Opinion Vent & Offtopic

• Thread starter Thread starter Sunny_

I'll quote a tweet that someone sent me:

"Leigh Montagna was talking about his wife and going into labour and how she was having a sweep... He basically said it'd be bad if the doc put 2 fingers up her and licked his fingers"

Hope I don't get a red card for relaying 2nd hand info
Surely not :eek:

I'll quote a tweet that someone sent me:

"Leigh Montagna was talking about his wife and going into labour and how she was having a sweep... He basically said it'd be bad if the doc put 2 fingers up her and licked his fingers"

Hope I don't get a red card for relaying 2nd hand info
it's all over the internet, no card coming your way for that one haha.

i'm glad he was instantly shown the door though, it's a pretty disgusting thing to think, let alone say on a live radio broadcast.

No doubt it will be reported as "Gold Coast based" Barry Hall rather than "ex Swans Captain/Great" Barry Hall:rolleyes:
I've never understood the redemption of Barry Hall
Should never have played again after the Staker incident let alone captained an AFL team

No doubt it will be reported as "Gold Coast based" Barry Hall rather than "ex Swans Captain/Great" Barry Hall:rolleyes:
I've never understood the redemption of Barry Hall
Should never have played again after the Staker incident let alone captained an AFL team

The great Gold Coast Hater Damien Barrett the most bitter boring piece of work the man I describe as the opposite of everything Gold Coast can be heard having a good old laugh at what Hall said.
He’s a piece of work that should be now out of work too.

The Crows v WCE game is probably the worst half of footy I have ever seen between 2 teams that apparently decent

The wheels have completely fallen off with the Crows and Tex Walker is playing like he is drunk

This just takes to the paywall

https://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.a...g/news-story/0cf6a1b81c775f7c7de1d7904eef9615

But if you just go to the main website, it's about half way down near the dreamowrld Inquest

https://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.au/

Here you go brother

Stadiums Queensland board kicked out over claims of price gouging
d6a46bbbc1f8838e49d979c3594bda27

THE Palaszczuk Government has sensationally replaced the board of Stadiums Queensland amid complaints the body is price gouging the state’s top football clubs.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk vowed that heads would roll after an investigation by The Sunday Mail exposed the financial burden that the Government body’s soaring rents and levies at major venues imposed on struggling sporting clubs.

Stadiums Queensland probe to cost taxpayers

Titans could abandon Cbus Super Stadium

AFL chair: Stadiums Queensland is a ‘disgrace’

Sports Minister Mick de Brenni yesterday confirmed the Government had moved to “refresh” the board in a shift he said would help modernise the operation.

5e7b58ebc25e896592789242d6b281e6

Stadiums Queensland manages the Gold Coast’s Cbus Super Stadium. Picture: Jerad Williams
He said the Government had hand-picked a new mix of talent to implement any approved findings of a taxpayer-funded taskforce appointed in April to probe the body’s performance.

It is believed the new board is predominantly from Labor’s Left faction.

A source said the sacked board had been blindsided, believing they had always done a good job.

New board members will include former Australian Rugby League Commission chairman John Grant, north Queensland lawyer Amanda Shircore, health fund executive Cathy McGuane, Greg Webb and Therese Smith.

Chairwoman Sophie Devitt will stay on during the transition and then step down.

Stadiums Queensland manages major venues, including Suncorp Stadium, the Gabba, Townsville’s 1300 SMILES Stadium, Metricon Stadium and the Gold Coast’s Cbus Super Stadium.

91e0efb69f07673fc93097e3cc838902

Sports Minister Mick de Brenni. Picture: AAP Image/Dan Peled
Mounting concerns about crippling rents and levies at the stadiums in April prompted Queensland’s NRL, AFL and Super Rugby clubs to join forces in calling for the Government to step in and overhaul the organisation.

The clubs claimed rents and transport levies at Queensland stadiums were now between three and five times more than interstate costs, forcing some clubs to cut staff to stay afloat.

ef78d2d21e93870015dec27416428367

Stadiums Queensland manages major venues, including Suncorp Stadium. Picture: Jason O'Brien / www.photosport.nz
The NRL confirmed its Queensland-based club paid more in rent and operating costs than anywhere else. The Titans rent Cbus Stadium for $110,000 a game and haven’t signed a contract with Stadiums Queensland since 2016.

The Gold Coast Suns pay $8 a ticket in operational costs, compared to $1.20 paid by the biggest AFL and NRL clubs in Australia.

Here you go brother

Stadiums Queensland board kicked out over claims of price gouging
d6a46bbbc1f8838e49d979c3594bda27

THE Palaszczuk Government has sensationally replaced the board of Stadiums Queensland amid complaints the body is price gouging the state’s top football clubs.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk vowed that heads would roll after an investigation by The Sunday Mail exposed the financial burden that the Government body’s soaring rents and levies at major venues imposed on struggling sporting clubs.

Stadiums Queensland probe to cost taxpayers

Titans could abandon Cbus Super Stadium

AFL chair: Stadiums Queensland is a ‘disgrace’

Sports Minister Mick de Brenni yesterday confirmed the Government had moved to “refresh” the board in a shift he said would help modernise the operation.

5e7b58ebc25e896592789242d6b281e6

Stadiums Queensland manages the Gold Coast’s Cbus Super Stadium. Picture: Jerad Williams
He said the Government had hand-picked a new mix of talent to implement any approved findings of a taxpayer-funded taskforce appointed in April to probe the body’s performance.

It is believed the new board is predominantly from Labor’s Left faction.

A source said the sacked board had been blindsided, believing they had always done a good job.

New board members will include former Australian Rugby League Commission chairman John Grant, north Queensland lawyer Amanda Shircore, health fund executive Cathy McGuane, Greg Webb and Therese Smith.

Chairwoman Sophie Devitt will stay on during the transition and then step down.

Stadiums Queensland manages major venues, including Suncorp Stadium, the Gabba, Townsville’s 1300 SMILES Stadium, Metricon Stadium and the Gold Coast’s Cbus Super Stadium.

91e0efb69f07673fc93097e3cc838902

Sports Minister Mick de Brenni. Picture: AAP Image/Dan Peled
Mounting concerns about crippling rents and levies at the stadiums in April prompted Queensland’s NRL, AFL and Super Rugby clubs to join forces in calling for the Government to step in and overhaul the organisation.

The clubs claimed rents and transport levies at Queensland stadiums were now between three and five times more than interstate costs, forcing some clubs to cut staff to stay afloat.

ef78d2d21e93870015dec27416428367

Stadiums Queensland manages major venues, including Suncorp Stadium. Picture: Jason O'Brien / www.photosport.nz
The NRL confirmed its Queensland-based club paid more in rent and operating costs than anywhere else. The Titans rent Cbus Stadium for $110,000 a game and haven’t signed a contract with Stadiums Queensland since 2016.

The Gold Coast Suns pay $8 a ticket in operational costs, compared to $1.20 paid by the biggest AFL and NRL clubs in Australia.

Thanks "bodsy".......hopefully we can now get the $8 per ticket paid to the leeches reduced significantly....

Gold Coast Suns delighted by change to Stadiums Queensland board
acdc78dc7939fe057ac1bf0245952ae6

Gold Coast Suns Chairman Tony Cochrane today announced the appointment of Mark Evans to the positon of Chief Executive Officer. A smug chairman Tony Cochrane at the press conference at Suns HQ at Carrara. Picture Glenn Hampson
GOLD Coast Suns Chairman Tony Cochrane has told the Bulletin he was surprised — and delighted — to learn the Government had finally decided to change the make-up of the Stadiums Queensland.

The Palaszczuk Government announced a new era for Stadiums Queensland is on the horizon after a new board was appointed to take the reins of Queensland’s world class sporting venues.

Stadiums Queensland manages, operates and promotes the use of nine major facilities, including The Gabba, Suncorp Stadium, Metricon and CBUS Super Stadium on behalf of the Queensland Government.

“It’s a tremendous victory for common sense and I can only hope now that the board has some people on it going forward who have the best interests of the whole of Queensland at heart — not just Brisbane — and we can truly call it Stadiums Queensland again and not Stadiums Brisbane as it has been,” he said.

STADIUMS QUEENSLAND BOARD KICKED OUT OVER CLAIMS OF PRICE GOUGING

Asked if he had been officially informed of the decision Mr Cochrane laughed.

“Don’t be silly,” he said.

“I do have the smell of victory in the air.”

He said while the club lost to Collingwood on Saturday, the decision to change SQ’s board was a major victory for the club and its future.

“We’re a young club. We’re going to get there,” he said.

ad5091e7d220b19a72ba95e2f2fdb62a

Gold Coast Suns chairman Tony Cochrane and club mascot at Metricon Stadium. Pic: Luke Marsden.
“We have so many young blokes coming up the ladder.”

Mr Cochrane said the Suns’ home games were worth $29 million to the Gold Coast economy because of the high number of AFL fans who travel to see their teams play at Metricon.

“We had over 5000 visitors at the Geelong game, Essendon was easily over 5000 and 7000 Collingwood fans last night travelled to the Coast to make a weekend of it. They spend money in restaurants and shop at Pacific Fair.

GET FULL DIGITAL ACCESS FOR 50C A DAY

“The Suns are a really good little generator of tourism.

“It’s always been the case AFL fans have always travelled. It’s a big part of the AFL and it’s good for us.

“Over time we will develop into a strong club. We’ll find that place,” he said.

Tasmanians are all talk, no action. They don't go to games, they don't have the population, they don't have a viable proposal and they don't have enough locally produced players. The AFL is scheduling plenty of games in Launceston and Hobart, yet that isn't enough for them. I'd rather see the AFL invest its money in the Northern Territory where they are overjoyed to be given an opportunity to join an Interstate 2nd tier competition.

The comments added to articles on News Limited Papers ie the Courier Mail and Herald Sun are consistently just nasty and devoid of fact. It’s scary because I reckon they do get read by a significant number of people.

Cyril's retirement was due to a comment from Jeff Kennett to Cyril's wife at the Launny Airport?

The Purple headed flog on the Footy Show putting it out there,

I’m sure I’m making a total idiot of myself by asking this but I’m not from an AFL background so I’m going to ask it anyway:

Who is “the purple headed flog”?

I’m sure I’m making a total idiot of myself by asking this but I’m not from an AFL background so I’m going to ask it anyway:

Who is “the purple headed flog”?
Just a nickname for Damien Barrett, when he was on radio for Triple M he is nicknamed the 'purple headed warrior'.