Opinion Vent & Offtopic

not to be over generalistic but havent unions driven the wages through the roof to bury industres like cars with their bargaining and collective power?
It's also a result of poor sales creating losses for the car industry in Australia. The same happened to America's car industry, meaning their car industry had a larger demand for government subsidies, which they were fortunately given - this while America's economy was still recovering from the recession. Australia stuffed up by denying our manufacturing sector adequate subsidies to get through the recession / temporary poor sales.

I don't think that's any more than a politically convenient narrative to be honest

I don't have any figures at the moment to justify what I'm about to say, but I'm quietly confident that you could drive down wages in Australia significantly and it still wouldn't make a dent in our competitiveness in manufacturing

Manufacturing goes where the bottom line (usually wages) is the lowest, and that's why much of it is in China

Good for profit margins, good for 'number of employed persons', not good for quality of living of the employees

I will confess that I am left leaning though

A lot of it changing now. You will start to see more of it coming out of India and Pakistan. China catching on and upping their minimum wages

I'm with thurls here. I'm an ole fart who's worked in OZ for over 40 yrs and Big Footy is not the place to be debating Unionism vs Capitalism.......move it somewhere else people....;)
I started it, sorry

Political preference is a little like sexual preference no matter how good you reckon the other side is, I'm not changing

ca3613a7d2c7b9789734ee7a91a0f0eb.jpg
Just wondering if anyone has seen what is wrong with this?

I can't help but look at the current state of the Suns and then look at the history of the Bears (and later the Lions) and feel like history is repeating itself. What held the Bears back in the early days? Most would probably say an inability to recruit/retain talented players as well as a bad team culture. Nathan Buckley's situation with the Bears in the early 90s reminds me a lot of Jaeger O'Meara's. Best young talent the league has seen for a while but after a few short years with his original club he decides he wants to play for a big club in Melbourne instead.

But the question is - how did the Bears/Lions overcome this and go on to become one of the greatest teams in the history of the game? Answer - by recruiting talented locals through their zone access and drafting very well. Locals like Michael Voss and Jason Akermanis were huge gets for the club and back when they had zone access to NT players it allowed them to recruit Darryl White (similar to the way the Suns got May). Less significant local players they picked up with zonal access included Ashcroft, Charman, Copeland and Keating. Then you look at their solid drafting - it allowed them to pick up non-locals like Black, Bradshaw, Lappin Leppitsch and Power who were influential.

The younger group were really the ones that pushed the playing group to bigger and better things as the only real veterans that remained once their premiership years rolled around were Ashcroft and Hart. Likewise, the Suns are about to begin what we all assume is a drafting blitz that will include very talented locals and other non-Queenslanders that can push the group. The club already has a few younger guys like Miller, Fiorini, Saad and Wright pushing the group so I can't help but feel over the next 12-24 months you will see drastic improvement in terms of on field results as the older guys who don't really want it are pushed out by the younger, hungrier brigade. Obviously the new training facilities help the cause as well.

Just food for thought.

I can't help but look at the current state of the Suns and then look at the history of the Bears (and later the Lions) and feel like history is repeating itself. What held the Bears back in the early days? Most would probably say an inability to recruit/retain talented players as well as a bad team culture. Nathan Buckley's situation with the Bears in the early 90s reminds me a lot of Jaeger O'Meara's. Best young talent the league has seen for a while but after a few short years with his original club he decides he wants to play for a big club in Melbourne instead.

But the question is - how did the Bears/Lions overcome this and go on to become one of the greatest teams in the history of the game? Answer - by recruiting talented locals through their zone access and drafting very well. Locals like Michael Voss and Jason Akermanis were huge gets for the club and back when they had zone access to NT players it allowed them to recruit Darryl White (similar to the way the Suns got May). Less significant local players they picked up with zonal access included Ashcroft, Charman, Copeland and Keating. Then you look at their solid drafting - it allowed them to pick up non-locals like Black, Bradshaw, Lappin Leppitsch and Power who were influential.

The younger group were really the ones that pushed the playing group to bigger and better things as the only real veterans that remained once their premiership years rolled around were Ashcroft and Hart. Likewise, the Suns are about to begin what we all assume is a drafting blitz that will include very talented locals and other non-Queenslanders that can push the group. The club already has a few younger guys like Miller, Fiorini, Saad and Wright pushing the group so I can't help but feel over the next 12-24 months you will see drastic improvement in terms of on field results as the older guys who don't really want it are pushed out by the younger, hungrier brigade. Obviously the new training facilities help the cause as well.

Just food for thought.

TLDR.... We win 3 premierships in a row in a few years.

Just watching some of Tnichs snap chats from today looks like old mate O'Meara has traded in the girlfrend and updated to a new model already

Gaz taking a leaf out of Lynchy's book and going on a recruiting mission while on holidays?? ;) Could do worse. Would've gone with Blake Griffin personally, seeing as he was at the Thunder/Clippers game, but I can see Westbrook in the middle as well. :D

Seriously though, perhaps why we haven't heard anything from him in person? Chuck him in a Suns polo for an interview for SunsTV when he gets back and everything will be fine again. (Hopefully)

Also, surely after spending half the year off, he would want to be coming back to pre-season early to get a good start, even just to be around the boys who start Monday and show he is committed?? Im sure some of the other older injured guys will be there, like has been the case in the past. Unless he is over there for one of his gatorade/sponsor promotion things perhaps.

Should this be a concern in our rugby league state of Queensland.......

The Brisbane Roar got 20,000+ to their game tonight against Melbourne City......
Everyone wants to see the Cahill tour

Gaz taking a leaf out of Lynchy's book and going on a recruiting mission while on holidays?? ;) Could do worse. Would've gone with Blake Griffin personally, seeing as he was at the Thunder/Clippers game, but I can see Westbrook in the middle as well. :D

Seriously though, perhaps why we haven't heard anything from him in person? Chuck him in a Suns polo for an interview for SunsTV when he gets back and everything will be fine again. (Hopefully)

Also, surely after spending half the year off, he would want to be coming back to pre-season early to get a good start, even just to be around the boys who start Monday and show he is committed?? Im sure some of the other older injured guys will be there, like has been the case in the past. Unless he is over there for one of his gatorade/sponsor promotion things perhaps.

Wondering how he was in the States posing for a pic and also at the GC training facilities. So tired of media BS and whitewash.

I could have been wrong on that meaning him being at the club last week, thats what I thought I was told but could have been wrong the content of what he did and said to the team and coaches doesnt change though

Opinion Vent & Offtopic