VCE results out tomorrow...

Congratulations everyone! (though you know it just means you've got more study in front of you...)

And might as well congratulate my cousin while here too - up here they have a totally different system - and it is even totally different now to when I went to school up here - but basically it starts with the number '1', and then goes downwards........I am thinking a '4' for her is pretty darn good- and it certainly makes her elligible for her desired courses and a couple of others she didn't even apply for seeing as she thought she wouldn't qualify that high!

Damn it was so much easier 10 years ago when they had TE Scores up here.....................at least then i understood how at least ONE state did their enterence scores............now it is NONE.

I'm back from the bridge, i tried jumping a few times but the water kept breaking my fall ;)

Ahh well, the ENTER wasn't what i expected, but life goes on. I contacted a few friends and found out it could of been a lot worse than what i got. I've got friends who got ENTER's 10-20% lower than they were planning for and now have no idea what they'll do in 2002 :eek: To them, TAFE wasn't an option, now their lives are in turmoil. One is contemplating joining the police force (hope he doesn't bust me for all the illegal ***** i've been getting up to in my teen years ;))

I'm doing Year 12 next year So YAY, what a lot of fun to look forward too:rolleyes:
Congrats to those who got what they needed, and commiserations to those who didn't, hope your plans aren't completely dashed.

Visro, what do you want to do, and what TER do you roughly need?

Going on 2000 TER scores, which of course will be different in 2002 I need 96:( but I think I can get it, just means I will only get to One game next year(RD1;))

Thanks to all that said Congrats.

Its sad though...cos some of my friends are pretty devastated...and they tried so hard. I'm happy but you can't show it cos my friends don't know what the hell they are going to do. All you do is console them and tell them that there is so much more you can do (which is the truth), that everything will turn out fine, and to keep a smile on their face. :)

Originally posted by Joel
Thanks to all that said Congrats.

Its sad though...cos some of my friends are pretty devastated...and they tried so hard. I'm happy but you can't show it cos my friends don't know what the hell they are going to do. All you do is console them and tell them that there is so much more you can do (which is the truth), that everything will turn out fine, and to keep a smile on their face. :)

yep, makes you feel sad when you see them like that. My friends are having a pissup tonight, they want to forget their troubles, basically they're resorting to alcohol to solve their problems. Its unfortunate how yr12 ruins people's lives when it really should be opening up new doors for them.

Originally posted by Joel

Your friends must have been aiming high. Most of my friends are very pleased with their results, as far as I know none of them have failed to meet a requirement for their chosen course. My best friend was worried, she didn't need a high score and she wasn't expecting one as she didn't do the higher marking subjects, but when she got her ENTER she was very happy and I'm pretty proud of her too.:)

Well its not that they were aiming high but that they achieved a little less than they hoped for and they cant get into any of their courses. My GF was pretty devastated, but she'll be right. Its time to reasess for a few of my friends, but Yr12 isn't the end of your life...there is so much you can do. Its all about ambition.

It's all a load of absolute total bull to me. During my years at high school they 'attempted' to fill our heads with so much garbage that would bascially scare the pants off us. Now that i am out of school though everything they said there is coompletely meaningless (not that i listened much :rolleyes: ). Once you get out of school and get past that stupid high school stage u will see things a lot clearer and start to realise what your life is really about. Well done to everyone who can now say that they have their yr12 anyway :D

Uni is the best time of your life! More like part-time students. I have about 12 hours of uni a week (attend 4) and have the rest of the time to do what I want. It is all good! The best holidays are the ones between yr 12 and uni. The Enter doesn't matter at all, as long as you get into some course. You can always transfer later if you do the work. I had mates who did really badly last year (some aimed FAR too high), but they're in a course now and one who got a fair bit less than me passed everything in his course and I failed a subject. So in a way he is now better off than me even tho he got about 12 less...

University is a great lifestyle but it plays on your mind after a while. Just be sure to get good marks and do not fail any subjects at University because employers rate it highly.

Being at a all boys school since year 3, University was a shock with all the girls around. I soon got used to that.

Interesting to note the highest VCE score this year was held by a Skevi.

Originally posted by Rohan_

Interesting to note the highest VCE score this year was held by a Skevi.

I reads that in the paper ths mornong - not a bad effort, all 50's.

Straight away thought - hmm, he's from St.Kevins, Rohan will be loving this :D

Originally posted by Ruddeger

I reads that in the paper ths mornong - not a bad effort, all 50's.

Straight away thought - hmm, he's from St.Kevins, Rohan will be loving this :D

Not a bad story either.

He spent all his time on the train studying and considering it was from Altona to Toorak he would of racked up a bit of study.

Originally posted by Rohan_

Not a bad story either.

He spent all his time on the train studying and considering it was from Altona to Toorak he would of racked up a bit of study.

Yeah not bad, probably easier than studying on the trusty old bus route 753 (not that I ever tried to).

I'm not doing a 3/4 subject this year - leaving it till next year - but heaps of my friends were and some are delighted, while others are devastated. One friend who did Legal Studies 3/4 this year got 49!!!

Originally posted by Nic
There were 20 students in Victoria to get the highest possible VCE score of 99.95 this year.

Mate, every year 20 victorian students get that. Basically, a 0.05 in an ENTER score holds 20 students (unless several have identical scores, in which case they are all squeazed into the same bracket). So, the top 20 students in Vic got 99.95, the next top 20 (21-40) got 99.90, etc.

On Sunday night I made plans to go out every night of the week, either to celebrate or too drown my sorrows..........
Stayed up that night so I could sleep in the next morning, and not get my results until that afternoon... backfired! I got a call from my g/f at 7:30, and she practically blackmailed me into getting my results.......
Let's just say I've had a ****in' brilliant week :D :D :D :D