Review Vent thread vs Carlton

That's interesting, some would say that calling for a coach who has been in charge for half a season to resign short sighted.

I disagree with this. It is not as if Macca has carried all before him and that he has made every post a winner. Who here really knows whether he is a talented coach or not? It strikes me that the Doggies took a punt, threw the dice when hiring him. Sure he was part of the recent Geelong dynasty but so what, he was one of around ten assistants (and there are some who claim, based on talent, that that Geelong team slightly underachieved). All I know is the team looks terrible, from any angle, taking every limitation into account we look awful, and worse each week. I keep thinking maybe Macca's ability isn't worth waiting a couple of years for, maybe he is as poor a coach as he appears and the risk/punt has failed. When do we call time on it? I've said previously it is a shame that we can't kick him down to Williamstown and promote another coach to see if they can wring any improvement out of our list. I just hate with the coach how once chosen it is do or die with them, with virtually no other options.

I'm sick of hearing rubbish like this. They just need time to develop...how much time exactly? Three years? Look at Geelong on Friday night, they had 9 players with less than 50 games that's almost half the team and they played like a top 4 side. They have also had 11 debutants this year which is more than any other side bar GWS. So it's clear Geelong doesn't need time to develop so why do we?..Look at teams like Collingwood, Adelaide, Sydney how is it their first and second year players come in and play real solid footy.....they do this because it's expected of them, they play in teams that have winning cultures. We don't have a winning culture so it's ok to play mediocre footy have someone pat you on the back and tell you all will be fine after you play 50 games....what a load of crap!
And I'm getting sick of reading self-loathing, defeatist crap like this.

Geelong were shit for ages and spent about 5 years building a premiership team from the ground up. They recruited well and got a bonus of heaps of f/s gimmes. They didn't top up with stupid trades like Sherman. They still have many of their star players left so now is a great time to bring in their young draftees. Of course they are going to play better than us who have only about 4-5 genuinely good players left (if that) and no other legacy from the Eade years. Where do you think the huge gap of 23-28 year olds came from?

So we decide in late 2011 that we too want to build a great team like Geelong. We go and get one of the key architects of that side and some supporters expect it all to happen overnight. It took YEARS for it all to come together, FFS. There's no guarantee it will end up the same for us but there IS a guarantee it won't happen overnight.

I agree we need a winning culture. All clubs do. So what was it we had when we were finishing top 4 and played PFs three years in a row and were belting the likes of Sydney, Adelaide, Essendon, etc? ... a losing culture? Give us a break.

I can understand the frustration and it's great to vent, but we were always going to be crap this year as nearly everyone here agrees (and they predicted in the time capsule). Sorry but this is what being a bottom end team looks like. It's not pretty but you just have to suck it up until after the draft.

It's not worse than the aimless Rohde years and with a bit of luck and continued support from fans it will end up better than the Eade years.

I'm sick of hearing rubbish like this. They just need time to develop...how much time exactly? Three years? Look at Geelong on Friday night, they had 9 players with less than 50 games that's almost half the team and they played like a top 4 side. They have also had 11 debutants this year which is more than any other side bar GWS. So it's clear Geelong doesn't need time to develop so why do we?..Look at teams like Collingwood, Adelaide, Sydney how is it their first and second year players come in and play real solid footy.....they do this because it's expected of them, they play in teams that have winning cultures. We don't have a winning culture so it's ok to play mediocre footy have someone pat you on the back and tell you all will be fine after you play 50 games....what a load of crap!

Dogwatch makes some excellent points above. Don't compare our team to Geelong, Collingwood, and West Coast today - they are all going through their SECOND phase of development (when they already have a bunch of champions in the team, and they are having a mini-rebuild around them.) Much easier for kids to perform in that environment than in a FIRST phase of development, when you're building from the ground up. The direct comparison to us now is Geelong and West Coast in 2000-2003 and Collingwood in 2004.

But also - you know what Collingwood, Adelaide, Sydney, West Coast and Geelong have that we don't? Heaps of recruiters and development coaches. The cost of being a poor club is it takes longer to develop your players. I'm not saying we throw up our hands and give up. We need to get better and smarter, and make our dollars go further. But to put youth development down to "they do this because it's expected of them" is hopelessly naive. Footy moved past those kinds of explanations about 20 years ago. That's the kind of attitude Richmond and Carlton used to have. It doesn't work.

Can't believe we lost that. No doubt in my mind we were the better team but we missed our opportunities, they took theirs and won the game. They weren't easy shots that we were missing but ones you need to get if you want to win the game.

A lot more positives came out of this game than the past 4 or 5 losses combined. Wallis and Libba were great again (although I reckon Libba throws it more than he handballs it haha :))

Biggest positive I thought was Jarrad Grant. Had a lot of chase down tackles which were brilliant, liked his game a lot. Biggest negative was that Carlton fan that jumped the fence and was going at Lukey D. What a complete tosser. Security guard was brilliant though, kudos!

I was at the game and impressed with grant and vez. Both chased and tackled hard. There was a few times where vez ran 70m to make a good spoil on betts. Grant was looking quick and sharp. Think he's Got a lot to offer us over the next 5 years. Disappointed with the loss of course, but we have had the equivalent as a loss of a Chris Judd player for us for the last two years
Thought it was mostly experience and run and carry which let us down. People saying that the team has no heart and doesn't try hard enough and has a losing culture. Firstly you have a shit supporting culture. And secondly **** you. When was the last time you were an afl footballer? Spend some time at the club and see if they don't give there all to it first hand before making shit statements about people like that.

also Thought Higgins was superb in the first Half before he got subbed off

I think of myself as a measured but passionate supporter who is not one eyed. I never bag one player if they don't deserve it like some people do to Gia, Higgins etc. I like to think i can notice the little things players do or dont do that most people won't... So without further adieu....

I seriously can't remember a time where i was so f*cking disgusted with our effort, skills, game plan and all the rest. It may be the fact that i was sitting with my mates who are Carlton supporters and never go to games or that i bet a fair amount of cash (which i would never do) for us to win which would have returned a very very nice sum.

The excuses we have all used "we are young and need time to develop" does not hold up tonight. We played a disgrace of a team. Our talented young players could not beat a bunch of hacks. I dont mind losing to other experienced teams but Carlton were made up of no hoper players with no futures bar the obvious few. Our young talented players hide behind that excuse too much and i'm just about sick of it. When will one of our young talented players own a game. Yeah some will do some good things here and there but we should demand and expect more. Far too often we accept someone doing a few good things a game and say we are happy.

Murphy & Lake: I feel for these two, they are so far superior than the rest of our team right now i wish to trade them to a top team so they can experience a premiership, because they bloody deserve it. Week in week out they put in and are our best players. I could see it in Lake that he wanted to win this game so badly. He went forward for at the end of the game at one stage, he WANTED to mark the ball and win it for us. Then jogged back like was never allowed to be forward in the first place. And Murphy got double screened when defending Betts on boundary throw ins, yet who ever was on the 2 carlton players blocking murphy never went to Betts. Thats a disgrace.

Picken: Much like the above 2 he deserves a lot more. Picken gets pounded from the opposition every week trying to stop his tag yet no one backs him up.

Wallis & Libba: Yes they played well tonight, they are still young blah blah blah. Will they ever win us a game? They are going to be our star players of the future getting 26 touches a game. Having 2 players in our main midfield future rotation that will never win us a game is not a good idea. I know its harsh but its putting a lot of pressure on our recruiting of outside mids. One recruiting istake could cost us another 10+ years of no ultimate success.

Cordy: NO exuses for his shit game tonight. He played on someone just as young and got smashed. Watson killed him when he went to Cordy after 1st qtr. Good move by Ratten. He is the tallest guy on the field yet doesn't jump and doesn't extend his arms to mark. He is so slow, what athleticsm did he have like we were told.

Cross: I've read previous posts saying how shit he was, well if you said that you have shit for brains. He was damn good compared to most others. Yes he is slow and loops his kicks but he is almost 30 and we rely on his defensive and courageous efforts, this says mroe about our young players than it does him. If our others players had half his effort i wouldnt be writing this post.

Minson: Shit game. 300 hitouts and 5 to our advantage. He should have dominated against a first gamer, putting his knee in the ribs from the first bounce. I've played ruck and its one thing to win the hit out but placing it is a different story, maybe its our mids not calling or running into position but it probably cost us the game. And why didn't Minson play forward? At least when resting. He monstered them in the NAB cub, he is a mismatch for Jamison and especially Bower, bad coaching to not even try.

Grant: Waste of a f*cking draft pick. Those of you who say he layed 2 good tackles and kicked a nice goal and are happy with that are a joke. Wooped di do, he did 3 good things for the whole game, where was he for the rest?

Pearce: A fair way to go, i liked his aggression, something i havent seen from him before.

Tutt: Not good enough. Far too often we get misled by 1 good game. This is another case. happy to persist but we should lower our expectations of him

Vez: I've been a big fan of his. Dominated by Collins ffs, fitness is a massive worry. Possibly forgive if he was hurt.

Williams: Too many 1 handed marking attempts. But i'm very suprised by his leading, but he needs to grab CHF and own it. I dont think he will ever do that if he couldn't tonight. Bower is a disgrace of a footballer, he should have kicked 5 goals. He doesn't take pack marks, Jones would have

Gilbee, Howard, DJ: Crap

Griffen: Dissappointing. He was in for a big game at qtr time then went missing as he does far too often, i know accept Deledio is better :(

Our selections: Why are we resting everyone all the time? Are we a bunch of soft c*cks. If they can't handle playing 5,6,7 games in a row then we have drafted the wrong players. So many other young talent in the league can. Playing rucks perma forwards doesn't work, how many times do we have to say it. Dickson, was he really injured? I'm questioning that because we never know, why aren't we told when players go missing, it seems so secretive, its happened all year and for no reason.

Supporters:F*ck our supporters for not turning up no matter how shit we play, as you can tell im disgusted but i will still go to games. There must have been abuot 10k dogs supportters there. Last Friday i went to the North/Carlton game, North home game and they got i think 45k. I hope everyone realises what that means.
And F*ck Crrlton supportrs for not turning up too.

Misc:The umpires were bad for both teams so you can't blame them at all.
We are sooo slow.
F*ck ticketmaster for saying there weren't 6 seats in level 2 over 2 weeks ago.
Ratten beat us by switching to a small forward line after half time, maybe we should do the same.
I dont doubt all the players tried hard and gave their best, obviously their best is no where near good enough.

I always offer a solution when i post but no matter what bullshit i can spin there is none. So we have no choice but to play ALL the kids. We have hit the bottom we cant do any worse.

Before year end i demand to see Roberts, Panos, JJ, Hill get multiple games

There it is, the worst vent of my big footy life.

I watched the game on TV and saw two pretty shit teams playing a pretty fierce contest, and the less shit / more proactive team triumphed through better set ups and more intelligent play. Was their effort really as disgraceful as you all say? I just didn't see the game that way... We were pretty woeful, and less organised than I have ever seen us, and we are clearly playing dumb, passive football. But I thought the effort was good. We are clearly in a terrible state of mental malaise and that needs to rest with the coach. I don't think we wanted it an less than Carlton, we just aren't in the right frame of mind and aren't set up to beat anyone at the moment. Didn't see many moves from Macca - did we change anything around over the entire night?

Was at the game and saw things differently from some on here.

Umpires had no influence on the result - the mistakes were all ours.

I thought Minson had a poor game. ( for the second week in a row). Playing against a first game rookie he should have dominated. Instead he sent the vast majority of his hit outs to opponents. Why?

Zero goals from Cordy - against an under manned defense he had to show more. We have played most of the eligible players on the list, why not Panos or Hill. Are we worried we might upset a functioning forward line?

DJ was awful. Slow and prone to falling over. Times up.

Cross did take some good marks and did some good things but fumbled more than I have seen. Not just Cross, but no one seemed capable of stepping up and dominating. I hoped for more from him.

Gilbee is finished. Great service over the journey but times up. Play youth.

Grant showed a new attitude. The time out of the firsts might have helped - time will tell.

Our skill level is pathetic. If being slow and missing targets by 10 metres gets you a game with the Dogs I should have played 300. Seriously it was nowhere near AFL standard. I want some ackknowledgement from the club that they are working on this. I understand they are getting good people to the club I have received that message. I just need assurance they have recognized other deficiencies too. ( I was lucky enough to get a ticket to the Presidents dinner last night - main message from David Smorgan is that losing is unacceptable and we are getting back to basics.)

Did we really play DJ at CHF for the last Q? Then kick the ball high to him? Laughable. I have said in another post we must stop recruiting under 180 cms guys unless they have exceptional talent. I stand by this.

And finally please stop the chip chip chip rubbish. With a skill level like ours the more times you handle the ball the more likely (probable) it is that a skill error will occur. Also our forwards struggle to win one on one contests so what exactly is to be gained by letting the opposition get even more people in the area?

The main problem is now that I have absolutely no confidence in this Club's ability to even select the right players at the 2012 Draft.
We need good coaches and good proven recruiters otherwise we are finished.
Why pick an inexperienced coach to rebuild a team? Absolutely ridiculous. It would have been much better to keep Eade. That Carlton team was almost a VFL side and we got smashed in the second half and completely outcoached. Worst loss of the year.
I would be so happy if I was wrong and forced to eat my words, but at this stage I don't think this will be an issue.

We need to drop ayce. His had his run. My biggest frustration with ayce is that he constantly try's to mark it on his chest despite having super long arms. If he stuck his arms out more he would take a lot more
Grabs. Time to bring in Jones/panos/hill/roughy for him.

I'm loving Williams up forward. He leads so well and most of his one arm attempts were simply because he was being held.
Vez I would like to see in the forward line. Would surely be a better option the Dj up there.

Being a massive Gia fan I hate to say it but for the good of the club I think he, cross, shaggy & Gilbee should all go at years end. We ain't winning games with them in the side so we may aswell get smashed with younger players in there who can develop and be part of our next tilt.

I fear what the saints will do to us next week.

We need to drop ayce. His had his run. My biggest frustration with ayce is that he constantly try's to mark it on his chest despite having super long arms. If he stuck his arms out more he would take a lot more
Grabs. Time to bring in Jones/panos/hill/roughy for him.

I'm loving Williams up forward. He leads so well and most of his one arm attempts were simply because he was being held.
Vez I would like to see in the forward line. Would surely be a better option the Dj up there.

Being a massive Gia fan I hate to say it but for the good of the club I think he, cross, shaggy & Gilbee should all go at years end. We ain't winning games with them in the side so we may aswell get smashed with younger players in there who can develop and be part of our next tilt.

I fear what the saints will do to us next week.

I think you are correct that Ayce has had a good run....but to be honest rightly so. We need to get games into these kids as quick as possible. He has a lot of things to learn of course he does, he's mile away as we speak but this is about development and we need to see the forest through the trees....it's hard but it is the only way.

I doubt and hope not that we'll lose all our experience in one year; we are now a very inexperienced team in games played. Gia is contracted and I think Cross also for next year. Can't just throw all that away. Natural turnover will see 1 or 2 go at year’s end anyway. Think Melbourne and what happened to them. Gilbee was really good last night in my book.

I want to see Panos get a go also and Hill. Jones and Roughy have also had opportunity this year and need more games too....I also like Williams as forward, but longer term it’s not likely to be the answer, but at least it’s being tried and who knows huh.

I don't think DJ is the answer. I admire his guts and determination but no. Vez was ok last night another that needs games.

Saints will probably be too good, but I'm no longer worried about the results now, I wasn't last night. I was looking at the players as individuals and watching the little things they do from time to time....that in a year or so, they will do those things more often and then we can again worry about the scoreboard again.

Guys....we need to once again be patient as hard and as unfair as it seems.

once again, what a bunch of weak, submissive soft **** puppies with no mental strength.

Oh well, at least Port are above us

shitful second half ! To let those bastards back in the game was pitiful !

Gimmie goals missed - Griffin, Higgins - Mentally soft ! Higgins could have put the game out of their reach with that miss right on half time ! Missed of course

Second Half - Coach tells our blokes to chip the ball around like a bunch of weak submissive players ( Murphy turns it over - Carlton Goal ) To think we cant even do this correct with no pressure on us when chipping it around ( TAKE THE GAME ON YOU WEAK BASTARDS !

Griffin - Absolute waste of talent - Went to sleep after 1/4 time and did nothing - Should have absolutely DOMINATED this game !

other than a few youngsters , Minson and Dalhaus, Hang your heads in shame for letting this turd of a side beat us at half strength ! Shame !

Bunch of losers ! ( I am so angry right now )
We need a Dislike button for shit posts like this:rolleyes:

I think you are correct that Ayce has had a good run....but to be honest rightly so. We need to get games into these kids as quick as possible. He has a lot of things to learn of course he does, he's mile away as we speak but this is about development and we need to see the forest through the trees....it's hard but it is the only way.

I doubt and hope not that we'll lose all our experience in one year; we are now a very inexperienced team in games played. Gia is contracted and I think Cross also for next year. Can't just throw all that away. Natural turnover will see 1 or 2 go at year’s end anyway. Think Melbourne and what happened to them. Gilbee was really good last night in my book.

I want to see Panos get a go also and Hill. Jones and Roughy have also had opportunity this year and need more games too....I also like Williams as forward, but longer term it’s not likely to be the answer, but at least it’s being tried and who knows huh.

I don't think DJ is the answer. I admire his guts and determination but no. Vez was ok last night another that needs games.

Saints will probably be too good, but I'm no longer worried about the results now, I wasn't last night. I was looking at the players as individuals and watching the little things they do from time to time....that in a year or so, they will do those things more often and then we can again worry about the scoreboard again.

Guys....we need to once again be patient as hard and as unfair as it seems.

So, we're playing a guy (Cordy) who's either clearly not up to it, or playing him completely out of position "just because". Nothing personal, but I can't stand this turd-polishing attitude. We're rewarding a guy who is playing absolutely awfully by ensuring he's untouchable at the selection table, when there are clearly better alternatives. This will not help the side long-term.

Also, to the Cross bashers: yes, he's slow, he can't kick, etc. (though he's not alone), he seems to be about the only player on the team that will run and provide an option once we get into the chippy backwards kicking bullshit. Not to mention making an effort to run back and help the defense.

once again, what a bunch of weak, submissive soft **** puppies with no mental strength.

Oh well, at least Port are above us

shitful second half ! To let those bastards back in the game was pitiful !

Gimmie goals missed - Griffin, Higgins - Mentally soft ! Higgins could have put the game out of their reach with that miss right on half time ! Missed of course

Second Half - Coach tells our blokes to chip the ball around like a bunch of weak submissive players ( Murphy turns it over - Carlton Goal ) To think we cant even do this correct with no pressure on us when chipping it around ( TAKE THE GAME ON YOU WEAK BASTARDS !

Griffin - Absolute waste of talent - Went to sleep after 1/4 time and did nothing - Should have absolutely DOMINATED this game !

other than a few youngsters , Minson and Dalhaus, Hang your heads in shame for letting this turd of a side beat us at half strength ! Shame !

Bunch of losers ! ( I am so angry right now )

Agree!!!!!

However, commentators get carried away with stats..... chip chip chip...... thats why our midfield rack up useless stats.

When Dahhl got it in the middle of the ground and carried the ball with leg speed, then kicked inside 50 into space, we took a chest Mark on the lead.

If cross or boyd had of got the ball in the same spot as dahl, they would of went sidewards, backwards, double flip with a hand stand or a cart wheel.... but they would of had 10 stats each i so on the stat sheet they have starred.

Still have the worst half backline in league, even with Hargrave gone which helped, but Pearce is miles off it, Gilbee is finished as an AFL player, Ves and Howard are slow developing and Murphy has made more howlers this year than last 4 years combined, Minson led our rebound 50's tonight, WILL ****IN MINSON.

How the hell do you have 40 hitouts extra and only marginally win the clearances, our best and most damaging midfielder had the grand total of 0 clearances for the night.

DJ has played his last game of AFL.

Always enjoy the Hargrave attacks. Not that he would have been a great option to play on Betts or anything.

Murphy is making shocking turnovers because we're completely reliant on him making the play from the backline. I haven't checked the stats, but I imagine his efficiency is still elite for the year. Great year carrying this putrid side - absolutely forgiven for any stuff ups.

Wasn't too disappointed this week, a closs loss helps us for end of year with draft picks.

Good to see Tutt play a full game and Williams looks in good nick, also Grant back in is a plus. Wallis an Libba both continue to improve.

Can't for the life of me understand how people thought Murphy played well, Betts carved him up and won the game for Carlton.

Read the paper this morning and McCartney is on again about contested football, the more I hear from him the less I Like.

Surely he must realize the chip and stop stuff and resulting turnovers killed us in the second half, that and Carlton's outside run.

I would love to see Jones playing next week and bring in one or two youngsters, not much use playing blokes that won't be there next year.

As I said two weeks ago better to go watch local footy, Altona Vs Spoti was a cracker yesterday, than get frustrated watching this group of Dogs play.

Personally I don't believe McCartney will see out his contract, by this time next year the club will be forced to make a change and admit they got sucked in by his ability to talk the talk. He is just out of his depth when actually coaching match day.

I disagree with 80% of the comments posted so far. This is a vent thread but please, it's barely worth reading such utter schite.

It was a dissappountnig loss but here's what I'm happy with..
Grant - best game for the year in my book. I agree tk he's added a few kilos for sure.
Libba and wallis - our next engine room.
Pearce and tutt - good run and carry at times, just what we need.
Vez - I know Collins kicked 3 but I thought he was ok. I'd give him another year, which I can't say for dj.
Williams - second game back. Can we have him at CHB, drop Austin (ok depth player but has ni impact aside from spoiling and fumbles far too much) and bring back jones or roughy next week. Williams is not a long term fix up forward IMO.
Cordy - showed some good signs again. With more games, stronger body, better delivery and some quick small forwards that stay on their feet, he'll have a bigger impact.
Another game into 11 more players under 50 games, 8 or 9 of who will play in our next finals team. But it's a while away so settle in and save us the unthouthful rants.

I disagree with 80% of the comments posted so far. This is a vent thread but please, it's barely worth reading such utter schite.

It was a dissappountnig loss but here's what I'm happy with..
Grant - best game for the year in my book. I agree tk he's added a few kilos for sure.
Libba and wallis - our next engine room.
Pearce and tutt - good run and carry at times, just what we need.
Vez - I know Collins kicked 3 but I thought he was ok. I'd give him another year, which I can't say for dj.
Williams - second game back. Can we have him at CHB, drop Austin (ok depth player but has ni impact aside from spoiling and fumbles far too much) and bring back jones or roughy next week. Williams is not a long term fix up forward IMO.
Cordy - showed some good signs again. With more games, stronger body, better delivery and some quick small forwards that stay on their feet, he'll have a bigger impact.
Another game into 11 more players under 50 games, 8 or 9 of who will play in our next finals team. But it's a while away so settle in and save us the unthouthful rants.

Agreed there were plenty of good signs, we controlled most of the game just couldn't finish it off. Not too mad about last night.

Wallis & Libba: Yes they played well tonight, they are still young blah blah blah. Will they ever win us a game? They are going to be our star players of the future getting 26 touches a game. Having 2 players in our main midfield future rotation that will never win us a game is not a good idea. I know its harsh but its putting a lot of pressure on our recruiting of outside mids. One recruiting istake could cost us another 10+ years of no ultimate success.

Grant: Waste of a f*cking draft pick. Those of you who say he layed 2 good tackles and kicked a nice goal and are happy with that are a joke. Wooped di do, he did 3 good things for the whole game, where was he for the rest?

Williams: Too many 1 handed marking attempts. But i'm very suprised by his leading, but he needs to grab CHF and own it. I dont think he will ever do that if he couldn't tonight. Bower is a disgrace of a footballer, he should have kicked 5 goals. He doesn't take pack marks, Jones would have
s better :(

There it is, the worst vent of my big footy life.

not a bad vent.

Wallis and Libba are 2nd year players who are the only thing stopping our midfield from being the worst in the league. Imagine for a second who would be playing if they werent. :eek: They are ball winners and distributers, they just need more class to distribute the ball to. At the moment we have Boyd, Cross, Wallis and Libba distributing the ball to each other. Not a good recipe.

Grant: 18 disposals @ 83%, 8 marks and 4 shots on goal. A number of significant pressure acts and tackles. That backs up a fair level of involvement in the game and thats what I saw at least. This is a guy who is really quick, and has the ability to win contests. A waste of a draft pick to date, but maybe , just maybe Macca can turn him around.

Williams. A couple of games back from a long layoff in a position he has hardly any experience in, I think he can improve on that performance.

So, we're playing a guy (Cordy) who's either clearly not up to it, or playing him completely out of position "just because". Nothing personal, but I can't stand this turd-polishing attitude. We're rewarding a guy who is playing absolutely awfully by ensuring he's untouchable at the selection table, when there are clearly better alternatives. This will not help the side long-term.

If you can't see the signs in Cordy even from yesterday I seriously doubt your observation skills, he is only slowing glimpses now, 2-3 years time there will some serious egg on face when Cordy is a class player, and for the record he is being played in position as he is a forward and not a ruckman, the sooner people realise that the better, he is essentially a 1st/2nd year player given his injuries and the time it took to build a body, he needs time.

The umpiring was the worst i have seen in any game for the last several years, the frees that were paid are never paid in any other game and were only paid against us, destroyed our lead and any momentum we had.

Won't say it was the worst I've seen, but we definitely got a good run.

In fact I'd say you guys were on the end of a "square up" game from the umps. Carlton has been getting absolutely reamed by the umpires since our players tweeted about them, and it was no secret that the fans and the club have been fuming about it. Maybe it's a bit tin-foil-hat, but it seemed like they were going out of their way to look after us this time around.

Grant will be an excellent player for us in time.He might take a Jay Schulz eternity, or things will click under Mac very quickly. We need t persist because he has the tools, is making a huge physical effort to improve and openly acknowledges he needs to get his head screwed on right and work hard to stay in the contest.

After reading this i actually feel sorry for the kids we draft next year if they don't make an impact straight away for all the bagging our young kids cop is ridiculous! FFS we are rebuilding and this it's going to be tough for a couple years but personally in my whole time of supporting this club have i seen the young talent we are displaying!

We have 3 kids running a muck out there in their 2nd year yet they cop s*** from people on this forum? Saying they're not up to it and what not have a look at this article yesterday and compare where a superstar like Sam Mitchell was in his 2nd season and where one of our young guns Mitch Wallis is

https://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/142162/default.aspx

People need to get off these kids backs and look at the upside of how much an impact they are already making!

Review Vent thread vs Carlton