Roast Vent Here

• Thread starter Thread starter Moo

You could name plenty of players that have transferred from other sports in their 17th/18th year and have barely missed a game since being drafted.

Would’ve thought concerns around Sturt were more how difficult it’d be for him to get to the required aerobic capacity for AFL footy. I don’t believe he had many injuries prior to being drafted.

He’s had:
- Concussion concerns in 2019. Sat out the year which was probably the right call.
- A major ankle injury that meant surgery and a season ending injury.
- A major knee injury which ended his season.

Like I said about Pearce, I’m far more concerned about guys that seem to do the same injury over and over. Outside of concussion Sturt hasn’t done that and he hasn’t been concussed since year one.

He’s been frustrating but certainly isn’t time to write him off or question him as a selection as he’s really shown a fair bit when he has played.
Good call. Bit like Logue. Some players take time to develop an AFL built body. Along the way a few issues crop up which are corrected like that degenerative foot issue Logue had.

Sturt is now able to more slowly grow his body and allow the injury to properly heal.

He also came to football late and has spent most of his junior and youth days playing cricket.

You could name plenty of players that have transferred from other sports in their 17th/18th year and have barely missed a game since being drafted.

Would’ve thought concerns around Sturt were more how difficult it’d be for him to get to the required aerobic capacity for AFL footy. I don’t believe he had many injuries prior to being drafted.

He’s had:
- Concussion concerns in 2019. Sat out the year which was probably the right call.
- A major ankle injury that meant surgery and a season ending injury.
- A major knee injury which ended his season.

Like I said about Pearce, I’m far more concerned about guys that seem to do the same injury over and over. Outside of concussion Sturt hasn’t done that and he hasn’t been concussed since year one.

He’s been frustrating but certainly isn’t time to write him off or question him as a selection as he’s really shown a fair bit when he has played.
In both the ankle and knee injury instances with Sturt, he’s been injured in play, then been taped up and sent back out to play out the games (even kicking goals after both injuries I believe), before being ruled out for the season a few days later.

Sturt :(

If both he and Valente don't come on, we would have nothing to show from the 2018 superdraft, despite having access to two top 6 picks, except Shultz and Bewley. ****ing dire stuff by us.
I think at one stage (after the Port & Neale trades but before the Hogan & Lobb trades) we had a top 10 pick, 2 teen picks and #23?

If we walk away with only, say, Schultzy being a long term player for us that would be one of our worst draft years ever.

We may still redeem ourselves - Sturt may come good and Lobb may stay.

I think at one stage (after the Port & Neale trades but before the Hogan & Lobb trades) we had a top 10 pick, 2 teen picks and #23?

If we walk away with only, say, Schultzy being a long term player for us that would be one of our worst draft years ever.

We may still redeem ourselves - Sturt may come good and Lobb may stay.
Yes I think we would have had 6, 11, 19 and 23 at one stage. King, Butters (we were keen), Sturt (reckon we would still have taken), iHill maybe?

Sturt will come good if he can avoid having blokes stand and jump on him. Serious tools he has.

For me the most disappointing thing this year is the lack of a single victory against the head - where we were underdogs and came out and beat a much more fancied side.
In fact, over 37 odd games of Jlo, we have not beaten a single serious team at that time the game was played. Maybe Sydney this year. The Saints game last year as a stirring win but they turned out to be a bit sh*t in the end too. Also that sydney game in May was in Perth and we were both around $1.90 to win based on form leading up to it.
Most of the other bottom sides have had culture building wins like I described this season.
Adelaide beat Geelong and Melbourne. Hawthorn went up to the SCG and demolished the Swans as $5 outsiders.
North beat the eagles in perth (we can only dream 😥) and beat Carlton too.
Even the hapless Gold Coast had a rousing away victory against Richmond as massive outsiders.
We have pretty much lost every game we are meant to lose, and pretty meekly too. It’s like as soon as the tide goes against us the teams mentality switches to “oh well, we are supposed to lose this anyway. No big deal if we fizzle away here and lose by 30 or 40”.

I don’t know, I’m just so underwhelmed about this list, this coaching group, the mentality of this side in general.
There about 8 players who seem to care as much as us fans.
There’s a bunch who don’t give a sh*t.
And lowest of all, there’s a bunch who don’t look like they give a sh*t AND are also not good enough.
I would like to see these guys in particular moved out ASAP.

Nailed it on the head mate.

If we managed to just win one of those type of games we could have been playing finals.

Thats been the most disappointing aspect for me is we havent even been competitive against the top 6 most games the score had already blown out by midway through the 2nd quarter apart from the dogs game.

I reckon the last win of significance against a premiership contender at the time was collingwood on the road 2019 when michael walters kicked the winner with less then a minute to go.

Nailed it on the head mate.

If we managed to just win one of those type of games we could have been playing finals.

Thats been the most disappointing aspect for me is we havent even been competitive against the top 6 most games the score had already blown out by midway through the 2nd quarter apart from the dogs game.

I reckon the last win of significance against a premiership contender at the time was collingwood on the road 2019 when michael walters kicked the winner with less then a minute to go.
Geelong in round 20 2019. The round Bell and co planned to sack Lyon. Instead they had to wait a week.

Funnily enough i was actually travelling around europe and was at the ashes then so i missed that game unfortunately so it hasnt stuck in my mind in my memory.

I actually got a notification on my phone the day that Ross was sacked when i got off the plane at Singapore airport for 12 hour stop over on my return. I didnt see it coming was certainly shocked took me a couple of hours walking around the airport to comprehend that as i was out of the loop with the news cycle for freo for those 6 weeks before then

The ****ing AFL and C7 need to vet the ads that their sponsors put up! I will never ever insure anything with AIMI. Their ads are so ****ing lame!

Fremantle rank 17th in the competition in tackles, averaging 48.7. Hopefully Mayne can come in as an Asst coach and fix this up, tackling is all about effort.

Wilson doesn’t deserve to play at this level for the rest of the season after that garbage effort in the 1st. So, so awful.

The list make-up needs to be improved something chronic! Compare the composition of the two teams taking the field today, and tell me which you'd rather be a member of! If our list management team do not draft a talented key forward during the off-season, I'm done with this club!

This club is just taking the piss

They can be forgiven for losing to the 6th-placed team, but it's the manner in which they've lost!

Fremantle rank 17th in the competition in tackles, averaging 48.7. Hopefully Mayne can come in as an Asst coach and fix this up, tackling is all about effort.
I’m pretty sure the PFC have made a play he’ll have to weigh up which failure of a footy club he chooses, he also has a teachers degree.

They shit the bed as soon as there is anything positive said about them and there is a hint of expectation

Don’t know if JLo’s teddy bear style is a good fit for us at all

Some of the crap posters say about other teams on here in the non Freo thread is embarrassing when we are the biggest bunch of losers in the AFL

[PLAYERCARD]Griffin Logue[/PLAYERCARD] with the full page story in the paper about how he’s a gun AFL player now and turns around and does that says it all about this club

If he was a pick 50 he would have been delisted 2 years ago

What a joke

Sent from my iPad using BigFooty.com