Opinion Vent & Offtopic

Gee Melbourne saw Scott Clayton coming in 2015. They were prepared to give away a future first rounder to climb up to 3 and be guaranteed Clayton Oliver. We also gave up pick 10.....
We got Ah Chee who I rate, but looking at teams drafting talls behind us, I think we would have got him anyway.
Ben Drever was all over Oliver at the time, yet he didn't impress Scott Clayton. You available to scout Ben??
If you didn't see Oliver's game on Saturday night in Adelaide have a look. Get Clayton to watch it with you.

I saw somewhere in Gold Coast bigfooty that the rumor was that Clayton did rate him and wanted to get him but thought he would last until 6 (given he didn't even play the U18 Champs he was bolting home so late) and thought he could get 2 for the price of 1.

First he thought he get Howe and Oliver then at 6 for pick 3 and then even when we missed out on Howe he was so enamored with how smart his idea was he decided to do it for a future 1st rd pick SMH

How did GCS BF posters see Jack Leslie's performance and his future going forward.

I will chime in with Jack has only played 12 senior games.

How did GCS BF posters see Jack Leslie's performance and his future going forward.

I will chime in with Jack has only played 12 senior games.

TBH I didn't watch the game yesterday but I like the kid.

He has the tools be a good backman - he's tall enough, big enough, could be a little stronger but he's not far off, is a good mark and has those quick twitch muscle fibres to be able explode from a standing start which gives him the all-important closing speed to be a defender. He's not a gret disposer of the ball but knows his limitations and either goes sideways or goes 50m down the line.

Having said all that he is not ready made and still needs to learn the art of body positioning in a contest and keeping his feet under pressure. Hopefully he can learn on the job this year while there is opportunity and he can be a shining light from this season.

Brodie is effectively what we got last year from the Demons future pick.

He's got big shoes to fill if he's trying to be as good as Clayton Oliver.

My kingdom for a Clayton Oliver type player

Except Darcy Parish had done more for longer and he might have been the pick at 3 (one reason that Clayton was hoping that Oliver fell to 6 was Parish going before him).

But most importantly, the trade let us bring in 4 top 10 picks the same year that get on well enough to announce their 2 year contract extensions at the same time. Having those 4 (plus Scheer) all signed up for 4 years is a huge deal. Take Brodie out and not sure it goes as smoothly.

Go ask Brisbane how it is going with Schache and also ask if McLuggage has re-signed yet.

Gee Melbourne saw Scott Clayton coming in 2015. They were prepared to give away a future first rounder to climb up to 3 and be guaranteed Clayton Oliver. We also gave up pick 10.....
We got Ah Chee who I rate, but looking at teams drafting talls behind us, I think we would have got him anyway.
Ben Drever was all over Oliver at the time, yet he didn't impress Scott Clayton. You available to scout Ben??
If you didn't see Oliver's game on Saturday night in Adelaide have a look. Get Clayton to watch it with you.
The thing that kills me about this trade is that Ah Chee would almost certainly have been available at 10 seeing as he was seen as a bit of a reach at 7 anyway.
Very realistically we could have landed both Oliver and Ah Chee in the 2015 draft

The thing that kills me about this trade is that Ah Chee would almost certainly have been available at 10 seeing as he was seen as a bit of a reach at 7 anyway.
Very realistically we could have landed both Oliver and Ah Chee in the 2015 draft
We got Ah Chee and Brodie instead.
Time will tell..

There is a forgotten member of the trade. It was 3, 10 and 43 for 6, 29 and future 1st.

With pick 29 we took Schoenfeld. The future 1st let us take Brodie.

The Demons used pick 10 and 43 to trade up to 7 where they took Weideman.

So in terms of players drafted, it boils down to Oliver and Weideman versus Ah Chee, Brodie and TheSchoen.
Still a bit to play out there but we are starting from a long way back.

The annoying thing for me is not the trade. No one was crying like mad at the time of the trade (a month before the draft) since Oliver was in no way a consensus top 5 pick at the time let alone a clear cut gun.
No, the annoying thing for me is that if Oliver had pulled his finger out 2 months earlier and played more football his draft year, his talent would have been more obvious and the trade calculation would have changed.

Just had a look at the latest injury update and its looking good...
Not sure the severity of Ah chee's back..
I also heard a few times that Rischa should be ready in May, well our next game is on May 27 so I'm popping him in for a hit out in the NEAFL.. with that in mind, check it out..

Saad May Joyce
KK Thomo Harbrow
Rosa Barlow Sexton
Martin Lynch Lyons
Ah Chee Wright Matera
Witts Swallow Ablett
Hall Lemmens Miller Fiorini

Seconds

Willis Spencer Mckenzie
Scrim Leslie Hanley
Shaw Lonergan Schoenfeld
Ainsworth Loersch Scheer
Brooksby Davis Bowes
Nicholls Brodie Mcpherson
Currie Richca Hallahan Grant (?)
That's everyone bar Day... Couldn't happen could it?
Must be a first having 22 listed players in the twos...

I also heard a few times that Rischa should be ready in May, well our next game is on May 27 so I'm popping him in for a hit out in the NEAFL.. with that in mind, check it out..

Saad May Joyce
KK Thomo Harbrow
Rosa Barlow Sexton
Martin Lynch Lyons
Ah Chee Wright Matera
Witts Swallow Ablett

Seconds

Willis Spencer Mckenzie
Scrim Leslie Hanley
Shaw Lonergan Schoenfeld
Ainsworth Loersch Scheer
Brooksby Davis Bowes
Hope you touched wood (real wood) when you posted that.
Grant has a season ending knee? Or did scans clear him?

Saad May Joyce
KK Thomo Harbrow
Rosa Barlow Sexton
Martin Lynch Lyons
Ah Chee Wright Matera
Witts Swallow Ablett

Seconds

Willis Spencer Mckenzie
Scrim Leslie Hanley
Shaw Lonergan Schoenfeld
Ainsworth Loersch Scheer
Brooksby Davis Bowes

I really want to get excited, and reading that has me a little moist, but I feel like we keep saying this, only for it to never happen. In a couple of weeks we'll have everyone returning and players will be left out of the NEAFL team. Then we have 1 or 3 injuries in our next game, Thompson does his quad a bit more or something, TMac remains out, a couple of guys pull up sore at training and are out for a fortnight, and all of a sudden we are back at the same point. :( (Knock on wood this is over though)

But I really want to believe because wow that is some fire power we got! And I think we all just want to see what our best 22 is really capable of together for once.

Hope you touched wood (real wood) when you posted that.
Grant has a season ending knee? Or did scans clear him?
Yeah i touched wood a lot, well it felt like wood..
Grant is supposedly out for a couple, only.. apparently he lost his balance due to a rare condition known as microphoneheadalitous.
Apparently it can cause you to fall over due to a abnormal weight distribution from the tip of your head down to the tip of your toes..
But not unlike his ability, he seems to have disappeared from all Injury notices.. so who knows maybe he is ready to go..
Maybe they didn't want to put "test" next to his name because last time they did that, random people kept talking into the top of his head "testing, testing"
I personally feel for the young man and only hope he can bounce back from this latest setback and play some good footy, preferably for North Ballarat.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/adelai...orts-team-legacy-esports-20170517-gw6wd7.html

Meant to make a thread about this when I first read about the concept (AFL running its own eSports league)

If a women's team is not an option, club needs to start talking to the AFL about getting into this, offers another avenue for potential sponsors. I can imagine it seems a bit 'out there' for an AFL club but it seems like an opportunity to get on the front foot. For the foreseeable future there's even a reasonable chance that it would outpace the growth of the football program.

Well done to the Crows for having both a women's team and an eSports team, great initiative.

What's the word on Sam Day?

Does anyone know how he's progressing?
Saw his tweet 2 days ago - he was climbing steps at Metricon as part of his rehab.
Previous tweet was about his missus and looking forward to spending life together on GC!!
He's a massive out for us. Allowed 2MP to have the 3rd tall & also go down back when needed.

For all the Long-timers here it's nice to actually be missing Sam Day eh?
Copped some heavy flak in his first few years
Guys like Sam are worth their weight in gold I reckon
What he shouldered when we were down to 15 fit players was amazing
Will frustrate you, excite you, deflate you, annoy you but will justify his draft position by the end of his career if he can get back.
And BTW, that's a big "if"

For all the Long-timers here it's nice to actually be missing Sam Day eh?
Copped some heavy flak in his first few years
Guys like Sam are worth their weight in gold I reckon
What he shouldered when we were down to 15 fit players was amazing
Will frustrate you, excite you, deflate you, annoy you but will justify his draft position by the end of his career if he can get back.
And BTW, that's a big "if"
Spot on with all of the above.
I went looking for his injury update just to see how he's progressing from a personal view, rather than a return to footy perspective. It would be a fair effort physically & mentally.

At what point does the club seriously look at Scott Clayton's position?
This list is solely his after 8 years and quite frankly it's appalling given the picks he's had. Hindsight is a wonderful thing but he's paid to get it right.
Even his mate Wallace questioned whether he understands today's game with his skinny outside athlete obsession.
Hallahan can't kick so Hawthorn move him on, guess what he gets a 3 year deal and still can't kick.
Jarryd Grant??? Shaw and Russell, Tape, Stanley were on our list for 6 years....
Lemmens and Leslie in a super draft!
First pick the year before Lonergan. First pick year later Garlett.
Every year we say Clayton nailed it, that's until they play a game.
Oliver 35 touches. Melb recruiters knew he was something special and traded up with us. Why couldn't Clayton see that??

This list is solely his after 8 years and quite frankly it's appalling given the picks he's had. Hindsight is a wonderful thing but he's paid to get it right.
Even his mate Wallace questioned whether he understands today's game with his skinny outside athlete obsession.
Hallahan can't kick so Hawthorn move him on, guess what he gets a 3 year deal and still can't kick.
Jarryd Grant??? Shaw and Russell, Tape, Stanley were on our list for 6 years....
Oliver 35 touches. Melb recruiters knew he was something special and traded up with us. Why couldn't Clayton see that??
Because he's up here enjoying a pre retirement superannuation top up.

If I could double like I would
The model for the modern AFL superstar is Dangerfield
Built like a 1970's CHF but moves like an elite midfielder
No surprises that Fyfe and Ziebell and Hodge Swallow etc are similar and ....yeah... Oliver
We have nuggety, we have whippet-like, we have tiny, we have in betweeners
Lonergan is the right size but that's where it ends- (I'd still like to see him get more games)
What we've always needed are more and better Dave Swallows
Problem is Clayton and Ashcroft have run the Club like a personal fiefdom since day 1
I genuinely hope that the arrival of Evans has put them both on notice

Opinion Vent & Offtopic