VENT THREAD vs Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Philhawk

Bring Back Murphy...

All honestly, Tuck/Morton/Muston/Stokes/Renouf/Savage are not ready to seriously forge their way into the best 22 and should consider what they have to do to try to take their game to the next level

Kennedy/Shiels/Moss however are guns, Schoenmakers does some nice things for a 17 year old twig

Kennedy and Mcglynn, god i love them but their disposal can be shocking

Lewis next year..look out, he's turning into an all out gun, dare-say if he could convert 75% of his shots on goal and not shank the odd kick+Polish he would be a star already.

I agree with some posters with Hodge, if he's being tagged out, throw him up forward, he's an excellent all round player and i would tick him down for a few strong marks, 1-2 goals and more importaintly give Franklin some breathing space if Hodge manages to bag 1-2 in a quarter, taking the focus off him

Re: Tuck, Taylor, Renouf,Morton

FFS!!!! Renouf is what, 20, 21 years old. Ruck men take time. Give the boy a break! When we carve it up next year, I'll be taking special note of the posters on this forum. I don't often post, but some of you had better change your user names if you think of jumping on board next year after some of the disgraceful posts I've seen this year.

i could not care how old he is

he could have marked the ball at least 2 times tonight instead he decides to punch it

on one of those punches there was no crows player in sight

I thought Renouf played ok.
Morton played very well for 1 quater (don't expect anymore considering this is his first AFL game in a while)
Tuck will still be a player I don't doubt.
Taylor is actually quite a good ruckman, if there is an umpire who is not biased against him.

However at least 2 of these will be delisted come years end I have no doubt.

i could not care how old he is

he could have marked the ball at least 2 times tonight instead he decides to punch it

on one of those punches there was no crows player in sight

That is "talk". Not nearly enough (if any) talk between players this year = lack of team play & team spirit and Taylor/Lewis and the tons of others punching the ball when clear this season.

I agree with the OP! Too many of you have gone soft on this board!

I thought Franklin had a good night, Hodge had a crap one and we still can't tackle. It makes it difficult when the Crows' jumpers are painted-on-tight but we still struggled to impede the guy that had just received the ball. All the kids did a serviceable job, Taylor didn't give away too may frees and we're still missing a lot of run & carry.

Both Savage & Muston can really kick for distance, get 'em both to stock up on the meat pies & beer to build a Dew-like physique and we should be good for a few years to come.

m.

And I'm sure JohnnyB would have marked and kicked a goal from 150m out.
Fact is, we have a third of our best out. Maybe he didn't have experienced players around him to tell him he was 'safe' or maybe he didn't have the experience to know himself. Key word is 'experience'.
I think you'd be far better off as a Richmond supporter, JohhnyB. You certainly have no place supporting a club as proud as ours. I can only image the reaction of opposition supporters reading this thread. It's people like you that add to the myth that our premiership was nothing more than a fluke. It is a shame that the rest of have to wait until next year to prove you wrong. Harden the F' up !

That's fine. Earlier in the year maybe but lately no.

Noticed how he is not breaking tackles like he used to earlier in the season?

The other teams have worked him out I think. Nowhere near as effective.

Disagree - Sewell has stood up all year. I think the problem is he is still carrying an injury and plays because he has to not because he wants to. A good break, a good pre-season and he will be back. On last years form I would have had him as a brownlow favorite this year so as soon as the odds are out I am backing him in for next year that's how confident I am that he will be back.

Our forward set up stinks. And has for much of the year.

It was personified in the second quarter when Kennedy took a shot for goal from 35/40 out and the ball fell short. We didn't have a tall player back, and we were out numbered 2 to 1, and the Adelaide defenders cleared the ball easily. Very frustrating.

You're right, out forwards stand around flat footed, there is no system, variety or spark.

It wasn't a great night.

My knowledge of football is amateurish to say the least but I didn't understand the dropping of dowler tonight. I know his recent games haven't been overly special but with bok out and roughie out I thought it would have made sense to keep him in the team tonight in the forward line as the Adelaide defence isn't overly brilliant either. We would have at least had another target down there.

Anybody noticed how shit the Crows have been?

They are playing an side that is in the bottom 2 for form. Only Melbourne are currently worse and they don't want to win!!
Hey we didn't play well but we didn't have to. If we were shit, how'd your mob play? I'll take a win playing shit any day. Really, the whole game was boring after Adelaide got a 5 goal lead to be fair.

Wrong thread for this content...

I think the general concesus is that people are getting a bit tired of hearing personal attacks all over the mainboard. I know I am.

Barker is not a forward coach .. there I said it and yes I feel better. I think we have a lot to look forward to if we can drop the bs handball game and free up our players to take risks.

I want Dowler back in the team please with Muston and Kennedy given free reign (sp?) to play there natural game.

I want to see Bailey this year.

I want to see anyone who can kick a goal from a set shot to be our first and primary forward.

I love the Hawks but fk they can frustrate me .... just like being married aye! :D

McGlynn played his best game, really nice performance.
Schoenmakers was a bit better than recent weeks I thought.
Bateman injured?
Hodge disappointing, yet again. (how many good quarters of footy has he actually played this year?)
Franklin did well I thought.
Taylor wasn't as sh*t as we normally expect from him.
Sewell impressed me, once again.
Lewis was ordinary.
Osborne went missing.
Morton & Muston look VFL grade.

hahahh you reckon they are footballers??

your having yourself on big time

have you watched these blokes play at all

taylor, is not an AFL player and lets hope next year he is gone for good

Well from an outsiders perspective, Tuck was the Hawks leading contested possession winner (13) in the H&A game against Geelong last season. He's gone backwards this season certainly, but it is too early to be writing him off.

Renouf is still young and was promising last season.

Morton I have doubts on, but has pedigree.

Taylor is Taylor, you know what you're going to get. If Bailey comes on, he probably loses his spot.

Hawks don't need people like the OP following them Gives our great side a bad name.

Tuck - At the start of the season was unbelievable. Got injured early in season and has not looked 100% since. Another preseason should see him back to his best.

Taylor - You know what you are going to get with him so LAY THE HELL OFF. Tonight I thought he had a good game as far as he goes.

Renouf - Bloody hell mate you have to be the biggest tool in the world to get on his back. He is 20 years old, a premership player and is improving every week. By next season he will be a very good athletic ruckman who has a brilliant grab.

Morton - Seams to be stuck in a transition phase. Had a great start to his career in the midfield, just needs to take the next step.

Now my only vent is on Dowler. That guy does not put his body on the line at all and has directly caused at least 3 (prob more) goals this season for doing exactly that. He gets scared and timid in a contested marking contest and for a forward line player that is wrong. Delist/ trade at the end of the season.

Hodge disappointing, yet again. (how many good quarters of footy has he actually played this year?)

Absolutely right. How many times has the guy kicked straight to the opposition when under no pressure? Again last night. Twice in the game against Geelong. He's had a very good season, but far from great.

Now my only vent is on Dowler. That guy does not put his body on the line at all and has directly caused at least 3 (prob more) goals this season for doing exactly that. He gets scared and timid in a contested marking contest and for a forward line player that is wrong. Delist/ trade at the end of the season.

Dowler will be a 200 game player for Hawthorn. I've seen him put his body on the line a few times this season and seen him take a good few contested marks and strong marks on the lead.

Absolutely right. How many times has the guy kicked straight to the opposition when under no pressure? Again last night. Twice in the game against Geelong. He's had a very good season, but far from great.

Has he even had a very good season? Pretty sure we overrate Hodge on here a bit, he has been average to serviceable at best this season, like many others.

Big, uninterrupted pre-season is in order, as it is for the majority of the team.

Like everybody here, i expected we would not have a chance in hell of winning this one, and when i saw the team list with Roughy missing and no inclusions of any great note it was looking like it was going to be a total flogging.

I have to say i'm proud of the effort the boys put in last night, they were in the game until the last quarter despite being sadly undermanned.

Seems like there is plenty of mindless indivdual criticism going on here, were we all watching the same game?

Tailor - Put in one of his better performances last night. There are better ruckmen in the AFL, but some of his second efforts, tackling and chasing, were excellent. By his current standards that game is as good as its going to get, and if the rest of the team were performing well he would not be scrutinised. If he could only get in position and take a contested mark occassionally nobody would be on his case. He is also being crucified by some bewidering umpiring.

Muston - Plenty of upside in his game, won enough of the ball and seems creative enough, just needs to get more gametime in the big league to sharpen up.

Savage - Not too bad for a first game, did enough.

Shoey - Again, did ok for an inexperienced defender. Seems like he is playing in slowmo at times, somehow manages to just evade the tackles... thought he did a good job for three quarters.

McGlynn - Fantastic game from bmac, delivery brings a lot of his good work undone.

Tuck - Burrowed in as usual, not up to his early season form but i think we should persevere with him.

Renouf - I'm no big fan at the moment, he showed a bit last night though. Needs to improve his marking (like Tails), could be a decent ruckman in the future.

I could go on looking at each player but whats the point, all that everybody seems to notice is the clangers - and there were plenty.

One thing holding back some of the more inexperienced players (and making them look plain substandard) is the team strategy which seems to be all about retaining possession, even at the expense of attack.
There are too many dinky handballs and not enough fast forward play where our forward line can have a chance to win the ball in a one out contest. The footskills of most of the inexperienced players is not precise enough for this gameplan, we dont have 20 Guerras out here...

I would rather see the ball bashed, handballed, booted or headbutted forward and go to an opposition player than handpassed backwards, kicked 10 metres sideways and then handed over in the centre corridor.
Keepings off sure doesnt seem to be working, so where is backup gameplan?

What i see is guys that are more than capable of winning the ball, just the delivery is bringing them unstuck.
Obviously the Kennedy last quarter clanger stands out, but that style of handover happened a number of times after the first quarter. We would win the ball in close, then turn around and handball 2 metres, or kick sideways 10 - 15 metres.
Too much meaningless perpendicular footy, or trying to thread the eye of a needle with handball. Last year we were playing the switch well, it was done swiftly enough to unsettle the defence. Players were getting in position and the passes were 30-50 metres followed by a forward thrust. Whats to be gained with some of this close in stuff, its asking for turnovers, and really looks like suicide to me.

At the moment (due to injuries) we do not have enough forwards capable of kicking goals, and a defence that falls away in the second half to the point where the opposition are queing up free men for pot shots.

Last year we had Williams or Roughead providing the second target, allowing Ossy or Dew to slip under the guard, this year we do not have the luxury. Last year our defence did a remarkable job, though often due to the inability of the opposition to handle our zoning. This year it looks like zoning still has its place, we just need to be able to transition to a different style like one on one when the zone is not working.

This year we seem to be too one dimensional. I would say if we were capable of shutting down a game (in boring Sydney style) with one on one we would have hung on to a few winning positions.

I suspect the coaching staff would want to look at another dimension to the game plan next year. While zoning was great last year, this year it just does not cut it when playing against sides that are capable of transitioning between zones and one on one. And particularly sides with good deep kicking precision.

That is it in a nutshell, we still have the experienced players on the list capable of going all the way, and some of the current crop of newer players will eventually become good footballers.
Our game strategy is going to need to develope, and i'm hoping that with a good preseason - and more exposure to top level AFL - that some of our younger players will be able to maintain the first quarter intensity for a full 100 minutes.

BTW - Whoever thinks Rioli is not playing up to the standard he set last year is crazy. He can be expected to be a little flat for a few rounds after a major hamstring tear, but was probably BOG last night in a losing side.. he is brilliant.

No one at CHF to take a mark.

Morton and Renouf shared that role and considering they're not very experienced at that role I felt that did alright. Although all our forwards were generally outnumbered all night. We had too many players standing within 10 metres of the ball carrier and not enough further forward.