Portfolio VFA Alternate History

Dec 26, 2013
Port Adelaide
OKC, Coburg, Werribee, Storm, QPR
Found an old post of mine in El_Scorcho's SANFL Alternate History portfolio saying I was going to make a WAFL Alternate History. Now, seeing as I live in Victoria, have only seen half of one WAFL game on TV (I can't even remember who played), I'm not familiar with teams histories and I was a horrible designer back then, I figured I should make a VFA/VFL alternate history. Here's a quick run through:
In 1896, no clubs broke away from the VFA, keeping the league how it was. Slowly, slowly the number of teams was decreasing rapidly with teams merging and disbanding every year. Teams were crossing over from other state leagues. The league was a truly national league with 20 teams. In 1995 the VFA signed a 40 year deal with Sekem in which Sekem produced each teams guernseys. Sorry for large images in advance.
RESIZING WILL BE DONE SOON!!!!!! PLEASE DO NOT COMMENT ABOUT IT!
Here's the first team, Coburg,
Home:
Coburg Lions Home.png
Clash: Coburg zClash.png

Found an old post of mine in El_Scorcho's SANFL Alternate History portfolio saying I was going to make a WAFL Alternate History. Now, seeing as I live in Victoria, have only seen half of one WAFL game on TV (I can't even remember who played), I'm not familiar with teams histories and I was a horrible designer back then, I figured I should make a VFA/VFL alternate history. Here's a quick run through:
In 1896, no clubs broke away from the VFA, keeping the league how it was. Slowly, slowly the number of teams was decreasing rapidly with teams merging and disbanding every year. Teams were crossing over from other state leagues. The league was a truly national league with 20 teams. In 1995 the VFA signed a 40 year deal with Sekem in which Sekem produced each teams guernseys. Sorry for large images in advance.
RESIZING WILL BE DONE SOON!!!!!! PLEASE DO NOT COMMENT ABOUT IT!
Here's the first team, Coburg,
Home:
View attachment 96717
Clash coming in a minuteView attachment 96719
That looks beautiful mate, especially with that template. With the clash, you've already got a significant amount of navy on the body, so perhaps White shoulder pads would suffice. Other than that, looking forward to more

It probably would look better with white shoulder panels. I put navy shoulder panels because I was trying to put it like Port adelaides a little bit.

In the VFA having clubs merge was common. The 90s was a time of rationalisation. People weren't really fussed if their team merged as long as each team was equal in the merger. Melbourne were struggling for success but Hawthorn had that. Hawthorn were struggling financially but Melbourne weren't. The two teams merged and absorbed Box Hill in 2000 which created the Hawthorn Demons .
Home: Hawthorn Demons Home.png
Clash: Hawthorn Demons zClash.png
Melbourne and Hawthorn fans I'd like to know what you think of these jumpers.

Were you wondering why the Hawthorn Demons weren't called the Melbourne Hawks? Well in 2000, along with the Hawthorn Demons came Melbourne Union. Wondering which teams create this union? South Melbourne didn't move to Sydney so that meant 3 teams with Melbourne in their name. South Melbourne and North Melbourne merged. Another thing these teams had in common were that both teams wore a vee design at some point.
Melbourne Union:
Home: Melbourne Union Home.png
Clash:
Melbourne Union Clash.png

Were you wondering why the Hawthorn Demons weren't called the Melbourne Hawks? Well in 2000, along with the Hawthorn Demons came Melbourne Union. Wondering which teams create this union? South Melbourne didn't move to Sydney so that meant 3 teams with Melbourne in their name. South Melbourne and North Melbourne merged. Another thing these teams had in common were that both teams wore a vee design at some point.
Melbourne Union:
Home:View attachment 96784
Clash:
View attachment 96785
i think it'd be better with thicker V, same size as the BiB, only one solid colour.

maybe instead of home and clash it should be
Home as is
Away same as home but reversing the Blue and Red
Clash a completely separate design, maybe a shout out to the kangaroos and swans.
chuck a kangaroo on the home an a swan on the away?

i think it'd be better with thicker V, same size as the BiB, only one solid colour.

maybe instead of home and clash it should be
Home as is
Away same as home but reversing the Blue and Red
Clash a completely separate design, maybe a shout out to the kangaroos and swans.
chuck a kangaroo on the home an a swan on the away?
Well I drew the vee and it wasn't based on anything so that's why it's thin. I might put the Kangaroo and the Swan on the logo.

I started some ideas for a thread like this once.
It was 'what if the VFL was never formed, what would footy look like today?'
For one, it would have been the VFA until expansion around Australia.
1896-1914
Strong VFA clubs would have been competitive, and eventually weaker clubs would have folded.
I think you could make a case for a Port, North, Williamstown and Footscray being reasonable, eventually.
The league would not have expanded until those teams folded or merged.
A Williamstown-Footscray merger, perhaps including West Melbourne who joined the VFA would have had some strength to it.
So I called them Western Melbourne. Today they would be the West Melbourne Seagulls and wear Blue Red and Gold.
Similarly there would be no original 8 clubs and StKilda's advantage of having a train line wouldn't have won them games.
StKilda had merged with Prahran in the late 1870s and with no reduction in clubs in the VFA, they would have stayed in the Metro comp (Now VAFA)
One of the reasons for the start of the VFL was the supporters/crowds at Port and North games.
Both were seen as unseemly, and wild brawls often broke out at their games.
I am going to suggest North were fined out of existence for not controlling their supporters (the original VFA tactic for dealing with violence)
With the VFA trying to keep the numbers at 12 I predict they bring in a district side (a side made up of junior clubs merging, bringing the best of a district together) in quick succession. If this is the early 1900s, the obvious replacement side is Brunswick who joined the VFA IRL around this time.
(But they wouldn't have been allowed to wear Black & White stripes, so they would stay in Light Blue & Red)
So where I got to was WW1 and of the 13 1896 teams, they are reduced to 12, with West Melbourne being one of the middle of the road club and North gone, their players moving to Essendon and West Melbourne, and Brunswick replacing them.

1918-1939
Safe to say Hawthorn would not be in it. They have no reason to merge with Hawthorn Rovers to join the VFA, because it's not taking new clubs in 1912.
If anything just two or three years later it's losing clubs, due to the commitment to WW1.
So Hawthorn remains a local club wearing Essendon jumpers in the VAFA.
When expansion does come, it would be after WW1, when teams such as Port Melbourne struggled to field a competitive team.
I'm going to suggest Port don't come back from WW1, and the VFA runs an 11 team comp for a few years.
Melbourne District premiers Camberwell are the obvious replacements, having won the 1921 - 23 flags in that comp.
They were a district side, and would have pulled in the players that IRL ended up at Hawthorn.
So leading into WW2, we have Brunswick, Camberwell, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Fitzroy, Geelong, Melbourne, Richmond, South, StKilda & Western Melb.
Alt-VFA-jumpers.gif

And that's all I've got to so far.

Alt-VFA-jumpers.gif

Very nice. What program are you using? Looks heaps better than what you could manage with paint.
I think you;l find it is Paint. Its going by ScottFreo's use of the concept that a shit-arse big picture looks good when BigFooty resizes it

Big improvement here Fizzler. May I suggest that you put more time into the logos as they don't match the quality of the jumpers ?
Great start however.

Agreed, It looks brilliant. I can definitely see this template competing well against the Photoshop and Illustrator ones
Don't thank me, thank Bacon Warrior. It's the on he used in the Heavyweight thing.

I started some ideas for a thread like this once.
It was 'what if the VFL was never formed, what would footy look like today?'
For one, it would have been the VFA until expansion around Australia.
1896-1914
Strong VFA clubs would have been competitive, and eventually weaker clubs would have folded.
I think you could make a case for a Port, North, Williamstown and Footscray being reasonable, eventually.
The league would not have expanded until those teams folded or merged.
A Williamstown-Footscray merger, perhaps including West Melbourne who joined the VFA would have had some strength to it.
So I called them Western Melbourne. Today they would be the West Melbourne Seagulls and wear Blue Red and Gold.
Similarly there would be no original 8 clubs and StKilda's advantage of having a train line wouldn't have won them games.
StKilda had merged with Prahran in the late 1870s and with no reduction in clubs in the VFA, they would have stayed in the Metro comp (Now VAFA)
One of the reasons for the start of the VFL was the supporters/crowds at Port and North games.
Both were seen as unseemly, and wild brawls often broke out at their games.
I am going to suggest North were fined out of existence for not controlling their supporters (the original VFA tactic for dealing with violence)
With the VFA trying to keep the numbers at 12 I predict they bring in a district side (a side made up of junior clubs merging, bringing the best of a district together) in quick succession. If this is the early 1900s, the obvious replacement side is Brunswick who joined the VFA IRL around this time.
(But they wouldn't have been allowed to wear Black & White stripes, so they would stay in Light Blue & Red)
So where I got to was WW1 and of the 13 1896 teams, they are reduced to 12, with West Melbourne being one of the middle of the road club and North gone, their players moving to Essendon and West Melbourne, and Preston replacing them.

1918-1939
Safe to say Hawthorn would not be in it. They have no reason to merge with Hawthorn Rovers to join the VFA, because it's not taking new clubs in 1912.
If anything just two or three years later it's losing clubs, due to the commitment to WW1.
So Hawthorn remains a local club wearing Essendon jumpers in the VAFA.
When expansion does come, it would be after WW1, when teams such as Port Melbourne struggled to field a competitive team.
I'm going to suggest Port don't come back from WW1, and the VFA runs an 11 team comp for a few years.
Melbourne District premiers Camberwell are the obvious replacements, having won the 1921 - 23 flags in that comp.
They were a district side, and would have pulled in the players that IRL ended up at Hawthorn.
So leading into WW2, we have Brunswick, Camberwell, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Fitzroy, Geelong, Melbourne, Richmond, South, StKilda & Western Melb.

And that's all I've got to so far.
I was going to do something similar to the teams you had ended with but Port Melbourne being kept in the league for being very competitive in matches. After all, the original VFL expansion clubs were the ones that won a VFA premiership and Port Melbourne came runners up once or twice. The teams I keep will be kept secret as teams fold and merge all the time.

Yeah, Port's difficult era came around WW1.
They weren't all that competitive in the early part of WW1, through the period when the comp was called off, and even when it first resumed.
However, in the years leading up to the VFL, Port were never much more than a middle of the ladder team.

As I touched on, Port and North were two of the clubs the others were trying to get away from.
It wasn't their team they didn't want, it was the supporters turning up with iron bars that clubs like Melbourne, Carlton and Essendon were trying to get away from.

Here's all the VFA results:
http://www.thegapchessclub.org.au/vfa/

Agreed, It looks brilliant. I can definitely see this template competing well against the Photoshop and Illustrator ones
Well it has a 100% winning percentage in competitions.

I bet the guy who created it is a sexy beast, too.

I tell you what, if ever bring in the rule for one template for every entry in a particular competition, that would be good one to use.

Agree. It would actually make a lot of the paint users here better (because they'd stop using paint as an excuse and realise how powerful it can be) and it's of a high enough quality to be used by users of other programs. I love it.

I tell you what, if ever bring in the rule for one template for every entry in a particular competition, that would be good one to use.
The great thing about it is you don't have to downsize sponsors on it. You just upsize in word.

Portfolio VFA Alternate History