Opinion Vent & Offtopic

He's ok there, probably not as classy as Hall/Matera on the ground but can take a mark. I just hope that he's fighting for his spot in the best 22 like everyone else, not just being gifted it. :oops:
Yep for sure no one should be gifted games (except Gaz).

Not that I think he should be dropped, but, who would you have n for him instead? Brown? Weller? Russell? All could fill that role.

Yep for sure no one should be gifted games (except Gaz).

Not that I think he should be dropped, but, who would you have n for him instead? Brown? Weller? Russell? All could fill that role.
If it's just an exclusive forward pocket/half forward role proberly Brown/Summner. Haven't seen a lot of Summner but it sounds like he's got a bag of tricks and the GC staff are pretty high on him.

Yeah.......... Hunt hasn't played in the midfield for a few weeks now. And the fact that you're judging players on how many touches they get says it all. I can GUARANTEE you that NO clubs set possessions as a KPI. Cast iron, stone cold, dead set guarantee.
Hunt has been given stints in there unless I seeing things and I can assure you I know of 2 AFL teams that require a minimum of 20 plus posseys as a fair and reasonable output. i know one player from a club who plays in the mid and that is his requirement unless he is playing a shutdown midfield role. Nevertheless 7 possessions for his role is really not sufficient but hey that is just my opinion. I think he has got a lot better than when he started but would he get a game in any other side I do not think so.

A
He's been running through the midfield a bit, mainly the first half this week and a fair bit last week. We have better small forwards imo, if that's what he's moulding into. Also interested as to where you people calling for blueys head after this game. Haven't read anything big footy. (Just saying lol)
No did not come from big footy. You know how it goes chinese whispers. Probably nothing in it..

Hunt has been given stints in there unless I seeing things and I can assure you I know of 2 AFL teams that require a minimum of 20 plus posseys as a fair and reasonable output. i know one player from a club who plays in the mid and that is his requirement unless he is playing a shutdown midfield role. Nevertheless 7 possessions for his role is really not sufficient but hey that is just my opinion. I think he has got a lot better than when he started but would he get a game in any other side I do not think so.
Fair enough, but I am still supremely confident that possessions are not used as KPI's. I'd be seriously concerned in the coaching start if it were.

Possessions have to be part of KPI's, not a major part but at least some. I watch the contested possessions/clearances stats more closely then possessions but that's just me.

Reading the Melbourne board atm (banned so cannot post). It seems these bunch of knobs still have not figured out 1. How rubbish their team is and 2. How much we have improved.

Apparently we are definitely not a 7 win for the year side yet and if they lose to us Neeld should be sacked. Do MFC supporters watch football? IMO we are ahead of them atm.

Cannot wait for the next week... any Melbourne supporter who pipes up on this board and sprouts crap is gonna cop the chargrilling of a lifetime. Worst supporters on Bigfooty by a stretch.

N
Fair enough, but I am still supremely confident that possessions are not used as KPI's. I'd be seriously concerned in the coaching start if it were.
Just saying what I know and so far I think I have never steered you wrong in anything I have said. But I will double check with my mate who is involved with an AFL club in Melb next time he rings.

I am always reluctant to be negative, but I cannot believe what an idiotic statement Craig Hutchins just made on Footy Classified about GCS.

He highlights his complete lack of real knowledge on how GCS is developing and in general what AFL is about.

Hutchins is very good at making outlandish statements without any substance to back them up.

I know understand why Channel 9 have continually over looked him for the big jobs at their station.

I am always reluctant to be negative, but I cannot believe what an idiotic statement Craig Hutchins just made on Footy Classified about GCS.

He highlights his complete lack of real knowledge on how GCS is developing and in general what AFL is about.

Hutchins is very good at making outlandish statements without any substance to back them up.

I know understand why Channel 9 have continually over looked him for the big jobs at their station.
He has always hated us and bluey.. It's nothing new he has been calling for blueys head all last year as well

The new wave of muck raking journalism is really starting to get under my skin.

"Breaking stories" and "outlandish statements" that are a daily feature from AFL reporting journalists are more the crap that "New Idea" type magazines peddle.

If it pisses you off you can imagine how I feel!!

Basically that GCS were a disappointment as to how they perform on the field, crowd numbers, their coaching staff and playing group.

You now know why I posted my comments!
He's a drama merchant. Clearly has allegiances in the industry and those aren't a part of his circle get the short end.

This annoys me. More exposure to southern clubs leading to kudos to them and garbage for us.
But hey, take the shit in now and deal it out tenfold in three years time :thumbsu:

It's been said before.....WE have absolutely ZERO respect in Victoria. NONE. No one rates us or is even remotely concerned about us....from clubs to the opposition players (as much as their 'pre-game' assessment might paint us as a threat)...BUT, how much of that is our doing? Hard to say...maybe we should have pinched the Freo game....win against dees/dogs and that would have been four on the trot.....we'd be 5-3! I dunno, we just don't seem to have much luck at the moment, Freo were ripe for the taking and we failed to dissect a very predictable Ross Lyon game plan...We haven't taken a major scalp YET, (Carlton wasn't a scalp, Saints was an upset but it was R1 where anything can happen) that makes anyone outside QLD sit up an actually take notice....waiting for the day when this happens at Metricon where a visiting TOP 4 side gets rolled - and I mean comprehensively rolled - a game that finally indicates a watershed moment for the club....evidence that our dream is possible and one where The Suns are finally viewed by outsiders as much more than an irrelevant AFL concept....

Reading the Melbourne board atm (banned so cannot post). It seems these bunch of knobs still have not figured out 1. How rubbish their team is and 2. How much we have improved.

Apparently we are definitely not a 7 win for the year side yet and if they lose to us Neeld should be sacked. Do MFC supporters watch football? IMO we are ahead of them atm.

Cannot wait for the next week... any Melbourne supporter who pipes up on this board and sprouts crap is gonna cop the chargrilling of a lifetime. Worst supporters on Bigfooty by a stretch.

Gotta agree with JB here....we are most certainly ahead of Melbourne.....BUT gee wiz, we still gotta execute it on Saturday....cos if we don't.....

i 'accidentally' had a few sherbets with a mate this arvo.....and im tempted to get on the dees board and remind them how they have been going for the past 18 months...

however, the beers were only mid strength, so i'll stay here...

but my pet hate is the rules committee.. at what point did someone decide they had to change rules just to stay relevant?

Opinion Vent & Offtopic