Roast Vent Here

• Thread starter Thread starter Moo

I love the "pay rego" from some douche who probably doesn't pay rego.

Happily pay rego if they spend more on cycling infrastructure.
Nah f*ck that, should be doing more to get people out of cars and into public transport, bikes ect.

Putting rego on bikes will do the opposite.

That's all well and good mate, but if there's space in that far right slip lane, wouldn't it be more considerate to use it rather than impede the flow of traffic going straight through. If the slip road is full then by all means, use the second from the right lane, but using it just to get ahead of one or 2 cars already there is just being selfish.

Trust me, I very rarely, if ever, use my horn. But that is one of the moments I'm leaning on it.
But you are somewhat demonstrating the point. The reason they are there isn't "being selfish to get ahead by 1 or 2 cars", it is just getting into the lane they need to be in so they don't cause a crash by needing to switch lanes when cars are rocketing in from the freeway to merge across at 80k+ after they get through the intersection. The people honking their horn aren't understanding that because in their bubble they are just getting blocked from going straight on the green light - they are only thinking about how it impacts them which is precisely why there is so much road rage in Perth.

At this freeway on ramp intersection there are four lanes. Keep in the two left ones and you won't get stuck and regular users know that. I actually think they should just make it a turn only lane so people have to keep left to go straight. Because going straight in that lane you are forced to turn right at the next intersection anyway - and you guessed it a heap of people go straight realise they are in the wrong lane late and then cut in front of traffic in the lane to their left to the sounds of more car horns.

But you are somewhat demonstrating the point. The reason they are there isn't "being selfish to get ahead by 1 or 2 cars", it is just getting into the lane they need to be in so they don't cause a crash by needing to switch lanes when cars are rocketing in from the freeway to merge across at 80k+ after they get through the intersection. The people honking their horn aren't understanding that because in their bubble they are just getting blocked from going straight on the green light - they are only thinking about how it impacts them which is precisely why there is so much road rage in Perth.

At this freeway on ramp intersection there are four lanes. Keep in the two left ones and you won't get stuck and regular users know that. I actually think they should just make it a turn only lane so people have to keep left to go straight. Because going straight in that lane you are forced to turn right at the next intersection anyway - and you guessed it a heap of people go straight realise they are in the wrong lane late and then cut in front of traffic in the lane to their left to the sounds of more car horns.
Whitfords Ave on ramp on has 3 lanes. One straight on along Whitfords Ave. 1 slip road that only goes right onto the freeway. And 1 lane in the middle of those 2 that either goes straight along Whitfords or right onto the freeway.

If you're in that middle lane indicating to go right onto the freeway when there is room in the furthest right slip road that wont impede straight through traffic in the event of a red light (right) and a green light (straight through), I can't think of any other reason you'd be there except selfishness. There's no other reason for you to be there unless the slip road is full (understandable as busses take the on ramp to get to Whitfords train station).

The reason there is so much road rage is because so many people are in their own little bubble and there is little to no thought for other people on the road. They're either doing 20 or 30 kays below the speed limit or approaching mach 3. And I know a lot of these vehicles have cruise control. Set it to 4 above the limit and enjoy the ride. Remember, the right lane is for overtaking (it's not called the speeding lane) if there's nothing slowing you down, stay in the left lane.

Whitfords Ave on ramp on has 3 lanes. One straight on along Whitfords Ave. 1 slip road that only goes right onto the freeway. And 1 lane in the middle of those 2 that either goes straight along Whitfords or right onto the freeway.

If you're in that middle lane indicating to go right onto the freeway when there is room in the furthest right slip road that wont impede straight through traffic in the event of a red light (right) and a green light (straight through), I can't think of any other reason you'd be there except selfishness. There's no other reason for you to be there unless the slip road is full (understandable as busses take the on ramp to get to Whitfords train station).

The reason there is so much road rage is because so many people are in their own little bubble and there is little to no thought for other people on the road. They're either doing 20 or 30 kays below the speed limit or approaching mach 3. And I know a lot of these vehicles have cruise control. Set it to 4 above the limit and enjoy the ride. Remember, the right lane is for overtaking (it's not called the speeding lane) if there's nothing slowing you down, stay in the left lane.
So you're upset at someone following the road rules.
I'll regularly do that, not to impede traffic going straight but to efficiently get traffic through the right turn thus allowing the traffic heading west to go quicker.
Your version has one long line of cars that takes twice as long to get through.

4.5 billion over 7 years for the tv rights, it's 2025, and the AFL still hasn't found a way to stick a microphone in front of the media so we can hear the questions in the coach's press conference
It's shit like this that you start to understand why flat earthers and conspiracy theorists exist. In 2025 we have space tourism but can I find a toaster that toasts my bread evenly?

I reckon if Black and Decker had the space programs budget, they could get your toast evenly cooked.

So you're upset at someone following the road rules.
I'll regularly do that, not to impede traffic going straight but to efficiently get traffic through the right turn thus allowing the traffic heading west to go quicker.
Your version has one long line of cars that takes twice as long to get through.
So what happens when the light to get on to the freeway is red and the light for straight through is green. How your banking cars up behind you who want to go straight. What’s wrong with just getting in the slip road?

I can understand if that’s full, then by all means use the alternate lane, but if there’s space then yuh aren’t banking anybody up and here’s a smooth flow of traffic.

So what happens when the light to get on to the freeway is red and the light for straight through is green. How your banking cars up behind you who want to go straight. What’s wrong with just getting in the slip road?

I can understand if that’s full, then by all means use the alternate lane, but if there’s space then yuh aren’t banking anybody up and here’s a smooth flow of traffic.
There's still another lane that goes straight ahead. If it worries you, use that lane.

Otherwise complain to main roads.

??

So you’re saying the people turning right onto the freeway have more right to use that middle lane than people going straight on?
No. I'm saying that Main Roads have determined they have equal right to use that lane.

You want that lane for through traffic, partition Main Roads (or get out there with some black paint and 'fix' it yourself).

??

So you’re saying the people turning right onto the freeway have more right to use that middle lane than people going straight on?

LOL. You can’t be serious.
This is a bizarre take. If a car has a right to be in a lane, end of story. It's not about rights, there is no debate, follow the markings on the road.

Totally agree. It’s not about who has the right to the lane at all. It’s about having the presence of mind to consider other traffic in think for a moment “Hey. If I’m in this lane and there’s a red light, will I be holding up traffic? Maybe I should be in the lane that won’t hold anybody up. Sure there’s already some cars in that lane, but I’m going to do the courteous thing and go in there anyway.”

Isn’t that all we are looking for, some common courtesy?

Totally agree. It’s not about who has the right to the lane at all. It’s about having the presence of mind to consider other traffic in think for a moment “Hey. If I’m in this lane and there’s a red light, will I be holding up traffic? Maybe I should be in the lane that won’t hold anybody up. Sure there’s already some cars in that lane, but I’m going to do the courteous thing and go in there anyway.”

Isn’t that all we are looking for, some common courtesy?
Probably an unpopular take, but are those couple of minutes you have to wait really that crucial?

We all seem to find plenty of time to sit on our phones, maybe we could just learn a little more patience when sitting in traffic.

The only time it would worry me is if I'm being held up and miss MAFS - that is definitely vent-worthy!

Probably an unpopular take, but are those couple of minutes you have to wait really that crucial?

We all seem to find plenty of time to sit on our phones, maybe we could just learn a little more patience when sitting in traffic.

The only time it would worry me is if I'm being held up and miss MAFS - that is definitely vent-worthy!

I love MAFS too

If you are serious and not taking the piss you should come to the MAFS thread. It makes watching the show so much more enjoyable.