rule. :thumbsd:

That rule is a fkg joke!!

Of all the changes the AFL keep making, this one is close to being the most stupid and unfair!!

Demetriou and Andrson should be charged with bringing the game into disrepute!! :thumbsd:

damn, he'll be feeling some of those bumps tonight!

He just threw himself in everywhere!

Loved the way VB went about it. good game from him.

It certainly was worth playing him early in his career, he really gained from that. I think he is a great player wth a great work ethic, one of the fitest at the club. Lets just hope he never goes back to perth :thumbsu:

Didn't Triggy or some other high up official make a comment a few years ago that VB could become one of our greatest players?

bigman said:
He must be in the starting 18 next week and get more game time.

He was one of the few players today who did not frustrate.

He must keep playing senior footy now, he will gain nothing by playing in the SANFL, only lose confidence.

macca23 said:
I have to back up the others here. Gutsy effort from the boy!!

VB is coming on very nicely indeed thankyou. :)

He'll be the next Mark Bickley of the AFC IMO. :thumbsu:

Agree Macca 23 - but you could have at least agree me with me i started a thread suggesting this a few wks ago ;) :)

The Crows Truth said:
Agree Macca 23 - but you could have at least agree me with me i started a thread suggesting this a few wks ago ;) :)

Sorry mate - I must have missed that thread somehow. I would have certainly backed you up on this one. :thumbsu:

The Crows Truth said:

He may well be fighting with the Black Douglas on this front.

macca23 said:
And that could well be right. :thumbsu:

At the moment I'm on so many trains I'm going dizzy. :D

Van Berlo, Knights, Douglas ....... :thumbsu:

I'll hold off judgement on Douglas until I see him play (didn't get to see him in the Pre-Season cup). Unfortunately, living in Darwin, I don't get to see our youngsters in the SANFL.

Ive been Van Berlos biggest fan since he debuted. Raw ********ing courage, thats what VB showed this week. He won us this game with his desperation, some of the older players should take a good look at what he showed. He WILL be a great player for a number of years for us.