Cars & Transportation VF Commodore revealed

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

A base model CX-9 is RRP $44,000. A base model Falcon is RRP $27,000.

Completely different kettle of fish I'm afraid Caesar.

When we go away we can't fit everything into my Commodore, so we have to take the CX9. Seems that everyone has so much more shit these days when we go anywhere, and the Mazda simply has a significant amount more room.

Completely different kettle of fish I'm afraid Caesar.

When we go away we can't fit everything into my Commodore, so we have to take the CX9. Seems that everyone has so much more shit these days when we go anywhere, and the Mazda simply has a significant amount more room.
The point is, if you need a big family car at a low price then a Commodore/Falcon still fits the bill best.

A base model CX-9 is RRP $44,000. A base model Falcon is RRP $27,000.
Mazda6 would be a better comparison then price wise. And I'd still take it over a Commo/Falcon, even though the 6 is a bit smaller.
I should add that I'm talking from experience, whereby I had a Commo and got rid of it for a Mazda. My only regret was not doing it sooner. The Commo was just a constant battle with problems and part replacements. I never had an issue with the Mazda the whole time I owned it.

I don’t think a new RRP discussion is really relevant. Any family for which money is a factor isn’t going to buy a brand new car.

I think Waynesworld is correct. People just seem to have so much more shit these days, and find they need the space.

Also, everyubody I speak to seems to have this strange obsession with the “sitting up high” thing. I’ve never really got it, but that’s just me.

A base model Falcon is only $27K if you buy used. A brand new one would set you back about $37K.
Yeah was my initial reaction too. 27K sounded low for a new Falcon. That price point would be closer to the smaller Mondeo.

New VF SS Revealed, I like! Quality looks amazing compared to VE. Would look awesome in black, white or grey:

VF-SSV-Show-Car-02.jpg

VF-SSV-Show-Car-04.jpg

VF-SSV-Show-Car-17.jpg

“Modern cars... they all look like electric shavers”

Actually don’t really like the SS... ****in LEDs... they ruined the look of the HSVs and now Holden have gone with them too... they look horrific imo. Reckon the Calais looks a lot better.
The E3 series HSV's look horrible, but the E series looks much better IMO.

Exactly... and I think in time resale values will reflect this... those damn LEDs... they’re a ridiculous fad that already looks out of date... they look so bloody tacky, I can’t believe they’re on there from factory... and now they’re on the SS as well!

I know people will say Holdens are for bogans, and they’re prob right... but some of these premium models and HSVs are quite expensive now, they’re not being sold to 20yo kids... they should try to aim for a modicum of taste, I think.

Reckon less is almost always more re body styling... get your basic body right obviously, but I think if they’re sitting there debating whether or not to simply bolt something on... if in doubt, bin it.

Same with the Maloo imo... before the VE these were almost all (for the time anyway) quite good looking utes... the E series looks ****ing atrocious... completely lost the “low and fat” look, it looks like a block of flats. Meanwhile the VE SS ute looks quite good, far simpler and less cluttered.

All in the eye of the beholder I guess.

As for all cars looking the same, that’s marketing for you... it’s all about shifting as many units as possible and thus not offending anybody... everyone tries to be all things to all buyers which has the inevitable result of everybody looking the same.

My sister with 3 kids bought a brand new CX-9 last month for under 40K on the road. It's the biggest car they make, we're talking Toorak tractor. I would have bought that over a Commodore or Ford family car every day of the week for the reasons I mentioned; better build quality, re-sale value, etc. And of course it's bigger so there is ample space.
Wait until she sees her fuel bill, CX-9s are as thirsty as a Tradie on a hot Friday afternoon.

My family drive is a Calais Sportswagon, I've had it 3 years and have had not had one issue. I would happily replace it with a new VF. My brother drives a similar vintage CX-9. He has had some trouble with it, and is looking to get rid of it. He won't be getter another as it costs a fortune to service and maintain.

Lol. It IS an American car. And a big lol at the people who stick Chevy badges on their 'Australian' made commodores. Too embarrassed to say is australian?

Holden. Poor mans everything else...

Exactly... and I think in time resale values will reflect this... those damn LEDs... they’re a ridiculous fad that already looks out of date... they look so bloody tacky, I can’t believe they’re on there from factory... and now they’re on the SS as well!
They actually make a lot of sense on European cars where daytime running lights are an actual requirement, it's a more efficient (up to 200w vs 8w on LED's), brighter option to meet the requirement. Far better option than basically running parkers all day. As poorly as they were implemented on the HSV's they are a brilliant idea in general and seriously wouldn't be suprised if within the next decade it becomes mandatory for all cars to have some form of DRL.