Roast Vent Here

Reckon we lose nothing by keeping on McCarthy this year, but eh it wasn't meant to be. I just miss Deadeye Darcy, easily top 2 in terms of set shot kicking.

We didn't have Judd to give up to get JK.
Could've got Darling though.
Could've got Yeo too.
It's list mgt, everything comes after that
What made us good in 2010? It was pre-Lyon, probably wasn’t Harvey’s coaching, or any of the coaching staff who didn’t remain when Lyon took us back to finals two years later.

It was recruiting. A miraculous two years in 2008-09 where we nailed more draft picks than blew, while going deep in the draft. Set us up for almost a decade. Just as the 1999-2001 recruiting set us up to make finals in 03 & 06 (and later success when Lyon took over).

I remember feeling at the end of 2007 that we’d blown our chances at a premiership tilt for a long time. We were back in finals only three years later and a GF in six.

I came across this on the scum board the other day and because it summed us up so accurately I wanted to share with my fellow sufferers...

Tell ya what, I'd rather have Freo than have a premiership side where the majority of the players' lives have been ruined by the drugs that they were on at the time, and the club looked the other way because winning was more important. You know, the one where the coach was a pharmacist who pretends he didn't notice? Now that really sums up a club...
In addition to this, their supporters are the very definition of "fair weather". I doubt they could ever endure what we've had to, without throwing the toys out of their silver plated cots!

I watch Freo for the occasional joy, the odd perfect play, the tradies who worked out they could play footy. Lachie Schultz celebrating a goal, Lobbster's joy in Treacy's first goal, Fyfe picking up Frederick before running off with the ball. Without expectations, it's just fun. What's to endure? It's only sport!

And I guess there's the company too - West Coast supporters are all boorish "banter", not much fun, and they tend to try to pick fights when they've had a few. Freo, well, that crowd on the walk to the MCG on GF day felt like home. I'm going to watch the next GF (whenever that is) in Freo!

If the roles were reversed today and Port had to play catch-up, we would only have won by 13 points or so. We lack killer instinct and aggression.

Oh and our poor goal kicking is an embarrassment. A shambles.

People don’t appreciate Darcy, it’s mind boggling. Sure he didn’t have his best game today but my god the meek love is disrespectful to the best young ruck in the comp.
Its because of the derby. nic nat kills sides out of the centre square hit-outs. Darcy is undoubtedly a better player but, meek is good at center square hit-outs.

Derby scars.

People don’t appreciate Darcy, it’s mind boggling. Sure he didn’t have his best game today but my god the meek love is disrespectful to the best young ruck in the comp.
Darcy is the best young ruck in the comp. He can still be that and play part of the game forward. Like Fyfe is one of the best mids in the comp but can play part of the game forward. Your logic is seriously screwed. Playing Meek in the same team is not disrespecting Darcy.

No it's not. Posters saying that we lose nothing in the ruck when Meek is in IS disrespectful to Darcy. Meek has played 1.5 OK games of AFL and a game of preseason? Not saying he isn't a decent backup ruck but the love is over the top, I read that we lost the game v Port because JLo didn't pick Meek, spare me.

Roast Vent Here