Cyclops

IOM Gyms, Preston Nth End
I feel very confident abou the game coming up against Melbourne. I think this team is ready to flex a bit of muscle and crush a top 8 opponent. I know we shellacked Geelong but there was something unreal about that game, it was NQR. I think this time we will take the varnish off our enemies for real.

I think we have matched up well against Melbourne in years past: even in our terrible 2005 season they only snuck past us in the last quarter. I understand they've injected some grunt into the midfield but its young grunt, and we still have the usual punishers. Tarrant, Rocca and T Cloke will terrorize the backs, and our bewildering array of midfield options will bamboozle them in the middle. There's no stars there for them to snuff out, no lock for them to pick, no keystone to punch out and bring our house down, just an endless supply of competent team players who give nothing away. Even Didak is playing unselfish footy.

I know Melbourne have the skills to beat good sides and they desevre respect for their performances this season. I just feel we can upset their applecart big time.

Cyclops said:
I feel very confident abou the game coming up against Melbourne. I think this team is ready to flex a bit of muscle and crush a top 8 opponent. I know we shellacked Geelong but there was something unreal about that game, it was NQR. I think this time we will take the varnish off our enemies for real.

I think we have matched up well against Melbourne in years past: even in our terrible 2005 season they only snuck past us in the last quarter. I understand they've injected some grunt into the midfield but its young grunt, and we still have the usual punishers. Tarrant, Rocca and T Cloke will terrorize the backs, and our bewildering array of midfield options will bamboozle them in the middle. There's no stars there for them to snuff out, no lock for them to pick, no keystone to punch out and bring our house down, just an endless supply of competent team players who give nothing away. Even Didak is playing unselfish footy.

I know Melbourne have the skills to beat good sides and they desevre respect for their performances this season. I just feel we can upset their applecart big time.
bulldogs and the lions?
the team has already been tested and they passed with flying colours? we have a few injuries this time around but i think we should be able to cover there loses! Swan and holland a both crucial to our midfield rotations but as we proved last week we dont need depth to win!

Cyclops said:

Fair enough. But we did a bit more than sneak past you last year.
Plus you have a very even midfield, but I think we have enough grunt to get it out to our classier players and without Holland and Swan your midfield is down a bit.

No need to panic Pies by plenty..............:thumbsu: These Melbourne idiots can talk up there midfeild as much as they want, the fact is midfeild's don't kick goals to win games of football...........Forwards kick you winning scores.......and we've got plenty........:thumbsu:

Funnily enough I feel equally as confident about the Demons chances this week.

This is what football at the G is all about, and I hate you Collingwood losers, and I will let you know about it on Monday - but god damn it I reckon we're going to be in for one hell of a game.

Over the last 8 years it's 5-3 in our favour, so it's been pretty close between the sides historically.

Our midfield grunt will match yours this year, hell, it did last year and it's got better. And our classy midfielders are on a totally different level to yours. Your forwards would slightly pip ours for effectiveness this year, but ours have more "wtf" factor and ability to turn games. Your defense won't generate as much run as not a single one of our forwards can be given space.

Prediction: Dees by 30.

rick James said:

This is what football at the G is all about, and I hate you Collingwood losers, and I will let you know about it on Monday - but god damn it I reckon we're going to be in for one hell of a game.

Over the last 8 years it's 5-3 in our favour, so it's been pretty close between the sides historically.

Our midfield grunt will match yours this year, hell, it did last year and it's got better. And our classy midfielders are on a totally different level to yours. Your forwards would slightly pip ours for effectiveness this year, but ours have more "wtf" factor and ability to turn games. Your defense won't generate as much run as not a single one of our forwards can be given space.

JESES CHRIST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MACDAICOS said:

It will be tight

Dees have some very nice young players.

Pies possible have more scoring options. Nietz must be shut down.

SingaporeSling said:
It will be tight

Dees have some very nice young players.

Pies possible have more scoring options. Nietz must be shut down.
Have you heard about Melbourne's midfeild????????????

MACDAICOS said:

I figured you were pretty dumb, but when you mis-spell the most famous name in the history of the earth (Jesus) it's quite clear you have some massive mental deficiencies.

You'll find the three years in a row we beat Melbourne we were 'up there' in form (bar 2001 where we finished 9th). I think we're showing the form of 2002-03 and then some.
On that note... we should win.

I am sh1tting myself though...

rick James said:
I figured you were pretty dumb, but when you mis-spell the most famous name in the history of the earth (Jesus) it's quite clear you have some massive mental deficiencies.
What are you another f**kin spelling nazi!!!!!!!! Well done!!!!!! I'm not a good speller never have been O.K mate??????????

Are you goal umpiring in Frankston this weekend?

rick James said:

Slightly?!

Pies scoring average = 120.5 points per game

Demons = 96.4 points

4 goals per game is quite a significant advantage I would say.

MACDAICOS said:
What are you another f**kin spelling nazi!!!!!!!! Well done!!!!!! I'm not a good speller never have been O.K mate??????????

Are you goal umpiring in Frankston this weekend?

I realised you weren't a good speller. I also realise you're an idiot. Feel free to clarify any other faults you might be in possession of. Apart, of course, from barracking for Collingwood.

Hadders said:
Slightly?!

Pies scoring average = 120.5 points per game

Demons = 96.4 points

4 goals per game is quite a significant advantage I would say.

I said effectiveness though. We aren't going inside 50 anywhere near as much as you this year, which is hardly our forwards fault - probably more a result of our changed gameplan.

What I was saying is more that, considering oppurtunities etc. yours would be ahead, but not by heaps.

MACDAICOS said:
I heard it was alright, from Demon supporters that is...

rick James said:
I said effectiveness though. We aren't going inside 50 anywhere near as much as you this year, which is hardly our forwards fault - probably more a result of our changed gameplan.

What I was saying is more that, considering oppurtunities etc. yours would be ahead, but not by heaps.
Midfielders fault then? ;)

rick James said:

but how could this be possible seeing that according to all you guys, Jesus would be starting on the bench behind Mclean, Bruce etc.:D

Cyclops said:
II know we shellacked Geelong but there was something unreal about that game, it was NQR. I think this time we will take the varnish off our enemies for real.
Maybe the fact Geelong went defensive with most of the team behind the ball 5 mins in with a point being scored on either side. Bizarre stuff.

I was confident untill I saw Holland out on top of the others. Still think we have a great chance but it will take a good effort across the board.

rick James said:
Don’t see a lot of relevance in that stat. Basically over the last years one has been up and the other down. Been a long time since Melbourne and Collingwood have both been contenders.

rick James said:
Well, over the last five years, it's 3-2 in Collingwood's favour, since only a few Collingwood players were at the club before then, so anything earlier is irrelevant. Since you have gone further back in time though, then why only 8 years? In 9 years it is 5-5, and all-time head-to-head it's 136-77 and 4 draws in Collingwood's favour, so I'm unsure how you came to the conclusion that it's been close between the sides historically. :confused: Quite lop-sided really. One interesting statistic though in recent years is that when Collingwood is having a good season, we have beaten Melbourne, and we are having a good season.

All of that means very little on Monday though, and if anybody 'knows' what is going to happen on Monday is just guessing, or hoping because the two top Victorian teams are playing each other. I will say that in the last two seasons, I didn't feel we were playing well enough to beat Melbourne, and we lost both times, but I certainly don't feel that way this season. I feel more like I did in 2002-03 when Collingwood were Grand Finalists.

Collingwood have a bye next week, so hopefully we can go all-out and put in a very big effort before having a week off. It would be great to win and to show thanks to Blake Caracella for his courage last week. It's also so very nice of Collingwood to help Melbourne out financially by allowing them to host this match each year instead of alternating it, and there will be a big crowd.

MACDAICOS said:

I think you'd find most neutral supporters rate melbourne's midfield equal to, if not better than, the collingwood midfield. Feel free to educate me if I'm mistaken.

the only thing that could potentially save you is if we have 6 out injured instead of 4. If fraser is injured then it will be very tough for us! i have a feeling it could be Wakes and richards(just going by the channel 10 report) in which case we are 3 talls down and you guys which wont really matter coz you cant exploit it anyway!

magpies42 said:
the only thing that could potentially save you is if we have 6 out injured instead of 4. If fraser is injured then it will be very tough for us! i have a feeling it could be Wakes and richards(just going by the channel 10 report) in which case we are 3 talls down and you guys which wont really matter coz you cant exploit it anyway!

This is gonna be a good, tough game (I hope, we could get smashed) and I really find it tough to pick a winner.
Right now I'd have to go with the Dees by 18pts but we've heard by many of your faithful you are "very confident" and will smash us. If you guys do go down will we get some respect or will you roll out the injury excuse?

captain subtext said:
This is gonna be a good, tough game (I hope, we could get smashed) and I really find it tough to pick a winner.
Right now I'd have to go with the Dees by 18pts but we've heard by many of your faithful you are "very confident" and will smash us. If you guys do go down will we get some respect or will you roll out the injury excuse?
injuries are no excuse for losing, footy is a game of attrition and you have to have the depth to be a good side! if we are to compete for the premiership then we have to win with players injured!
Having said that if you guys beat us with 6 players out i dont think that is anything to be proud of either!