Review Vent thread vs Carlton

Its evident the coaching staff and board are not up to afl level - another lost generation of bulldog players coming to an end and a fan base that excepts mediocrity at every turn - IF U HAVE ANY GUTS BRENDAN RESIGN - u let the worst coach in afl history outcoach u with a bunch of VFLers. Letting Eade go was such a short sighted decision we will pay for this for the next 5 years!

PS IF i hear about "good people" again from the coach in the press conference I"LL PEWK

Changes need to be made in this team, I think Gia and Cross need to retire, just not quick enough for the modern game, and if we're going to play Boyd, Libba and Wallis, then these two need to go.

Djerkkura not up to it, comes on as a sub and is supposed to have "pace" but just either doesn't know how to get to positions properly, or is really slow. Spud.

Vespremi, just no football nous, that push in the back on Collins was just dumb, don't think he will make it.

Pearce and Howard, only young I know, but need to get more development at Willi, just out of their depth at the moment. All for giving young blokes a go, but Howard hasn't done anything for 3 weeks, and Pearce hasn't impressed me in any of his 3 - 4 games yet.

Austin is a battler, I would like the coaching staff to give Roberts or Talia a go, can't be any worse than Austin. We are not going to make finals, and won't win another game this year, so why not give these two a game, along with Panos up forward (or Hill) someone with some nous as a FF, and Johannisen to get some pace into the HB line. Really, the coaching staff have left me a bit mystified with their choices this year, and they should take a look out of Carlton's book and put some debutants in.

At least we will get some early draft picks.

F**k.....We play some of the dumbest football I have ever seen. Please can we stop kicking backwards and stop hand balling to the first team mate we see... Start pre-season now!!!!
It's OK to lose if we tried but please don't kicking backwards. I don't know how many times Carlton did backward kicking. It's so annoying specially shit foot skills.

just to show how DUMB our players are, i reckon if you watch the game again, at least 8 of carltons goals came from our STUPID, STUPID Arse Mistakes gifting the Pricks goals !! Some of our blokes are that dumb that they couldnt organise a Root in a Brothel !

And if its Macca that's instructing our blokes to chip the ball around the back half like timid Chihuahuas, he can shove that game plan right up his arse as far as i am concerned ! It wont hold up in September 0 Take the F**K'n Game on FFS !

I didn't think the umpires were that bad. All I saw was us have a 25 point lead and throw it away in the second half, barely giving a yelp.

what game were you watching ffs! The umpiring was the worst i have seen in any game for the last several years, the frees that were paid are never paid in any other game and were only paid against us, destroyed our lead and any momentum we had. From the 1st qrtr the umpires tried to get them back in it.
Cant blame the boys for dropping their heads.

Its evident the coaching staff and board are not up to afl level - another lost generation of bulldog players coming to an end and a fan base that excepts mediocrity at every turn - IF U HAVE ANY GUTS BRENDAN RESIGN - u let the worst coach in afl history outcoach u with a bunch of VFLers. Letting Eade go was such a short sighted decision we will pay for this for the next 5 years!
Peter Rhode says to say hi,hope all is well. Your talking about a person who has to teach them to play football the right way so we are being told.l liked it better when we played it the wrong way and actually won games

what game were you watching ffs! The umpiring was the worst i have seen in any game for the last several years, the frees that were paid are never paid in any other game and were only paid against us, destroyed our lead and any momentum we had. From the 1st qrtr the umpires tried to get them back in it.

Sharkey, the umps might have been bad, but dont blaim them for our blokes stupidity ! We have no one else to blamebut ourselves for losing the game ! Stupid, Stupid play cost us at least 8 goals !

Peter Rhode says to say hi,hope all is well. Your talking about a person who has to teach them to play football the right way so we are being told.l liked it better when we played it the wrong way and actually won games

do u think we would be at this stage in our development if eade was at the helm? NO BLODDY WAY we would be light years ahead! some of our spuds would be playing football instead of second guessing what to do, where to kick. when to kick.

I'm starting to think our decision-making is even worse than our skills. And our skills are pretty bloody awful.

Looking for positives. Hmmm.... Williams is showing potential in the Forward line. And Howard came back somewhat from last week.

Umps were equally bad for both teams. What lost it was our complete lack of forward structure after half time. Carbon copy of last week. I'm convinced we're tanking. Which I'm happy with.

I'll be Devil's Advocate. I didn't want the loss but I was pleased with what I saw for a good part of the game. Not sure what Chicago heard ("no heart") but I didn't see it like that. Our young players were simply out on their feet at the end (yes I know Carlton had some young players too). We also lost our most creative forward in Higgins for virtually the whole 2nd half.

Maybe my expectations are low but there were some good signs. Wallis is fantastic in close, nearly always finds a target in more space. Liber is progressing really well too. Howard showed a bit and I loved his mark backing into a stampede (take note, Paul Bower). Tutt has the outside run that we have been missing and will get better with games. Pearce showed a bit but faded in the 2nd half. Dahl was really good around goals (not so much upfield). I'd like him to stay forward. Grant didn't get heaps of it but if he kicks 2 every week I'll be happy, and he surprised a few with his pace. Williams is without a doubt the best option we've tried as a KPF this year.

There will be plenty said about the umpiring but we should also recognise that Carlton pulled some amazing goals out of their backside. They kicked 16-6 to our 12-12. If we'd been able to jag a few like they did we would have won. They also got about 3 goals on the swift break - we'll no doubt learn a lot about manning up from that.

Would have loved a win against the blues but in the long run I think I'll enjoy picks 5 & 6 in the draft better. Port should finish above us for sure, now.

I'm starting to think our decision-making is even worse than our skills. And our skills are pretty bloody awful.

Looking for positives. Hmmm.... Williams is showing potential in the Forward line. And Howard came back somewhat from last week.

Yes - Djukurra tonight made Howard Look like an Elite Footballer ! Honestly Had no idea tonight - Couldnt tackle, just like a duck out of water.....Shocking !

Now that i have settled down, i was impressed with wallis, libba, tutt , Minson, Big Tom Williams, Cordy in stages, Dalhaus, pearce, Picken, and even Howard too believe it or not !

Griffin, Murphy in stages, Boyd, Gilbee, Even Lake were absolute Poo in crucial moments tonight !

I am absolutely furious about tonight.

It's a stereotypical Bulldogs loss: the better side all night, more scoring shots, should have put them away easily, yet somehow we are able to grind out a close loss through missed chances and infuriating skill errors.

We gifted them at least 4 goals out of sheer stupidity.

Our approach in the 3rd quarter was un****ingbelievably excruciating. All those kicks backwards and piss farting around with the ball just played right into their hands.

It pains me to say it because I love him to pieces, but it was Murphy's mistake in the 3rd that cost us the most. For a senior player, and one who is so good by foot, is just not good enough.

There were some good signs to come out of the match - I thought Williams was terrific, Dahlhaus, Lake, Wallis, Libba were all excellent as well, but losses like these are just so galling and time and again the club dishes it out.

Bloody hell.

Oh, and before I forget, tonight's umpiring was an absolute, unmitigated disgrace.

I am absolutely furious about tonight.

It's a stereotypical Bulldogs loss: the better side all night, more scoring shots, should have put them away easily, yet somehow we are able to grind out a close loss through missed chances and infuriating skill errors.

We gifted them at least 4 goals out of sheer stupidity.

Our approach in the 3rd quarter was un****ingbelievably excruciating. All those kicks backwards and piss farting around with the ball just played right into their hands.

It pains me to say it because I love him to pieces, but it was Murphy's mistake in the 3rd that cost us the most. For a senior player, and one who is so good by foot, is just not good enough.

There were some good signs to come out of the match - I thought Williams was terrific, Dahlhaus, Lake, Wallis, Libba were all excellent as well, but losses like these are just so galling and time and again the club dishes it out.

Bloody hell.

Oh, and before I forget, tonight's umpiring was an absolute, unmitigated disgrace.

Mate, everything you said i totally agree with ! Accept i think we gifted the bastards more like 8 goals out of sheer stupidity , not 4 !

I'm usually the first the bag the umpires but I just don't think they were the reason we lost tonight.

You get the feeling sometimes our purpose in the League is to make up the numbers...we just lack the capacity at any level to make impact. Our crowd numbers drop off dramatically, our competitiveness has plummeted amazingly in eighteen months, we are weirdly low profile and we are now in the strange situation where our neophyte coach seems to be held in more respect by the footy world than he could possibly warrant. He has escaped scrutiny and the attitude seems to be we should be grateful we have got 'Macca'.

Aren't narrow losses (without tanking) what we want in a year when we have 2 first round picks? Unless we were to win EVERY game for the rest of the year, no win from about Round 14 on was ever going to do us any good. Collingwood somehow managed to lose just about every game in the 2nd half of the year when they drafted Pendles and Thomas and they've done OK since then.

I'm sure if we'd won tonight there would be people here spitting chips about how we've just stuffed up our best chance in years to draft well.

Admittedly, we will probably lose every game left. But simply for team and supporter morale, we needed a win. Piss poor crowd again shows EVERYONE we are in the shit. Another loss to a poor team (through injury/suspension) means we have taken another step back. So I'm just gonna say it, obviously we aren't going to win, so why not throw the kids out there and see what's on offer?!?! Cordy isn't up for the role he's been asked to do, after so many chances TRY Panos! Give JJ a run in place of Howard who could do with a spell at Willi, play the future and make the older players EARN their spot again instead of taking it for granted. The line needs to be drawn already, didn't expect success this season but ****, not this type of footy

I have Port finishing on 7 wins, us on 5 and Melb on 4. Need melbourne to jag a surprise win although a % differential of 6 a bit of a problem which would be higher after tonight's game. We either need Melb to spank some sides or get badly spanked ourselves, the latter of which is certainly possible.

1. Grundy (GWS)
2. Whitfield (GC)
3. Toumpas (WB)
4. Stringer (WB) after bidding on Viney.

Aren't narrow losses (without tanking) what we want in a year when we have 2 first round picks? Unless we were to win EVERY game for the rest of the year, no win from about Round 14 on was ever going to do us any good. Collingwood somehow managed to lose just about every game in the 2nd half of the year when they drafted Pendles and Thomas and they've done OK since then.

I'm sure if we'd won tonight there would be people here spitting chips about how we've just stuffed up our best chance in years to draft well.

Sorry, but when the siren goes and we are not in front, I am not able to comfort myself by thinking how well the loss may have placed us for the draft.

The club has a big enough losing culture as it is.

I have Port finishing on 7 wins, us on 5 and Melb on 4. Need melbourne to jag a surprise win although a % differential of 6 a bit of a problem which would be higher after tonight's game. We either need Melb to spank some sides or get badly spanked ourselves, the latter of which is certainly possible.

1. Grundy (GWS)
2. Whitfield (GC)
3. Toumpas (WB)
4. Stringer (WB) after bidding on Viney.
As nice as it would be, it won't happen. We'll get 5 & 6.

Review Vent thread vs Carlton

Write your reply...