Roast Vent thread Carlton v Bulldogs Round 16 2011

Can't believe that some of you are complaining about Etihad. You think that you lost because of a dry, fast, windless footy ground?

Here are some teams that have played mostly at Etihad over the last 5 years:
- St Kilda
- Western Bulldogs

Here is an MCG one:
- Melbourne

Get real! This email isn't directed at most of you Blues fans, who have dealt honestly with your deficiencies in this forum.

I just hate everything about it...

We don't belong there and we don't play well on the SMALLER ground...

Give me the wide open spaces of the MCG everyday of the week...

Personally I think the team looks tired. Classic mid season slump.

Saying that it annoys the hell out of me that we cannot buy a contested mark anywhere on the ground. Even against Richmond only Waite was really up to the challenge ... let me repeat AGAINST RICHMOND!

I thought Warnock's game yesterday was just horrible. Hudson killed him, fed their midfield whilst Warnock just looked dazed and disinterested.

The dogs just wanted it way more which is worrying because the last couple of years everytime we have come to the crossroads to show we are the real deal we keep on stumbling at the last hurdle. We can look awesome but then like yesterday we can look a long way off a flag.

I hate to use them as an example but the Pies never let their game slip that much! Even when they are off there are just some aspects of their game that do not dip ... hope there is some decent soul searching this week.

But until we have another 1-2 guys in the side who are able to take a strong contested mark we will not prosper.

I would like to think that natural improvement of our young list will cover this shortfall but like many Blues fans I am impatient after all the cr@p we went through getting here.

When we are on all cylinders we are the best team in the comp (arguably) ... unfortunately we need to learn how to keep at that level week in week out.

Until then we are just pretenders with too many passengers.

I agree very poor effort from MC.

1 Waite should never have played , but they did.

2. Russell as a sub what the hell are you thinking.

3. Joseph in for Tuohy what has Tuohy done wrong.

4 Bower playing forward etc etc

In the end we did not want it enough, and the funny thing is we were the best part of 30 points up in the second quarter. I predicted that will lose 3 out of four before the WC game, and i have no reason to change.

The reality is our structure relies on a few players playing well Jamison and Waite are two . The probblem here is that there is nothing coming through short term to cover for these outs. Also i think application and intensity was not there. It has a distinct last year look about it.

I fear next week could be 10 goals plus and our run home is not that easy.

Ratts has his work cut out for him!

This ^ . Nailed it to perfection.

I just hate everything about it...

We don't belong there and we don't play well on the SMALLER ground...

Give me the wide open spaces of the MCG everyday of the week...

Yeah but other teams manage OK. Don't like it, Collo was a dog for serving his own interests instead of the clubs, but if we can't win there then we cannot be considered premiership contenders.

Some of you guys have got to be kidding re: Bower haven't you?

Comes in and plays a role he has probably never played in his life. One of the worst coached games I have ever seen.

Pauly was the ONLY guy apart from Yarran who took the game on from half back when he had the chance and broke the lines successfully. We need him to put on muscle and take the role as third tall because at the moment we have very few with the ability to take the game on from the back half with confidence. We have lost our run and attack off half back from 2010 without Pauly and Dennis and we got smashed yesterday because we had nobody stepping up to do the job.

Completely agree, don't think Bower did anything wrong yesterday and look forward to seeing him at his creative best once he's had a few matches and has Jamison back for support.

I really don't want to criticise Ratts for his coaching.

Alot of people here are perplexed at why Henderson wasnt moved forward but I think Ratts just wanted to give Henderson a bit more time at the back with the Pies game in mind next week. Plus I think they were hoping Henderson will stay there for the rest of the year so we can have two genuine talls at the back.

The Joseph over Tuohy decision was a bit perplexing but I really don't think Joseph had too bad of a game yesterday.

Russell as a sub was also perplexing and that was the only glaringly poor decision imo. Russell should be on the ground from the get go, never as a sub. If his form has been down, drop him to the 2nds. I don't understand coaches playing out of form players as subs.

The only thing however I want to criticise is our whole team injury/health management. Bear in mind however, I don't really know who is responsible for assessment of injjuries and what not, but there many been so many instances this year where perplexing bordering on stupid decisions have been made regarding players in terms of injury assessment and management - sending Curnow and Jamison back out when clearly they were not right and playing Waite yesterday are just a few examples.

I reckon the medical staff should be reviewed immediately and bring some real professionals in.

I don't know mate. It's easy to question their attitude because it's something that can easily be fixed but yesterday was more of a structural and depth concern.
Agree with that.

We had our equal share of possession and were dominating the clearances at half-time.

At least Ratten switched things up, but I think that's two out of the last three that the MC have had a decidedly negative effect on the outcome of the game.

Re: Deja-Vu and Gutted.

But I want to really enjoy watching Carlton play again without feeling like a Richmond supporter.

yeah so do i. see how it feels sitting amongst a bunch of chromosome damaged Doggie supporters, watching that disgusting hoodlum Bazza Hall come out and kick 4 goals when all he deserves is to be a bouncer at Crown Casino, and you feel quite gutted.

Footscray supporters are the biggest filth supporters for a Melbourne side. They make Collingwood and Richmond supporters seem civilised. I guess that happens for a side that will never win another flag in most of their supporters' lifetimes!

I was almost tempted to run onto the ground and kick Houlihan in the arse, but yesterday proved absolutely that he is finished.

Totally gutted and there's no world cup soccer, so i gotta watch the ladies soccer and netball!

For those of you that are members, Ratts letter this week makes some interesting points regarding the game as well as questioning our ability to play at Etihad...

Reading between the lines, I can see us playing a tall off the sub bench this week..

Maybe the club doctor or whoever is telling the Coaches the players are right should be given the arse, :thumbsu:

Curnow, Jamo pushed to play while obviously injured, They were providing nothing.......it just hampers us and risks further damage to injury, Waite was sitting on the bench late in the Richmond game with groin discomfort didnt train all week, yet plays against Dogs and is then subbed off early on :rolleyes:......now out for 4 weeks.

If their not right DON'T PLAY EM. Finals to think about.

As others have said, why was Russell the sub? is he carrying a niggle or just needed a lighter load or something? Should've started on the ground, or missed completely if not right.

Re: Deja-Vu and Gutted.

yeah so do i. see how it feels sitting amongst a bunch of chromosome damaged Doggie supporters, watching that disgusting hoodlum Bazza Hall come out and kick 4 goals when all he deserves is to be a bouncer at Crown Casino, and you feel quite gutted.

Footscray supporters are the biggest filth supporters for a Melbourne side. They make Collingwood and Richmond supporters seem civilised. I guess that happens for a side that will never win another flag in most of their supporters' lifetimes

Have you shot anybody lately? done any dodgy underworld deals? Paid your respects to the Moran boys?

Doesn't pay to go spitting stereotypes.

While you sip lattes on Lygon street, most of those Footscray supporters you despise are probably flogging themselves working long days in hard labour jobs to support families. They are people too. Don't get all high and mighty just because you support a more successful footy team.

Barry Hall is a premiership captain. He also deserves some respect aswell.

I agree very poor effort from MC.

1 Waite should never have played , but they did.

2. Russell as a sub what the hell are you thinking.

3. Joseph in for Tuohy what has Tuohy done wrong.

4 Bower playing forward etc etc

In the end we did not want it enough, and the funny thing is we were the best part of 30 points up in the second quarter. I predicted that will lose 3 out of four before the WC game, and i have no reason to change.

The reality is our structure relies on a few players playing well Jamison and Waite are two . The probblem here is that there is nothing coming through short term to cover for these outs. Also i think application and intensity was not there. It has a distinct last year look about it.

I fear next week could be 10 goals plus and our run home is not that easy.

Ratts has his work cut out for him!

Agree with a lot of what you have said chaser1, I certainly agree with the Tuohy call because I like his kicking to advantage. The games we have lost this year have featured a lot of kicking to our oponents or to their advantage. Regardless of how much the "forward press" or pressure on the kick out of defense is, we can and should get a one on one and still kick to advantage. Even if it is not a mark from the kick in. Tuohy is a man that can do that. The other man who has been tried, only briefly and can kick the ball is Watson. He showed that in the Bullants win last week. If you gave him the kick out from fullback after a rushed behind, he will kick to advantage, or kick beyond the forward press. With the loss of Jamieson, Waite. Hampson and poor form from the "Kruze", our tall options are not looking good. We just can't keep turning the ball over. If we can't find a tall option for the forward line (should be Henderson) you have just got to kick to advantage. A ball our small forwards can run onto. At the moment their is no one up there to crumb off, for Betts and Garlett. Lets get our best kicks into the side.