Opinion Vent & Offtopic

Just listened to the Hirdy and Crawf podcast for the first time. Say what you will about both of them but they know there football and they actually go through each game. Both said they thought the Suns would struggle this year but were happy to admit they missed judged the team and happy us to be doing well.

I haven't heard of that one whats it called?

I was pretty unimpressed with the Lindsay Thomas tribunal outcomes. I mean, he's hit Scott Selwood and put him out for a week, so why doesn't he just get a week? Other players have just been fined for bumps nowhere near the ball, but LT gets 3 weeks? Harsh. To make it worse, the Geelong players got away with taking matters into their own hands, especially Joel Selwood running in and punching LT. Because LT punched back after being attacked, he got an extra week, but Selwood challenged his 1 week suspension and got off on a technicality. Bullshit!

On the surface of it the bump was ugly and a brother coming in to defend his brother is to be expected. But striking is just not allowed in the AFL. Those are the rules. Lindsay Thomas, on minimum wage at Port, gets 4 weeks and the 4th after provocation. Joel Selwood, one of the highest paid players in the AFL, hires a QC to argue that Joel Selwood's punch was anything but a punch. 50 camera angles say he punched Thomas in the face while he was standing over the player who was pinned to the ground. He then copped a smack in the face from Thomas and carried on like a horse's arse. Joel Selwood is a dirty player who exists to win free kicks and get other players suspended, but when he gets charged he pays a King's ransom to get off.

I hope Touk Miller or Jesse Lonergan get set to tag him into misery when the Suns play the Cats, with a couple of Nick Holman ball and all tackles thrown in for the Highlights reel.

Lindsay Thomas got what he deserved. The other cases in question were closer to the ball and involved incidental head clashes. Thomas tucked in the elbow and attempted to knock Selwood into next week, got him high with the shoulder. That hasn't been ok for 20 years. The guy is a thug, he's washed up and we won't be forced to see him at AFL level again I'd say.

I don't believe Thomas tried to hit Selwood in the head
There is no logical reason to suggest that- unless you think he's a psychotic thug who has no concern for others or in fact his own career
He unfortunately uses the hip and shoulder as a mainstay of his playing style and because of that he makes awful errors
He probably got what he deserved but if you believe he deliberately targetted the head I think you're mistaken

I don't believe Thomas tried to hit Selwood in the head
There is no logical reason to suggest that- unless you think he's a psychotic thug who has no concern for others or in fact his own career
He unfortunately uses the hip and shoulder as a mainstay of his playing style and because of that he makes awful errors
He probably got what he deserved but if you believe he deliberately targetted the head I think you're mistaken
Oh I don't believe he lined the head on purpose, I do believe he is a thug however. With the fine line between a perfect bump, and a horrible bump being so small, he collected the head and now gets what he deserves.

17er's premise is that you can kick a low paid journeyman who's made an awful error of judgement that will likely end his career and put another player out of action for a week or so as hard as you like but well paid players with all sorts of gravitas hanging off them can punch people and get away with it
If Sexton had hit Shiel the same way Cotchin did last year I think we all know what the outcome would have been
It's a Kangaroo Court and Justice is not blind

17er's premise is that you can kick a low paid journeyman who's made an awful error of judgement that will likely end his career and put another player out of action for a week or so as hard as you like but well paid players with all sorts of gravitas hanging off them can punch people and get away with it
If Sexton had hit Shiel the same way Cotchin did last year I think we all know what the outcome would have been

Selwood got off because of the very powerful Geelong Media Machine. They have cheerleaders working all over the Melbourne Mainstream media.

Michael Christian sent Lindsay Thomas to the Tribunal on a referral that the hit was high (it wasn't), intentional (it wasn't) and he recommended 3 weeks with another week for Striking. That meant that Thomas was always going to get 4 weeks because the MRP's recommendation is always taken up unless the whole charge can be overturned. Thomas' lawyer, Ben Krupka, appeared by video link from Adelaide, whereas Selwood hired the most expensive QC in Melbourne Nick Pane. Krupka managed to successfully argue that the bump was low, however, the Tribunal went with Pane's arguments that previous similar cases have received 3 weeks. You allowed to bump players within proximity to the ball. Thomas didn't hit Selwood high, Selwood slipped under his initial bump like all four bloody Selwoods have continually done throughout their respective AFL careers. Troy Selwood was the stupidest Selwood, continually sticking his head in danger of being knocked clear off his shoulders.

Selwood got off because of the very powerful Geelong Media Machine. They have cheerleaders working all over the Melbourne Mainstream media.
The Geelong media, headed by Bodsy's mate, Gerard Whateley with Chris Scott on 360, have been calling this a dog act ever since the game. It wasn't a dog act, it was a player setting himself for a legal bump against a wildly lurching player who consistently lunges into these situations trying to milk free kicks. All the Selwoods have done it and they've all been smashed into disneyland and they've all had other players suspended because of it. A dog act, as Campbell Brown said, is when a person hits another person from behind. I'd go further to say that a dog act is hitting someone on the ground while standing over them. Joel Selwood admitted that when he punched Thomas he kept up a torrent of abuse so it would look to the cameras like he was just trying to get in his face. He also lied to the Tribunal, saying "he did not know at the time that Scott was the Cat involved, nor that Thomas was the Power player who delivered the bump." Joel Selwood is a flog!

all of this in spades

Yeah that was 17er best work yet
It would be remiss of me not to point out that Lindsay Thomas is suspended for China. Also, as I predicted at the time, Port's recruitment in the offseason may have looked good on paper yet it isn't exactly panning out very well. Watts and Motlop keep getting picked and Port keep getting beaten, Cannon can't keep his spot, Thomas lasted one game for a loss and Rockliff looks a healthy scratching this week.

Joel Selwood admitted that when he punched Thomas he kept up a torrent of abuse so it would look to the cameras like he was just trying to get in his face. He also lied to the Tribunal, saying "he did not know at the time that Scott was the Cat involved, nor that Thomas was the Power player who delivered the bump." Joel Selwood is a flog!

Footy Gods in play at Geelong today
Made me smile

Opinion Vent & Offtopic