VFL VFL 2020 - Mega Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter cats_09

I know the following article has an AFLW focus, but this line seems the best indication yet about retention of our VFL team for next year :

The promotion will see Johnson with overall responsibility for the club’s AFLW, men’s and women’s second tier programs and the club’s player development department. He had previously been the Cats performance and development manager.

Scratch Match: De Koning Shows First-Round Talent
Talented young Cat Sam De Koning kicked four goals against Richmond.
By David McPherson - 1 hr ago
SDK1.jpg

FIRST-ROUND draft selection Sam De Koning has given a glimpse of his sky-high football potential with a four-goal bag in a scratch match against the Tigers.

Last year’s pick number 19 moved forward for the first time this season after impressive performances in the ruck and defence in previous scratch matches.

A second-term purple patch including two marks on the lead followed by a soaring pack mark in the space of five minutes turned heads, with some wayward goalkicking robbing the two-metre tall utility of even more goals.

De Koning put the Tigers’ defence under pressure in the third term, earning back-to-back free kicks for goals.

Cats ruckman Darcy Fort enjoyed the show.

“I was loving it – he’s a super talented kid,” Fort said.

I'm hugely positive about SDK and his prospects. However, I have to admit that hearing of some wayward goal kicking from him in this report was not the tonic I needed after last night.

Still, I'm quite hopeful that he's going to fill a role down back or even in the ruck before being considered as a permanent forward. And he is of course very raw and may be able to well and truly iron out any issues as we roll on from here.

Seems to have had a promising year, even despite only getting to play these scratchies. Maybe a sneaky chance for a taste of senior footy in 2021?

I'm hugely positive about SDK and his prospects. However, I have to admit that hearing of some wayward goal kicking from him in this report was not the tonic I needed after last night.

Still, I'm quite hopeful that he's going to fill a role down back or even in the ruck before being considered as a permanent forward. And he is of course very raw and may be able to well and truly iron out any issues as we roll on from here.

Seems to have had a promising year, even despite only getting to play these scratchies. Maybe a sneaky chance for a taste of senior footy in 2021?
What wayward goal kicking did we have last night? We were incredibly accurate compared to richmond

Yes, I understand you're bullish about Esava's efforts in front of goal last night. I actually thought his two majors were two of the most unconvincing shots at goal I've seen in a long time. And, to me, the late OOF was more indicative of how unreliable his efforts are at the moment. Jarvis also had a very ordinary miss from a handy position at a crucial point in the game.

So I'm not thrilled to think that yet another one of our young prospects was showing signs of not being all that reliable in front of goal in the most recent scratch match. Very happy for him (and the others) to prove me wrong over time, though.

Yes, I understand you're bullish about Esava's efforts last night. I actually thought his two majors were two of the most unconvincing shots at goal I've seen in a long time. And, to me, the late OOF was more indicative of how unreliable his efforts are at the moment. Jarvis also had a very ordinary miss from a handy position at a crucial point in the game.

So I'm not thrilled to think that yet another one of our young prospects was showing signs of not being all that reliable in front of goal in the scratch match. Very happy for him (and the others) to prove me wrong over time, though.
So you are sooking about goal kicking conversion cos the ball didnt spin right even tbough it was still a goal? This is the most ridiculous thing ive ever heard. Did you see how many points richmond kicked last night? Our goal kicking conversion kept us from being blown away. Its one of the few areas we won last night.

You can call it whatever you please. Simply pointing out that I think Esava's method looks entirely lacking in confidence and extremely unreliable. As evidenced by one shot from close range barely clearing the players on the line, one ranging close to the post from a straightforward position, and one not even scoring from a position where most players would surely be closer to kicking a goal than missing the opportunity to score altogether.

I understand how keen you are to see the bright side here. And I entirely accept that two of the three kicks were goals. But surely not even someone as 'sunny side up' about Esava's game as you could suggest that his goal kicking routine and reliability looks to be anything but seriously questionable at this point.

Best news about SDK I know he will be a good backman but he is showing he could play ruck or forward....but he will be playing on the Kings very soon and for years

Much like my attitude with Krueger... flex is good..it helps get him in the side.. and from there id say its most likely to be back but where ever his talents suits..

Scratch Match: De Koning Shows First-Round Talent
Talented young Cat Sam De Koning kicked four goals against Richmond.
By David McPherson - 1 hr ago
SDK1.jpg

FIRST-ROUND draft selection Sam De Koning has given a glimpse of his sky-high football potential with a four-goal bag in a scratch match against the Tigers.

Last year’s pick number 19 moved forward for the first time this season after impressive performances in the ruck and defence in previous scratch matches.

A second-term purple patch including two marks on the lead followed by a soaring pack mark in the space of five minutes turned heads, with some wayward goalkicking robbing the two-metre tall utility of even more goals.

De Koning put the Tigers’ defence under pressure in the third term, earning back-to-back free kicks for goals.

Cats ruckman Darcy Fort enjoyed the show.

“I was loving it – he’s a super talented kid,” Fort said.

The club is giggling that this guy landed with us. Can’t stop chuckling.

A lot of players featured this week. Doesn’t matter who you were hoping to see, they probably featured in this package.
I would have liked to have seen more SDK highlights as the buzz was about him after the game.

A lot of players featured this week. Doesn’t matter who you were hoping to see, they probably featured in this package.
I would have liked to have seen more SDK highlights as the buzz was about him after the game.

Loved the clip, and at just over a minute into it, that tap down from Fort straight to Parsons who didn't have to break stride was a thing of beauty

SDK Highlights

Nothing technically wrong with that kicking action. Nice and relaxed and fluid. Reminds me a bit of Grundy. Possibly just needs to focus on following through properly.

He has heaps of talent DeKoning. A couple of those marks were immense.
Im not suggesting one equals the other... but watching Joe Danaher V the Hawks 2 weeks ago... there are parallels between these 2 in their contested marking and presence in the contest. Good kick is SDK too.

Great pick up.

GO Catters